DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed on 4/26/2026, with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed on 4/26/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 112(a) rejections of claims 11 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-16, filed on 4/26/2027, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-10, and 12-17 under Bajo, Nakamura, and Reis have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Cao, as a new search was necessitated by the amendment.
The Examiner notes that in the previous office action, DE 102005005111 was improperly referred to by the name of the applicant: Heidenhain. In this office action, the same reference is used, but is referred to as Nakamura, which is the inventor’s name.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 16-22, filed on 4/26/2027, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under Bajo has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Cao and Tang, as a new search was necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) (cited previously) in view of Cao (CN 110160560).
Regarding claim 1, Bajo teaches an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line
7), comprising a plurality (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 1-2) of motors, a plurality of reducers (Paragraph 0148, lines 22-24), and a plurality of driving disc assemblies (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26), wherein each of the plurality of reducers includes a reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 14-15) and an output stage bearing (Paragraph 0148, lines 19-20), each respective motor of the plurality of motors is configured to drive a respective reducer to rotate a respective driving disc assembly via a respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 24-29), wherein the instrument drive further comprises: a plurality of output stage magnetic rings (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 1-2), wherein a respective output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 5-6) of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0150, lines 5-8); a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, line 8), wherein a respective output stage encoder of the plurality of output stage encoders is spaced apart from the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, lines 8-9) in a radial direction of the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B) and configured to detect rotation of the respective output stage magnetic ring (Paragraph 0150, lines 9-10 and Paragraph 0148, lines 9-11); and a top cover plate (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0129, line 2), wherein the top cover plate has a plurality of through holes (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0129, lines 2-3), and the respective output stage encoder and the respective output stage magnetic ring face each other (Fig. 12B).
Bajo does not teach an output sensing plate that has a first side facing the respective driving disc assembly, and a second side facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer and spaced apart from the output bearing of the respective reducer in an axial direction of the respective reducer output stage, where the first side is opposite to the second side. Bajo also does not teach that that the respective reducer output stage passes through a respective through hole of the plurality of through holes, wherein the plurality of output stage encoders are mounted to the output sensing plate. Bajo also does not teach that the respective output stage encoder and the respective output stage magnetic ring are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the respective reducer output stage.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36), a driving disc assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 2-3, 30), an output stage bearing (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00057, line 5, 26), and a reducer (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00056, line 1, 20). Cao teaches that the output sensing plate has a first side facing a respective driving disc assembly, a second side facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer and spaced apart from the output bearing of the respective reducer in an axial direction of the respective reducer output stage, where the first side is opposite to the second side (See Annotated Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 (Cao)
Cao teaches that a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 7) interacts with the output sensing plate (See Annotated Fig. 2), wherein a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) are mounted to the output sensing plate (Fig. 1). Cao also teaches that a respective output stage encoder (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) and output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 3, 31/32) are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the reducer output stage (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao to include that the output sensing plate has a first side facing the respective driving disc assembly, and a second side facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer and spaced apart from the output bearing of the respective reducer in an axial direction of the respective reducer output stage, where the first side is opposite to the second side, wherein the plurality of output stage encoders are mounted to the output sensing plate, and that the respective output stage encoder and the respective output stage magnetic ring are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the respective reducer output stage. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao.
Although Cao does not explicitly teach that the output sensing plate (36) includes a through hole, Cao discloses the same relative location of the output sensing plate that is described in the instant claim (See Annotated Fig. 2). Therefore, it would be obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporating the through holes in the top cover plate disclosed in Bajo with the output sensing plate disclosed in Cao in order to yield the predictable result of improving axial space utilization within the device.
Regarding claim 3, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 1, wherein the respective output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 5-6) is mounted to (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 4-7) the respective driving disc assembly (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26). Bajo does not teach that the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the respective driving disc assembly.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36), a driving disc assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 2-3, 30), an output stage bearing (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00057, line 5, 26), and a reducer (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00056, line 1, 20). Cao further teaches that the respective output stage encoder (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate (Fig. 1), and facing the respective driving disc assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao to include that the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the respective driving disc assembly. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao.
Regarding claim 13, Bajo in view of Cao discloses the claimed invention of claim 1. Bajo further discloses the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7) of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 1-2) of motors (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 4-5) includes an input bearing and an output bearing (Fig. 3B-3D, Paragraph 0072, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 15, Bajo in view of Cao discloses the claimed invention of claim 1. Bajo further discloses the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7) of claim 1, wherein the instrument drive further comprises: a plurality of input stage magnetic rings (Paragraph 0158, lines 8-9), wherein a respective input stage magnetic ring of the plurality of input stage magnetic rings is coaxially arranged (Paragraph 0158, lines 9-10) with an input stage of the respective motor (Fig. 15A, Paragraph 0158, line 21) and is configured to rotate synchronously with the input stage of the respective motor (Paragraph 0158, lines 11-13); and a plurality of input stage encoders (Paragraph 0162, line 5), fixedly disposed in the instrument drive (Paragraph 0162, lines 6-7), and a respective input stage encoder of the plurality of input stage encoders being configured to detect rotation of a respective input stage magnetic ring (Paragraph 0162, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 16, Bajo in view of Cao discloses the claimed invention of claim 15. Bajo further discloses the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7) of claim 15, wherein the respective input stage magnetic ring (Paragraph 0158, lines 8-9) is coaxially arranged (Paragraph 0158, lines 9-10) with a sensing unit (Paragraph 0103, line 6) of a respective input stage encoder (Paragraph 0162, line 5).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Cao (CN 110160560) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Reis (U.S. Patent No. 8,602,031) and Nakamura (DE 102005005111).
Regarding claim 4, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 3 that includes a plurality of driving disc assemblies (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26). Bajo does not teach that each respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion.
Reis, however, teaches a medical robotic system that includes multiple driving
disc assembles, where each includes a driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, line 65)
and a driving disc (Fig. 5A, Col. 7, lines 4-5). Reis also teaches that driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, lines 64-65), and that the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F). Nakamura, however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, line 8) that is coupled to the bottom of a driving disc assembly and around a hollow shaft region (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Reis and Nakamura to include that each respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion. Doing so would ensure that the driving disc guide portion and driving disc can be securely connected to the reducer output stage in order to drive transmission of the surgical instrument, as recognized by Reis (Col. 6, lines 64-65) and Nakamura (Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9). Although Nakamura does not explicitly disclose that the output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion, the driving disc guide portion encompasses the bottom of the driving disc assembly, and therefore it would be obvious to couple the output stage magnetic ring to the driving disc guide assembly.
Regarding claim 5, Bajo in view of Cao, Reis, and Nakamura discloses the
claimed invention of claim 4. However, Bajo does not explicitly teach that the driving disc and the driving disc guide portion are made of non-magnetic materials or weak magnetic materials. Bajo does teach that the housing of said instrument drive “may be made of a suitable material that… reduces electromagnetic noise that might confound sensor readings” (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15). It would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that using non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials would reduce electromagnetic noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try making the driving disc and the driving disc guide portion out of non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials. Doing so would ensure that the components inside the housing of the instrument drive, such as the driving disc assembly, reduce electromagnetic noise that might confound the encoder sensor readings (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15), as recognized by Bajo.
Claims 6-9, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Cao (CN 110160560) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Nakamura (DE 102005005111).
Regarding claim 6, Bajo in view of Cao discloses the claimed invention of claim
1. Bajo does not teach that the respective output stage magnetic ring is mounted to the respective reducer output stage and close to the output stage bearing of the respective reducer, and the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer.
Nakamura teaches a rotational encoder that includes a respective output stage
magnetic ring (Paragraph 0052, lines 1-2) which is mounted (Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9) to a respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0049, line 1) and close to (Fig. 1-2) an output stage bearing (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0049, line 3) of the respective reducer. Nakamura also teaches an output stage encoder (Paragraph 0052, line 2) that is mounted to a side (Fig. 7, Paragraph 0042, lines 1-4) of the output sensing plate (Paragraph 0052, line 1) facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of
Nakamura to include that the respective output stage magnetic ring is mounted to the respective reducer output stage and is close to the output stage bearing, and the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the output stage bearing of the respective reducer. Doing so would ensure that the respective output stage magnetic ring and output stage encoder are in the proper locations in order to accurately detect rotation of the respective output stage magnetic ring, and that a smaller and more powerful rotary encoder can be used (Paragraph 0054, lines 7-8), as recognized by Nakamura.
Regarding claim 7, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 6 that includes the output stage bearing (Fig. 3B-3D, Paragraph 0072, lines 10-13) of the respective reducer (Paragraph 0148, lines 22-24). Bajo does not teach that the output stage bearing includes an outer bearing and an inner bearing, and that the respective output stage magnetic ring is close to the outer bearing. Nakamura, however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage bearing with an outer bearing and an inner bearing (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0049, line 3). Furthermore, Nakamura teaches a respective output stage magnetic ring is close to the outer bearing (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0052, lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of
Nakamura to include that the output stage bearing includes an inner and outer bearing, and that the respective output stage magnetic ring is close to the outer bearing. Doing so would limit axial movement of the reducer output stage (Paragraph 0049, lines 2-4), as recognized by Nakamura.
Regarding claim 8, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 7 that includes an output stage bearing (Fig. 3B-3D, Paragraph 0072, lines 10-13). Bajo does not teach that the output stage bearing includes an outer and inner bearing, wherein the outer bearing is spaced apart from the inner bearing, or the outer bearing abuts against the inner bearing. Nakamura, however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage bearing with an outer and an inner bearing (Fig. 1, paragraph 0049, line 3). Furthermore, Nakamura teaches that outer bearing can be spaced apart from the inner bearing (Fig. 2). While Nakamura does not explicitly show that the outer bearing abuts against the inner bearing, it would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that the two bearings could be moved to abut against each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura to include that the output stage bearing has an outer and inner bearing, wherein the outer bearing is spaced apart from the inner bearing, or the outer bearing abuts against the inner bearing. Doing so would limit axial movement of the reducer output stage (Paragraph 0049, lines 2-4), as recognized by Nakamura.
Regarding claim 9, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 7. Bajo does not teach that the instrument drive includes an outer bearing
that is made of a non-magnetic material or a weak magnetic material. Nakamura,
however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage bearing with an outer bearing (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0049, line 3).
Bajo, however, teaches that the housing of said instrument drive "may be made of
a suitable material that reduces electromagnetic noise that might confound sensor readings" (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15). Although Bajo does not explicitly disclose that components inside the housing are made of a non-magnetic or weak magnetic material, it would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that using non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials would reduce electromagnetic noise.
Regarding claim 12, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 1 that includes the plurality of reducer output stages (Paragraph 0148,
lines 14-15). Bajo does not explicitly teach that the plurality of reducer output stages are made of non-magnetic materials or weak magnetic materials. Bajo, however, teaches that the housing of said instrument drive "may be made of a suitable material that electromagnetic noise that might confound sensor readings" (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15). It would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that using non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials would reduce electromagnetic noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to try making the plurality of reducer output stages out of non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials. Doing so would ensure that the components inside the housing of the instrument drive, such as the outer bearing, reduce electromagnetic noise that might confound the encoder sensor readings (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15), as recognized by Bajo.
Regarding claim 14, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 13 that includes an input bearing (Fig. 3B-3D, Paragraph 0072, lines 10-13). Bajo does not explicitly teach that the input bearing is made of a non-magnetic or a weak magnetic material. Bajo, however, teaches that the housing of said instrument drive "may be made of a suitable material that reduces electromagnetic noise that might confound sensor readings" (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15). It would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that using non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials would reduce electromagnetic noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to try making the input bearing out of a non-
magnetic or a weak magnetic material. Doing so would ensure that the components inside the housing of the instrument drive, such as the input bearing, reduce any electromagnetic noise that might confound the encoder sensor readings (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15), as recognized by Bajo.
Regarding claim 17, Bajo teaches the instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065,
line 7) of claim 1, wherein the respective motor (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 4-5) includes one or more of a bottom cover (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0126, lines 8-9), a base (Fig. 10D-10E, Paragraph 0127, lines 1-4), and a housing (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0126, line 2) being made of a non-magnetic material or a weak magnetic material (Paragraph 0111, lines 11-12).
Bajo does not explicitly disclose that the bottom cover or base are made of a non-
magnetic or a weak magnetic material. Bajo, however, teaches that the housing of said
instrument drive "may be made of a suitable material that noise that might confound
sensor readings" (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15). It would be well known by a person of ordinary skill in the art that using non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials would reduce electromagnetic noise.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to try making the bottom cover and the base out of non-magnetic or weak magnetic materials. Doing so would ensure that the components inside the housing of the instrument drive, such as the bottom cover and the base, reduce any electromagnetic noise that might confound the encoder sensor readings (Paragraph 0111, lines 10-15), as recognized by Bajo.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Cao (CN 110160560) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reis (U.S. Patent No. 8,602,031).
Regarding claim 10, Bajo teaches an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7) of claim 1 that includes a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, line 8) and a plurality of reducer output stages (Paragraph 0148, lines 14-15). Bajo does not teach that the plurality of output stage encoders are disposed outside a convex polygon formed by connecting centers of the plurality of reducer output stages. Reis teaches a medical robotic system that includes a plurality (Fig. 4C) of reducer output stages (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, lines 64-65), where the connecting centers of said reducer output stages forms a convex polygon (Fig. 4A-4B).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bajo and Reis to include that the connecting centers of the plurality of reducer output stages form a convex polygon. Doing so would ensure that the plurality of reducer output stages are spaced far
enough apart from one another in order to properly drive the surgical instrument (Col. 6, lines 64-65), as recognized by Reis. Although Bajo does not explicitly teach that the plurality of output stage encoders are disposed outside a convex polygon, Bajo does show that the respective encoders are located to the side and spaced apart from the respective reducer output stages (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, lines 8-9). Therefore, it would be obvious to try locating the output stage encoders outside said convex polygon as taught in Reis.
Claims 18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Tang (CN 112402018) and Cao (CN 110160560).
Regarding claim 18, Bajo teaches a surgical robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 6), comprising a sliding arm (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, lines 2-3, 210/216), an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7), and a surgical instrument (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, line 9, 250), wherein the instrument drive is coupled to the sliding arm and is movable on the sliding arm along a first direction (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, lines 3-5), wherein the surgical instrument includes an elongated tube (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, line 9, 254), wherein the instrument drive includes a plurality (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 1-2) of motors (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 4-5), a plurality of reducers (Paragraph 0148, lines 22-24), and a plurality of driving disc assemblies (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26), wherein each of the plurality of reducers includes a reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 14-15) and an output stage bearing (Paragraph 0148, lines 19-20), and a respective motor of the plurality of motors is configured to drive the respective reducer to rotate the respective driving disc assembly via the respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 24-29), wherein the instrument drive further includes: a plurality of output stage magnetic rings (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 1-2), wherein a respective output stage magnetic ring of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0150, lines 5-8); a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, line 8), wherein a respective output stage encoder of the plurality of output stage encoders is spaced apart from the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, lines 8-9) in a radial direction of the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B) and configured to detect rotation of the respective output stage magnetic ring (Paragraph 0150, lines 9-10 and Paragraph 0148, lines 9-11); and a top cover plate (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0129, line 2), wherein the top cover plate has a plurality of through holes (Fig. 10C, Paragraph 0129, lines 2-3), and the respective output stage encoder and the respective output stage magnetic ring face each other (Fig. 12B).
Bajo does not teach that the surgical instrument includes a surgical instrument box. Bajo also does not teach that the instrument drive is coupled to the surgical instrument box, and that the elongated tube is coupled to the surgical instrument box and extends along the first direction, wherein the instrument drive defines a notch for allowing the elongated tube to pass through the instrument drive.
Tang, however, teaches a surgical robot and instrument base power transmission device that includes a surgical instrument (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 7, 5153/5150) that comprises a surgical instrument box (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, lines 11-12, 5160) and an elongated tube (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 6, 5140). Tang teaches that the surgical instrument box is coupled to (Fig. 1 and 18) an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 1900). Tang further teaches that the elongated tube is coupled to the surgical instrument box and extends along a first direction (Fig. 1-2), wherein the instrument drive defines a notch (See Annotated Fig. 1) for allowing the elongated tube to pass through the instrument drive (See Annotated Fig. 1).
Annotated Fig. 1 (Tang)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Tang to include that the surgical instrument includes a surgical instrument box that is coupled to the instrument drive and elongated tube in a first direction, and wherein the instrument drive defines a notch for allowing the elongated tube to pass through the instrument drive. Doing so would ensure that linear actuation can be transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach that a respective motor, a respective reducer, a respective reducer output stage and a respective driving disc assembly are sequentially arranged in the same direction (first direction) that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm. Bajo also does not teach that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive a corresponding driven disc of the surgical instrument box.
Tang, however, teaches that a respective motor (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 7, 1942), a respective reducer (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 7, 1941), a respective reducer output stage (See Annotated Fig. 5), and a respective driving disc assembly (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 3, 1912) are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) in the same direction (See “First Direction” in Annotated Fig. 1) in which the instrument drive moves on a sliding arm (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, lines 2-3, 1600). Tang further teaches that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive (Fig. 16-17, Paragraph 00089, lines 4-6) a corresponding driven disc (Fig. 17, Paragraph 00090, lines 1-4, 5114/5116) of the surgical instrument box.
Annotated Fig. 5 (Tang)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Tang to include that a respective motor, a respective reducer, a respective reducer output stage and a respective driving disc assembly are sequentially arranged in the same direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm, and that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive a corresponding driven disc of the surgical instrument box. Doing so would ensure that linear actuation can be properly transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach that a respective output stage magnetic ring of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage about an axis parallel to the first direction. Tang, however, discloses that the reducer output stage is oriented about an axis parallel to the direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm (the first direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the respective output stage magnetic ring of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings that are coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage as disclosed in Bajo about an axis that is parallel to the direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm (first direction) as disclosed in Tang. Doing so would ensure that linear actuation can be properly transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach an output sensing plate disposed between a plurality of output stage bearings of the plurality of reducers and the plurality of driving disc assemblies, the plurality of output stage encoders being disposed on a side of the output sensing plate facing the plurality of output stage magnetic rings, wherein the output sensing plate has a plurality of through holes, the respective reducer output stage extends through a respective through hole of the plurality of through holes along the first direction to be coupled to the respective driving disc assembly, and the respective output stage encoder is spaced apart from the respective output stage magnetic ring in the first direction.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36), a driving disc assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 2-3, 30), an output stage bearing (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00057, line 5, 26), and a reducer (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00056, line 1, 20). Cao teaches that the output sensing plate is disposed between an output stage bearing and a driving disc assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 (Cao)
Cao also teaches that a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 7) interacts with the output sensing plate (See Annotated Fig. 2), wherein a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) are mounted to the output sensing plate (Fig. 1). Cao teaches that a respective output stage encoder (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) and output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 3, 31/32) face each other (Fig. 1) and are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the reducer output stage (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao to include that the output sensing plate is disposed between an output stage bearing and a driving disc assembly, wherein the plurality of output stage encoders are disposed on a side of the output sensing plate that face an output stage magnetic ring, and wherein the output stage encoders are spaced apart from the output stage magnetic ring. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao.
Although Cao does not explicitly teach that the output sensing plate (36) includes a through hole, Cao discloses the same relative location of the output sensing plate that is described in the instant claim (See Annotated Fig. 2). Therefore, it would be obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporating the through holes in the top cover plate disclosed in Bajo with the output sensing plate disclosed in Cao in order to yield the predictable result of improving axial space utilization within the device.
Although Cao does not disclose that the reducer output stage, output stage
encoder, and output stage magnetic ring interact in a first direction, or one that is parallel
to the direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm, it would be obvious to one of ordinary result to combine the reducer orientation that is disclosed in Tang with the structure that is disclosed in Cao. Furthermore, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Regarding claim 22, Bajo teaches the surgical robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 6) of claim 18. Bajo does not teach that the output sensing plate is perpendicular to the first direction. Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36). Tang, however, teaches a surgical robot and instrument base power transmission device that includes an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 1900). Tang further teaches that the bottom/top sides of the instrument drive are oriented perpendicular to the direction in which it slides along the sliding arm (first direction) (See Annotated Fig. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao and Tang to include that the output sensing plate is perpendicular to the first direction. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao. Doing so would also ensure that linear actuation can be transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Regarding claim 23, Bajo teaches the surgical robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 6) of claim 18 that includes the plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, line 8). Bajo does not teach that the plurality of output stage encoders are located in a plane perpendicular to the first direction.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36). Cao also teaches that a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) are mounted to the output sensing plate (Fig. 1). Tang, however, teaches a surgical robot and instrument base power transmission device that includes an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 1900). Tang further teaches that the bottom/top sides of the instrument drive are oriented perpendicular to the direction in which it slides along the sliding arm (first direction) (See Annotated Fig. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao and Tang to include that the plurality of output stage encoders are located in a plane perpendicular to the first direction. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao. Doing so would also ensure that linear actuation can be transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Tang (CN 112402018) and Cao (CN 110160560) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Reis (U.S. Patent No. 8,602,031) and Nakamura (DE 102005005111).
Regarding claim 21, Bajo teaches the surgical robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line
6) of claim 18, wherein the respective output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 5-6) is mounted to (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 4-7) the respective driving disc assembly (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26). Bajo does not teach that the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the respective driving disc assembly.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36), a driving disc assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 2-3, 30), an output stage bearing (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00057, line 5, 26), and a reducer (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00056, line 1, 20). Cao further teaches that the respective output stage encoder (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate (Fig. 1), and facing the respective driving disc assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao to include that the respective output stage encoder is mounted to a side of the output sensing plate facing the respective driving disc assembly. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao.
Bajo also does not teach that each respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion.
Reis, however, teaches a medical robotic system that includes multiple driving
disc assembles, where each includes a driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, line 65)
and a driving disc (Fig. 5A, Col. 7, lines 4-5). Reis also teaches that driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, lines 64-65), and that the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F). Nakamura, however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, line 8) that is coupled to the bottom of a driving disc assembly and around a hollow shaft region (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Reis and Nakamura to include that each respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion. Doing so would ensure that the driving disc guide portion and driving disc can be securely connected to the reducer output stage in order to drive transmission of the surgical instrument, as recognized by Reis (Col. 6, lines 64-65) and Nakamura (Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9). Although Nakamura does not explicitly disclose that the output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion, the driving disc guide portion encompasses the bottom of the driving disc assembly, and therefore it would be obvious to couple the output stage magnetic ring to the driving disc guide assembly.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajo et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2018/0116737) in view of Tang (CN 112402018), Cao (CN 110160560), Reis (U.S. Patent No. 8,602,031), and Nakamura (DE 102005005111).
Regarding claim 24, Bajo teaches a surgical robot (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 6), comprising a sliding arm (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, lines 2-3, 210/216), an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0065, line 7), and a surgical instrument (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, line 9, 250), wherein the instrument drive is coupled to the sliding arm and is movable on the sliding arm along a first direction (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, lines 3-5), wherein the surgical instrument includes an elongated tube (Fig. 2A, Paragraph 0067, line 9, 254), wherein the instrument drive includes a plurality (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 1-2) of motors (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0147, lines 4-5), a plurality of reducers (Paragraph 0148, lines 22-24), and a plurality of driving disc assemblies (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0148, line 26), wherein each of the plurality of reducers includes a reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 14-15) and an output stage bearing (Paragraph 0148, lines 19-20), and the respective motor is configured to drive the respective reducer to rotate the respective driving disc assembly via the respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0148, lines 24-29), wherein the instrument drive further includes: a plurality of output stage magnetic rings (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 1-2), wherein a respective output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 11A-11B, Paragraph 0150, lines 5-6) of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage (Paragraph 0150, lines 5-8); a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, line 8), wherein a respective output stage encoder of the plurality of output stage encoders is spaced apart from the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B, Paragraph 0150, lines 8-9) in a radial direction of the respective reducer output stage (Fig. 12A-12B) and configured to detect rotation of the respective output stage magnetic ring (Paragraph 0150, lines 9-10 and Paragraph 0148, lines 9-11).
Bajo does not teach that the surgical robot includes a sterile adapter, or that the surgical instrument includes a surgical instrument box. Bajo also does not teach that the instrument drive is coupled to the surgical instrument box, and the sterile adapter is coupled between the instrument drive and the surgical instrument box, wherein the elongated tube is coupled to the surgical instrument box and extends along the first direction, and the sterile adapter and the instrument drive each define a notch for allowing the elongated tube to pass through.
Tang, however, teaches a surgical robot and instrument base power transmission device that includes a sterile adapter (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, lines 3-4, 6100) and a surgical instrument (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 7, 5153/5150) that comprises a surgical instrument box (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, lines 11-12, 5160) and an elongated tube (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 6, 5140). Tang teaches that the surgical instrument box is coupled to (Fig. 1 and 18) an instrument drive (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 1900). Tang teaches that the sterile adapter is coupled between the instrument drive and the surgical instrument box (Fig. 1).
Tang further teaches that the elongated tube is coupled to the surgical instrument box and extends along a first direction (Fig. 1-2), wherein the instrument drive and sterile adapter each define a notch (See Annotated Fig. 1) for allowing the elongated tube to pass through the instrument drive (See Annotated Fig. 1).
Annotated Fig. 1 (Tang)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Tang to include that the surgical instrument includes a surgical instrument box that is coupled to the instrument drive and elongated tube in a first direction, and wherein the instrument drive defines a notch for allowing the elongated tube to pass through the instrument drive. Doing so would ensure that linear actuation can be transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach that a respective motor, a respective reducer, a respective reducer output stage and a respective driving disc assembly are sequentially arranged in the same direction (first direction) that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm. Bajo also does not teach that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive a corresponding driven disc of the surgical instrument box through a corresponding coupling member of the sterile adapter.
Tang, however, teaches that a respective motor (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 7, 1942), a respective reducer (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 7, 1941), a respective reducer output stage (See Annotated Fig. 5), and a respective driving disc assembly (Fig. 5, Paragraph 00064, line 3, 1912) are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) in the same direction (See “First Direction” in Annotated Fig. 1) in which the instrument drive moves on a sliding arm (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00058, lines 2-3, 1600). Tang further teaches that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive (Fig. 16-17, Paragraph 00089, lines 4-6) a corresponding driven disc (Fig. 17, Paragraph 00090, lines 1-4, 5114/5116) of the surgical instrument box through a corresponding coupling member (Fig. 17, Paragraph 00089, lines 1-2, 6113) of the sterile adapter.
Annotated Fig. 5 (Tang)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Tang to include that a respective motor, a respective reducer, a respective reducer output stage and a respective driving disc assembly are sequentially arranged in the same direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm, and that the respective driving disc assembly is configured to drive a corresponding driven disc of the surgical instrument box through a corresponding coupling member of the sterile adapter. Doing so would ensure that linear actuation can be properly transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach that a respective output stage magnetic ring of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage about an axis parallel to the first direction. Tang, however, that a respective reducer output stage is oriented parallel to the direction in which it slides along the sliding arm (first direction) (See Annotated Fig. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Tang to include that a respective output stage magnetic ring of the plurality of output stage magnetic rings is coaxially disposed with the respective reducer output stage and configured to rotate synchronously with the respective reducer output stage about an axis parallel to the first direction. Doing so would also ensure that linear actuation can be transmitted from the instrument drive to the surgical instrument box (Paragraph 00058, lines 1-4), and that the length of the power transmission device can be reduced (Paragraph 00060, lines 7-10), as recognized by Tang.
Bajo also does not teach an output sensing plate disposed between a plurality of output stage bearings of the plurality of reducers and the plurality of driving disc assemblies, the plurality of output stage encoders being disposed on a side of the output sensing plate facing the plurality of output stage magnetic rings, wherein the output sensing plate has a plurality of through holes, the respective reducer output stage extends through a respective through hole of the plurality of through holes along the first direction to be coupled to the respective driving disc assembly, and the respective output stage encoder is spaced apart from the respective output stage magnetic ring in the first direction.
Cao, however, teaches a magnetic encoder, robot joint, and calibrating method of the magnetic encoder that includes an output sensing plate (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 4, 36), a driving disc assembly (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 2-3, 30), an output stage bearing (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00057, line 5, 26), and a reducer (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00056, line 1, 20). Cao teaches that the output sensing plate is disposed between an output stage bearing and a driving disc assembly (See Annotated Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 (Cao)
Cao also teaches that a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 2, Paragraph 00058, line 3, 7) interacts with the output sensing plate (See Annotated Fig. 2), wherein a plurality of output stage encoders (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) are mounted to the output sensing plate (Fig. 1). Cao teaches that a respective output stage encoder (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, lines 4-5, 33/34) and output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1, Paragraph 00049, line 3, 31/32) face each other (Fig. 1) and are spaced apart from each other in the axial direction of the reducer output stage (Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Cao to include that the output sensing plate is disposed between an output stage bearing and a driving disc assembly, wherein the plurality of output stage encoders are disposed on a side of the output sensing plate that face an output stage magnetic ring, and wherein the output stage encoders are spaced apart from the output stage magnetic ring. Doing so would improve the stability and reading resolution of the encoder (Paragraph 00070 and 00084), as recognized by Cao.
Although Cao does not explicitly teach that the output sensing plate (36) includes a through hole, Cao discloses the same relative location of the output sensing plate that is described in the instant claim (See Annotated Fig. 2). Therefore, it would be obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporating the through holes in the top cover plate disclosed in Bajo with the output sensing plate disclosed in Cao in order to yield the predictable result of improving axial space utilization within the device.
Although Cao does not disclose that the reducer output stage, output stage
encoder, and output stage magnetic ring interact in a first direction, or one that is parallel
to the direction that the instrument drive moves along the sliding arm, it would be obvious to one of ordinary result to combine the reducer orientation that is disclosed in Tang with the structure that is disclosed in Cao. Furthermore, the courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Bajo also does not teach that the respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion to achieve flexible engagement with the sterile adapter, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion.
Reis, however, teaches a medical robotic system that includes multiple driving
disc assembles, where each includes a driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, line 65)
and a driving disc (Fig. 5A, Col. 7, lines 4-5). Reis also teaches that driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of a respective reducer output stage (Fig. 5F, Col. 6, lines 64-65), and that the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion (Fig. 5F). Nakamura, however, teaches a rotational encoder that includes an output stage magnetic ring (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, line 8) that is coupled to the bottom of a driving disc assembly and around a hollow shaft region (Fig. 1-2, Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajo to incorporate the teachings of Reis and Nakamura to include that each respective driving disc assembly includes a driving disc guide portion and a driving disc, wherein the driving disc guide portion is coupled to a shaft of the respective reducer output stage, the driving disc is in sliding fit with the driving disc guide portion, and the respective output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion. Doing so would ensure that the driving disc guide portion and driving disc can be securely connected to the reducer output stage in order to drive transmission of the surgical instrument, as recognized by Reis (Col. 6, lines 64-65) and Nakamura (Paragraph 0049, lines 8-9). Although Nakamura does not explicitly disclose that the output stage magnetic ring is coupled to the driving disc guide portion, the driving disc guide portion encompasses the bottom of the driving disc assembly, and therefore it would be obvious to couple the output stage magnetic ring to the driving disc guide assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796