DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 4/2/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20160277364 (hereinafter referred to as Solow) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20160353382 (hereinafter referred to as Xue).
Consider claim 1, Solow discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting, by a first wireless communication device, a traffic indication packet (TIP) on an advertising channel (see at least ¶ [0127], “…a scheduler 128, a frequency notification messenger 130 and a transmitter arrangement 132…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…”), the TIP indicating one or more frequencies and one or more time periods in which the first wireless communication device is to exchange traffic with a second wireless communication device (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…” and further see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … will be transmitted using the new modulation frequency (or other new frequencies for other relevant services)…”); and
transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, traffic to the second wireless communication device, on one or more channels corresponding to the one or more frequencies, during the one or more time periods (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … transmitted using the new modulation frequency ... The notification 112 shown in FIG. 7 lists the new frequencies for each of the services (SER1 to SER6) and also lists each of the services (SER1 to SER6) associated with each of the new frequencies…” and see at least ¶ [0139], “…the identification 126 of the new modulation frequency may include an identification of an apparatus used to transmit and/or multiplex and/or modulate the media content with the new modulation frequency…” and further see at least ¶ [0146], “…Sending the notification 112 typically acts as a trigger to change tuning to the new frequency without including a frequency change time in the notification 112. In accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the frequency change time is included in the notification 112…”).
Solow disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow does not particularly disclose traffic indication on an advertising channel. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches traffic indication on an advertising channel (see Xue, at least ¶ [0051], “…The station 122 may be an electronic device that is operable to send and receive data via the wireless network 190…” and see at least ¶ [0058], “…The beacon information 144 may be included in an advertisement packet 200. … the access point 102 of FIG. 1 may send (e.g., broadcast) the advertisement packet 200 to the station 122 (and to other stations within a broadcast range of the access point 102) over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142 according to the low energy protocol (e.g., the BLE protocol) …” and see at least ¶ [0059], “…The beacon information 144 may include …, a traffic indication map (TIM) field 206…” and see at least ¶ [0060], “…The TIM field 206 may indicate whether buffered downlink data designated for one or more stations (e.g., including the station 122) is available at the access point 102…” and further see at least ¶ [0088], “…the beacon information 544 may be considered as being “sent” to the access point 602 by virtue of the access point 602 having a low energy protocol transceiver and receiving the beacon information 544 over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142. The low energy protocol advertising channel 142 may be included in the first frequency band (e.g., the 2.4 GHz frequency band)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have traffic indication on an advertising channel, as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a method for managing power in a wireless network includes generating beacon information at an access point of the wireless network, as discussed by Xue, (see at least ¶ [0006]).
Consider claim 10, Solow discloses a first wireless communication device (see at least ¶ [0174], “…end-user device 164…”), comprising:
one or more wireless transceivers (see at least ¶ [0174], “…a wireless receiver 182…”); and
one or more processors (see at least ¶ [0174], “…controller 186…”) configured to:
transmit, via the one or more wireless transceivers, a traffic indication packet (TIP) on an advertising channel (see at least ¶ [0127], “…a scheduler 128, a frequency notification messenger 130 and a transmitter arrangement 132…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…”), the TIP indicating one or more frequencies and one or more time periods in which the first wireless communication device is to exchange traffic with a second wireless communication device (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…” and further see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … will be transmitted using the new modulation frequency (or other new frequencies for other relevant services)…”); and
transmit, via the one or more wireless transceivers, traffic to the second wireless communication device, on one or more channels corresponding to the one or more frequencies, during the one or more time periods (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … transmitted using the new modulation frequency ... The notification 112 shown in FIG. 7 lists the new frequencies for each of the services (SER1 to SER6) and also lists each of the services (SER1 to SER6) associated with each of the new frequencies…” and see at least ¶ [0139], “…the identification 126 of the new modulation frequency may include an identification of an apparatus used to transmit and/or multiplex and/or modulate the media content with the new modulation frequency…” and further see at least ¶ [0146], “…Sending the notification 112 typically acts as a trigger to change tuning to the new frequency without including a frequency change time in the notification 112. In accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the frequency change time is included in the notification 112…”).
Solow disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow does not particularly disclose traffic indication on an advertising channel. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches traffic indication on an advertising channel (see Xue, at least ¶ [0051], “…The station 122 may be an electronic device that is operable to send and receive data via the wireless network 190…” and see at least ¶ [0058], “…The beacon information 144 may be included in an advertisement packet 200. … the access point 102 of FIG. 1 may send (e.g., broadcast) the advertisement packet 200 to the station 122 (and to other stations within a broadcast range of the access point 102) over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142 according to the low energy protocol (e.g., the BLE protocol) …” and see at least ¶ [0059], “…The beacon information 144 may include …, a traffic indication map (TIM) field 206…” and see at least ¶ [0060], “…The TIM field 206 may indicate whether buffered downlink data designated for one or more stations (e.g., including the station 122) is available at the access point 102…” and further see at least ¶ [0088], “…the beacon information 544 may be considered as being “sent” to the access point 602 by virtue of the access point 602 having a low energy protocol transceiver and receiving the beacon information 544 over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142. The low energy protocol advertising channel 142 may be included in the first frequency band (e.g., the 2.4 GHz frequency band)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have traffic indication on an advertising channel, as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a method for managing power in a wireless network includes generating beacon information at an access point of the wireless network, as discussed by Xue, (see at least ¶ [0006]).
Consider claim 19, Solow discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless communication device from a second wireless communication device, a first traffic indication packet (TIP) on an advertising channel (see at least ¶ [0127], “…a scheduler 128, a frequency notification messenger 130 and a transmitter arrangement 132…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…”), the first TIP indicating one or more frequencies and one or more time periods in which the second wireless communication device is to exchange traffic (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0132], “…The transmitter arrangement 132 is typically operative to broadcast/multicast the media content of the services 134 to the end-user devices 104…” and further see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … will be transmitted using the new modulation frequency (or other new frequencies for other relevant services)…”);
selecting, by the first wireless communication device, one or more channels on which to communicate traffic with a third wireless communication device, according to the first TIP (see at least ¶ [0069], “…The end-user device 12 of the subscriber 16 is illegally configured to send the extracted control word 38 to the end-user device 20…, … as the packet IDs 30 of the packets 24 in the transport stream …, the end-user device 20 does not know which packets 24 to buffer until the control word 38 is sent from the end-user device 12…” and further see at least ¶ [0120], “…The sending of the notification 112 and/or sending the information necessary to … identification 114 and/or the time that the identification 126 is released … for use by the end-user devices 104 is timed carefully such that the end-user devices 104 can … identification 114 in time to tune to the new modulation frequency…”);
transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, a second TIP on an advertising channel, the second TIP indicating the one or more channels on which to communicate the traffic with the third wireless communication device; and transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, the traffic to the third wireless communication device, on the selected one or more channels (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices 104 … transmitted using the new modulation frequency ... The notification 112 shown in FIG. 7 lists the new frequencies for each of the services (SER1 to SER6) and also lists each of the services (SER1 to SER6) associated with each of the new frequencies…” and see at least ¶ [0139], “…the identification 126 of the new modulation frequency may include an identification of an apparatus used to transmit and/or multiplex and/or modulate the media content with the new modulation frequency…” and further see at least ¶ [0146], “…Sending the notification 112 typically acts as a trigger to change tuning to the new frequency without including a frequency change time in the notification 112. In accordance with an alternative embodiment of the present invention, the frequency change time is included in the notification 112…”).
Solow disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow does not particularly disclose traffic indication on an advertising channel. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches traffic indication on an advertising channel (see Xue, at least ¶ [0051], “…The station 122 may be an electronic device that is operable to send and receive data via the wireless network 190…” and see at least ¶ [0058], “…The beacon information 144 may be included in an advertisement packet 200. … the access point 102 of FIG. 1 may send (e.g., broadcast) the advertisement packet 200 to the station 122 (and to other stations within a broadcast range of the access point 102) over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142 according to the low energy protocol (e.g., the BLE protocol) …” and see at least ¶ [0059], “…The beacon information 144 may include …, a traffic indication map (TIM) field 206…” and see at least ¶ [0060], “…The TIM field 206 may indicate whether buffered downlink data designated for one or more stations (e.g., including the station 122) is available at the access point 102…” and further see at least ¶ [0088], “…the beacon information 544 may be considered as being “sent” to the access point 602 by virtue of the access point 602 having a low energy protocol transceiver and receiving the beacon information 544 over the low energy protocol advertising channel 142. The low energy protocol advertising channel 142 may be included in the first frequency band (e.g., the 2.4 GHz frequency band)…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have traffic indication on an advertising channel, as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a method for managing power in a wireless network includes generating beacon information at an access point of the wireless network, as discussed by Xue, (see at least ¶ [0006]).
Consider claims 2, 11 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches wherein the one or more frequencies comprises a plurality of frequencies corresponding to a frequency hopping pattern (see at least ¶ [0128], “…the modulation frequency with which the media content of the service 134 (e.g. SER1) is transmitted to the end-user devices 104 is changed a plurality of times. The scheduler 128 can perform the frequency hopping for one or more of the services 134…”).
Consider claims 3, 12 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches wherein the one or more time periods comprise a first time period for a first frequency of the one or more frequencies, the first time period comprising an offset and a duration (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0135], “…The frequency notification messenger 130 is typically operative to prepare the notification 112 for sending to the end-user devices 104 (FIG. 5) every time before the modulation frequency with which the media content of the service … is transmitted to the end-user devices … is going to be changed from one modulation frequency (e.g. frequency A) to a new modulation frequency (e.g. frequency B) …”).
Consider claims 4, 13 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches wherein the one or more time periods comprise a second time period for the first frequency, the second time period comprising a second offset and a second duration (see at least ¶ [0131], “…a schedule which assigns different multiplexers 108 to receive the output of different encoders 136 for time period 1 and time period 2 thereby modulating the different services 134 with different frequencies for the time period 1 and the time period 2, respectively…” and see at least ¶ [0135], “…The frequency notification messenger 130 is typically operative to prepare the notification 112 for sending to the end-user devices 104 (FIG. 5) every time before the modulation frequency with which the media content of the service … is transmitted to the end-user devices … is going to be changed from one modulation frequency (e.g. frequency A) to a new modulation frequency (e.g. frequency B) …”).
Consider claims 5, 14 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches wherein the one or more frequencies comprises a frequency range between a minimum frequency and a maximum frequency (see at least ¶ [0005], “…network may operate in a 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) frequency band or a 5 GHz frequency band…”), wherein the minimum frequency corresponds to a first channel of the one or more channels (see at least ¶ [0087], “…the access point 602 may operate on a first frequency band (e.g., a 2.4 GHz frequency band) and on a second frequency band (e.g., a 5 GHz frequency band)…” and see at least ¶ [0091], “…first frequency band (e.g., the 2.4 GHz frequency band) is the primary operating channel…”) and the maximum frequency corresponds to a second channel of the one or more channels (see at least ¶ [0091], “…a channel in the second frequency band (e.g., the Wi-Fi channel 662 in the 5 GHz frequency band)…” and further see at least ¶ [0094], “…the access point 602 may be a dual-band concurrent access point operating on the first frequency band (e.g., the 2.4 GHz frequency band) and on the second frequency band (e.g., the 5 GHz frequency band)…”).
Consider claims 6, 15 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches wherein transmitting the TIP on the advertising channel comprises broadcasting, by the first wireless communication device, the TIP on the advertising channel (see at least ¶ [0137], “…The notification 114 informs the end-user devices … will be transmitted using the new modulation frequency ..., as content was likely broadcast/multicast using those frequencies….”).
Consider claims 7, 16 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow does not particularly disclose wherein the advertising channel comprises a dedicated channel of at least one of a wireless local area network (WLAN) or a wireless personal area network (WPAN). In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Xue, which teaches wherein the advertising channel comprises a dedicated channel of at least one of a wireless local area network (WLAN) or a wireless personal area network (WPAN) (see Xue, at least ¶ [0037], “…The low energy protocol may be a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE)…” as WPAN and “…a Wi-Fi protocol (e.g., 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n, 802.11 ac, 802.11ad, 802.11 ah, etc.)…” as WLAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have wherein the advertising channel comprises a dedicated channel of at least one of a wireless local area network (WLAN) or a wireless personal area network (WPAN), as taught by Xue, thereby, to provide a method for managing power in a wireless network includes generating beacon information at an access point of the wireless network, as discussed by Xue, (see at least ¶ [0006]).
Consider claim 20 (depends on at least claim 19), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claim 19 as applied to claim rejection 19 above and further discloses:
Solow teaches : selecting, by the first wireless communication device, an intermediate time period, between a first time period and a second time period of the TIP, in which to transmit the traffic on the one or more channels (see at least ¶ [0069], “…The end-user device 12 of the subscriber 16 is illegally configured to send the extracted control word 38 to the end-user device 20…, … as the packet IDs 30 of the packets 24 in the transport stream …, the end-user device 20 does not know which packets 24 to buffer until the control word 38 is sent from the end-user device 12…” and further see at least ¶ [0120], “…The sending of the notification 112 and/or sending the information necessary to … identification 114 and/or the time that the identification 126 is released … for use by the end-user devices 104 is timed carefully such that the end-user devices 104 can … identification 114 in time to tune to the new modulation frequency…”).
Claims 8, 9, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20160277364 (hereinafter referred to as Solow) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20160353382 (hereinafter referred to as Xue) and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 20240088938 (hereinafter referred to as Pakrooh).
Consider claims 8, 17 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow in view of Xue disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow in view of Xue does not particularly disclose wherein the first wireless communication device comprises an ultrawideband (UWB) device, the UWB device comprising at least one of a narrowband (NB) UWB device or a NB-assisted (NBA) UWB device. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Pakrooh, which teaches wherein the first wireless communication device comprises an ultrawideband (UWB) device, the UWB device comprising at least one of a narrowband (NB) UWB device or a NB-assisted (NBA) UWB device (see Pakrooh, at least ¶ [0034], “…UEs 120 may be considered Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices, and/or may be implemented as NB-IoT (narrowband IoT) devices ” and see at least ¶ [0051], “…the first wireless communication device to perform operations …, an ultrawideband transceiver …, narrowband transceiver …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have wherein the first wireless communication device comprises an ultrawideband (UWB) device, the UWB device comprising at least one of a narrowband (NB) UWB device or a NB-assisted (NBA) UWB device, as taught by Pakrooh, thereby, to provide a wireless network may include one or more network nodes that support communication for wireless communication devices, such as a user equipment (UE) or multiple UEs, as discussed by Pakrooh, (see at least ¶ [0004]).
Consider claims 9, 18 (depends on at least claims 1, 10), Solow in view of Xue discloses the limitations of claims 1, 10 as applied to claim rejection 1, 10 above and further discloses:
Solow in view of Xue disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Solow in view of Xue does not particularly disclose wherein transmitting the traffic to the second wireless communication device comprises: transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, first traffic to the second wireless communication device on a first channel, the first traffic transmitted via a wireless local area network (WLAN) to the second wireless communication device; and transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, second traffic to the second wireless communication device on a second channel, the second traffic transmitted via a wireless personal area network (WPAN) to the second wireless communication device. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Pakrooh, which teaches wherein transmitting the traffic to the second wireless communication device comprises: transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, first traffic to the second wireless communication device on a first channel, the first traffic transmitted via a wireless local area network (WLAN) to the second wireless communication device; and transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, second traffic to the second wireless communication device on a second channel, the second traffic transmitted via a wireless personal area network (WPAN) to the second wireless communication device (see Pakrooh, at least ¶ [0004], “…wireless networks may support device-to-device communication, such as via a local link (e.g., a sidelink (SL), a wireless local area network (WLAN) link, and/or a wireless personal area network (WPAN) lin…” and see at least ¶ [0094], “…the first wireless communication device may transmit, and the second wireless communication device may attempt to receive, a first synchronization message using a first RF technology (e.g., NB technology) and a first frequency resource” and see at least ¶ [0109], “…the first wireless communication device may transmit, to the second wireless communication device, one or more additional synchronization messages using the second technology…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Solow disclosed invention, and have wherein transmitting the traffic to the second wireless communication device comprises: transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, first traffic to the second wireless communication device on a first channel, the first traffic transmitted via a wireless local area network (WLAN) to the second wireless communication device; and transmitting, by the first wireless communication device, second traffic to the second wireless communication device on a second channel, the second traffic transmitted via a wireless personal area network (WPAN) to the second wireless communication device, as taught by Pakrooh, thereby, to provide a wireless network may include one or more network nodes that support communication for wireless communication devices, such as a user equipment (UE) or multiple UEs, as discussed by Pakrooh, (see at least ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645