DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0099] (Pg Pub [0104]) recites “The temperature equalizing plate 42” but [00100] (Pg Pub [0105]) recites “In the case of the refrigeration sheet 42”, providing the same reference number to two different parts. Examiner notes that in other places the “refrigeration sheet” is referred to by reference number 32, so Examiner presumes this is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “one end of the flow guiding section is located at the first air vent to be communicated with the first air vent, and the other end of the flow guiding section is communicated with the mounting section;”. Examiner believes there is a grammatical error between the italicized and underlined portions. The underlined portion and the italicized portion are not tied together or one may be redundant.
Claim 16 recites “channel away from the first air vent, and the other end of the third heat dissipation channel and an end of the second heat dissipation channel away from the first air vent are both”, while its clear what’s being claimed that the “other end” of the “third heat dissipation channel” and the other end of the second channel both go to the “second air vent”, something is wrong with the way its phrased. Examiner thinks it may just be that the “both” need to be moved to after the “and”, i.e. “channel away from the first air vent, and both the other end of the third heat dissipation channel and an end of the second heat dissipation channel away from the first air vent are .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “the side air vent is communicated with the first heat dissipation channel” however it’s unclear what the distinction is between the two. Turning to the specification to breathe life into the claims, it seems that “first heat dissipation channel 51” includes the “side air vent” as well as the “gap air vent” and “end air vent”. Examiner is confused as to the distinction between them. For the above reason, the claim does not clearly define the metes and bounds and the claim is indefinite. The claim depending from this claim shares this issues and is likewise rejected.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the end air vent is adjacent to the gap air vent to form a Bernoulli structure.” It’s unclear how being “adjacent” creates the Bernoulli structure. Examiner notes that the two are not even recited as being connected merely adjacent and earlier in claim 18 it recites that “light-emitting component and an inner wall of the mounting port define a gap air vent;” and “the light source is arranged in the light reflective member, a side air vent is defined in a peripheral side of the light reflective member, . . . and an end of the light reflective member is defined with an end air vent.” The claims seemingly have these two elements separate. For the above reason the claims do not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claim and the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220192745 to Pan (hereinafter Pan, cited in IDS dated 10/28/24).
Regarding Claim 1, an interpretation of Pan discloses a skin treatment apparatus (abstract), comprising:
a housing ([0037]-[0039], Figs. 1-2) provided with a light outlet area ([0037], [0039], [0058]-[0059]);
a light-emitting component arranged in the housing ([0055]-[0056], [0058]-[0059], Fig. 7), the light-emitting component being configured to generate light irradiated to a skin to be treated from the light outlet area ([0058]-[0059] including “The light emitted by the emitter 222 . . . is emitted into skin of a user.”, Fig. 7 see also [0055]-[0056]);
a cold compress component disposed at the light outlet area for cooling the skin ([0055]-[0057], Fig. 7); and
a heat dissipation component (abstract, [0047]-[0048], Figs. 3-4), comprising:
a fan ([0048]-[0050], Figs. 4-5);
a temperature equalizing plate ([0048]-[0050], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 5, 8-10, 13; floor/base element of second vent (upper portion) of conductive component, including a deflection portion); and
a heat dissipation sheet mounted on the temperature equalizing plate ([0054], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 6, 8-10, 13);
wherein, the fan is defined with a first air vent ([0050], Figs. 4-6 see also [0087]), one end of the temperature equalizing plate is thermally connected to the cold compress component ([0048], [0071], Figs. 10, 13 see also [0073], [0087]), and the other end of the temperature equalizing plate is located at the first air vent ([0063], [0070], Figs. 4, 6, 9-10, 13 see also [0087]; deflected portion which defines the first vent from the second vent);
the fan drives a first part of air to flow through a side of the temperature equalizing plate facing away from the heat dissipation sheet and flow through the light-emitting component to dissipate heat from the light-emitting component ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins. To the extent the claim recites an intended use, “drives . . .”, the structural elements recited by the prior art are functionally capable of performing the intended use. Examiner notes this does also have a structural component of having the two sides of the “temperature equalizing plate” one side includes “heat dissipation sheet” and the other side being the opposite side without the “heat dissipation sheet” but including light emitting component), and drives a second part of air to flow through the heat dissipation sheet to dissipate heat from the cold compress component ([0063], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting elements. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins to dissipate heat on the cold compress elements. To the extent the claim recites an intended use, “drives . . .”, the structural elements recited by the prior art are functionally capable of performing the intended use).
Regarding Claim 2, an interpretation of Pen further discloses a holder component arranged in the housing ([0048], [0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 6, 10, 13; Bottom and side portions of 212 conductive component), the holder component and the temperature equalizing plate defining a first heat dissipation channel for the first part of air to flow through ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 6, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component and is the first channel.);
wherein, the light-emitting component is at least partially disposed in the first heat dissipation channel ([0069], Figs. 8-10, 13); and
the holder component comprises:
a separation part, the separation part separating the light-emitting component from the temperature equalizing plate ([0055]-[0056], [0061], Figs. 7, 10, 13).
Regarding Claim 3, an interpretation of Pan further discloses wherein, the skin treatment apparatus is a hair removal device or a skin rejuvenation device ([0037]).
Regarding Claim 4, an interpretation of Pan further discloses a holder component arranged in the housing ([0048], [0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 6, 10, 13; Bottom and side portions of 212 conductive component), the holder component and the temperature equalizing plate defining a first heat dissipation channel and a second heat dissipation channel ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 6, 10, 13-14; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component (first channel). Air through the second vent is the second channel.);
wherein, the light-emitting component is at least partially mounted in the first heat dissipation channel ([0069], Figs. 8-10, 13), one side of the temperature equalizing plate and the holder component define a near air vent section of the first heat dissipation channel, the near air vent section of the first heat dissipation channel is communicated with the first air vent, and the fan drives the first part of air to flow through the near air vent section of the first heat dissipation channel to dissipate heat from the light-emitting component ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins. To the extent the claim recites an intended use, “drives . . .”, the structural elements recited by the prior art are functionally capable of performing the intended use); and
the heat dissipation sheet is disposed in the second heat dissipation channel, the other side of the temperature equalizing plate and the holder component define a near air vent section of the second heat dissipation channel, the near air vent section of the second heat dissipation channel is communicated with the first air vent, and the fan drives the second part of air to flow through the near air vent section of the second heat dissipation channel to dissipate heat from the cold compress component ([0063], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” (claimed “first air vent”) through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting elements. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins to dissipate heat on the cold compress elements. To the extent the claim recites an intended use, “drives . . .”, the structural elements recited by the prior art are functionally capable of performing the intended use).
Regarding Claim 5, an interpretation of Pan further discloses wherein the first heat dissipation channel comprises: a mounting section and a flow guiding section arranged along a direction of the light-emitting component facing the first air vent ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent the initial portion by the “first air vent” is the flow guiding section the portion closer to the light emitter is the “mounting section”);
wherein, the light-emitting component is at least partially mounted in the mounting section ([0069], Figs. 8-10, 13);
one end of the flow guiding section is located at the first air vent to be communicated with the first air vent, and the other end of the flow guiding section is communicated with the mounting section ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent the initial portion by the “first air vent” is the flow guiding section the portion closer to the light emitter is the “mounting section”. Similarly, one end of the “flow guiding section” is located by first vent/air outlet and the second end is by the mounting section);
the near air vent section of the first heat dissipation channel is defined in the flow guiding section ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component); and
a cross-sectional area of at least partial region of the flow guiding section gradually increases along a direction of the first air vent facing the light-emitting component (Figs. 10, 13 show a gradual cross sectional increase in the “first channel”).
Regarding Claim 6, an interpretation of Pan further discloses wherein an inner wall of the flow guiding section comprises: a first inner side wall facing the temperature equalizing plate ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 8-10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component. Bottom of first air vent/bottom “inner wall” faces up towards “temperature equalizing plate”); and
a second inner side wall facing the first inner side wall ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 8-10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component. Top of first air vent/top “inner wall” faces down towards bottom “inner wall”);
wherein, along the direction of the first air vent facing the light-emitting component, at least one of the first inner side wall and the second inner side wall is inclined away from the other one, to allow a distance between the first inner side wall and the second inner side wall to be gradually increased (Figs. 10, 13; air flowing in through first vent with at least one inner side wall inclined away from other wall to provide a gradual cross sectional increase in the “first channel”).
Regarding Claim 9, an interpretation of Pan further discloses wherein an end of the temperature equalizing plate close to the first air vent is deflected toward a side close to the light-emitting component, to form a deflection section ([0048]-[0050], [0063], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting elements);
wherein, the deflection section extends to the first air vent, a side of the deflection section close to the light-emitting component and the holder component define at least part of the flow guiding section ([0063], [0069], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting component. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins), and a side of the deflection section facing away from the light-emitting component and the holder component define the near air vent section of the second heat dissipation channel ([0063], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 4, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. Air through the “first” vent is to dissipate heat on the light emitting elements. Air through the second vent is through the “heat dissipation sheet”/fins to dissipate heat on the cold compress elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of US 20220118278 to Pan et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding Claim 18, an interpretation of Pan further discloses wherein an inner wall of the first heat dissipation channel is defined with a mounting port ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. the inner wall of the bottom section of 212 includes a “mounting port” in the “mounting section”), the light-emitting component is mounted in the first heat dissipation channel through the mounting port ([0062]-[0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents. the inner wall of the bottom section of 212 includes a “mounting port” in the “mounting section”), and the light-emitting component and an inner wall of the mounting port define a gap air vent; and
the light-emitting component comprises a light reflective member and a light source, the light source is arranged in the light reflective member ([0055]-[0056], Fig. 7), a side air vent is defined in a peripheral side of the light reflective member ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13-14; Fan drives air out of “air outlet” through “first” and “second” vents, and within the second vent is driven between the ), the side air vent is communicated with the first heat dissipation channel ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13), and an end of the light reflective member is defined with an end air vent ([0063], [0069], Figs. 8, 10, 13; air flows through by the emitter and out the end).
While Pan discloses the inner wall mounting port and light emitting component, it may not explicitly disclose a gap air vent between them. However, in the same field of endeavor (medical treatment devices), Li teaches shows providing multiple vents including a gap between the inner wall and the light emitting components (62 Fig. 4, [0036]-[0038])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of the Pan device to include a gap between the light emitting component and mounting port/inner wall portion creating an additional channel as claimed effectively improving an interior overall cooling efficiency ([0038]-[0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims are 7-8, 10-17, 19-20 allowable over the prior art.
Claims 7-8, 10-17, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210393014 see fig. 15 392, discusses heating dissipation vents and channels
US 20230148727 see Figs. 8-10
/James Moss/Examiner, Art Unit 3792