DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OKUMURA JP H10209372 A (hereinafter OKUMURA).
Regarding claim 1, fig. 1 of OKUMURA discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
an insulating substrate 11;
a first circuit pattern C1, a second circuit pattern G1, a third circuit pattern 27, and a fourth circuit pattern 26 arranged on the insulating substrate;
a semiconductor chip (1 and 2 – see fig. 2) and a first electrode C1 arranged on the first circuit pattern;
a second electrode G1 disposed on the second circuit pattern;
a third electrode ES1 disposed on the third circuit pattern 27; and
a fourth electrode E1 disposed on the fourth circuit pattern 26, wherein
a pad 13 is connected to the second circuit pattern G1 via first wiring 18, the pad being disposed on the semiconductor chip,
a surface of the semiconductor chip 1 and the third circuit pattern 27 are connected via second wiring (middle 19 and 21 combination form a wiring),
the surface of the semiconductor chip and the fourth circuit pattern 26 are connected via third wiring (right 19 - see 19 connected to 2 to 20 to 26), the second wiring and the third wiring are arranged on a same side of the surface of the semiconductor chip in plan view, and
the second wiring and the third wiring are in parallel (see 19 portion of each are parallel) with each other in plan view (see right 19 and middle 19 are parallel), and
the first wiring 18 is disposed on an opposite side of the surface of the semiconductor chip from the third wiring in plan view.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the fourth circuit pattern is disposed between the first circuit pattern and the third circuit pattern, and the third wiring is shorter than the second wiring (see 19 alone is shorter the 19 and 21 combination).
Regarding claim 3, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the semiconductor chip separately includes a switching element 1 and a freewheeling element 2, and fourth wiring 19 connecting a surface of the switching element and a surface of the freewheeling element is disposed on the opposite side of the surface of the semiconductor chip.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the semiconductor chip separately includes a switching element 1 and a freewheeling element 2, and fourth wiring 19 connecting a surface of the switching element and a surface of the freewheeling element is disposed on the opposite side of the surface of the semiconductor chip.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 2 of OKUMURA wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 2 of OKUMURA wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUMURA .
Regarding claim 5, OKUMURA discloses claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring.
However, in Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of OKUMURA wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring in order to mee the applicant’s design requirement.
Regarding claim 6, OKUMURA discloses claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of OKUMURA wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring in order to mee the applicant’s design requirement.
Regarding claim 7, OKUMURA discloses claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of OKUMURA wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring in order to mee the applicant’s design requirement.
Regarding claim 8, OKUMURA discloses claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of OKUMURA wherein the second wiring is disposed to extend above the third wiring in order to mee the applicant’s design requirement.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 2 of OKUMURA wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 2 of OKUMURA wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Regarding claim 16, fig. 2 of OKUMURA discloses wherein the first electrode is a collector electrode, the second electrode is a gate electrode, the third electrode is a first emitter electrode, and the fourth electrode is a second emitter electrode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893