DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9-12 and 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, lines 4, the occurrence of "data" should be "--- the data ----"
In claim 10, lines 3, the occurrence of "the plurality of channels" should be "--- the plurality of wireless communication channels ----"
In claim 11, lines 3, the occurrence of "the plurality of communication channels" should be "--- the plurality of wireless communication channels ----"
In claim 12, lines 2, the occurrence of "the plurality of communication channels" should be "--- the plurality of wireless communication channels ----"
In claim 15, lines 5, the occurrence of "data" should be "--- the data ----"
In claim 16, lines 2, the occurrence of "the plurality of communication channels" should be "--- the plurality of wireless communication channels ----"
In claim 17, lines 3, the occurrence of "the plurality of communication channels" should be "--- the plurality of wireless communication channels ----"
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. [hereinafter as Lai], WO 2019174504 A1 in view of Chang [hereinafter as Chang], US 20230143167 A1 further in view of Richard et al. [hereinafter as Richard], US 20070091813 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses wherein a diagnostic system (Fig.1 page 5 lines 3-26, an On-Board Diagnostic system) comprising:
a diagnostic processor establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a
connection layer (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 28-40, a diagnostic processor of the vehicle diagnostic device 20 is establishing protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for data exchanged, Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model, a wireless method such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi of application layer are connecting/establishing between vehicle diagnostic device 20 and vehicle communication interface VCI 10 in page 5 lines 14-16 and Fig.4 page 6 lines 34-36, establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for the plurality of the vehicle diagnostic devices 20); and
a vehicle communication interface (VCI) having a plurality of communication channels
with the connection layer, each of the communication channels utilizing a distinct communication protocol (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 20-41, a plurality of logical communication channels in a vehicle communication interface (VCI) with the connection layer e.g., protocol stack layer, communication layer and hardware driver layer, and each of the communication channels using protocols such as ISO15765, ISO9141, ISO14230, TP20, TP16, RAWCAN and the like i.e., a distinct communication protocol), wherein, and
the abstraction layer transfers data between connection layer and the application layer (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 42-52, the abstraction layer transmits/transfers data between the protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer and a connection layer for the data exchanged, Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model).
Even though Lai discloses wherein a vehicle communication interface (VCI) having a plurality of communication channels with the connection layer, each of the communication channels utilizing a distinct communication protocol, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches wherein the abstraction layer monitors a quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, generates a best channel indicator indicating the channel with the best quality indicator, and selects a best channel based upon the best channel indicator (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], the communication channels CH having the best communication qualities indicating the channel with the best quality indicator and select the 5G mobile network communication channel as the main communication channel/best channel based upon the best channel indicator and Fig.1&4-5 [0031]-[0032], generating a best score i.e., a best channel indicator indicating the bandwidth level and the speed level i.e., a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels CH, the smaller score for the better the communication quality in the real-time traffic data),
the connection layer utilizes the best channel to transfer data between the VCI and the
diagnostic processor (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], best connection using the best channel to transfer data between the vehicle communication device and the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai to incorporate the teaching of Chang in order to provide for the best communication quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the best channel to transfer data between the vehicle communication device and the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor as taught by Chang to have incorporated in the system of Lai to provide for improving communication quality issues. (Chang, Fig.1-2 [0014] and Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066]).
Even though Lai and Chang discloses wherein the abstraction layer monitors a quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, generates a best channel indicator indicating the channel with the best quality indicator, and selects a best channel based upon the best channel indicator, in the same field of endeavor, Richard teaches wherein the abstraction layer monitors a quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, generates a best channel indicator indicating the channel with the best quality indicator, and selects a best channel based upon the best channel indicator (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and selects the channel B as the best channel based on the best channel indicator, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers and Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055], monitoring a quality indicator of each of the channels, generates a best channel indicator indicating the best channel based on the best link quality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai and Chang to incorporate the teaching of Richard in order to provide for the communication efficiency and quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 which monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and selects the channel B as the best channel based on the best channel indicator, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers and, a quality indicator of each of the channels are monitoring, generates a best channel indicator indicating the best channel based on the best link quality as taught by Richard to have incorporated in the system of Lai and Chang to provide a better data transfer efficiency and quality. (Richard, Fig.1-2 [0004], Fig.1-2&5 [0009]-[0012][0055] and Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Richard further discloses the abstraction layer iteratively monitors the quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, updates the best channel indicator in each iteration, and updates the best channel based upon each iterative best channel indicator (Fig.1-2&5 [0047][0051][0060], the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, the algorithm 100 updates the best channel indicator in each iteration, and updates the new best channel based upon each iterative best channel indicator and Fig.1-2&5 [0005], the use of a channel priority list is updated dynamically and communicated a highest priority channel on the list is selected and used upon validation).
Regarding claim 3, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 2 as stated above wherein Richard further discloses the iterations occur a regular frequency dictated by a clock signal (Fig.2&5 [0051][0058], the algorithm iterations occur a regular frequency of data transfer dictated by a timer/clock signal).
Regarding claim 4, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the connection layer is a first
connection layer, and the VCI further comprises a second connection layer, the VCI being operable to select the best channel from the plurality of channels in response to receiving the best channel indicator from the first connection layer (Fig.1&4-5 [0032][0049][0054], the established connections/connection layer is a first connection layer, and the vehicle communication device 10 further comprises a second connection layer, the vehicle communication device 10 being operable to select the best score for the best channel from the plurality of channels in response to receiving the best channel indicator from the first connection layer and Fig.3 [0026], the vehicle communication interfaces 12 includes a fifth generation (5G) mobile network communication interface, a fourth generation (4G) mobile network communication interface, a cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) network communication interface, a Wi-Fi network communication interface, and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network communication interface).
Regarding claim 5, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the plurality of communication channels comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel and a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel (Fig.3 [0026], the plurality of communication channels comprises a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel for the Wi-Fi network and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel for the Wi-Fi network).
Regarding claim 6, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel (Fig.3 [0027]-[0028], the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel for a C-V2X network, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel).
Regarding claim 8, Lai discloses wherein a method of selecting a wireless connection between a diagnostic processor and a vehicle communication interface (VCI) (Fig.1 page 5 lines 4-27, method of selecting a wireless connection between a diagnostic processor of an On-Board Diagnostic system and a vehicle communication interface (VCI)), the diagnostic processor comprising an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 28-40, the diagnostic processor of the vehicle diagnostic device 20 is comprising a protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for data exchanged, Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model, a wireless method such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi of application layer are connecting/establishing between vehicle diagnostic device 20 and vehicle communication interface VCI 10 in page 5 lines 14-16 and Fig.4 page 6 lines 34-36, establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for the plurality of the vehicle diagnostic devices 20), the method comprising:
establishing, in the connection layer, a plurality of wireless communication channels
between the connection layer and the VCI (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 20-41, a diagnostic processor of the vehicle diagnostic device 20 is establishing protocol stack layer between upper layer protocol data and physical layer standard transmission data i.e., a connection layer and a plurality of logical communication channels in a vehicle communication interface (VCI) for data exchanged and Fig.4 page 6 lines 34-36, establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for the plurality of the vehicle diagnostic devices 20 and a plurality of logical communication channels in the VCI); wherein
the data transmitted from the VCI is passed through the connection layer and abstraction layer to the application layer (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 42-52, the data transmitted/transferred from the VCI is passed through the connection layer and abstraction layer to the protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer for the data exchanged, Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model, a wireless method such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi of application layer are connecting/establishing between vehicle diagnostic device 20 and vehicle communication interface VCI 10 in page 5 lines 14-16), and
the data transmitted from the application layer is passed through the abstraction layer and the connection layer to the VCI (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 42-52, the data transmitted/ transferred from the protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer is passed through the abstraction layer and the connection layer to the VCI for the data exchanged).
Even though Lai discloses wherein establishing, in the connection layer, a plurality of wireless communication channels between the connection layer and the VCI,
in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel (Fig.1&4-5 [0031]-[0032], generating a score based on the bandwidth level and the speed level i.e., a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels CH, the transmission conditions e.g., the smaller bandwidth level for the better bandwidth and the smaller speed level for the faster data transferring speed of its respective communication, the smaller score for the better the communication quality in the real-time traffic data);
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], the communication channels CH having the best communication qualities indicating the channel with the best quality indicator and select the 5G mobile network communication channel as the main communication channel/best channel based upon the best/highest channel indicator); and
transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], transferring/transmitting data between the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor and the vehicle communication device (VCI) by using the best channel/communication channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai to incorporate the teaching of Chang in order to provide for the best communication quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the best channel to transfer data between the vehicle communication device and the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor as taught by Chang to have incorporated in the system of Lai to provide for improving communication quality issues. (Chang, Fig.1-2 [0014] and Fig.3&8 [0045][0066]).
Even though Lai and Chang disclose wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel;
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel; and transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel, in the same field of endeavor, Richard teaches wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and each link quality indicator indicating the lowest amount/level of interference and noise i.e., transmission conditions of its respective communication channel, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers and Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055], generating a quality indicator of each of the channels, the link quality indicator is based on the quality of received signal and the strength (SNR) i.e., the transmission conditions of the RF communication channels);
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], selects/designates the channel B as the best channel based on the best/highest quality indicator and Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055], monitoring a quality indicator of each of the channels, the communication channel with the best/highest link quality indicator is selected/ designated as the best transmission/communication channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai and Chang to incorporate the teaching of Richard in order to provide for the communication efficiency and quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 which monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and each link quality indicator indicating the lowest amount/level of interference and noise i.e., transmission conditions of its respective communication channel and generating a quality indicator of each of the channels, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers, the link quality indicator is based on the quality of received signal and the strength (SNR) i.e., the transmission conditions of the RF communication channels as taught by Richard to have incorporated in the system of Lai and Chang to provide a better data transfer efficiency and quality. (Richard, Fig.1-2 [0004], Fig.1-2&5 [0009]-[0012][0055] and Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Richard further discloses the steps of designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel and transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel are performed iteratively (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], selects/designates the channel B as the best channel based on the best/highest quality indicator and transmitting the data using the best transmission/communication channel are performed iteratively; Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055]),
wherein the designation of the best communication channel is updated in each iteration to the communication channel associated with the highest associated quality indicator during the instant iteration (Fig.1-2&5 [0047][0051][0060], the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels, the algorithm 100 updates the best channel indicator in each iteration to the communication channel, and updates the new best channel based upon each iterative best channel indicator and Fig.1-2&5 [0005], the use of a channel priority list is updated dynamically and communicated a highest priority channel on the list is selected and used upon validation).
Regarding claim 10, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the connection layer is a first connection layer, and the VCI further comprises a second connection layer, the VCI selecting the best channel from the plurality of channels in response to receiving an indication from the first connection layer (Fig.1&4-5 [0032][0049][0054], the established connections/ connection layer is a first connection layer, and the vehicle communication device 10 further comprises a second connection layer, the vehicle communication device 10 being operable to select the best score for the best channel from the plurality of channels in response to receiving the best channel indicator from the first connection layer and Fig.3 [0026], the vehicle communication interfaces 12 includes a fifth generation (5G) mobile network communication interface, a fourth generation (4G) mobile network communication interface, a cellular vehicle-to-everything (C-V2X) network communication interface, a Wi-Fi network communication interface, and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network communication interface).
Regarding claim 11, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the plurality of communication channels comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel and a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel (Fig.3 [0026]-[0028], the plurality of communication channels comprises a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel for the Wi-Fi network and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel for the Wi-Fi network).
Regarding claim 12, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel (Fig.3 [0027]-[0028], the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel for a C-V2X network, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel).
Regarding claim 14, Lai discloses wherein a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when read by a processor (Fig.1&3 page 4 lines 23-28, a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when read by a processor), cause the processor to perform a method of selecting a wireless connection between a diagnostic processor comprising an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer, and a vehicle communication interface (VCI) (Fig.1 page 5 lines 4-40, the processor to perform a method of selecting a wireless connection between a diagnostic processor of an On-Board Diagnostic system comprising a protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for data exchanged and a vehicle communication interface (VCI), Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model, a wireless method such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi of application layer are connecting/establishing between vehicle diagnostic device 20 and vehicle communication interface VCI 10 in page 5 lines 14-16 and Fig.4 page 6 lines 34-36, establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for the plurality of the vehicle diagnostic devices 20), the steps comprising:
establishing, in the connection layer, a plurality of wireless communication channels
between the connection layer and the VCI (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 20-41, a diagnostic processor of the vehicle diagnostic device 20 is establishing protocol stack layer between upper layer protocol data and physical layer standard transmission data i.e., a connection layer and a plurality of logical communication channels in a vehicle communication interface (VCI) for data exchanged and Fig.4 page 6 lines 34-36, establishing an application layer, an abstraction layer, and a connection layer for the plurality of the vehicle diagnostic devices 20 and a plurality of logical communication channels in the VCI); wherein
the data transmitted from the VCI is passed through the connection layer and abstraction layer to the application layer (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 42-52, the data transmitted/transferred from the VCI is passed through the connection layer and abstraction layer to the protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer for the data exchanged, Noted: application layer is the top layer of protocol stack layer in OSI model, a wireless method such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi of application layer are connecting/establishing between vehicle diagnostic device 20 and vehicle communication interface VCI 10 in page 5 lines 14-16), and
the data transmitted from the application layer is passed through the abstraction layer and the connection layer to the VCI (Fig.1-2 page 5 lines 42-52, the data transmitted/ transferred from the protocol stack layer i.e., an application layer is passed through the abstraction layer and the connection layer to the VCI for the data exchanged).
Even though Lai discloses wherein establishing, in the connection layer, a plurality of wireless communication channels between the connection layer and the VCI,
in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel (Fig.1&4-5 [0031]-[0032], generating a score based on the bandwidth level and the speed level i.e., a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels CH, the transmission conditions e.g., the smaller bandwidth level for the better bandwidth and the smaller speed level for the faster data transferring speed of its respective communication, the smaller score for the better the communication quality in the real-time traffic data);
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], the communication channels CH having the best communication qualities indicating the channel with the best quality indicator and select the 5G mobile network communication channel as the main communication channel/best channel based upon the best/highest channel indicator); and
transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel (Fig.3&8 [0045][0048][0066], transferring/transmitting data between the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor and the vehicle communication device (VCI) by using the best channel/communication channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai to incorporate the teaching of Chang in order to provide for the best communication quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the best channel to transfer data between the vehicle communication device and the field communication device 20/diagnostic processor as taught by Chang to have incorporated in the system of Lai to provide for improving communication quality issues. (Chang, Fig.1-2 [0014] and Fig.3&8 [0045][0066]).
Even though Lai and Chang disclose wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel;
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel; and transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel, in the same field of endeavor, Richard teaches wherein generating in the abstraction layer a plurality of quality indicators for each of the communication channels, each quality indicator indicating the transmission conditions of its respective communication channel (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and each link quality indicator indicating the lowest amount/level of interference and noise i.e., transmission conditions of its respective communication channel, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers and Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055], generating a quality indicator of each of the channels, the link quality indicator is based on the quality of received signal and the strength (SNR) i.e., the transmission conditions of the RF communication channels);
designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], selects/designates the channel B as the best channel based on the best/highest quality indicator and Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055], monitoring a quality indicator of each of the channels, the communication channel with the best/highest link quality indicator is selected/ designated as the best transmission/communication channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai and Chang to incorporate the teaching of Richard in order to provide for the communication efficiency and quality.
It would have been beneficial to use the abstraction layer e.g., MAC layer 120 of a receiving monitoring device 16 which monitors a link quality indicator of each of the plurality of communication channels and each link quality indicator indicating the lowest amount/level of interference and noise i.e., transmission conditions of its respective communication channel and generating a quality indicator of each of the channels, Noted: any of the 7 layers could be an abstraction layer, the OSI model outlines seven abstraction layers, the link quality indicator is based on the quality of received signal and the strength (SNR) i.e., the transmission conditions of the RF communication channels as taught by Richard to have incorporated in the system of Lai and Chang to provide a better data transfer efficiency and quality. (Richard, Fig.1-2 [0004], Fig.1-2&5 [0009]-[0012][0055] and Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Richard further discloses the instructions further specify that the steps of designating the communication channel with the highest associated quality indicator as a best communication channel and transmitting data between the application layer and the VCI using the best communication channel are performed iteratively (Fig.2&5 [0047][0051]-[0052], steps of selecting/designating the channel B as the best channel based on the best/highest quality indicator and transmitting the data using the best transmission/communication channel are performed iteratively; Fig.1-2 [0009]-[0012][0055]), wherein the designation of the best communication channel is updated in each iteration to the communication channel associated with the highest associated quality indicator during the instant iteration (Fig.1-2&5 [0047][0051][0060], the algorithm 100 updates the best channel indicator in each iteration to the communication channel, and updates the new best channel based upon each iterative best channel indicator and Fig.1-2&5 [0005], the use of a channel priority list is updated dynamically and communicated a highest priority channel on the list is selected and used upon validation).
Regarding claim 16, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the instructions further specify that the plurality of communication channels comprises a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel and a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel (Fig.3 [0026]-[0028], the plurality of communication channels comprises a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) channel for the Wi-Fi network and a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) channel for the Wi-Fi network).
Regarding claim 17, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 16 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the instructions further specify that the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel (Fig.3 [0027]-[0028], the Wi-Fi channel is a peer-to-peer (P2P) Wi-Fi channel for a C-V2X network, and the plurality of communication channels further comprises an infrastructure Wi-Fi channel).
Claims 7, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. [hereinafter as Lai], WO 2019174504 A1 in view of Chang [hereinafter as Chang], US 20230143167 A1 in view of Richard et al. [hereinafter as Richard], US 20070091813 A1 further in view of Duval [hereinafter as Duval], US 20180353075 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are maintained in a standby operating mode (Fig.2&5 [0053][0064]-[0066], the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are computed and maintained until an acknowledgement message is received).
Even though Lai, Chang and Richard disclose the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are maintained in a standby operating mode, in the same field of endeavor, Duval teaches wherein the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are maintained in a standby operating mode (Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080], the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/communication channel are relegated/maintained in a standby operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai, Chang and Richard to incorporate the teaching of Duval in order to achieve a better performance.
It would have been beneficial to relegate/maintain the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/communication channel in a standby operating mode as taught by Duval to have incorporated in the system of Lai, Chang and Richard to provide for reporting a better performance. (Duval, Fig.1-2 [0024] and Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode (Fig.2&5 [0053][0064]-[0066], the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are computed and maintained until an acknowledgement message is received).
Even though Lai, Chang and Richard disclose maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode, in the same field of endeavor, Duval teaches wherein maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode (Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080], the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/ communication channel are relegated/maintained in a standby operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai, Chang and Richard to incorporate the teaching of Duval in order to achieve a better performance.
It would have been beneficial to relegate/maintain the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/communication channel in a standby operating mode as taught by Duval to have incorporated in the system of Lai, Chang and Richard to provide for reporting a better performance. (Duval, Fig.1-2 [0024] and Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 18, Lai, Chang and Richard disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Chang further discloses the instructions further specify maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode (Fig.2&5 [0053][0064]-[0066], the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel are computed and maintained until an acknowledgement message is received).
Even though Lai, Chang and Richard disclose maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode, in the same field of endeavor, Duval teaches wherein maintaining the connections of the communication channels other than the best communication channel in a standby operating mode (Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080], the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/ communication channel are relegated/maintained in a standby operating mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Lai, Chang and Richard to incorporate the teaching of Duval in order to achieve a better performance.
It would have been beneficial to relegate/maintain the connections of the remaining channel pairs i.e., communication channels other than the best channel pair/communication channel in a standby operating mode as taught by Duval to have incorporated in the system of Lai, Chang and Richard to provide for reporting a better performance. (Duval, Fig.1-2 [0024] and Fig.1&11 [0078]-[0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0267792 A1) teaches Dynamic Traffic Management for Multi-Access Management Services.
Marshall et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0013452 A1) teaches Secure Vehicle Software Updates Via Private Network.
Gopalan et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0373205 A1) teaches Multilayer Packet Optical Communication Networks.
Yazaki et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11588358 B2) teaches Communication Control Device.
Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0035034 A1) teaches Communication Apparatus and Communication Method in Wireless Power Transmission System.
Doggart et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 10609528 B2) teaches Vehicle Communication System and Method.
Steel et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0072266 A1) teaches Method and System for Determining Whether a Dongle is in Spatial Proximity to a Vehicle Diagnostic Tool.
Zack (Pub. No.: US 2021/0120385 A1) teaches Vehicle Telematics System Utilizing Prediction Function.
Oyabu (Pub. No.: US 2020/0098254 A1) teaches Roadside Unit.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414