DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to amendment filed on 6/30/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0141642).
Regarding claims 1, Lei discloses a method comprising:
sending, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information (figure 9 steps 910 and 912; paragraphs 106-108: configuration for downlink communication including PDSCH channel) indicating a bandwidth (subbands) of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (paragraphs 61 and 124: PDSCH may be transmitted on a single subband or multiple subbands in an active DL bandwidth part (BWP)), configured for the UE, wherein the bandwidth includes one or more frequency segments (FSs) and a non-usable frequency resource contiguous to a first FS of the one or more FSs (figure 10; paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124: gaps between adjacent subbands are non-usable frequency resource),
the first FS including first contiguous frequency resources corresponding to an active bandwidth part (figure 10; paragraphs 114-118 and 121-124; active BWP);
signaling, to the UE, physical resource blocks (PRBs) (paragraphs 79 and 119), wherein only a subset of the PRBs that are both in one or more active bandwidth parts corresponding to the one or more FSs and in the bandwidth are usable by the UE for PDSCH reception (paragraphs 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124, 135-137, and 146: PRBs are used for communication and only a subset of PRBs are in one of the configured and active subbands. The rest of the PRBs are in other subbands); and
performing a PDSCH communication with the UE, the PDSCH communication using the subset of the PRBs (paragraphs 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124, 135-137, and 146).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Lei discloses a method an apparatus comprising: a receiver (figure 7 receive circuitry 720);
a transmitter (figure 3 receiver 354); and
processing circuitry (figure 3 controller/processor 380) communicatively couple with the receiver and the transmitter (see figure 3) and configured to:
process configuration information indicating a bandwidth of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configured for a user equipment (UE) (figure 9 steps 910 and 912; paragraphs 106-108: configuration for downlink communication including PDSCH channel, paragraphs 61 and 124: PDSCH may be transmitted on a single subband or multiple subbands in an active DL bandwidth part (BWP));
wherein the bandwidth includes one or more frequency segments (FSs) and a non-usable frequency resource contiguous to a first FS of the one or more FSs, the first FS including first contiguous frequency resources corresponding to an active bandwidth part (figure 10; paragraphs 25, 27, 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124: gaps between adjacent subbands are non-usable frequency resource; figure 10; paragraphs 114-118 and 121-124; active BWP);
process downlink control information (DCI) (paragraphs 127-131: DCI schedules FDRA) indicating physical resource blocks (PRBs) (paragraphs 79 and 119), wherein only a subset of the PRBs that are both in one or more active bandwidth parts corresponding to the one or more FSs and in the bandwidth are usable by the UE for PDSCH reception (paragraphs 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124, 135-137, and 146: PRBs are used for communication and only a subset of PRBs are in one of the configured subbands); and
perform the PDSCH reception using the subset of the PRBs (paragraphs 111, 113, 120, 121, 122, 124, 135-137, and 146).
Regarding claim 2, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the configuration information separately indicates a configuration of the first FS, wherein the configuration includes an offset with respect to a reference point and a bandwidth (paragraphs 119-122).
Regarding claim 3, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the configuration information indicates a bandwidth that includes the FSs, starts at the lowest frequency of the FSs, and ends at the highest frequency of the FSs, and wherein the configuration information further indicates a starting offset with respect to a reference point (paragraphs 119-122).
Regarding claim 4, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the configuration information indicates a bandwidth that includes the FSs, starts at the lowest frequency of the FSs, and ends at the highest frequency of the FSs, and wherein the configuration information further a starting offset with respect to the lowest frequency (paragraphs 119-122).
Regarding claim 6, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches wherein the configuration information indicates that one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) are configured for the first FS, wherein each BWP includes contiguous frequency resources within the first FS, wherein the method further comprises:
signaling, to the UE, that at least a BWP of the one or more BWPs is active, wherein the first subset includes the BWP (paragraphs 107, 120-122, 135-137).
Regarding claim 7, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches the configuration information indicates a bandwidth that includes the FSs, wherein the configuration information further indicates that one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) are configured within the bandwidth (paragraphs 107, 120-122, 135-137).
Regarding claim 9, all limitations of claims 8 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches wherein the DCI separately indicates a first frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) for the first FS and a second FDRA for the second FS (paragraphs 127-129).
Regarding claim 10, all limitations of claims 9 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches the first FDRA indicates the first subset among configured frequency resources of the first FS (paragraphs 127-129).
Regarding claim 11, all limitations of claims 9 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches the first FDRA indicates the first subset among active frequency resources of the first FS (paragraphs 124, 125, 135-137).
Regarding claim 12, all limitations of claims 8 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches the configuration information indicates a bandwidth that includes the FSs wherein the PRBs indicated by the DCI are within the bandwidth (paragraphs 79 and 119).
Regarding claim 13, all limitations of claims 8 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches wherein the plurality of PRBs are numbered across the first FS and the second FS and exclude frequency resources between the first FS and the second FS (figures 4A-4D, figures 8 and 10, paragraphs 79, 113).
Regarding claim 15, all limitations of claims 8 are disclosed above. Lei further teaches, wherein the DCI indicates a set of resource block groups (RBGs) corresponding to the FSs by using a bitmap-based frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), wherein a size of an RBG is configured by the network (paragraphs 129, 130, 137) or is based on an active bandwidth of UE (paragraphs 129, 130, 137).
Regarding claim 17, all limitations of claims 16 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the signaling information schedules resources that are limited to the first FS and form a control resource set on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paragraph 79) or for a set of resources on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (paragraphs 124 and 125).
Regarding claim 18, all limitations of claims 16 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the signaling information schedules resources that form a control resource set on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (paragraph 79), wherein the control resource set spans the first FS and a second FS (paragraphs 124 and 125).
Regarding claim 20, all limitations of claims 16 are disclosed above. Lei discloses the processing circuitry is further configured to generate UE capability information indicating at least one of the maximum number of FSs per serving cell, a maximum total number of FS in all serving cells in a frequency range or across frequency ranges, or a maximum bandwidth per serving cell, and wherein the configuration information is sent by the network based on the UE capability information (paragraphs 141 and 142).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0141642) in view of Xiong et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0224880).
Regarding claim 5, all limitations of claims 1 are disclosed above. Lei does not teach but Xiong teaches configuration information indicates a bandwidth that starts at the lowest frequency of the FSs and ends at the highest frequency of the FSs, wherein the configuration information further indicates a bitmap corresponding to the frequency resources of the bandwidth, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a frequency resource within the bandwidth, and wherein a set of consecutive bits having a same binary value indicates the first FS (paragraphs 139-140 and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Lei configuration information indicates a bandwidth that starts at the lowest frequency of the FSs and ends at the highest frequency of the FSs, wherein the configuration information further indicates a bitmap corresponding to the frequency resources of the bandwidth, wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a frequency resource within the bandwidth, and wherein a set of consecutive bits having a same binary value indicates the first FS.
The motivation would have been for precise indication of usable bandwidth.
Regarding claim 14, all limitations of claims 8 are disclosed above. Lei does not teach but Xiong teaches wherein the DCI indicates a set of resource block groups (RBGs) corresponding to the FSs by using a bitmap-based frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), wherein an active bandwidth of the first FS is extended to a nominal bandwidth that corresponds to a multiple integer of RBGs for a (PRB) indexing purpose FS (paragraphs 133-141 and Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Lei wherein the DCI indicates a set of resource block groups (RBGs) corresponding to the FSs by using a bitmap-based frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), wherein an active bandwidth of the first FS is extended to a nominal bandwidth that corresponds to a multiple integer of RBGs for a (PRB) indexing purpose FS.
The motivation would have been ease of reorganization.
Regarding claim 19, all limitations of claims 16 are disclosed above. Lei does not teach Xiong discloses the communication includes a reception of a reference signal, wherein the signaling information maps a sequence of the reference signal to physical resources of the serving cell and indicates a first configuration of the first FS and a second configuration of the second FS, and wherein each of the first configuration and the second configuration references a common resource block of the physical resources (paragraphs 139-141 and 159-160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement in Lei the configuration information separately indicates a configuration of the first FS, wherein the configuration includes an offset with respect to a reference point and a bandwidth.
The motivation would have been for bandwidth identification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466