Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that none of the cited references teaches the features of amended claim 1 – the combination of Taylor et al. and Stronconi does in fact teach this shape/structure as explained in the below rejection.
With regards to claim 17’s amended limitation “shredded gel elastomer” – the specification (0040) recites “…pieces of shredded material 374 such as foam or a gel (e.g. a gel elastomer) (alone or in combination with shredded foam).” The disclosure does not describe a fill of “shredded gel elastomer”.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 4/20/2021 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 29/779639, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application 29/779639 fails to provide support for at least claim 1 of the instant application, i.e. an outer fabric layer, a support grid, and a primary cushion. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure does not provide support for one peripheral fabric layer (encompassed by the “at least one” limitation) comprising a first end and a second end. Paragraph [0029] states “peripheral fabric layers 60a and 60b…” Thus, the limitation “at least one peripheral fabric layer comprising a first end and a second end…” is not supported by the originally filed disclosure and constitutes new matter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure fails to describe wherein the primary cushion comprises shredded gel elastomer. The specification (0040) recites “…pieces of shredded material 374, such as a foam or gel (e.g. gel elastomer) (alone or in combination with shredded foam).” That is, there is support for a (i) shredded foam or a (ii) gel (gel elastomer) or a (iii) combination of shredded foam and gel, but not a shredded gel elastomer. Thus, the disclosure does not describe a fill of “shredded gel elastomer”. Accordingly claim 17 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “at least one peripheral fabric layer comprising a first end and a second end”. As best understood, there are two peripheral fabric layers which are circular (ends of the cylindrical cushion), so it is unclear how at least one circular peripheral fabric layer can have “first and second ends.”
Claim 1 recites “…are aligned with the first side and second side”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for these “sides”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 requires a loose fill cushion comprising shredded gel elastomer. Because “gel” is not a solid, it is unclear how a gel can be “shredded.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 13-15 and 20 (as best understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2020/0390247) in view Stronconi (US 2013/0119716). Taylor et al. disclose an elongated body cushion, comprising: a cover including: an outer fabric layer (42, 62) including an inner surface defining an interior of the cover and an outer surface defining major surfaces of an exterior of the cover; a support grid (50, 70) adjacent to the inner surface of the fabric layer and extending across substantially an entirety of the inner surface, the support grid comprising a plurality of walls (i) each with a height and a width and (ii) arranged in a hexagonal grid (0031), wherein the height does not substantially exceed the width such that the support grid bulges under a first load (0030, figure 2) applied at an angle relative to the longitudinal axis and the support grid collapse under a second load applied along the longitudinal axis; and a primary cushion (100) within the interior of the cover. Taylor et al. also teaches that the support grid may be relatively thin (0030). However, assuming arguendo that Taylor et al. do not teach wherein the plurality of walls have a height that does not substantially exceed the width, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the support grid as such since such modification would have involved in a mere change in the size of a component. The motivation would have been to provide a thinner pillow/cushion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the invention to Taylor et al. as specified in claim 1. Furthermore, while Taylor et al. teach that the cushion can be of any shape (para. 0035), Taylor et al. is silent to the cushion being cylindrically-shaped and the cover including peripheral fabric layers. Nonetheless, Stronconi teaches a cylindrical cushion with fabric cover (22) including at least one peripheral fabric layer comprising a first end and a second end, each of the first end and the second end coupled with the outer fabric layer and extending substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cover (figures 2-3); the first end and second end are joined to edges of the outer fabric layer and define a periphery of the cover (e.g. figure 3). Taylor et al. and Stronconi are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. pillows/cushions. It would have been obvious to modify Taylor et al.’s cushion and cover to be cylindrical. The motivation would have been to provide a more comfortable pillow, based on user preference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Taylor et al.’s pillow/cover as specified in claims 1-2. Furthermore, although Taylor et al. is silent to whether at least one wall of hexagons of the hexagonal grid are aligned with the first side and second side, such construction would have been obvious since it has been held that rearranging parts involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation would have been to prevent fractional/partial support along the edges (as a result of partial hexagons of the support grid). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Taylor et al. as specified in claims 1-2.
With regards to claim 3, the outer fabric layer has a cylindrical shape; and the peripheral fabric layer is located at ends of the cylindrical shape (Stronconi: figure 3).
With regards to claim 5, the support grid is a support web (Taylor: para. 0031).
Regarding claim 6, a central thickness of the support grid at locations between the ends of the cylindrical shape exceeds an end thickness of the support grid at locations adjacent to the ends of the cylindrical shape (Taylor: para. 0043)
With regards to claim 7, the cover further includes an inner fabric layer (Taylor: 46, 66) within the interior of the cover, on an opposite side of the support grid from the outer fabric layer and defining a receptacle of the cover that receives the primary cushion.
Regarding claim 8, a material of the support grid impregnates the outer fabric layer (Taylor: para. 0044).
In regards to claim 9, a material of the support grid impregnates the outer fabric layer (Taylor: para. 0044).
With regards to claim 13, the primary cushion comprises one of a foam cushion, a gel cushion, a loose fill cushion, and a fiberfill cushion (Taylor: para. 0037).
Regarding claim 14, the primary cushion is a foam cushion and comprises a latex pillow or a memory foam pillow (Taylor: para. 0037).
With regards to claim 15, the primary cushion is a gel cushion and comprises an array of buckling columns (Taylor: para. 0037).
Regarding claim 20, the primary cushion comprises one of a body pillow, a neck roll pillow, a lumbar pillow or a back pillow, a knee pillow, an orthopedic pillow, and a sleeping pillow.
Claim(s) 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US 2020/0390247) in view Stronconi (US 2013/0119716), and in further view of Dorsey (US 2021/0361093). Taylor et al. as modified, does not teach wherein the primary cushion is a loose fill or fiberfill cushion. Dorsey teaches that it is known to fill pillows/cushions using shredded foam, shredded gel elastomer, feathers, down, microbeads, cotton and/or polyester fiberfill (para. 0029). Taylor et al. and Dorsey are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor, i.e. pillows/cushions. It would have been obvious to modify Taylor et al.’s primary cushion to comprise shredded gel elastomer, down, feathers, microbeads, or cotton or polyester fiberfill. The motivation would have been to provide a more comfortable pillow, based on user preference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Taylor et al.’s pillow as specified in claims 16-19.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631