DETAILED ACTION
Notes
All the objections and rejections in the previous Office Action not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 8, the “ark risk” should read --- arc risk --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a cooling module” in claims 1 and 23; “a pre-cooling assembly” in claim 14; “a capping mechanism” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 14-18 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "an electroporation assembly electrically coupled to the electroporation chamber for generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber, the electroporation assembly having a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the electroporation chamber" in lines 9-11. The electroporation assembly is structurally defined to comprise a conductivity sensor. The electroporation assembly is functionally defined as “generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber” and to “measure conductivity across the electroporation chamber." Therefore, it is unclear how the electroporation assembly which is a conductivity sensor is configured to perform the function of “generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber.” Claims 2-6, 14-18, 20-22 and 24 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitations "an electroporation assembly configured to electrically couple to the electroporation chamber when the electroporation cartridge is received by the electroporation compartment, wherein the electroporation assembly is configured to generate and deliver an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber" in lines 6-9. The claim defines the electroporation assembly as a conductivity sensor. The electroporation assembly is functionally defined as “generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber” and to “measure conductivity across the electroporation chamber." Therefore, it is unclear how the electroporation assembly which is a conductivity sensor is configured to perform the function of “generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber.”
Claims 21 and 25 recite the limitation "ark risk," how Applicant’s disclosure does not define what constitutes “an ark risk.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14-15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masquelier et al. (already of record, US 2019/0002814; hereinafter “Masquelier”) in view of Gascoyne et al. (WO 2013/096304-A1; hereinafter “Gascoyne”).
Regarding claim 1, Masquelier discloses an electroporation system comprising: a modular casing having electroporation system components (chassis of the electroporation system adapted to receive components of an electroporation system; see [0089], [0105]-[0106], [0112], [0172], [0241]), the electroporation system components comprising: an electroporation compartment having an electroporation cartridge comprising an electroporation chamber (chassis includes an upper chamber adapted to receive an electroporation module (e.g., cuvettes)having an electroporation chamber; [0086], [0099], [0089], [0187]-[0188]); a cooling module in thermal contact with the electroporation chamber and configured to regulate the temperature of the electroporation chamber (see [0107]); an electroporation assembly electrically coupled to the electroporation chamber for generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber (an electrical pulse generator; [0187]); and a controller having a processor and a hardware storage device, the controller being communicatively coupled to the electroporation assembly (FIG. 9; electroporation system of Masquelier is automated; [0202], [0213]-[0214]). Masquelier does not explicitly disclose the electroporation assembly having a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the electroporation chamber. Gascoyne discloses a system comprising a chamber comprising electrodes ([0008], claim 1), a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the chamber ([0011], [0078], claims 17-19), and a controller coupled to the conductivity sensor and configured to adjust electrical signal generated by a signal generator to achieve desired electrical signal ([0078]; claims 17-19). In view of Gascoyne, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the conductivity sensor of Gascoyne with the system of Masquelier in order to measure conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne ([0078]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maintaining desired conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne (see [0078]; claims 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, modified Masquelier further discloses wherein the electroporation cartridge is a single use electroporation cartridge ([0173], [0182]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Masquelier further discloses wherein the electroporation cartridge is a flow- through electroporation cartridge ([0012], [0086], [0088], [0172]-[0173], [0241]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Masquelier further discloses a graphical user interface having functionality to receive input from a user to control operation of the electroporation system (FIGS. 2C-2D and 11; [0037], [0224], [0320]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Masquelier further discloses a pre-cooling assembly and configured for cooling sample prior to being introduced into the electroporation chamber (temperature control unit; see [0106], [0138]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Masquelier further discloses at least one flow sensor (flow sensor 712; [0154]).
Regarding claim 23, Masquelier disclose an electroporation system comprising: an electroporation compartment configured to receive an electroporation cartridge having an electroporation chamber (chassis includes an upper chamber adapted to receive an electroporation module (e.g., cuvettes)having an electroporation chamber; [0086], [0099], [0089], [0187]-[0188]); a cooling module configured to be in thermal contact with the electroporation chamber when the electroporation cartridge is received by the electroporation compartment, and wherein the cooling module is configured to regulate the temperature of the electroporation chamber (see [0107]); an electroporation assembly configured to electrically couple to the electroporation chamber when the electroporation cartridge is received by the electroporation compartment, wherein the electroporation assembly is configured to generate and deliver an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber (an electrical pulse generator; [0187]); and a controller having a processor and a hardware storage device, the controller being
communicatively coupled to the electroporation assembly (FIG. 9; electroporation system of Masquelier is automated; [0202], [0213]-[0214]). Masquelier does not explicitly disclose wherein the electroporation assembly comprises a conductivity sensor configured to measuring conductivity across the electroporation chamber. Gascoyne discloses a system comprising a chamber comprising electrodes ([0008], claim 1), a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the chamber ([0011], [0078], claims 17-19), and a controller coupled to the conductivity sensor and configured to adjust electrical signal generated by a signal generator to achieve desired electrical signal ([0078]; claims 17-19). In view of Gascoyne, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the conductivity sensor of Gascoyne with the system of Masquelier in order to measure conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne ([0078]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maintaining desired conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne (see [0078]; claims 17-19).
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (already of record, US 2017/0335269) in view of Dai (WO 2019/076353-A1; with English machine translation) and Gascoyne et al. (WO 2013/096304-A1; hereinafter “Gascoyne”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an electroporation system comprising:electroporation system comprising: a modular casing having electroporation system components, the electroporation system components comprising: an electroporation compartment having an electroporation cartridge comprising an electroporation chamber (as shown in FIG. 11, electroporation cartridge having electroporation chamber (tube 1) is received within a compartment of a modular casing). Chen does not explicitly disclose a cooling module in thermal contact with the electroporation chamber and configured to regulate the temperature of the electroporation chamber. Dai discloses an electroporation device comprising an electroporation chamber, one or more electrodes coupled to the electroporation chamber, and thermal regulating system for regulating temperature of the electroporation chamber (see [0069]). In view of Dai, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the thermal regulating system of Dai with the system of Chen to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of regulating the temperature of the electroporation chamber as disclosed by Dai ([0069]). Chen does not explicitly disclose an electroporation assembly electrically coupled to the electroporation chamber for generating and delivering an electrical pulse to the electroporation chamber, the electroporation assembly having a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the electroporation chamber; and a controller having a processor and a hardware storage device, the controller being communicatively coupled to the electroporation assembly. Gascoyne discloses a system comprising a chamber comprising electrodes ([0008], claim 1), a conductivity sensor configured to measure conductivity across the chamber ([0011], [0078], claims 17-19), and a controller coupled to the conductivity sensor and configured to adjust electrical signal generated by a signal generator to achieve desired electrical signal ([0078]; claims 17-19). In view of Gascoyne, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the conductivity sensor and controller of Gascoyne with the system of Chen in order to measure conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne ([0078]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of maintaining desired conductivity across the chamber as disclosed by Gascoyne (see [0078]; claims 17-19).
Regarding claim 16, modified Chen further discloses a capping mechanism configured to engage with the electroporation cartridge, wherein the electroporation cartridge comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, each disposed at opposite ends of the electroporation chamber (FIG. 2: electrodes 2 and 3), wherein at least one of the first electrode or second electrode is engageable with the capping mechanism and is moveable between a capped position for electroporation and an uncapped position for venting as a result of actuation of the capping mechanism (see FIG. 2: stopple (4) coupled to the second electrode 3; [0104]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masquelier”) in view of Gascoyne as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schlaubitz et al. (US 2019/0070611; hereinafter “Schlaubitz”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Masquelier discloses the electroporation system according to claim 1. Modified Masquelier discloses the claimed cooling module but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling module comprises a ceramic block. Schlaubitz discloses a system including a cooling module comprising ceramic plate ([0006], [0027]). In view of Schlaubitz, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cooling module of modified Masquelier with the cooling module of Schlaubitz to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of art recognized for the same intended purpose of regulating temperature of a system (see also MPEP 2144.07). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Schlaubitz discloses that the thermal regulating device can be formed from a variety of materials including ceramic ([0027]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masquelier”) in view of Gascoyne as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mickelsen et al. (US 2017/0065330; hereinafter “Mickelsen”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Masquelier discloses the electroporation system according to claim 1. Modified Masquelier discloses the claimed cooling module but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cooling module is cooled via thermoelectric cooling. Mickelsen discloses an electroporation system including a cooling module comprising thermoelectric cooling unit ([0019], [0062]). In view of Mickelsen, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cooling module of modified Masquelier with the cooling module of Mickelsen to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of art recognized for the same intended purpose of regulating temperature of the electroporation system (see also MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Dai and Gascoyne as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hogan et al. (already of record, US 2018/0051243; hereinafter “Hogan”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Chen discloses the electroporation system according to claim 1. Modified Chen does not explicitly disclose a safety door configured to mechanically open an electroporation circuit to prevent voltage discharge to the electroporation chamber while the safety door is open. Hogan discloses an electroporation system comprising a safety door configured to mechanically open an electroporation circuit to prevent voltage discharge to the system ([0092]). In view of Hogan, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of modified Chen with the housing of Hogan to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of preventing electrical shock to the user as disclosed by Hogan ([0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 20-22 and 24-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799