DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Categories
As indicated in the preamble of the claim, the examiner finds the claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.(Claims 12-20 are processes and Claims 1-11 are machines). Accordingly, step 1 is satisfied.
Step 2A – Prong 1: was there a Judicial Exception Recited
Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea.” Any additional elements will be analyzed under Step 2A-Prong 2 and Step 2B:
A system and method of operating a system, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following an activation of a marker from a gaming establishment credit system and a transfer of an amount of funds associated with the activated marker to a gaming establishment account maintained by a component of a gaming establishment fund management system (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) mental processes, a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), cause the processor to:
generate an audit report based on a comparison of data associated with the activation of the marker and data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) mental processes, a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), and
responsive to a discrepancy between the data associated with the activation of the marker and the data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account, enable an adjustment to resolve the discrepancy (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) mental processes, a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) is directed to a series of steps for resolving an auditing discrepancy, which is a mental processes. The mere nominal recitation of a processor, a memory device, and a gaming establishment fund management system does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human interactions. Thus, Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Can the Judicial Exception Recited be integrated into a practical application
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
The identified abstract idea of exemplary Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements are: a processor, a memory device, and a gaming establishment fund management system that implements the underlying abstract idea. These additional elements are broadly recited computer elements that do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B – Significantly More Analysis
Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, steps a) generate an audit report, and b) enable an adjustment to resolve a discrepancy, do not add significantly more to the exception because they amount to merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Claim 1 (and similarly Claims 10 and 12) is ineligible.
Claim 2 (and similarly Claim 13) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 3 (and similarly Claim 14) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 4 (and similarly Claim 15) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 5 (and similarly Claim 16) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 6 (and similarly Claim 17) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 7 (and similarly Claim 18) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 8 (and similarly Claim 19) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 9 (and similarly Claim 20) recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim 11 recites the abstract idea of mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat Pub 2019/0043307 “Higgins”, in view of US Pat Pub 2012/0202584 “Amaitis”.
As per Claims 1 and 12, Higgins discloses a system and method of operating a system, comprising:
a processor (Higgins: [0003] In certain embodiments, the present disclosure relates to a system including a gaming establishment component processor, and a gaming establishment component memory device which stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by the gaming establishment component processor, cause the gaming establishment component processor to receive data associated with a requested amount of funds to be electronically transferred from an external account to a gaming establishment account.); and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor (Higgins: [0003] In certain embodiments, the present disclosure relates to a system including a gaming establishment component processor, and a gaming establishment component memory device which stores a plurality of instructions, which when executed by the gaming establishment component processor, cause the gaming establishment component processor to receive data associated with a requested amount of funds to be electronically transferred from an external account to a gaming establishment account.) following an activation of a marker from a gaming establishment credit system and a transfer of an amount of funds associated with the activated marker to a gaming establishment account maintained by a component of a gaming establishment fund management system (Higgins: [0012] Accordingly, to account for certain relatively lower-fee fund transfers to the system being associated with relatively longer durations before the funds of that fund transfer are available for the player, the system disclosed herein utilizes one or more credit components of the system, such as a gaming establishment credit system, to issue one or more lines of credit or markers (to draw from in association with one or more of the accounts maintained by one or more of the system components) until the funds transfer completes or settles. Such a configuration eliminates or drastically lowers the fund transfer fees by making use of relatively slower funds transfer types while also making those funds immediately available to a player.), cause the processor to:
generate an audit report based on a comparison of data associated with the activation of the marker and data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account (Higgins: [0045] the system imposes different fees for different types of transfers. For example, an ACH transfer might have a 1% fee associated with it, wherein the system would ensure that the line of credit is 1% less than the amount of the ACH transfer. In certain embodiments, the system imposes different fees based on the amount of time such transfers take to be completed or settle. For example, the system applies a 1% fee to the player's line of credit per day until their ACH transfer settles. In these embodiments, the system transfers all fees into an account for the operator or the supplier of the system disclosed herein and offers various reports to audit such transaction fees.).
Higgins fails to disclose but Amaitis teaches a system and method comprising:
responsive to a discrepancy between the data associated with the activation of the marker and the data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account, enable an adjustment to resolve the discrepancy (Amaitis: [0043] After a transfer, transferred money may be available in a recipient account and not one or more source accounts. Some embodiment may include a period of time during which the money is available in neither a source nor a recipient account (for some activity, for wagering, for withdrawal). For example, such period may allow a verification that the transfer happened successfully to occur, such a period may allow a possible delay in processing to be accounted for, such a period may prevent a user from withdrawing the transferred money from a source and a destination if an error occurred, and soon.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higgins to include resolving a discrepancy as taught by Amaitis, when auditing marker and transfer data as taught by Higgins with the motivation to improve accountability, tracking, assurance of credit worthiness, monitoring of activity, age verification, identity confirmation (Amaitis: [0020]).
As per Claims 2 and 13, Higgins fails to disclose but Amaitis teaches a system and method, wherein the adjustment comprises a modification of the data associated with the activation of the marker (Amaitis: [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higgins to include resolving a discrepancy as taught by Amaitis, when auditing marker and transfer data as taught by Higgins with the motivation to improve accountability, tracking, assurance of credit worthiness, monitoring of activity, age verification, identity confirmation (Amaitis: [0020]).
As per Claims 3 and 14, Higgins fails to disclose but Amaitis teaches a system and method, wherein the adjustment comprises a modification of the data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account (Amaitis: [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higgins to include resolving a discrepancy as taught by Amaitis, when auditing marker and transfer data as taught by Higgins with the motivation to improve accountability, tracking, assurance of credit worthiness, monitoring of activity, age verification, identity confirmation (Amaitis: [0020]).
As per Claims 4 and 15, Higgins fails to disclose but Amaitis teaches a system and method, wherein the adjustment comprises a creation of data associated with a resolution of the discrepancy (Amaitis: [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higgins to include resolving a discrepancy as taught by Amaitis, when auditing marker and transfer data as taught by Higgins with the motivation to improve accountability, tracking, assurance of credit worthiness, monitoring of activity, age verification, identity confirmation (Amaitis: [0020]).
As per Claims 5 and 16, Higgins discloses a system and method, wherein the audit report is generated in association with an audit request from an operator terminal (Higgins: [0045]).
As per Claims 6 and 17, Higgins discloses a system and method, wherein the gaming establishment account comprises a cashless wagering account (Higgins: [0057]).
As per Claims 7 and 18, Higgins discloses a system and method, wherein the data associated with the activation of the marker comprises data associated with an identified user over a period of time and the gaming establishment account is associated with the identified user (Higgins: [0012]).
As per Claims 8 and 19, Higgins discloses a system and method, wherein the data associated with the activation of the marker comprises data associated with a gaming establishment device and the data associated with the transfer of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker to the gaming establishment account comprises data associated any transfers of any part of the amount of funds associated with the activated marker from the gaming establishment account to the gaming establishment device (Higgins: [0045]).
As per Claims 9 and 20, Higgins discloses a system and method, wherein the audit report is further based on a comparison of data associated with a repayment of the marker and data associated with a transfer, from the gaming establishment account, of an amount of funds to repay the marker (Higgins: [0045]).
As per Claim 10, Higgins discloses a system comprising:
a processor (Higgins: [0003]); and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor following an activation of a marker from a gaming establishment credit system, a first transfer of funds associated with the activated marker to a gaming establishment account maintained by a component of a gaming establishment fund management system and a repayment of the marker based on a second transfer of funds from the gaming establishment account to the gaming establishment credit system (Higgins: [0003] and [0012]), cause the processor to:
generate an audit report based on a comparison of data associated with the marker and data associated with the transfers of funds associated with the gaming establishment account (Higgins: [0045]).
Higgins fails to disclose, but Amaitis teaches a system comprising:
responsive to the audit report comprising a discrepancy based on the comparison, enable an adjustment to resolve the discrepancy (Amaitis: [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Higgins to include resolving a discrepancy as taught by Amaitis, when auditing marker and transfer data as taught by Higgins with the motivation to improve accountability, tracking, assurance of credit worthiness, monitoring of activity, age verification, identity confirmation (Amaitis: [0020]).
As per Claim 11, Higgins discloses a system, wherein the comparison comprises at least one of a per user comparison, a per gaming establishment device comparison and a per gaming establishment account comparison (Higgins: [0045]).
Conclusion
/REVA R MOORE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FAHD A OBEID/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627