Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Detailed Action
Applicant amended claim 30 and presented claims 30-48 for reconsideration on 12/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 34-43 and 44-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Govrin et al., Pub. No.: US 2003/0084053 (Govrin) in view of Lequeux, Patent No.: US 9,779,129 (Lequeux) and further in view of Woodman et al., “Achieving Reproducibility by Combining Provenance with Service and Workflow Versioning” (Woodman).
Claim 30. Govrin teaches:
A system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation, comprising: a computer system comprising at least one processor and a memory media; persistent storage coupled to the computer system comprising a data store comprising:
one or more primordial datasets comprising dynamic business data, including a first primordial dataset, where a primordial dataset is a dataset without parents, and, (¶¶ 65, 73, various external data sources are without parents)
a hierarchy of dataset models corresponding to one or more ordered sequences of business data analytics, including a first dataset model that descends directly or indirectly from the first primordial dataset and a first instance of the first dataset model; and (¶¶ 13-24, 38, 65-67, 77, 82, 110, 117-118, loader and listeners capture data from external sources (one primordial dataset) based on the user defined rules by performing a preliminary filtering operation for storing filtered data (at least one parent) in MCPDS to be further analyzed by solvers based on the user defined rules)
instructions which when loaded into the memory media and executed by the processor cause the computer system to:
display, via a user interface on a display device operatively coupled to the computer system, a first analytical result based on the first instance of the first dataset model, said first analytical result pertaining to an ongoing investigation of the dynamic business data; and; (¶¶ 68, 77, 83, 116, 118, filtered data and the result of an analysis is stored according to user defined rules, for example a customer transaction is captured and based on the transaction certain data is updated; ¶¶ 24, 127, 156, results obtained from analysis are displayed to suitable person or system as defined)
in response to a data change in the first primordial dataset:
automatically invalidate each instance of a dataset model that descends directly or indirectly from the first primordial dataset; (¶¶ 119-123, in response to changes for the values the system is monitoring, values are recalculated based on the recognized changes, e.g., a previous value is not valid)
instantiate a new instance of the first dataset model, whereby the new instance of the first dataset model automatically reflects the most current data in the first primordial dataset; and (¶¶ 119-123, in response to changes for the values the system is monitoring, values are recalculated based on the recognized changes, e.g., a previous value is not valid and recalculated value reflects the most current data)
automatically display, via the user interface on the display device, a new analytical result based on the new instance of the first dataset model, said new analytical result pertaining to the ongoing investigation of the dynamic business data. (¶¶ 24, 127, 156, any significant results obtained from any analysis are displayed to suitable person or system)
Govrin did not teach business data as health care data but Lequeux explicitly teaches collecting health care data from multiple data sources and using the data for fraud, waste, and abuse detection. (Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47, “the methods and systems enable integration of provider information, prescription claims, patient information and medical claims to identify links and relationships between individual providers, provider organizations, health plans and accountable care organizations (ACOs), provider networks, and patients…Utilization and cost may be identified, thereby enabling optimization of provider networks and ACOs, Medicare and Medicaid opportunities, and fraud, waste, and abuse detection”)
Govrin and Lequeux collect data from multiple sources and use the collected data for analysis as desired. (Abstracts in Govrin and Lequeux). Govrin and Lequeux also use the collected data for fraud detection. (Govrin, ¶ 20, Lequeux, col. 3, ll. 41-51). It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the type of data, e.g., health care data, used in Govrin with the type of data used in Lequeux for achieving the same predictable result of identifying change data and using the data for fraud detection.
Govrin as modified by Lequeux did not specifically disclose but Woodman discloses wherein to automatically invalidated an instance of a dataset model comprising flagging the instance of dataset as invalid. (Woodman, wherein a version of a dataset is a flag to identify an old version of a data set from a current version of the data set as valid or invalid with respect to a created data of on interest: sec. 1, “The ability to select specific versions of data, services and workflows also allows users to produce consistent, comparable results when they are analyzing different datasets using the same workflow over a period of time in which new versions of the workflow, and the services it contains, may become available”, sec. 2.1, “All objects (data, files and workflows are stored in files through a virtual filestore driver then can be mapped onto a range of actual storage systems…When a file is stored, if a previous version exists then a new one is automatically created. All operations that are made available through both the user interface and API allow a choice of version. For example in the workflow editor, shown in Figure 2, the user can select any service, and then choose any version of that service before running the workflow”)
Govrin as modified collects data from multiple sources and use the collected data for analysis as desired. (Abstracts in Govrin and Lequeux). Govrin as modified recalculates values based on the recognized changes in data. (Govrin, ¶¶ 119-123.) It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for teaching wherein to automatically invalidated an instance of a dataset model comprising flagging the instance of dataset as invalid because doing so would provide for identifying an earlier version of a dataset as invalid compare to the current version of the dataset and further allowing users to work with old versions of data, services and workflows as needed.
Claim 34. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein dynamic health care data comprises data that changes over time. (Govrin, ¶¶ 53, 103, 109, 120, data changes are detected over time by monitoring operation; Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47)
Claim 35. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein the one or more primordial datasets comprise at least two datasets from different external sources and at least two datasets having different data formats. (Govrin, ¶ 73, “various data sources…relational databases and flat files… email, chat, instant messaging, online transactions and other data streams”)
Claim 36. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein health care data comprises health care claims data, health care provider data, or health care patient data. (Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47, “the methods and systems enable integration of provider information, prescription claims, patient information and medical claims to identify links and relationships between individual providers, provider organizations, health plans and accountable care organizations (ACOs), provider networks, and patients”)
Claim 37. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein the one or more ordered sequences of health care analytics comprise fraud detection analytics. (Govrin, ¶ 20, “a set of rules that define a way to detect fraud in a financial transaction system, based on parameters such as client profiles, transaction volume, currency type etc.”; Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47, col. 3, ll. 41-51, col. 10, ll. 23-30)
Claim 38. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 37, wherein health care data comprises data indicative of health care fraud. (Govrin, ¶ 20, “a set of rules that define a way to detect fraud in a financial transaction system, based on parameters such as client profiles, transaction volume, currency type etc.”, Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47, col. 3, ll. 41-51, col. 10, ll. 23-30)
Claim 39. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein a data change in the first primordial dataset comprises addition of new data or deletion of or change in existing data. (Govrin, ¶ 103, “monitor transactions, events and changes of relevant data in multiple legacy systems, and process huge quantities of records per second from these data sources”, ¶¶ 119-123)
Claim 40. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein the first dataset model comprises a first dataset model command and one or more parents, wherein the instructions to instantiate a new instance of the first dataset model further comprise instructions to execute the first dataset model command on the data comprised in valid instances of the one or more parents of the first dataset model. (Govrin, ¶¶ 75, 121, filtered data in the MDPDS comprises valid data to be used for recalculation by a solver)
Claim 41. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein the first dataset model comprises a first dataset model command and a first dataset model data description, and the first dataset model command comprises a first parameter type, and (Govrin, ¶¶ 13-24, 38, 65-67, 75, 77, 82, 110, 117-118, loaders and listeners filter data based on the user defined rules, e.g., a command and a data description; ¶ 75, a rule comprises a first parameter type for filtering certain type of data) instantiating an instance of the first dataset model comprises using a first value of the first parameter type in executing the first dataset model command. (Govrin, ¶¶ 68, 75, 77, 83, 116, 118, required extracted data is analyzed according to user defined rules, for example a customer transaction is captured and based on the transaction certain data is updated; loader and listener performs based on pre-determined rules requirement, e.g., using a first value of the first parameter type in executing the first dataset model command)
Claim 42. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 41, further comprising instructions which when loaded into the memory media and executed by the processor cause the computer system to:
support multiple users, including a first user and a second user, wherein the first value of the first parameter type in the first dataset model command is supplied by the first user; (Govrin, ¶ 20, wherein users in “defined by users (including business people or other not-necessarily technical people)” indicates that a first user and a second user are supported for defining rules and generating dataset based on the rules provided by the first and the second users)
instantiate an instance of a second dataset model, wherein the second dataset model comprises the first dataset model command and the first dataset model data description, using a second value of the first parameter type supplied by the second user; (Govrin, ¶¶ 20-24, data sources are filtered and analyzed based on the parameters in the user defined rules, e.g., a second value of the first parameter type supplied by the second use)
in response to said data change in the first primordial dataset, instantiating a new instance of the first dataset model using the first value of the first parameter type and instantiating a new instance of the second dataset model using the second value of the first parameter type. (Govrin, ¶¶ 20-24, 119-123, changes that impact “the various models that had been defined by the system's users” are recognized for generating a data set accordingly)
Claim 43. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 42, further comprising instructions which when loaded into the memory media and executed by the processor cause the computer system to perform instantiating a new instance of the first dataset model using the first value of the first parameter type concurrently with instantiating a new instance of the second dataset model using the second value of the first parameter type (Govrin, ¶¶ 110, 112, 116, 120-121, all rules being solved are considered at the same time)
Claim 44. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30; wherein responding to the data change in the first primordial dataset further comprises preserving the invalidated instance of the dataset model. (Woodman, Abs., and p. 128, right col, wherein data versions are preserved for reproducing a computation based on the old version of the input data: Abs., “This paper shows how this provenance trace, used in conjunction with the ability to execute old versions of services and workflows (rather than just the latest versions) can provide useful information that would otherwise not be possible, including the key ability to reproduce experiments and to compare the effects of old and new versions of services on computations”; p. 128, right col., “e-Science Central… automatically stores and retains all versions of all data, workflows and services used in computations. Users are able to delete these artifacts but are warned if this will impact on reproducing a computation… it automatically stores a full provenance trace for all computations. This includes the version numbers of all data, workflows and services…it can automatically transform a provenance trace into a workflow, selecting the exact versions of the data, services and workflow that appeared in the trace. It can then enact this workflow”)
Claim 45. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein said invalidating comprises changing metadata of the invalidated instance of the dataset model. (¶¶ 120-121, 128, information/metadata related to a value e.g., a customer’s balance in past time is changed by a withdrawal compare to information/metadata related to a recalculated value after a withdrawal in current time)
Claim 46. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein an instance of a dataset model comprises a dataset, said dataset produced by performing the command on the dataset of an instance of the at least one parent of the dataset model, and an identifier for the instance of the at least one parent of the dataset model. (Govrin, ¶¶ 13-24, 38, 65-67, 77, 82, 110, 117-118, loader and listeners capture data from external sources (one primordial dataset) based on the user defined rules e.g., a command and a data description by performing a preliminary filtering operation for storing filtered data (at least one parent) in MCPDS to be further analyzed by solvers based on the user defined rules)
Claim 47. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, wherein the ongoing investigation of the dynamic health care data comprises generating a plurality of analytical results over time, wherein generating an analytical result comprises applying an ordered sequence of hierarchical data analytics to a hierarchy of dataset instances to generate an analytical result. (Govrin, ¶¶ 20, 38, 53, 103, 109, 120, data changes are detected over time by monitoring operation and analyzed “according to analytical models (a combination of rules with statistical functions) defined by users”; Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47, data comprises healthcare data)
Claim 48. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, further comprising instructions which when loaded into the memory media and executed by the processor cause the computer system to recognize a change in the first primordial dataset. (Govrin ¶ 119-123, changes for the values the system is monitoring are recognized, for example, a customer transaction is a change in the data sources that is recognized based on the user defined rules)
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Govrin, Lequeux and Woodman as applied to claim 30 above, in view of Sublett et al., Pub. No.: US 2015/0112700 A1 (Sublett).
Claim 31. Govrin as modified taught the system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30, (Govrin, ¶¶ 24, 127, 156, Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47); Govrin as modified did not teach but Sublett teaches wherein the user interface comprises a profile view comprising a plurality of panels, including a first panel and a second panel. (Sublett, Figs. 13-15, ¶¶ 110- 121, wherein multiple panels of a visual analytics dashboard are used for displaying analytical results from different data sources)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for teaching wherein the user interface comprises a profile view comprising a plurality of panels, including a first panel and a second panel and using each panel for displaying different data from different data sources.
Claim 32. The system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 31, further comprising instructions which when loaded into the memory media and executed by the processor cause the computer system to:
display the first analytical result in the first panel simultaneously with displaying in the second panel a second analytical result pertaining to the ongoing investigation of the dynamic health care data, wherein the second analytical result is based on a second dataset instance that does not descend directly or indirectly from the first primordial data set; and (Sublett, Figs. 13-15, ¶¶ 50, 58, 67, 70-72, 110- 121, wherein a first and a second panel displays different information using different underlaying data sources and wherein a change in an underlaying data for a panel generate a new result in the panel; Lequeux, col. 2, ll. 30-47)
display the new analytical result in the first panel simultaneously with the second analytical result, the display of which in the second panel remains unchanged after the data change in the first primordial dataset. (Sublett, Figs. 13-15, ¶¶ 50, 58, 67, 70-72, 110- 121, wherein a first and a second panel displays different information using different underlaying data sources and wherein a change in an underlaying data for a panel generate a new result in the panel)
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Govrin, Lequeux and Woodman as applied to claim 30 above, in view of Halan et al., Pub. No.: US 2015/0370890 A1 (Halan).
Claim 33. Govrin as modified taught the system for displaying current analytical results in the course of an ongoing investigation of claim 30; Govrin as modified did not specifically teach but Halan teaches wherein the user interface further comprises a graph display interface operative to display in graph format links between things of interest in the ongoing investigation of the dynamic health care data. (Halan, ¶¶ 22, wherein a visual entity-relationship graph is presented)
Govrin, ¶ 20 discloses analytical models based on “a set of rules that define a way to detect fraud in a financial transaction system, based on parameters such as client profiles, transaction volume, currency type etc.” and Lequeux, 2:35-47, discloses “integration of provider information, prescription claims, patient information and medical claims to identify links and relationships between individual providers, provider organizations, health plans and accountable care organizations (ACOs), provider networks, and patients” for “optimization of provider networks and ACOs, Medicare and Medicaid opportunities, and fraud, waste, and abuse detection”. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the applied references for teaching a user interface comprising a graph display interface operative to display in graph format links between things of interest in the ongoing investigation of the dynamic health care data because doing so would further increase usability of Govrin as modified for viewing desired information in an alternative presentation format for achieving the same predictable result of monitoring events for detecting fraud, waste, and abuse detection.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The double patenting rejections are withdrawn in view of the approved Terminal Disclaimers.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejected claims have been considered but are not persuasive for at least the following reason.
Applicant argues that the applied references did not teach the amended feature “wherein to automatically invalidated an instance of a dataset model comprising flagging the instance of dataset as invalid”. Remarks, 9-11.
In response: Woodman explicitly discloses the feature by versioning datasets wherein an old version is an indicator of an invalid dataset compare to the current version of a dataset based on the interest of a user for generating an analytical result based on a selected version as shown above with respect to rejection of claim 30.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liensberger et al., Pub. No.: US 2014/0019423 A1:
[0048] The method 200 may be practiced where invalidating the dataset includes making the dataset generally unavailable. This may be done, for example, by deleting the dataset or otherwise preventing entities from obtaining the dataset. Alternatively or additionally, invalidating the dataset may include marking the dataset as invalid, but nonetheless allowing entities to obtain the dataset. For example, entities could access the dataset but would know that it has validity issues. In some embodiments, an invalid dataset may be allowed to displayed to users, but it may be annotated with a warning indicating the less or un-trusted nature of the dataset.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MOHSEN ALMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159