DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 04/24/2026 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Submission filed on 04/13/2026 has been entered.
a) Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 15 are pending in the application. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10 and 15 have been amended.
b) The objection to the claims is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
c) The Specification objection is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/13/2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20230146753-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 1 and 9, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
B) Regarding all dependent claims, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below. The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al, (U.S Patent No 2025/0015954 A1 as the publication date is Jan. 9, 2025) with foreign application (CN-114727221-A) as the priority data Mar. 22, 2022 and published Jul. 08, 2022, in view of Choi et al. (US-20230146753-A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Huang teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Fig. 3 shows a network architecture for a wireless communication system, “The method is performed by a terminal device,” [0007], lines 2-3), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message configuring a plurality of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets for positioning across a plurality of carriers which are related with a bandwidth aggregation ([0250] explicitly states “the network device sends the first configuration information in step S501, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first configuration information in step S501. The first configuration information is used to configure n sounding reference signals, where the sounding reference signals are used for positioning, a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a positioning carrier, and n is an integer greater than 1.” See also Fig. 5 and [0308] lines 4-9. [0049] and [0339] state “a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) configuration), or may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling). This is not limited herein.” And [0012] and [0058] states “so that the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals can obtain a more accurate positioning measurement result in a carrier aggregation (carrier aggregation, CA) positioning manner by using a characteristic of bandwidth aggregation of the different carriers.” That implies the BS can send via RRC messaging the configuration for group of SRS resource sets for positioning purposes across a plurality of carriers which are related with a bandwidth aggregation), the RRC message including first information (Figs. 5 and 8 illustrates the network device (base station) sends a first configuration information to the UE on the step S501, as stated in [0008] line 2-4, “first configuration information received by the terminal device, the first configuration information is used to configure the n sounding reference signals used for the positioning”) indicating that a downlink control information (DCI) triggering of the SRS resource sets for positioning across the plurality of carriers for the bandwidth aggregation is activated (Fig. 5 and 8, [0008] line 5-10, [0009], lines 1-5, [0250], lines 2-6, [0251], lines 3-7, [0252], lines 3-8), "the terminal device receives first configuration information, where the first configuration information is used to configure n sounding reference signals, the sounding reference signals are used for positioning“. [0049] and [0339] states “indication information may be semi-static configuration information (for example, a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) configuration), or may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling)”. This implies that the DCI can dynamically trigger (schedule) the transmission of SRS for positioning. [0012], lines 8-16 and [0189], lines 10-18, state “a signal received by the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals is a signal obtained by performing carrier aggregation on the n sounding reference signals on n corresponding carriers. A characteristic of bandwidth aggregation of different carriers is used, so that the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals can obtain a more accurate positioning measurement result in a carrier aggregation (carrier aggregation, CA) positioning manner.” That indicates triggering the transmission of SRS where the carrier aggregation or bandwidth aggregation is activated to improve the positioning, [0058] illustrates how the positioning process improves with using the BW aggregation, which confirm the activation for the bandwidth aggregation, see also [0240]); receiving, from the base station based on the first information, a DCI triggering an SRS resource set for positioning in carrier which is related with the bandwidth aggregation (Claim 1 describes the terminal may receive the first configuration information from the network to configure multiple SRS resource sets ( not only one) for positioning and included details about which carrier (including positioning carriers) to use, and how to aggregate them for improving the positioning process as stated in [0008], [0012], [0049] and [0304]. [0018] states “a carrier corresponding to at least one of the m sounding reference signals is a positioning carrier“ [0252], The eleventh indication information may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling) [0049], where the DCI can trigger the transmission of a resource set of the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS). It is mention that the n sounding reference signals corresponding to n carriers can be aggregated to use the characteristic of bandwidth aggregation across different carriers [0019]-[0020] and [0189], lines 10-13. In addition, [0058] illustrates how the how the trigger SRS resource sets for positioning on a carriers related to BW aggregation), wherein the SRS resource set for positioning is one among the plurality of SRS resource sets ([0241] states “SRS resource set: includes one or more SRS resources, and SRS resources in an SRS resource set have a same periodicity and SRS power control parameters.” [0242]- [0243] state “SRS resource: is a minimum granularity of configuring the SRS, and an SRS resource corresponds to an SRS transmit beam.” That means a specific SRS resource set can be configured for positioning process, since it is a part/member of the total group of SRS resource sets that configured on a BWP or carrier [0251], [0240], see also [0234], which provides examples on using SRS resource sets for different purposes); identifying, for the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation across the plurality of carriers, that an SRS of the SRS resource set for positioning along with a time period collides with an another signal on a symbol and the SRS is dropped on the symbol ([0029] describes that the symbol can be slot, subframe or frame on the same time domain resource unit, and it also states “that the terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals may also be expressed as: The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit.”[0028] states “when determining that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device may determine not to send the n sounding reference signals. In other words, when determining that the n sounding reference signals conflict with other scheduled signals (from the terminal device or another terminal device) on corresponding time-frequency domain resources, the terminal device sends the first signal instead of the n sounding reference signals, to avoid impact on transmission of the other scheduled signals.” [0046] states “When the first symbol set includes at least one symbol corresponding to the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device determines that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit.” That implies when the collisions between the SRS and other signals occur on the same symbol (on that time period [0313]), the system dropping the SRS on that conflicting /collide symbol [0028]-[0031], see the example provided in [0314]. That shows the SRS signals may be dropped on the a symbol because of the conflict with other signals on the same CC or linked CCs, [0319], [0120]),
and, transmitting, to the base station based on the DCI, the SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning across all of the plurality of carriers, except for the symbol where the SRS is dropped ([0025], When no conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to one or more of then sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device sends the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information across the carriers, [0026], lines 5-9 and [0029], lines 6-8. [0313] states “The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. And [0340] states “the terminal keeps sending of SRSs that do not conflict, so that it can be ensured that a network makes full use of the sent SRSs to position the terminal on a premise that there is conflict information. These part confirm the terminal can send the SRS signals across all the CCs except the symbols where there the conflict occur, which is based on the RRC or DCI as stated on [0049] and [0052]), wherein the SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning across all of the plurality of carriers is dropped on the symbol ([0028], lines 2-14, if a conflict occurs on a carrier corresponding to one or more of the SRS signals in the same time domine resource unit (e.g., symbol), the terminal device may determine not to send the SRS signals on that symbol. This dropping of SRS transmission across the plurality of CCs is to avoid impacting the quality of other scheduled signals, which also stated in [0029]. [0326], lines 9-18 states "when determining that the one or more of the n sounding reference signals conflict with other scheduled signals (from the terminal device or another terminal device) on corresponding time-frequency domain resources, the terminal device (stops signal receiving and sending or) sends the other scheduled signals instead of the n sounding reference signals on the time-frequency domain resource corresponding to the one or more sounding reference signals, to avoid impact on transmission of the first signal." These sections implies the dropping SRS transmission due to the conflicts, [0305] and Fig. 8 (a and b). [0120] "In some embodiments of the third aspect, when determining that a conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit (in the same symbol), the processing unit is configured to determine not to send the n sounding reference signals." [0025], When no conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to one or more of then sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device sends the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information across the CCs, [0026], lines 5-9 and [0029], lines 6-8. [0313] states "The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. And [0340] states "the terminal keep sending of SRSs that do not conflict, so that it can be ensured that a network makes full use of the sent SRSs to position the terminal on a premise that there is conflict information. These part confirm the terminal can send the SRS signals across all the CCs except the symbols where there the conflict occur, see also [0319] which describe the reason of why the terminal avoid to send n SRS when the conflict occur.
However, Huang does not explicitly teach, but Choi teaches wherein the SRS is dropped based on a time interval between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the DCI and a starting symbol of an SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation being at least a pre-determined number of symbols ([0163] states “The reference resource region or the T.sub.CI symbols may be positioned after ‘X’ (T.sub.proc,2′) symbols from the symbol in which a PDCCH, including a specific format of DCI including a UL preemption indication, is detected, and the value ‘X’ may be determined on the basis of a processing time T.sub.proc,2 and an offset value d.sub.offset of the DCI. That is, the UE may determine the index of a first symbol of the reference resource region on the basis of a processing time and an offset value of DCI after the last symbol in which a PDCCH is detected.” see also [0015] which states “a starting symbol in the reference resource region is a symbol positioned after “X” symbols from the symbol after the symbol in which the PDCCH is received” see also claim 6 and [0173] states “the RRC configuration information may further include an offset value for determining a starting symbol of the reference resource region described with reference to FIG. 12. “, where [0023] and claims 14, 30 illustrate that the method can be applied for any uplink transmission , including SRS. That defines the region of reference resource for cancellation by starting symbol after X symbols from the last symbol of the PDCCH, see Fig. 19 and 24 and the examples in [0359]-[0360]. That is, since the UE requires a processing time for decoding the PDCCH detected in the monitoring occasion of the monitoring periodicity, the UE may cancel UL transmission for the symbols positioned after a specific number of symbols from the reception of the UL preemption indication, as stated in [0246], accordingly, only if the UL preemption indication is received in the symbol before a specific number of symbols from the symbol in which UL transmission is scheduled to be cancelled, the UE may cancel the UL transmission in the scheduled symbol. Accordingly, the value ‘X’ may correspond to the minimum number of symbols in consideration of the processing time. That implies the SRS can be dropped by canceling the resource if the interval between the last symbol of PDCCH for the DCI and the starting symbol of SRS transmission is at least the predefined number of symbol X, see also [0440]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Choi (in analogous art) by adding wherein the SRS is dropped based on a time interval between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the DCI and a starting symbol of an SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation being at least a pre-determined number of symbols. Accordingly, the UE does not perform unnecessary uplink transmission, thereby consuming energy of the user equipment and preventing interference with other UEs and the BS. (Choi, [0027]).
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), Huang and Choi teach the method of claim 1,
Huang further teaches wherein the RRC message further includes second information indicating a carrier frequency for each of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning (Fig. 4 illustrates bandwidth part on a carrier (for example, as shown in FIG. 4, a BWP #0, a BWP #1, or a BWP #2 included in the cell carrier #0, or a BWP #0, a BWP #1, or a BWP #2 included in the cell carrier #1), and corresponds to a resource block (resource block, RB) set, a subcarrier spacing, and a cyclic prefix (cyclic prefix, CP) type. In Rel-15 and Rel-16, a plurality of BWPs may be configured on a cell carrier, but only at most one active BWP is configured at a moment. The terminal performs transmission of data, uplink control, and an SRS on the active BWP. One or more SRS resource sets may be configured on a BWP” see also 6-7 and [0167]-[0174] which provide information on the carrier of the k frequency domain resource units. [0073]-[0074], [0142], the UE may receive a frequency specific information for each CC such as the maximum aggregated bandwidth for SRS transmission or the quality of contiguous carriers corresponding to the aggregation bandwidth. [0271] describes an example about that as stated “For example, the communication capability with 100 MHz may correspond to one carrier (3.4 GHz to 3.5 GHz) in a n78 band. In addition, a radio frequency of the terminal device has redundancy. Actually, a 200 MHz radio frequency signal can be sent, but a baseband of the terminal device cannot support receiving and sending of 200 MHz data. It means that if there is another carrier in a frequency ranging from 3.5 GHz to 3.6 GHz, the terminal cannot support data receiving and sending on the carrier. Therefore, the carrier becomes a positioning carrier. The terminal may have a simple baseband signal processing capability of sending an SRS or the like on the carrier, but the carrier cannot support processing of complex channels such as a PCCCH/PDSCH and a PUCCH/PUSCH. Because two CCs deployed in a same band are usually co-located, the terminal may use synchronization and timing of a cell at 3.4 GHz to 3.5 GHz for the positioning carrier. “ see also [0266] and [259]-[0271]. [0012], lines 8-16 the UE can be configured to use multiple CCs for carrier aggregation CA to increase the bandwidth available for positioning, and [0010], lines 1-8 describes at least one of the CCs is designated as a positioning carrier, which is dedicated to transmitting SRS for positioning purposes, that may be transmitted over RRC or DCI signaling, as stated in [0049[ and [0339]. That confirms including the information about the carrier frequency for the SRS resource sets).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Huang and Choi teach the method of claim 1,
Huang further teaches wherein the time period is configured between the SRS and an uplink signal on the carrier ([0017] states “fourth indication information, indicating first switching time, where the first switching time is used for switching between sending a signal by the terminal device on a first carrier set and sending a sounding reference signal on a second carrier set, the first carrier set does not include a positioning carrier, and the second carrier set includes at least one positioning carrier” see also [0021] and [0046]-[0048] illustrate the terminal may receive information regarding the transmit first signal (e.g., PDCCH) on a carrier and states “The terminal device determines a first symbol set, where the first symbol set is a symbol occupied by the first signal or the first symbol set is a union set of the symbol occupied by the first signal and a switching symbol, the switching symbol is located before the symbol occupied by the first signal or after the symbol occupied by the first signal, and a quantity of switching symbols is determined by the first switching time. When the first symbol set includes at least one symbol corresponding to the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device determines that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit.” Which means the fourth indication indicates that the terminal device performs carrier switching (time interval) between communication and positioning modes [0298], lines 4-24, which states “the terminal device indicates the switching time at which the SRS is sent on the positioning carrier, and mainly indicates delay of radio frequency switching for terminal operation on a target band between a communication mode and a positioning mode.” [0047] indicates that “the first switching time is used for switching between sending a signal by the terminal device on a first carrier set and sending a sounding reference signal on a second carrier set, the first carrier set does not include the positioning carrier, and the second carrier set includes the at least one positioning carrier.” That indicate the time period is configured between the SRS and an uplink signal).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Huang teaches A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE (Figs. 1-3 shows a user equipment (terminal device 100, Fig. 1), (terminal device 101, Fig 2b), and (mobile phone, Fig. 3) in the wireless network [0208], lines 16-27) comprising: at least one transceiver and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (The communication apparatus (900, Fig.9, terminal device as stated in [0106], line8) includes the transceiver unit (901, fig. 9) which is coupled with the processing unit (902, Fig. 9), [0107], the processing unit coupled to the transceiver unit 901) ; and at least one memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor (Figs. 10-11, show the memory communicatively coupled to the processor), storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to ([0411], lines 3-6, “when the computer-executable instructions are executed by a processor, the processor performs the method in the possible implementations of the terminal device in the foregoing embodiments”): receive, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message configuring a plurality of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets for positioning across a plurality of carriers which are related with a bandwidth aggregation ([0250] explicitly states “the network device sends the first configuration information in step S501, and correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first configuration information in step S501. The first configuration information is used to configure n sounding reference signals, where the sounding reference signals are used for positioning, a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a positioning carrier, and n is an integer greater than 1.” See also Fig. 5 and [0308] lines 4-9. [0049] and [0339] state “a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) configuration), or may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling). This is not limited herein.” And [0012] and [0058] states “so that the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals can obtain a more accurate positioning measurement result in a carrier aggregation (carrier aggregation, CA) positioning manner by using a characteristic of bandwidth aggregation of the different carriers.” That implies the BS can send via RRC messaging the configuration for group of SRS resource sets for positioning purposes across a plurality of carriers which are related with a bandwidth aggregation , the RRC message including first information (Figs. 5 and 8 illustrates the network device (base station) sends a first configuration information to the UE on the step S501, as stated in [0008] line 2-4, “first configuration information received by the terminal device, the first configuration information is used to configure the n sounding reference signals used for the positioning”) indicating that a downlink control information (DCI) triggering of the SRS resource sets for positioning across the plurality of carriers for the bandwidth aggregation is activated ((Fig. 5 and 8, [0008] line 5-10, [0009], lines 1-5, [0250], lines 2-6, [0251], lines 3-7, [0252], lines 3-8), "the terminal device receives first configuration information, where the first configuration information is used to configure n sounding reference signals, the sounding reference signals are used for positioning“. [0049] and [0339] states “indication information may be semi-static configuration information (for example, a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) configuration), or may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling)”. This implies that the DCI can dynamically trigger (schedule) the transmission of SRS for positioning. [0012], lines 8-16 and [0189], lines 10-18, state “a signal received by the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals is a signal obtained by performing carrier aggregation on the n sounding reference signals on n corresponding carriers. A characteristic of bandwidth aggregation of different carriers is used, so that the receiving end of the n sounding reference signals can obtain a more accurate positioning measurement result in a carrier aggregation (carrier aggregation, CA) positioning manner.” That indicates triggering the transmission of SRS where the carrier aggregation or bandwidth aggregation is activated to improve the positioning, [0058] illustrates how the positioning process improves with using the BW aggregation, which confirm the activation for the bandwidth aggregation, see also [0240]); receive, from the base station based on the first information, a DCI triggering an SRS resource set for positioning in a carrier which is related with the bandwidth aggregation (Claim 1 describes the terminal may receive the first configuration information from the network to configure multiple SRS resource sets ( not only one) for positioning and included details about which carrier (including positioning carriers) to use, and how to aggregate them for improving the positioning process as stated in [0008], [0012], [0049] and [0304]. [0018] states “a carrier corresponding to at least one of the m sounding reference signals is a positioning carrier“ [0252], The eleventh indication information may be dynamic scheduling information (for example, downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI) scheduling) [0049], where the DCI can trigger the transmission of a resource set of the Sounding Reference Signal (SRS). It is mention that the n sounding reference signals corresponding to n carriers can be aggregated to use the characteristic of bandwidth aggregation across different carriers [0019]-[0020] and [0189], lines 10-13. In addition, [0058] illustrates how the how the trigger SRS resource sets for positioning on a carriers related to BW aggregation), wherein the SRS resource set for positioning is one among the plurality of SRS resource sets ([0241] states “SRS resource set: includes one or more SRS resources, and SRS resources in an SRS resource set have a same periodicity and SRS power control parameters.” [0242]- [0243] state “SRS resource: is a minimum granularity of configuring the SRS, and an SRS resource corresponds to an SRS transmit beam.” That means a specific SRS resource set can be configured for positioning process, since it is a part/member of the total group of SRS resource sets that configured on a BWP or carrier [0251], [0240], see also [0234], which provides examples on using SRS resource sets for different purposes); identify, for the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation across the plurality of carriers, that an SRS of the SRS resource set for positioning along with a time period collides with an another signal on a symbol and the SRS is dropped on the symbol ([0029] describes that the symbol can be slot, subframe or frame on the same time domain resource unit, and it also states “that the terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals may also be expressed as: The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit.”[0028] states “when determining that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device may determine not to send the n sounding reference signals. In other words, when determining that the n sounding reference signals conflict with other scheduled signals (from the terminal device or another terminal device) on corresponding time-frequency domain resources, the terminal device sends the first signal instead of the n sounding reference signals, to avoid impact on transmission of the other scheduled signals.” [0046] states “When the first symbol set includes at least one symbol corresponding to the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device determines that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit.” That implies when the collisions between the SRS and other signals occur on the same symbol (on that time period [0313]), the system dropping the SRS on that conflicting /collide symbol [0028]-[0031], see the example provided in [0314]. That shows the SRS signals may be dropped on the a symbol because of the conflict with other signals on the same CC or linked CCs, [0319], [0120]) and transmit, to the base station based on the DCI, the SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning across all of the plurality of carriers, except for the symbol where the SRS is dropped ([0025], When no conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to one or more of then sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device sends the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information across the carriers, [0026], lines 5-9 and [0029], lines 6-8. [0313] states “The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. And [0340] states “the terminal keeps sending of SRSs that do not conflict, so that it can be ensured that a network makes full use of the sent SRSs to position the terminal on a premise that there is conflict information. These part confirm the terminal can send the SRS signals across all the CCs except the symbols where there the conflict occur, which is based on the RRC or DCI as stated on [0049] and [0052]), wherein the SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning across all of the plurality of carriers is dropped on the symbol ([0028], lines 2-14, if a conflict occurs on a carrier corresponding to one or more of the SRS signals in the same time domine resource unit (e.g., symbol), the terminal device may determine not to send the SRS signals on that symbol. This dropping of SRS transmission across the plurality of CCs is to avoid impacting the quality of other scheduled signals, which also stated in [0029]. [0326], lines 9-18 states "when determining that the one or more of the n sounding reference signals conflict with other scheduled signals (from the terminal device or another terminal device) on corresponding time-frequency domain resources, the terminal device (stops signal receiving and sending or) sends the other scheduled signals instead of the n sounding reference signals on the time-frequency domain resource corresponding to the one or more sounding reference signals, to avoid impact on transmission of the first signal." These sections implies the dropping SRS transmission due to the conflicts, [0305] and Fig. 8 (a and b). [0120] "In some embodiments of the third aspect, when determining that a conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit (in the same symbol), the processing unit is configured to determine not to send the n sounding reference signals." [0025], When no conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to one or more of then sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device sends the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information across the CCs, [0026], lines 5-9 and [0029], lines 6-8. [0313] states "The terminal device determines not to send the n sounding reference signals on a symbol on which a conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. In other words, the terminal device may send the n sounding reference signals on symbols on which no conflict occurs in the same time domain resource unit. And [0340] states "the terminal keep sending of SRSs that do not conflict, so that it can be ensured that a network makes full use of the sent SRSs to position the terminal on a premise that there is conflict information. These part confirm the terminal can send the SRS signals across all the CCs except the symbols where there the conflict occur, see also [0319] which describe the reason of why the terminal avoid to send n SRS when the conflict occur).
However, Huang does not explicitly teach, but Choi teaches wherein the SRS is dropped based on a time interval between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the DCI and a starting symbol of an SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation being at least a pre-determined number of symbols ([0163] states “The reference resource region or the T.sub.CI symbols may be positioned after ‘X’ (T.sub.proc,2′) symbols from the symbol in which a PDCCH, including a specific format of DCI including a UL preemption indication, is detected, and the value ‘X’ may be determined on the basis of a processing time T.sub.proc,2 and an offset value d.sub.offset of the DCI. That is, the UE may determine the index of a first symbol of the reference resource region on the basis of a processing time and an offset value of DCI after the last symbol in which a PDCCH is detected.” see also [0015] which states “a starting symbol in the reference resource region is a symbol positioned after “X” symbols from the symbol after the symbol in which the PDCCH is received” see also claim 6 and [0173] states “the RRC configuration information may further include an offset value for determining a starting symbol of the reference resource region described with reference to FIG. 12. “, where [0023] and claims 14, 30 illustrate that the method can be applied for any uplink transmission , including SRS. That defines the region of reference resource for cancellation by starting symbol after X symbols from the last symbol of the PDCCH, see Fig. 19 and 24 and the examples in [0359]-[0360]. That is, since the UE requires a processing time for decoding the PDCCH detected in the monitoring occasion of the monitoring periodicity, the UE may cancel UL transmission for the symbols positioned after a specific number of symbols from the reception of the UL preemption indication, as stated in [0246], accordingly, only if the UL preemption indication is received in the symbol before a specific number of symbols from the symbol in which UL transmission is scheduled to be cancelled, the UE may cancel the UL transmission in the scheduled symbol. Accordingly, the value ‘X’ may correspond to the minimum number of symbols in consideration of the processing time. That implies the SRS can be dropped by canceling the resource if the interval between the last symbol of PDCCH for the DCI and the starting symbol of SRS transmission is at least the predefined number of symbol X, see also [0440]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Choi (in analogous art) by adding wherein the SRS is dropped based on a time interval between a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the DCI and a starting symbol of an SRS transmission of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning for the bandwidth aggregation being at least a pre-determined number of symbols. Accordingly, the UE does not perform unnecessary uplink transmission, thereby consuming energy of the user equipment and preventing interference with other UEs and the BS. (Choi, [0027]).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Huang and Choi teach the UE of claim 9,
Huang further teaches wherein the RRC message further includes second information indicating a carrier frequency for each of the plurality of SRS resource sets for positioning Fig. 4 illustrates bandwidth part on a carrier (for example, as shown in FIG. 4, a BWP #0, a BWP #1, or a BWP #2 included in the cell carrier #0, or a BWP #0, a BWP #1, or a BWP #2 included in the cell carrier #1), and corresponds to a resource block (resource block, RB) set, a subcarrier spacing, and a cyclic prefix (cyclic prefix, CP) type. In Rel-15 and Rel-16, a plurality of BWPs may be configured on a cell carrier, but only at most one active BWP is configured at a moment. The terminal performs transmission of data, uplink control, and an SRS on the active BWP. One or more SRS resource sets may be configured on a BWP” see also 6-7 and [0167]-[0174] which provide information on the carrier of the k frequency domain resource units. [0073]-[0074], [0142], the UE may receive a frequency specific information for each CC such as the maximum aggregated bandwidth for SRS transmission or the quality of contiguous carriers corresponding to the aggregation bandwidth. [0271] describes an example about that as stated “For example, the communication capability with 100 MHz may correspond to one carrier (3.4 GHz to 3.5 GHz) in a n78 band. In addition, a radio frequency of the terminal device has redundancy. Actually, a 200 MHz radio frequency signal can be sent, but a baseband of the terminal device cannot support receiving and sending of 200 MHz data. It means that if there is another carrier in a frequency ranging from 3.5 GHz to 3.6 GHz, the terminal cannot support data receiving and sending on the carrier. Therefore, the carrier becomes a positioning carrier. The terminal may have a simple baseband signal processing capability of sending an SRS or the like on the carrier, but the carrier cannot support processing of complex channels such as a PCCCH/PDSCH and a PUCCH/PUSCH. Because two CCs deployed in a same band are usually co-located, the terminal may use synchronization and timing of a cell at 3.4 GHz to 3.5 GHz for the positioning carrier. “ see also [0266] and [259]-[0271]. [0012], lines 8-16 the UE can be configured to use multiple CCs for carrier aggregation CA to increase the bandwidth available for positioning, and [0010], lines 1-8 describes at least one of the CCs is designated as a positioning carrier, which is dedicated to transmitting SRS for positioning purposes, that may be transmitted over RRC or DCI signaling, as stated in [0049[ and [0339]. That confirms including the information about the carrier frequency for the SRS resource sets).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Huang and Choi teach the UE of claim 9,
Huang further teaches wherein the time period is configured between the SRS and an uplink signal on the carrier (([0017] states “fourth indication information, indicating first switching time, where the first switching time is used for switching between sending a signal by the terminal device on a first carrier set and sending a sounding reference signal on a second carrier set, the first carrier set does not include a positioning carrier, and the second carrier set includes at least one positioning carrier” see also [0021] and [0046]-[0048] illustrate the terminal may receive information regarding the transmit first signal (e.g., PDCCH) on a carrier and states “The terminal device determines a first symbol set, where the first symbol set is a symbol occupied by the first signal or the first symbol set is a union set of the symbol occupied by the first signal and a switching symbol, the switching symbol is located before the symbol occupied by the first signal or after the symbol occupied by the first signal, and a quantity of switching symbols is determined by the first switching time. When the first symbol set includes at least one symbol corresponding to the same time domain resource unit, the terminal device determines that the conflict occurs on the carrier corresponding to the one or more of the n sounding reference signals in the same time domain resource unit.” Which means the fourth indication indicates that the terminal device performs carrier switching (time interval) between communication and positioning modes [0298], lines 4-24, which states “the terminal device indicates the switching time at which the SRS is sent on the positioning carrier, and mainly indicates delay of radio frequency switching for terminal operation on a target band between a communication mode and a positioning mode.” [0047] indicates that “the first switching time is used for switching between sending a signal by the terminal device on a first carrier set and sending a sounding reference signal on a second carrier set, the first carrier set does not include the positioning carrier, and the second carrier set includes the at least one positioning carrier.” That indicate the time period is configured between the SRS and an uplink signal).
Relevant Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Davydov et al. (US 2021/0135816 Al), Wang et al. (US 2024/0235772 Al), Manolakos et al. (US-20210242991-A1), Wang et al. (CN 117546422 A), and Dongguan (CN 118473612 A) provide a solution that improve the positioning of the terminal in mobile communication systems.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463