Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0006645 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a battery module (100) comprising a battery cell (120), a module housing comprising a side plate facing a side surface of the battery cell (sides of housing of modules 100, Fig. 2), cell terminals (133) protruding from the battery cell toward the side plate, a busbar holder (140) between the side plate and the battery cell connected to the terminal, and a reinforcing member (160) connected to the busbar holder and reinforcing the busbar holder (Kim Figs. 2-5 and [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim gives an example in which the reinforcing member comprises a first reinforcing cover (361) between the side plate and the busbar holder and a second reinforcing cover (366) attached to the first (Kim Fig. 12 and [0134]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 4, the first reinforcing cover faces the side plate, and the second reinforcing cover faces the busbar holder ([0134]).
Regarding claim 8, the module includes a first securing member (164) between the busbar holder and the reinforcing member supporting the reinforcing member with respect to the busbar holder (Kim Fig. 9 and [0106]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 9, the first cover includes an end portion around an end portion of the second cover (Kim Fig. 18), and the first securing member includes a groove indented into an end portion of the busbar holder (the gap between the main circuit board body and the part of the circuit board body backing the busbar) and an insert (164) extending from the end portion of the reinforcing member (Kim Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, the first securing groove is formed with a first catch jaw (the lip of the groove), and the first insert comprises a first hook (the lower tip of the insert) at the distal end of the first insert body to be caught by the catch jaw when inserted (Kim Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11, the securing mechanism is described as engaging in a snap-fit manner (Kim [0071]), which would necessarily require the insert bodies to be elastically deformable.
Regarding claim 12, the hook gradually narrows toward a distal end (Kim Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a vehicle (1) comprising a vehicle body and a battery module (100) mounted on the vehicle body comprising a battery cell (120), a module housing comprising a side plate facing a side surface of the battery cell (sides of housing of modules 100, Fig. 2), cell terminals (133) protruding from the battery cell toward the side plate, a busbar holder (140) between the side plate and the battery cell connected to the terminal, and a reinforcing member (160) connected to the busbar holder and reinforcing the busbar holder (Kim Figs. 1-5, [0026], and [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 3 above.
Regarding claim 2, Kim does not teach that the terminals, busbar holders, and reinforcing members are provided as pairs symmetrically arranged at opposite sides of the battery. Kim teaches that the cells may include terminals that protrude from both sides (Kim [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the configurations listed by Kim, including terminals at both ends of the cells, which would necessarily include corresponding busbar holders and reinforcing members at both ends.
Regarding claim 5, the two covers are made of different materials (Kim Fig. [0134]-[0135]) and would be expected to have different rigidities. As there are only two possibilities (the first cover is more rigid than the second or vice versa), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try either possibility, including a second cover more rigid than the first cover.
Regarding claim 6, Kim does not disclose any particular materials for the two covers. The second cover is electrically conductive (Kim Fig. [0134]-[0135]), which implies that the first cover is not electrically conductive. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional electrically conductive material, including metallic materials, for the first cover, and any conventional electrically insulating material, including resin, for the second material, since Kim gives no further guidance.
Regarding claim 9, the first securing member includes a groove indented into an end portion of the busbar holder (the gap between the main circuit board body and the part of the circuit board body backing the busbar) and an insert (164) extending from the end portion of the reinforcing member (Kim Fig. 9).
Kim does not teach that the first reinforcing portion includes an end portion around an end portion of the second reinforcing portion. Kim teaches that the first reinforcing portion (cover clip 360) may be provided with a recess to accommodate the second reinforcing portion (electric conductor 366) (Kim [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any of the configurations listed by Kim, including placing the second reinforcing portion within a recess in the first reinforcing portion, which would necessarily result in an end portion of the first reinforcing portion around an end portion of the second reinforcing portion.
Regarding claim 10, the first securing groove is formed with a first catch jaw (the lip of the groove), and the first insert comprises a first hook (the lower tip of the insert) at the distal end of the first insert body to be caught by the catch jaw when inserted (Kim Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11, the securing mechanism is described as engaging in a snap-fit manner (Kim [0071]), which would necessarily require the insert bodies to be elastically deformable.
Regarding claim 12, the hook gradually narrows toward a distal end (Kim Fig. 9).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Maeng et al. (US 2009/0317665 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim does not teach any particular method for coupling the first and second covers. Maeng is directed to a secondary battery (Maeng Abstract). Maeng teaches that conductive plates and insulating members may be formed as a single entity through insert injection molding (Maeng [0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional method for coupling the first and second covers of Kim, including insert injection molding, since Kim gives no further guidance.
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2023/0291026 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim does not teach the use of a buffer member connected to the reinforcing member to absorb impacts. Yoo is directed to a battery pack (Yoo Abstract). Yoo teaches that a cover frame between the busbar assembly heat reinforcing member (e.g. insulating member) and side cover can protect the module from external impacts (Yoo [0197]-[0200] and Figs. 18-19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a cover frame (i.e. buffer member) between the reinforcing member and side plate of Kim to protect the module from external impacts.
Regarding claim 14, the buffer member of modified Kim is between the reinforcing member and side plate (Yoo Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim does not teach that the buffer member is elastically deformable. Modified Kim teaches that the buffer member may be made of a material such as PBT or MPPO (Yoo [0200]), each of which is elastically deformable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select either of PBT or MPPO for the buffer member, since these are the only materials indicated by modified Kim.
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim teaches the use of a second securing member (Yoo adhesive member 5300) between the reinforcing member and buffer member (Yoo [0208] and Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim does not teach that the second securing member is a groove and insert structure. Modified Kim teaches that the second securing member may be a fastening member (Yoo [0208]), and that snap-fit couplings (i.e. groove and insert structures) can stably maintain coupling for a long period of time (Kim [0121]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to replace the adhesive strips with a groove and insert structure to stably maintain the coupling for a long period of time.
Regarding claim 18, the snap-fit structure of modified Kim comprises a first securing groove formed with a first catch jaw (the lip of the groove), and the first insert comprises a first hook (the lower tip of the insert) at the distal end of the first insert body to be caught by the catch jaw when inserted (Kim Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, the securing mechanism is described as engaging in a snap-fit manner (Kim [0071]), which would necessarily require the insert bodies to be elastically deformable.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722