DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of alpha-pinene as the 5ht1a positive allosteric modulator, cannabidiol as the 5ht2a negative allosteric modulator, beverage as the form of administration, THCV as the cannabinoid, limonene as the terpene in the reply filed on 12 Aug 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-18 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., alpha-pinene as the 5ht1a positive allosteric modulator, cannabidiol as the 5ht2a negative allosteric modulator, beverage as the form of administration, THCV as the cannabinoid, limonene as the terpene.
Priority
The applicant has claimed priority to Application No. 17/667,147 and application No. 63/207,183 on the Applicant Data Sheet.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows: in the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/207,183 and Application No. 17/667,147, the applicant failed to provide adequate written description support for claims 1-18. Accordingly, priority cannot be granted at this time, thus claims 1-18 are granted the filing date of the instant application (02 Apr 2024).
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 63/207,183 and Application No. 17/667,147, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Prior applications 63/207,183 and 17/667,147 fail to provide support for a method of treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs such as cannabis or 5ht2 agonists with the components of the instant claims such as a cannabidiol. Accordingly, claims 1-18 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
Application Data Sheet
The applicant has listed the instant application as a divisional of prior application 17/667,147. However, as noted above, the prior application fails to provide a clear link that supports a method of treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drug such as cannabis or 5ht2 agonists with the components of the instant claims such as a cannabidiol as recited in the instant claims. Thus, the instant application discloses and claims subject matter not previously disclosed and while the claimed method is not new matter, the instant case cannot be a Divisional of 17/667,147. A new Application Data Sheet should be filed to update the relationship with case 17/667,147 as a Continuation-In-Part in light of the new subject matter introduced in the instant case relative the parent non-provisional case.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The brief description of the figures on page 2 of the specification describes Fig 7 on Page 15. It appears that this was reversed and should be Fig 15 on page 7.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-13 and 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 12 there is an unnecessary comma between “5ht2a negative” and “allosteric compound.”
Claims 3, 9 and 15 recite “ocosahex-aenoic acid” but this is a misspelling of “docosahexaenoic acid.”
Claims 6, 12, 13 and 18 unnecessarily repeat the phrase “Administering to a human patient a effective amount of” twice.
Claims 1 and 12 are missing a comma between oleylpropanolamide and alpha-pinene.
Claim 13 needs a space between “claim” and “7.”
Claims 3-6, 10-13 and 15-18 would be improved by changing “a” to “an” as in “an effective amount.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are indefinite for the recitation of “the method.” The definite article “the” is understood to refer to a previously recited method, however, claims 1, 7 and 14 are independent. It is unclear if claims 1, 7 and 14 are intended to refer back to a separate method claim.
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are indefinite in the use of “etc” as used in relation to the symptoms as it is unclear what other types of symptoms are intended to be encompassed by the claims. Claims 2-6, 8-13, and 15-18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claims 1, 7 and 14.
Claim 14 is indefinite in the use of “etc” as used in relation to the genetic testing as it is unclear what other types of genetic testing are intended to be encompassed by the claims. Claims 15-18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 14.
Claim 14 is indefinite in the recitation following “genetic testing” of “5ht1, 5ht2, 5ht2, 5ht4, 5ht5, 5ht7, dopamine, CB1” as it is not clear how these limitations relate to the “genetic testing.” For example, it is not clear if the intention is to test for these components or to use these components in testing. Claims 15-18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 14.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 16 and 18 are indefinite in reciting lists of components and leaving the lists open ended with the use of “other.” For example, claim 1 recites types of beverages and candies to choose from and ends the lists with “or other” and it is unclear if the specified beverages or candies are thus required or not required per the claim. The same reason for indefiniteness is present in claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 15 as they recite what appear to be closed groups of components to select from and also leave the groups open ended by reciting “other.” Claims 2, 3, 5, 8-12, 15, and 17 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14 and 16, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 3, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17 and 18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claims 1, 7 and 14.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 14 and 16 are indefinite for use of the phrase “but not limited to” as it is unclear what other species are contemplated by the claims. Claims 3, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claims 1, 7 and 14.
Claims 4, 10 and 16 are indefinite in the use of parenthesis surrounding “non-decarboxylated forms” following “acidic” as it is unclear if what is contained in the parenthesis is intended to be required as a limitation in the claim or if it is merely exemplary.
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are indefinite in the use of parenthesis in connection to the beverage and candy as it is unclear if what is contained in the parenthesis is intended to be required as a limitation in the claim or if it is merely exemplary. Claims 2-6, 8-13, and 15-18 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claims 1, 7 and 14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Base claims 1, 7 and 14 recite methods “consisting of” various administration steps. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948) ("consisting of" defined as "closing the claim to the inclusion of materials other than those recited except for impurities ordinarily associated therewith"). Thus, the inclusion of additional steps in the dependent claims fail to further limit the subject matter and broadens the administration steps of the base claims.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a process focused on a nature based product without significantly more.
Claim interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
The claims are directed to a method of treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs. The claims provide exemplary drugs such as cannabis and symptoms such as anxiety but the claims are not limited to these. The claims require the administration of compounds such as cannabidiol, alpha-pinene, limonene, butyrate (claim 3), and magnesium. Claims 2, 8 and 14 require testing/diagnosing the human patient. The claims further require that the compounds are administered to a human patient with a means such as a beverage, food, or sublingual strip.
In accordance with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Mater Eligibility Guidance (aka 2019 PEG), the following analysis is based on the flowchart found in MPEP §2106(III) and is used when considering whether or not a claimed invention recites eligible subject matter.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claims are directed to a process.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea)?
Analysis of Step 2A is divided into two prongs.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II), a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
The claims are directed to a process of treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs by administering compounds such as cannabidiol, alpha-pinene, limonene, butyrate (claim 3), and magnesium which are all natural products.
Since the process is focused on a product which is naturally-occurring, the claim is ‘directed to’ a nature-based product. Since the claims recite a nature-based product limitation, the markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based product limitation is a product of nature exception. MPEP 2106.04(c)(I). The markedly different characteristics analysis is performed by comparing the nature-based product limitation in the claim to its naturally occurring counterpart to determine if it has markedly different characteristics from the counterpart. MPEP 2106.04(c)(II). Here, the closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring cannabidiol, alpha-pinene, limonene, butyrate, and magnesium. There is no indication that the forming the compounds as a composition and the administration process, would change the structure, function or other characteristics of the individual components in any way. Rather, it is expected that any cannabidiol, alpha-pinene, limonene, butyrate, and magnesium component would retain their naturally-occurring structure and function.
Therefore, the claims recite a product of nature exception. Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 589-90 (2013) (naturally occurring things are “products of nature” which cannot be patented). Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception, and the analysis must therefore proceed to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d)II.
The claims recite an additional element beyond the natural components such as cannabidiol, alpha-pinene, limonene, butyrate, magnesium in that the natural components are administered for the purpose of treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs and are administered via a means such as a beverage, food or sublingual strip. The process steps are written at a high level of generality and do not impart any distinct qualities or characteristics to the components and do not associate any particular concentration of a component to a specific symptom or administration method other than requiring the administration of a therapeutic amount. The means of administration (e.g. beverage) are also broad standard administration means for administering components to a patient. As shown in the teachings of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936), delivering components such as cannabidiol via a means such as an beverage in an amount resulting in a therapeutic effect in treating anxiety (i.e. a symptom of drug ingestion) ([007], [008], [00252]) are all known standard method steps. Similarly, the concept of identifying a patient needing treatment is a standard procedure and the limitation of testing/diagnosing the human patient as in the instant claims is presented in a high level of generality that does not extend beyond what is routine practice, Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Thus, the process steps of the claims are routine and conventional in the art and do not integrate the product of nature exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. MPEP 2106.05. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the process steps of the claims are common and readily available to one of ordinary skill in the art and do not result in an alteration of the natural components. Therefore, the claims do not include any additional element which would amount to ‘significantly more’ than the judicial exception itself and thus the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Conclusion: The claims which are directed toward a process for treating or reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs and are focused on natural products such as cannabidiol, are not markedly different in structure or function as compared to the closest naturally-occurring counterpart. Subsequently, the claims are directed toward a judicial exception under 35 USC 101. Claims 1-18 do not recite any element which would be considered to provide ‘significantly more’ than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019) as evidenced by Laprairie et al. (British Journal of Pharmacology (2015) 172 4790–4805).
Raz teaches terpene enriched cannabinoid compositions and methods of treatment (title). Raz teaches a therapeutic product comprising at least one cannabinoid, a primary terpene and at least three secondary terpenes ([006]). Raz teaches the product may be a beverage ([007]) and has an enhanced therapeutic effect in treating conditions or symptoms such as anxiety ([008]). Treating anxiety renders obvious a method of reducing symptoms of anxiety as in claims 1 and 7 and the method for increasing the safety of taking 5ht2 agonists by reducing anxiety as in claim 14. Raz teaches that the terpene may be limonene ([0012]), rendering obvious the terpene of claims 6, 13 and 18. Raz teaches that the cannabinoid may be cannabidiol (CBD) and THCV ([00269]), rendering obvious the modulator of claims 1, 12 and 14 and the cannabinoid of claims 4, 10 and 16. As evidenced by Laprairie, cannabidiol is a negative allosteric modulator of the CB1 receptor (title), and thus the cannabidiol of Raz renders obvious the administration of CB1 negative allosteric compound of instant claim 7. Regarding the testing/diagnosing of claims 2, 8 and 14, Raz teaches examples where patients who were treated for various conditions were first diagnosed with the condition to be treated ([00582]-[0585]), rendering it obvious to diagnose the patient. Raz teaches that the product may further comprise vitamin C ([00348]), rendering obvious the vitamin C of claims 5, 11 and 17.
Raz does not expressly teach selecting cannabidiol, THCV, limonene and vitamin C as part of a beverage composition for treating anxiety with sufficient specificity to rise to the level of anticipation.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a beverage composition comprising cannabidiol, THCV, limonene and vitamin C for the purpose of treating anxiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as terpene enriched cannabinoid compositions are taught by Raz as suitable in a method for treating anxiety, and cannabidiol, THCV, limonene and vitamin C are all known as suitable components for such compositions as taught by Raz. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of successfully treating anxiety, which is a symptom of drug ingestion, with cannabidiol, THCV, limonene and vitamin C through a beverage composition as taught by Raz since the modification of the prior art represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Accordingly, the instant claims are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Raz.
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019) as evidenced by Laprairie et al. (British Journal of Pharmacology (2015) 172 4790–4805).
Claims 3, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019) as evidenced by Laprairie et al. (British Journal of Pharmacology (2015) 172 4790–4805) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14 and 16-18 above and further in view of Wood et al. (US 2013/0150416, published 13 June 2013).
The teachings of Raz are described supra.
Raz does not teach administration of a compound such as a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Wood.
Wood teaches methods of modulating the activity of mGluRs and treating diseases or disorders which as mediated by Group 1 mGluRs comprising contacting the Group I mGluRs with one or more allosteric modulator ([0015]). Wood teaches that compounds of Formula 1 are useful in modulating the functional action of Group 1 metabotropic glutamate receptors ([0041]) and Wood teaches compounds of Formula 1 for treating disorders such as anxiety and anxiety due to a general medical condition ([0057]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further administered a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator for treating anxiety. Treating anxiety with components such as cannabidiol is obvious from Raz and allosteric modulators of mGlu receptors, such as the Formula 1 compounds taught by Wood, are known for treating conditions such as anxiety, as is taught by Wood. Thus, the administration of an allosteric modulator of mGlu receptors for anxiety would have been obvious since the modification of the prior art represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/625,187 in view of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019).
Claim 1 of the ‘187 application recites a method of reducing symptoms of the ingestion of drugs such as cannabis or 5ht2 agonists such as anxiety. Claim 1 recites administering alpha-pinene and cannabidiol. Claim 3 recites testing/diagnosing. Claim 4 recites administering a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator. Claim 5 recites administering THCV. Claim 6 recites administering magnesium, zinc or vitamin C. Claim 7 recites administering limonene. Claim 8 recites administering a CB1 negative allosteric compound.
The ‘187 does not recite a method of administering as a beverage. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Raz.
The teachings of Raz are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered the cannabinoid composition as a beverage as terpene enhanced cannabinoid compositions are known to be administered as a beverage as taught by Raz. Thus there is a reasonable expectation of success in administering with beverage as the administration method is known as suitable for such compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-24 of copending Application No. 18/616,121 in view of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019), Wood et al. (US 2013/0150416, published 13 June 2013).
Claim 21 of the ‘121 application recites a method of administering components such as alpha-pinene, cannabidiol, THCV and limonene for reducing the symptoms of substance abuse. Claims 22-24 recite administering magnesium and terpenes
The ’121 does not recite, a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator, testing/diagnosing or administration as a beverage. The claims further do not recite a specific symptom such as anxiety. These differences are made up for in the teachings of Raz and Wood.
The teachings of Raz and Wood are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator and to have the compositions as a beverage for administration for the purpose of reducing anxiety and to diagnose patients in need of treatment. Cannbidiol, THCV and limonene are known components for reducing anxiety in a beverage composition, as taught by Raz and metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulators are known components for reducing anxiety, as taught by Wood. It is further obvious to diagnose patients in need of treatment, as taught by Raz. Thus, the administration of the cannabidiol, THCV, limonene and a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator as part of a beverage for a method reducing anxiety is obvious from the ‘121 claims and the prior art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/625,181 in view of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019).
Claim 1 of the ‘181 application recites a method of treating or reducing symptoms of opiate dependency. Claim 1 recites the administration of limonene, cannabidiol, THCV, magnesium, zinc and alpha-pinene. Claim 2 recites testing/diagnosing. Claim 3 recites administering butyrate as in claims 3, 9 and 15 of the instant claims.
The ’181 application does not recite administration as a beverage or treatment of a particular symptom such as anxiety. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Raz.
The teachings of Raz is described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a beverage composition with the cannabidiol, THCV and limonene as part of a method of reducing anxiety. These compounds are all known as suitable in a method of reducing anxiety, as taught by Raz, and it is further known from Raz that these components may be administered as a beverage. The ‘181 claims recite administration of the same components of the instant claims, which are known for reducing anxiety, thus providing one with a reasonable expectation of success in administering the components as part of a method of reducing anxiety.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/625,137 in view of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019).
Claim 1 of the ‘137 application recites a method of treating symptoms of stimulant use disorder by administering limonene, cannabidiol, THCV, magnesium, zinc and alpha-pinene. Claim 2 recites genetic testing/diagnosing. Claim 3 recites administering a metabotropic glutamate receptor allosteric modulator.
The ’137 application does not recite administration as a beverage or treatment of a particular symptom such as anxiety. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Raz.
The teachings of Raz is described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered a beverage composition with the cannabidiol, THCV and limonene as part of a method of reducing anxiety. These compounds are all known as suitable in a method of reducing anxiety, as taught by Raz, and it is further known from Raz that these components may be administered as a beverage. The ‘137 claims recite administration of the same components of the instant claims, which are known for reducing anxiety, thus providing one with a reasonable expectation of success in administering the components as part of a method of reducing anxiety.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/625,131 in view of Raz et al. (WO 2019/034936, published 21 Feb 2019).
The ‘131 application recites a method of treating symptoms of anxiety by administering limonene, cannabidiol, THCV, magnesium, zinc, and alpha-pinene. Claim 2 recites testing/diagnosing and claim 3 recites administering butyrate as in instant claims 3, 9, and 15.
The ’137 application does not recite administration as a beverage. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Raz.
The teachings of Raz are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered the terpene and cannabinoid compounds as a beverage composition. It is known from Raz that the terpene and cannabinoid compositions may be administered as a beverage, rendering a beverage administration method as obvious. The ‘131 claims recite administration of the terpene and cannabinoid components for anxiety and the components are likewise known as suitable for a beverage composition from Raz, thereby providing one with a reasonable expectation of success in administering the components as a beverage as part of the method of reducing anxiety.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600