DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 as amended in applicant’s response dated 02 March 2026 are presently under consideration. Claims 11-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al (WO 2014/023668A1, reference made to attached English machine translation), and further in view of Pass’329 (US 2015/0090329) and in further view of Pass’065 (US 2016/0149065) and further in view of Pass’757 (US 2016/0093757) and further in view of Sewell’420 (US 2015/0318420).
Regarding claim 1 Brand discloses a solar cell, comprising:
a substrate ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: semiconductor component 1 (solar cell) having a semiconductor layer 13 (substrate));
a plurality of semiconductor regions disposed on the substrate ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: doping structure 14 of adjacent p-doped regions 2a and n-doped regions 2b (also shown in Fig. 1)); and
a plurality of conductive contact structures electrically connected to the plurality of semiconductor regions ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: contacts 6), each conductive contact structure comprising a locally deposited metal structure disposed in direct physical contact with at least one of the plurality semiconductor regions ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: contacts 6 each include a local portion deposited from a metal foil 4 (Figs. 4c-4d)), a first one of the locally deposited metal structures connected to a first portion of a first metal foil by a weakened structure of the first metal foil ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: portion of deposited metal foil 4 is further connected to a portion of second metal foil 15 through local heating of second metal foil 15(Fig. 4f) the locally heated portion being considered a weakened portion), the weakened structure of the first metal foil including patterning ([0048], [0082], [0105], Figs. 4f-4g see: during laser irradiation of metal foil 15 predetermined breaking points as perforations and/or removal of metal foil 15 meets the definition of patterning in said weakened portion),
wherein a portion of a second metal foil is coupled to the first portion of the first metal foil ([0031]-[0035] see: the metal foil can be a multilayer metal foil which is considered the structural equivalent of a second metal foil coupled to a first metal foil).
Brand does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion of the first metal foil overhangs the substrate and has an end beyond the substrate, or that the portion of the second metal foil is coupled to the first portion of the metal foil by a weld bond, or where the plurality of semiconductor regions are disposed above the substrate or wherein the portion of the second metal foil and the weld bond overhang the substrate such that the portion of the second metal foil has an end beyond the substrate that is in vertical alignment with the end of the first portion of the first metal foil.
Pass’329 teaches a solar cell where instead of forming n-type and p-type doped regions in a monocrystalline silicon substrate, said n-type and p-type doped regions can be formed in a separate semiconductor layer of polysilicon above a monocrystalline silicon substrate (Pass’329, para [0016] Fig. 1). Pass’329 further teaches where a first portion of a metal foil is left overhanging the substrate and has an end beyond the substrate in order to serially connect the solar cell to an adjacent solar cell as this advantageously saves fabrication steps at the module level because the patterning of the metal foil may be combined with the stringing of the solar cell structures (Pass’329, [0033]-[0034] Figs. 11-12 see: metal foil 105 patterned such that a P-type metal finger 109 of one solar cell structure 100 is left connected to the N-type metal finger 108 of an adjacent solar cell structure 100). Pass’329 further teaches coupling first and second metal foils through weld bonds (Pass’329, [0025]-[0026] Figs. 6-7 see: metal layer 104 welded at weld joints 106 to metal foil 105).
Pass’329 and Brand are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Pass’329 such that the plurality of N-type and P-type crystalline silicon regions of Brand are polycrystalline silicon regions formed above the substrate of Brand as taught by Pass (Pass, para [0016] Fig. 1) as such the modification would have amounted to the selection of a known doped silicon material for its intended use in the known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming n-type and p-type doped regions in a silicon solar cell without having to directly subject the silicon substrate to a dopant diffusion process.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Pass’329 such that the first portion of the metal foil of Brand overhangs the substrate of Brand and has an end beyond the substrate in order to serially connect the solar cell to an adjacent solar cell as in Pass as this advantageously saves fabrication steps at the module level because the patterning of the metal foil may be combined with the stringing of the solar cell structures (Pass’329, [0033]-[0034] Figs. 11-12 see: metal foil 105 patterned such that a P-type metal finger 109 of one solar cell structure 100 is left connected to the N-type metal finger 108 of an adjacent solar cell structure 100).
Additionally it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Pass’329 such that the first portion of the metal foil of Brand is coupled to the portion of the second metal foils through weld bonds as taught by Pass’329 (Pass’329, [0025]-[0026] Figs. 6-7 see: metal layer 104 welded at weld joints 106 to metal foil 105) for the purpose of providing a secure connection.
Given that the metal foil of Brand is a multilayer metal foil ([0031]-[0035]) considered the structural equivalent of a second metal foil coupled to a first metal foil, by the modification of Pass’329, the multilayer metal foil (second metal foil coupled to a first metal foil) in modified Brand would thus also result in a portion of the second metal foil overhanging the substrate in order to interconnect adjacent solar cells.
In the alternative, Pass’065 also teaches an interconnection of adjacent solar cells with a conductive foil that includes a second metal foil with a portion that overhangs a substrate (Pass’065, [0010], [0052]-[0053] Figs. 8-9 see: conductive foil 212 that overhangs solar cells 202, 204 at region 212 where conductive foil 212 is for example an aluminum foil with a layer of nickel and/or zincate considered the structural equivalent of a second metal foil coupled to a first metal foil).
Pass’065 and modified Brand are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Pass’065 such that the portion of the second metal foil of Brand overhangs the substrate of Brand as in Pass’065 (Pass’065, [0010], [0052]-[0053] Figs. 8-9 see: conductive foil 212 that overhangs solar cells 202, 204 at region 212 where conductive foil 212 is for example an aluminum foil with a layer of nickel and/or zincate considered the structural equivalent of a second metal foil coupled to a first metal foil) for the express purpose of providing interconnection to an adjacent solar cell as recited above.
Modified Brand does not explicitly disclose where the wherein the weld bond overhangs the substrate.
Pass’757 discloses a solar cell having a first portion of a first metal foil overhanging a substrate, coupled to a portion of a second metal foil by a weld bond, wherein the portion of the second metal foil and the weld bond overhang the substrate (Pass’757, [0046]-[0048], Fig. 4 see: overhang portion 404a of conductive foil (first metal foil) welded at joint 406 to additional material 408 (second metal foil) and also overhanging edge of substrate (solar cell 400a)). Pass’757 discloses this additional foil helps inhibit ratcheting of the interconnect structure or wafer bowing (Pass’757, [0047], [0024]).
Pass’757 and modified Brand are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Pass’757 such that the portion of the second metal foil and the weld bond overhang the substrate as in Pass’757 (Pass’757, [0046]-[0048], Fig. 4 see: overhang portion 404a of conductive foil (first metal foil) welded at joint 406 to additional material 408 (second metal foil) and also overhanging edge of substrate (solar cell 400a)) as Pass’757 discloses this additional joined foil helps inhibit ratcheting of the interconnect structure or inhibit wafer bowing (Pass’757, [0047], [0024]).
Modified Brand does not explicitly disclose where the portion of the second metal foil has an end beyond the substrate that is in vertical alignment with the end of the first portion of the first metal foil.
Sewell’420 discloses a solar cell where a portion of a second metal foil welded to a first metal foil has an end beyond the solar cell substrate that is in vertical alignment with the end of the first portion of the first metal foil beyond the substrate (Sewell’420, [0095]-[0097], Figs. 13-14 and 16 see: conductive foil 1304 with additional conductive layer 1316 of foil welded to conductive foil 1304 where conductive foil 1304 and conductive layer 1316 of foil have ends beyond substrate 1300 in vertical alignment). Sewell’420 teaches this arrangement of foils can provide a copper foil over the aluminum foil allowing for easier cell-to-cell interconnection (paras [0097], [0062]-[0063]).
Sewell’420 and modified Brand are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Sewell’420 such that the portion of the second metal foil has an end beyond the substrate that is in vertical alignment with the end of the first portion of the first metal foil as in Sewell’420 (Sewell’420, [0095]-[0097], Figs. 13-14 and 16 see: conductive foil 1304 with additional conductive layer 1316 of foil welded to conductive foil 1304 where conductive foil 1304 and conductive layer 1316 of foil have ends beyond substrate 1300 in vertical alignment) as Sewell’420 teaches this arrangement of foils can provide a copper foil over the aluminum foil allowing for easier cell-to-cell interconnection (paras [0097], [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 2 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 1, and Pass’329 further teaches wherein the plurality of semiconductor regions is a plurality of N-type and P-type polycrystalline silicon regions disposed above the substrate (Pass’329, para [0016] Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 3 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 1, further comprising:
an intervening layer disposed on the substrate, wherein the intervening layer includes openings exposing portions of the plurality of semiconductor regions corresponding to the plurality of conductive contact structures ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4a-4h, see: insulating layer 3 disposed on semiconductor layer 13 and having openings for contacts 6).
Regarding claim 4 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 3, further comprising:
a second portion of the first metal foil disposed over at least a portion of the intervening layer ([0099]-[0106], Figs. 4g-4h contacts 6 each include portions over insulating layer 3 formed from second metal foil 15).
Regarding claim 5 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 4, and Pass’329 teaches wherein the second portion of the first metal foil is in contact with a second one of the locally deposited metal structures (Pass’329, [0027] Fig. 9 see: metal foil can be patterned such that each metal finger corresponding to a locally deposited metal structure are electrically connected together (in electrical contact) at an end portion).
Regarding claim 6 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 1, wherein the conductive contact structures comprise an edge feature ([0048], [0082], [0105], see: during laser irradiation the edges of contacts 6 in the metal foil 4 are given predetermined breaking points as perforations and/or removal of metal foil for metal thickness reduction which meets the definition of an edge feature both before and after mechanical removal or the non-fused portions of metal foil 4 (para [0097])).
Regarding claim 7 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 1, wherein the first metal foil is an aluminum foil (Brand, [0029]-[0030] see: contacts formed from a metal foil preferably aluminum).
Regarding claim 8 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 1, wherein the aluminum foil has a thickness of approximately 1 nm – 500 µm (Brand, [0093] see: contacts formed from an aluminum layer 10 µm in thickness).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brand et al (WO 2014/023668A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Pass’329 (US 2015/0090329) and in view of Pass’065 (US 2016/0149065) in view of Pass’757 (US 2016/0093757) in view of Sewell’420 (US 2015/0318420) as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Sewell’619 (US 2017/0110619).
Regarding claims 9 and 10 modified Brand discloses the solar cell of claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the aluminum foil includes aluminum in an amount greater than approximately 97% and silicon in an amount approximately in the range of 0-2% or wherein the aluminum foil is anodized.
Sewell’619 discloses a foil-based metallization for a solar cell where the metal foil is anodized aluminum (Sewell’619, [0036]) and includes aluminum in an amount greater than approximately 97% and silicon in an amount approximately in the range of 0-2% (Sewell, [0049], [0051] see: Al foil is an aluminum foil and include aluminum in an amount greater than approximately 97% and silicon in an amount approximately in the range of 0-2%).
Sewell’619 and modified Brand are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Brand in view of Sewell’619 such that the aluminum foil of Brand is an anodized aluminum foil as in Sewell’619 (Sewell’619, [0036]) or includes aluminum in an amount greater than approximately 97% and silicon in an amount approximately in the range of 0-2% as taught by Sewell’619 (Sewell’619, [0049], [0051] see: Al foil is an aluminum foil and include aluminum in an amount greater than approximately 97% and silicon in an amount approximately in the range of 0-2%) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known aluminum alloy for its intended use in the know environment of a solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming back contacts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726