DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to RCE filed 7/282026. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments in Page 1 of the Remarks, stating “Claims 1-3, 8-10, 15-17 were rejected over Bains (2019/0129656) and WO 2017/145223, relying on relevant sections of the PE2E English Machine Translation. The rejections are respectfully traversed. Claims 4-7, 11-14, 18-20 were rejected over Bains (2019/0129656), WO 2017/145223, and Okamoto (CN100422920). The rejections are respectfully traversed. The independent claims have been amended to include allowable claimed elements.”
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,074,007 in view of Bains (US Pub. 2019/0129656).
Instant Application: 18/624,796
Patent: 11,074,007
Claim 1. A method, comprising:
maintaining a count representative of an amount of available capacity of a buffer in a memory sub-system;
sending a write command to the memory sub-system to store data, wherein the data is to be queued in the buffer in the memory sub-system prior to execution of the write command in the memory sub-system;
updating the count by deducting, from the amount of available capacity of the buffer, an amount of buffer capacity used by the data to be queued in the buffer for the execution of the write command in the memory sub-system; and
controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count.
Claim 11. A method, comprising:
storing, in a host system coupled to a memory sub-system via a communication channel, information identifying an amount of available capacity of a buffer of the memory sub-system;
transmitting, through the communication channel to the memory sub-system, one or more write commands to store data in memory components of the memory sub-system, wherein the memory sub-system queues the one or more write commands in the buffer;
updating the information by deducting, from the amount of available capacity, an amount of buffer capacity used by the one or more write commands to calculate a current amount of available capacity of the buffer;
controlling generation of an information request to the memory sub-system based at least in part on a time interval and the current amount of available capacity; and postponing the generation of the information request until elapsed time from a previous communication between the host system and the memory sub-system is longer than the time interval, and the current amount of available capacity is less than a threshold.
Claims 1-20 of 11,074,007 teach the limitations of Instant Claim 1 except controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count. However, Bains teaches controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count (Bains [0031] when WC counter reaches a value of 0, memory controller may be configured to stop or prevent any further XWRITE or PWRITE command being issued. See also Bains [0024] using WC to track and limit the number of outstanding write commands which may be issued to the NVM.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Instant Claim 1 with those of Bain to recite controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count in order to prevent buffer overflow.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,983,435 in view of Bains (US Pub. 2019/0129656).
Instant Application: 18/624,796
Patent: 11,983,435
Claim 1. A method, comprising:
maintaining a count representative of an amount of available capacity of a buffer in a memory sub-system;
sending a write command to the memory sub-system to store data, wherein the data is to be queued in the buffer in the memory sub-system prior to execution of the write command in the memory sub-system;
updating the count by deducting, from the amount of available capacity of the buffer, an amount of buffer capacity used by the data to be queued in the buffer for the execution of the write command in the memory sub-system; and
controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count.
Claim 12. A method, comprising:
storing, in a host system coupled to a memory sub-system via a communication channel, information identifying an amount of available capacity of a buffer of the memory sub-system;
transmitting, through the communication channel to the memory sub-system, one or more write commands to store data in memory components of the memory sub-system; and
updating the information by deducting, from the amount of available capacity, an amount of buffer capacity used by the one or more write commands.
Claims 1-20 of 11,983,435 teach the limitations of Instant Claim 1 except controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count. However, Bains teaches controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count (Bains [0031] when WC counter reaches a value of 0, memory controller may be configured to stop or prevent any further XWRITE or PWRITE command being issued. See also Bains [0024] using WC to track and limit the number of outstanding write commands which may be issued to the NVM.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Instant Claim 1 with those of Bain to recite controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count in order to prevent buffer overflow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bains (US Pub. 2019/0129656).
Regarding claim 1, Bains discloses a method, comprising:
maintaining a count representative of an amount of available capacity of a buffer in a memory sub-system (Bains [0036] discloses maintaining a total write buffer space available in a write buffer);
sending a write command to the memory sub-system to store data (Bains [0002] discloses write operations directed to non-volatile memory. Bains [0027] write data for write operations received from host to be written to NVM.)
wherein the data is to be queued in the buffer in the memory sub-system prior to execution of the write command in the memory sub-system (Bains [0027] discloses write data for write operations received from host to be written to NVM may be temporarily stored in the write buffer before the write data is transferred to VNM);
updating the count by deducting, from the amount of available capacity of the buffer, an amount of buffer capacity used by the data to be queued in the buffer, for the execution of the write command in the memory subsystem (Bains [0029] wherein the information in WC counter is updated by increasing or decreasing the count in WC counter as the available write buffer space changes. [0029] Upon initialization, host 120 may be configured to query memory system 130 to determine the available write buffer space and use this information to preset WC counter 124 to reflect the available write buffer space (e.g., the number oflines ( or blocks) available in write buffer 134 may be converted to a proportional number which may be tracked by presetting WC counter 124 to the proportional number) and correspondingly increasing or decreasing the count in WC counter 124 as the available write buffer space changes, and wherein the changes in the available write buffer space may be tracked as follows. [0031] Upon obtaining the available write buffer space in the above-described manner, host 120, or specifically, memory controller 122 may be configured to set or preset WC counter 124 with the corresponding value. Subsequently upon each XWRITE or PWRITE command being issued to memory system 130, memory controller 122 may be configured to decrement WC counter 124 in correspondence (e.g., by "1"). When WC counter 124 reaches a value of"0", memory controller 122 may be configured to stop or prevent any further XWRITE or PWRITE command being issued on CA 114 from host 120 to memory system 130.)
and controlling sending write commands to the memory sub-system based on the count (Bains [0031] when WC counter reaches a value of 0, memory controller may be configured to stop or prevent any further XWRITE or PWRITE command being issued. See also Bains [0024] using WC to track and limit the number of outstanding write commands which may be issued to the NVM.)
Regarding claim 2, Bains discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sending of the write command is in response to a determination that the amount of available capacity of the buffer as represented by the count is sufficient for queuing the data to be stored via the execution of the write command (Bains [0036], [0029]: preventing further write request if there is no available buffer space; generate the information request based at least in part on a time interval wherein the WC counter can be updated periodically].
Regarding claim 3, Bains discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: sending an information request to the memory sub-system based at least in part on the amount of available capacity of the buffer as represented by the count and receiving, from the memory sub-system, a response to the information request (Bains [0029]: wherein the information in WC counter is updated by increasing or decreasing the count in WC counter as the available write buffer space changes. Bains [0030] discloses reading the available write buffer space using a command such as READ_STATUS command. Bains [0032] providing incremental write credit feedback to the host.)
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the rationale in the rejection of claim 1 is herein incorporated. Bains further discloses an apparatus, comprising: a host system [FIG. 3]; a memory sub-system having a buffer [FIG. 14, 15]; a plurality of buses connected between the host system and the memory sub-system, the plurality of buses including: a command bus [FIG. 4]; a data bus [FIG. 1]; a transaction bus [FIG. 1]; and a metadata bus [FIG. 1].
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the rationale in the rejection of claim 2 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, the rationale in the rejection of claim 3 is herein incorporated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 11-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bains (US Pub. 2019/0129656), in view of OKAMOTO (US 20050069292).
Regarding claim 4, Bains discloses the method of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending of the information request is in response to a determination that the amount of available capacity of the buffer as represented by the count is lower than a threshold.
Okamoto, however, discloses wherein the sending of the information request is in response to a determination that the amount of available capacity of the buffer as represented by the count is lower than a threshold [Okamoto [0381]: if the buffer data in the storage falls below the lower limit, if the determination process that data storage capacity in the buffer falls below the lower limit reference value, reading the record data from the buffer to pause writing data to hard disk so as to calculate the data amount from the current data storage capacity].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of invention, to have postpone generation of the information request until the current amount of available capacity is less than a threshold in order to calculate the data amount from the current data storage capacity (English Translation).
Regarding claim 5, Bains discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the sending of the information request is further in response to a determination that the memory sub-system has no pending read command [Bains [0036], [0029]: preventing further write request if there is no available buffer space; generate the information request based at least in part on a time interval wherein the WC counter can be updated periodically].
Regarding claim 6, Okamoto discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the sending of the information request is further in response to a determination that a time period from a prior communication from the memory sub-system about available capacity of the buffer is longer than a threshold time period [Okamoto: if the buffer data in the storage falls below the lower limit, if the determination process that data storage capacity in the buffer falls below the lower limit reference value, reading the record data from the buffer to pause writing data to hard disk so as to calculate the data amount from the current data storage capacity].
Regarding claim 7, Bains discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the response from the memory sub-system identifies available capacity of the buffer as determined by the memory sub-system in response to the information request (Bains [0036] as discussed.).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, the rationale in the rejection of claim 4 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the rationale in the rejection of claim 5 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claims 13 and 20, the rationale in the rejection of claim 6 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 14, the rationale in the rejection of claim 7 is herein incorporated.
Conclusion
ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2133
/ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2133