DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “system” in claims 18-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the pad-surface index value" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot know which “pad-surface index value” is being referred to.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the pad surface determining system" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Listed depending claims do not remedy these deficiencies. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot know which “pad surface determining system” is being referred to.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 14-16, 18-21, 23-27, and 30-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 5-10, 11-13, 14-17, 18-22, and 23-25, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/247,279 (Copending) in view of US 20160184960 A1 (Matsuo). Copending does not teach polishing surface having a recess formed therein. Matsuo teaches these limitations (Matsuo: See the arguments and citations provided in the 35 USC 103 rejection below).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Matsuo into Application Claims since both Application Claims and Matsuo suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of measuring polishing pad surface property using lights and different incident angles in general and Matsuo additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Application Claims in that the polishing surface having a recess formed therein. One having ordinary skill in the art would know that the advantage of holes in the pad surface is to hold and uniformly distribute polishing liquid across the substrate being polished. The teachings of Matsuo can be incorporated into Application Claims in that polishing surface having a recess formed therein. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2018192572A machine translation (Yoshida) in view of US 20160184960 A1 (Matsuo).
As per claim 1, Yoshida a pad surface determining method of determining a surface property of a polishing pad having a polishing surface (the following of “for polishing a substrate” is recited as intended use) for polishing a substrate, (Yoshida:
para 1: “measuring a surface state of a processing surface of a processing tool”;
para 2: “The polishing apparatus polishes a workpiece with a polishing pad containing abrasive grains. A polishing pad formed by increasing the amount of abrasive grains contained in the polishing pad is brittle and easily chipped. If there is a chip, a locus may be formed on the surface to be polished of the workpiece, resulting in poor polishing. . Therefore, it is necessary to confirm whether or not chipping has occurred on the processing surface (polishing surface) of the polishing pad. In addition, a grinding apparatus may use a grinding wheel provided with a grinding wheel containing a large amount of small abrasive grains in order to finish the work surface of a workpiece to a mirror surface. The amount of bonds that harden the grains is small and chipping is likely to occur.”: the spaces around the grains are recesses.
Check the condition of a polishing pad’s surface, where that surface has at least one recess in it), the method comprising:
irradiating a target area in the polishing surface with a plurality of lights from a plurality of light sources at different incident angles; receiving a plurality of reflected lights from the target area by an imaging device; generating a plurality of images corresponding to the different incident angles by the imaging device (Yoshida:
para 7;
Fig. 1 (shown above): mainly 10, 11, 12, 13;
Fig. 4 (shown below): mainly 10, 11, 12, 13, 110, 120, 130;
Paras 24-25;
shine at least 2 light beams onto an area on the pad, coming from at least two light sources, hitting that area at different angles. camera collects the light that bounces back from that area. camera generates one image for each light angle); and
determining the surface property of the polishing pad based on at least one of the plurality of images (Yoshida:
determine the pad’s surface condition using at least one of the images).
Yoshida does not teach the polishing surface having a recess formed therein.
Matsuo teaches the polishing surface having a recess formed therein (Matsuo:
Para 51: “The polishing pad 2 comprising SUBA 800, IC-1000, IC-1000/SUBA400 (two-layer cloth) or the like manufactured by the Dow Chemical Company is used. The SUBA 800 is non-woven fabrics bonded by urethane resin. The IC-1000 comprises a pad composed of hard polyurethane foam and having a large number of fine holes (pores) formed in its surface, and is also called a perforated pad. A polishing liquid supply nozzle (not shown) is provided above the polishing table 1 to supply a polishing liquid (slurry) onto the polishing pad 2 on the polishing table 1.”;
).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Matsuo into Yoshida since both Yoshida and Matsuo suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of measuring polishing pad surface property using lights and different incident angles in general and Matsuo additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Yoshida in that the polishing surface having a recess formed therein. One having ordinary skill in the art would know that the advantage of holes in the pad surface is to hold and uniformly distribute polishing liquid across the substrate being polished. The teachings of Matsuo can be incorporated into Yoshida in that polishing surface having a recess formed therein. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim 2, Yoshida in view of Matsuo the pad surface determining method according to claim 1, wherein determining the surface property of the polishing pad comprises generating a pad-surface index value from the at least one image (Yoshida: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above).
As per claim 3, Yoshida in view of Matsuo the pad surface determining method according to claim 2, wherein the pad-surface index value is calculated based on brightness information of an image (Yoshida: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above).
As per claim(s) 18-20, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 1-3 are analogous, respectively. Yoshida also teaches a pad surface determining system for determining a surface property of a polishing pad having a polishing surface for polishing a substrate, the polishing surface having a recess formed therein (Yoshida: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above: Figs. 1, 8).
Claim(s) 11 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Matsuo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210370461 A1 (Kamiki).
As per claim 11, Yoshida in view of Matsuo the pad surface determining method according to claim 1. Yoshida in view of Matsuo does not teach determining the surface property of the polishing pad based on the at least one image comprises: inputting the at least one image into a determination model constructed by machine learning; and outputting a determination result of the surface property of the polishing pad from the determination model. Kamiki teaches these limitations (Kamiki: paras 202, 204-209, 211, 213, 214, 217, 218
Figs. 26-29).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to filing, to implement the teachings of Kamiki into Yoshida in view of Matsuo since both Yoshida in view of Matsuo and Kamiki suggest a practical solution and field of endeavor of measuring polishing pad surface property using illumination formed images in general and Kamiki additionally provides teachings that can be incorporated into Yoshida in view of Matsuo in that machine learning is used to determine the polishing pad surface property as to “predicts and outputs to the polishing apparatus the suitable dressing conditions, the necessity of dressing, the necessity of additional dressing” (Kamiki: para 204). The teachings of Kamiki can be incorporated into Yoshida in view of Matsuo in that machine learning is used to determine the polishing pad surface property. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and, in combination, each component functions the same as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable.
As per claim(s) 27, arguments made in rejecting claim(s) 11 are analogous. Yoshida also teaches a pad surface determining system for determining a surface property of a polishing pad having a polishing surface for polishing a substrate, the polishing surface having a recess formed therein (Yoshida: See arguments and citations offered in rejecting claim 1 above: Figs. 1, 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12-13, 17, 22, 28-29, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4, 6-10, 14-16, 21, 23-26, and 30-32 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21 and 23-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Limitations in the listed depending claims distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
Atiba Fitzpatrick
/ATIBA O FITZPATRICK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677