DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, lines 1-2: “elastic-member-receiving portions one of” should read “elastic-member-receiving portions on one of”. Presently, there is no word between “portions” and “one”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the side plates" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toyohiko et al. (JP 2001/236937 A, “Toyohiko”).
With respect to claim 1:
Toyohiko discloses a battery module 10 with rectangular battery cells 11 facing one direction (see paragraph 0032, Fig. 3). Additionally, Toyohiko discloses a pair of restraining plates 12 (i.e. end plates) on the outermost battery cells 11 and a pair of expansion suppressing plates 35 (i.e. sub-end plates) which fit between the restraining plate 12 and the outermost battery cells 11 (paragraph 0069, Fig. 19). Toyohiko discloses disc members 38 (i.e. elastic members) which fit between the restraining plate 12 and the expansion suppressing plate 35 (see paragraph 0070, Fig. 19).
With respect to claim 2:
Toyohiko discloses a pair of expansion suppressing plates 31 (i.e. side plates) that are along the side surfaces of the prismatic battery cell 11 (see paragraph 0059, Fig. 11). In Drawing 1 below, the red arrow describes the direction of the battery cells 11 facing a first direction, and the purple arrows describe the side plates facing a direction that is perpendicular to the first direction. Since side plates and end plates necessarily require a direction, it is obvious that the side plates are in a direction that is orthogonal to the first direction. When the plates meet, they create a corner with a 90-degree angle, which necessitates that they are perpendicular to each other. Therefore, it is clear that Toyohiko’s side plates meet the claimed side plate requirements.
Drawing 1: Toyohiko (Fig. 19)
With respect to claim 3:
Toyohiko discloses that the expansion suppressing plate 35 is abutted to the rectangular battery cell 11 and the battery cell 11 is also pressed by the pair of restraint plates 12. In Drawing 2 below, the expansion suppressing plates 31 (i.e. side plates) depict a rectangular shape, and the restraint plates 12 (i.e. end plates) also depict a rectangular shape. Therefore, it is clear that Toyohiko’s shape of the side and end plates meet the claimed side and end plate requirements.
Drawing 2: Toyohiko (Fig. 19)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Toyohiko et al. (JP 2001/236937 A, “Toyohiko”).
With respect to claims 13 and 14:
Toyohiko discloses a battery module as set forth above.
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro do not disclose that the elastic members are arranged in either an odd number or an even number.
Toyohiko discloses a plurality of disk springs that are fit between the expansion suppressing plates 35 and the restraining plate 12 (see paragraph 0070, Fig 19). Toyohiko also discloses that as the internal pressure of the battery cell increases, the disc springs 38 function to prevent their expansion even over long periods of time (see paragraph 0071). The plurality of disc springs encompasses both odd and even number arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a number of disc springs in Toyohiko, including an odd number or an even number as presently claimed, in order to effectively prevent the expansion of the battery cell over long periods of time.
Claims 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Toyohiko et al. (JP 2001/236937 A, “Toyohiko”) in view of Yamashiro et al. (JP2022/078379 A, “Yamashiro”).
With respect to claim 4:
Toyohiko discloses a battery module as set forth above.
Toyohiko discloses a plurality of disk springs 38 that are fitted between the expansion restraint plate 35 (i.e. sub-end plate) and restraint plate 12 (i.e. end plate) using a stepped bolt 36 (i.e. elastic member-receiving portions) (see Paragraph 0070, Fig. 19).
Toyohiko does not disclose "another one of the end plates or the sub end plates defines grooves for seating second ends of the elastic members". Yamashiro discloses a spring member 40 fixed to a pressing plate 42 (i.e. sub end plate), such that the pressing plate 42 forms a spring holding portion 44 (i.e. grooves) to seat the spring member 40 (see paragraph 0051, Fig. 9).
Yamashiro discloses a power supply device comprising a plurality of battery cells (see paragraphs 0006-0007). One of ordinary skill in the art recognized to add a groove in addition to the stepped bolt on respective plates in order to hold the elastic member on both the first and second ends in a stable position during instances of swelling in order to provide a restoring force without elastic member slippage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a groove as disclosed by Yamashiro in the expansion suppressing plates (i.e. sub-end plates) of Toyohiko in order to effectively fix the elastic members (i.e. disk springs).
With respect to claim 5:
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro disclose a battery module as set forth above.
Although Toyohiko does not explicitly disclose disk springs have a convex shape, it is noted as set forth in Drawing 3 below, the disk springs face opposite directions (i.e. convex). Additionally, since the disk springs face opposite directions, they are necessarily required to face different directions. Therefore, it is clear that Toyohiko’s disk springs meet the claimed elastic members requirements.
Drawing 3: Toyohiko (Fig. 19)
With respect to claims 6 and 7:
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro disclose a battery module as set forth above.
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro do not disclose that the elastic members are arranged in either an odd number or an even number.
Toyohiko discloses a plurality of disk springs that are fit between the expansion suppressing plates 35 and the restraining plate 12 (see paragraph 0070, Fig 19). Toyohiko discloses that as the internal pressure of the battery cell increases, the disc springs 38 function to prevent their expansion even over long periods of time (see paragraph 0071). The plurality of disc springs encompasses both odd and even number arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a number of disc springs in Toyohiko, including an odd number or an even number as presently claimed, in order to effectively prevent the expansion of the battery cell over long periods of time.
With respect to claim 8:
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro discloses a battery module as set forth above.
Toyohiko discloses a plurality of disk springs 38 that are fit between the expansion suppressing plates 35 of the stepped bolts 36 and the restraining plate 12 (see paragraph 0070, Fig 19). In Drawing 3 above, there are a plurality of disk springs fitting in the stepped bolt. Therefore, it is clear that Toyohiko’s disk springs meet the claimed number of elastic members requirements.
With respect to claim 10:
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro discloses a battery module as set forth above.
In Drawing 3 above, the disk springs 38 face opposite directions (i.e. convex). Additionally, since the disk springs face opposite directions, they are necessarily required to face different directions. Therefore, it is clear that Toyohiko’s disk springs meet the claimed direction of elastic members requirements.
Claims 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyohiko et al. (JP 2001/236937 A, “Toyohiko”) in view of in view of Yamashiro et al. (JP2022/078379 A, “Yamashiro”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Mikura et al. (JP2003/065377 A, “Mikura”).
With respect to claims 9, 11, and 12:
Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro discloses a battery module as set forth above.
Toyohiko discloses a plurality of disk springs 38 that are fitted between the expansion restraint plate 35 (i.e. sub-end plate) and restraint plate 12 (i.e. end plate).
Toyohiko does not disclose "the two or more of the disk springs face a same direction, that is, they are not in a parallel superimposing structure. Toyohiko does not disclose two or more of the disk springs comprises pairs of the disk springs respectively facing opposite directions. Furthermore, Toyohiko does not disclose wherein the two or more of the disk springs comprise a first pair of the disk springs overlapping and facing one direction, and a second pair of the disk springs overlapping and facing another direction that is opposite to the one direction, and stacked with the first pair of the disk springs.
Mikura discloses that there are two methods for stacking disc springs 10 that include parallel stacking method in which the disc springs are stacked in the same direction and a series stacking method in which the disc springs are stacked facing opposite directions (see paragraph 0009, Fig. 5). In a parallel stacking configuration, a large load can be generated with a small stroke (displacement). On the other hand, in the case of a series stacking system, a large stroke (displacement) can be generated with a small load. Therefore, depending on the application, they are used in series, parallel, or a combination of series and parallel configurations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use disc springs in Toyohiko in view of Yamashiro, that are facing different directions or to use disc springs where some are facing the same direction and some are facing different directions in order to produce a battery module where the disc springs prevent the expansion of the battery cells with the desired load and displacement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2020035716 discloses a battery module with a plurality of unit cells between a pair of end plates wherein the unit cell members are sandwiched by elastic members.
/Joshua J Zacharia/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787