DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 02 April 2024 and claims priority to provisional application 63/456,654 filed 03 April 2023. The effective filing date of the instant application is 03 April 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 18 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (WO 2020077170 A1) in view of Wan (Overcoming pancreatic cancer immune resistance by codelivery of CCR2 antagonist using a STING-activating gemcitabine-based nanocarrier, Materials Today, 2023), as evidenced by medchemexpress.com.
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches (entire teaching) nanoparticles formulated from polymers (para. 69) and may comprise gemcitabine (para. 9), which is interpreted as an agent to activate a STING pathway through the instant claims.
Regarding claim 2, nanoparticles or micelles (para. 11) may have a diameter size of 10-20 nm (para. 69).
Regarding claim 3, in some embodiments, the amphiphilic (para. 68) polymers are described as self-assembled (para. 96).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Sun teaches the conjugation of nucleoside analogues to the amphiphilic polymers (para. 68).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 14, and 15, the composition may comprise gemcitabine (para. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Sun describes therapeutic agents (gemcitabine) or pendant groups attached to the polymer backbone through a linking moiety that is labile in vivo (paras. 7-10).
Regarding claim 16, the amphiphilic polymers (para. 68) has a hydrophobic polymer backbone with pendant groups with a plurality of hydroxyl groups (nucleoside analogues, para. 9) conjugated to it (para. 68) and further includes a second plurality of pendant groups attached to the hydrophobic backbone and comprising at least one hydrophilic polymer (abs).
Sun does not teach a CCR2 antagonist, such as PF-04136309 in claims 1, 4, 10-13.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 12, 13, Wan teaches the codelivery of STING-activating gemcitabine with CCR2 antagonist in the form of a nanocarrier (title, abs). Wan teaches that PF-04136309 loaded into the gemcitabine-polymer structure led to improved tumor immune microenvironment (pg. 46).
Regarding claim 4, Sun describes loading second compounds into the micelles (para. 23), where it is interpreted that loading is done physically, as opposed to chemical or covalent bonding (instant specification, para. 107).
Regarding claim 11, PF-04136309 has a weight of 0.56859 kDa (evidenced by medchemexpress.com, pg. 1).
Since Sun does not teach a CCR2 antagonist, such as PF-04136309 in claims 1, 4, 10-13, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Wan’s teaching of PF-04136309 with gemcitabine in a nanocarrier system with a reasonable expectation of success. Sun teaches anticancer treatment (para. 71) through the combination of different chemotherapeutic or therapeutic drugs (para. 56) and Wan teaches gemcitabine with PF-04136309 in a nanocarrier system. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613