DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 2020/0033979) in view of Miller (US 2009/0073079) and Shaeffer (US 2019/0347985).
Regarding claim 1, Sauer teaches An electronic device, comprising: a local passive matrix comprising a set of rows of display pixels(Fig. 5B ITO Group 504); and a micro-driver configured to drive the local passive matrix (Fig. 5B micro driver 514A and 514B) , the micro-driver comprising: a negative voltage source configured to be selectively coupled simultaneously to set of rows (Fig. 5B voltage VNEG);
a first column driver coupled to the a set of rows via a first emission line and configured to drive a current(Fig. 5B [0063] driver 526 can include 6 current drivers for pixels in columns (emission lines of the drivers)) through the one row of the first set of rows that is selectively coupled to the negative voltage source. (Fig. 5B wires connecting ITO Group to VNEG through switch circuit 528); and
a second column driver coupled to the second set of rows via a second emission line and configured to drive a current through the one row of the set of rows that is selectively coupled to the negative voltage source (second column driver would be a second one of the drivers 526 as cited with regards to the first column driver), wherein second emission line crosses at least the one row of the first set of rows.
Although Sauer teaches the limitations as discussed above, he does not teach the passive matrix set of rows comprise a first set of rows and a second set of rows, wherein a first column driver is connected to a first set of rows with first emission lines and a second column driver is connected to a second set of rows with second emission lines, wherein second emission lines crosses at least one row of the first set of rows.
However in the field of driving a passive matrix device, Miller teaches a passive matrix device comprising a first set of rows and a second set of rows (Figs. 3-4 shows a passive matrix device divided into 3 sets of rows grouped and driven by respective row drivers), wherein a column driver is connected to a first set of rows with first emission lines (column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 2 through metal connector tile 110) and a column driver is connected to a second set of rows with second emission line(column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 3 through metal connector tile 108) s, wherein second emission lines crosses at least one row of the first set of rows (Fig. 4 second emission line is metal tile connector 108 seen crossing the first two set of rows. [0036] teaches metal tile connectors 108 and 110 are used to deliver current to individual EL tiles within the display) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Sauer with the method of driving as taught by Miller. This combination would prolong the lifespan of a device by improving driving quality of the device as taught by Miller [0003]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above they fail to explicitly teach a micro-driver configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels.
However in the field of driving a display using micro-drivers, Shaeffer teaches a local passive matrix display where a micro-drive is configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels (Fig. 11B shows micro-driver N driving Row N and Row N+1 at simultaneously during the emission phase.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Sauer with the method of driving as taught by Miller and the driving method as taught by Shaeffer. This combination would provide an improved driving method to larger display device to produce an improved viewing experience as taught by Shaeffer [0004].
Regarding claim 2, Miller teaches wherein the first emission line is shorter than the second emission line (Fig. 4 shows that metal tile connector 110 is shorter than metal tile connector 108).
Regarding claim 3, Miller teaches wherein the negative voltage source is configured to be selectively coupled via a plurality of switches coupled to each row (Fig. 5B wires connecting ITO Group to VNEG through switch circuit 528) and Miller teaches a voltage source connected to the first set of rows and each row of the second set of rows ([0029] row driver signal generator creates drive signal for the row drivers to provide to the rows to illuminate row electrodes).
Regarding claim 4, Sauer teaches wherein closing a switch of the plurality of switches causes a respective row to emit light when driven(Fig. 5B wires connecting ITO Group to VNEG through switch circuit 528) Miller teaches the respective row of the first set of rows and a respective row of the second set of rows emit light when driven ([0012][0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Miller teaches wherein the first set of rows is positioned directly adjacent to the micro-driver (Fig. 4 shows 3 groups of rows and column driver 126).
Regarding claim 6, Miller teaches wherein the second set of rows is positioned adjacent to the first set of rows Fig. 4 shows 3 groups of rows and column driver 126).
Regarding claim 7, Sauer teaches wherein the local passive matrix comprises a set of rows of display pixels, wherein the negative voltage source(Fig. 5B VNEG) is configured to be selectively coupled simultaneously to one row of the set of rows and wherein the micro-driver (Fig. 5B shows six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group through wires)comprises:
a third column driver coupled to the set of rows via a third emission line(emission lines are the wires that connect the six drivers of the columns to the pixels) and configured to drive a current through the one row of the third set of rows that is selectively coupled to the negative voltage source; and
a fourth column driver coupled to the set of rows via a fourth emission line(emission lines are the wires that connect the six drivers of the columns to the pixels) and configured to drive a current through the one row of the fourth set of rows that is selectively coupled to the negative voltage source (emission lines are the wires that connect the six drivers of the columns to the pixels), wherein the fourth emission line crosses over the third set of rows(Fig. 5B shows 1st and 2nd and more of the six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group. Therefore it is clear that based on the display image data, pixels in the first and second row of ITO bank can operate at the same time by driving any one of the six current drivers to address any pixel in any ITO Group.) and Miller teaches the set of rows are a third set of rows respectively connected to a voltage source and a column driver(Figs. 3-4 show the passive matrix device being divided into 3 groups/sets of rows driven by respective row drivers.).
Sauer in view of Miller discloses the claimed invention except fourth set of rows respectively connected to a voltage source and a column driver.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a fourth set of rows respectively connected to a voltage source and a column driver, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Sauer in view of Miller discloses the claimed invention except the third set of rows is positioned directly adjacent to the micro-driver, and wherein the fourth set of rows is positioned adjacent to the third set of rows.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the third set of rows is positioned directly adjacent to the micro-driver, and wherein the fourth set of rows is positioned adjacent to the third set of rows, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, Sauer teaches wherein the first column driver, the second column driver, the third column driver, and the fourth column driver are configured to operate at the same time(Fig. 5B shows 1st and 2nd and more of the six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group. Therefore it is clear that based on the display image data, pixels in the first and second row of ITO bank can operate at the same time by driving any one of the six current drivers to address any pixel in any ITO Group.).
Regarding claim 16, Sauer teaches An electronic device, comprising:
a local passive matrix comprising, wherein the portion comprises rows of display pixels (Fig. 5B pixels in ITO Group) and a micro-driver coupled to the portion via a first emission line and the via a second emission line (Fig. 5B shows 1 of the six current drivers of micro drivers 514A and 514B connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group through wires( emission line)), the micro-driver configured to drive a row ([0063]). Although Sauer teaches the limitations as discussed above but he fails to explicitly teach the passive matrix is a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first set of rows of display pixels and second portion comprise second set of rows and a micro-driver coupled to the first portion and a second portion via emission lines.
However in the field of driving a passive matrix device, Miller teaches a passive matrix device a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first set of rows of display pixels and second portion comprise second set of rows and a micro-driver coupled to the first portion and a second portion via emission lines (Figs. 3-4 shows a passive matrix device divided into 3 sets of rows grouped and driven by respective row drivers. Column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 2 through metal connector tile 110. Column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 3 through metal connector tile 108) and the micro driver is configured to drive a row of the first portion and a row of the second portion([0033]) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Sauer with the method of driving as taught by Miller. This combination would prolong the lifespan of a device by improving driving quality of the device as taught by Miller [0003]. Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above they fail to explicitly teach a micro-driver configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels.
However in the field of driving a display using micro-drivers, Shaeffer teaches a local passive matrix display where a micro-drive is configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels (Fig. 11B shows micro-driver N driving Row N and Row N+1 at simultaneously during the emission phase.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Sauer with the method of driving as taught by Miller and the driving method as taught by Shaeffer. This combination would provide an improved driving method to larger display device to produce an improved viewing experience as taught by Shaeffer [0004].
Regarding claim 17, Miller teaches wherein the first portion is directly adjacent to the micro-driver and the second portion is adjacent to the first portion driver (Fig. 4 shows 3 groups of rows and column driver 126).
Regarding claim 18, Sauer teaches wherein the micro-driver comprises: a first column driver coupled to the portion via the first emission line; and a second column driver coupled to the portion via the second emission line Fig. 5B shows 1 of the six current drivers of micro drivers 514A and 514B connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group through wires( emission line)), and Miller teaches a first portion connected with a first emission line and a second portion connected with a second emission line that crosses over the first portion rows (Fig. 4 shows metal tile connectors 108 and 110 (emission lines) where second emission line is metal tile connector 108 seen crossing the first two set of rows. [0036] teaches metal tile connectors 108 and 110 are used to deliver current to individual EL tiles within the display) .
Regarding claim 19, Sauer teaches Sauer teaches wherein the micro-driver comprises: a first column driver coupled to the portion via the first emission line; and a second column driver coupled to the portion via the second emission line Fig. 5B shows 1 of the six current drivers of micro drivers 514A and 514B connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group through wires( emission line)), and Miller teaches a first portion connected with a first emission line and a second portion connected with a second portion wherein the second emission line is longer than the first emission line (Fig. 4 shows that metal tile connector 110 is shorter than metal tile connector 108. [0036] teaches metal tile connectors 108 and 110 are used to deliver current to individual EL tiles within the display)).
Regarding claim 20, Miller teaches a local passive matrix comprising a third portion and wherein the micro-driver is configured to drive a row of the third portion at the same time as the row of the first portion and the row of the second portion (([0033][0051]Figs. 3-4 shows a passive matrix device divided into 3 sets of rows grouped and driven by respective row drivers. Column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 2 through metal connector tile 110. Column drive 126 connected to rows of row driver 3 through metal connector tile 108).
Miller discloses the claimed invention except fourth portion and a micro-driver driving the fourth portion simultaneously as the other portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality of portions including a fourth portion and a micro-driver driving the fourth portion simultaneously as the other portions, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer (US 2020/0033979) in view of Shaeffer (US 2019/0347985).
Regarding claim 10, Sauer teaches An electronic device, comprising a micro-driver comprising a first column driver and a second column driver wherein the first column driver and the second column driver are configured to operate at the same time (Fig. 5B [0063] driver 526 can include 6 current drivers for pixels in columns (emission lines of the drivers) and second column driver would be a second one of the drivers 526 as cited with regards to the first column driver)) a first display pixel in a first row coupled to the first column driver via a first emission line (Fig. 5B shows 1 of the six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group through wires) a second display pixel in a first row coupled to the second column driver via a second emission line (Fig. 5B shows 2nd and more of the six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group. Therefore it is clear that based on the display image data pixels in the first and second row of ITO bank can operate at the same time by driving any one of the six current drivers to address any pixel in any ITO Group.). Although Sauer teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach a micro-driver configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels.
However in the field of driving a display using micro-drivers, Shaeffer teaches a local passive matrix display where a micro-drive is configured to simultaneously drive two rows of display pixels (Fig. 11B shows micro-driver N driving Row N and Row N+1 at simultaneously during the emission phase.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Sauer with the driving method as taught by Shaeffer. This combination would provide an improved driving method to larger display device to produce an improved viewing experience as taught by Shaeffer [0004].
Regarding claim 11, Sauer teaches wherein the second emission line crosses the first row (Fig. 5B shows that all emission lines cross each row of the ITO Group).
Regarding claim 12, Sauer teaches wherein the first row is directly adjacent to the micro-driver and the second row is adjacent to the first row (Figs. 5B shows row ITO_bank 1 adjacent to micro driver 514A and ITO_bank 2 adjacent to ITO_bank 1).
Regarding claim 13, Sauer teaches wherein the first column driver and the second column driver are configured to operate at the same time comprises: the first column driver driving a current through the first row; and the second column driver driving a current through the second row at the same time as the first column driver line (Fig. 5B shows 1st and 2nd and more of the six current drivers connected to pixels in each row of ITO Group. Therefore it is clear that based on the display image data, pixels in the first and second row of ITO bank can operate at the same time by driving any one of the six current drivers to address any pixel in any ITO Group.).
Regarding claim 14, Sauer teaches wherein the micro-driver comprises a negative voltage source coupled to the first row and the second row (Fig. 5B wires connecting ITO Group to VNEG through switch circuit 528).
Regarding claim 15, Sauer teaches wherein the negative voltage source comprises a first switch coupled to the first row and a second switch coupled to the second row, and wherein closing the first switch the first row to emit light(Fig. 5B wires connecting ITO Group to VNEG through switch circuit 528, where the switches are connected to respective ITO_bank rows 1-8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621