DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/22/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the amendment filed 5/22/2026, the applicant amended claim 1 to require an outer wall “entirely” of interlaced wire. The applicant failed to cite a specification location providing written description support and the examiner is unable to located written description support.
Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. See Ex parte Grasselli, 231 USPQ 393 (Bd. App. 1983), aff’d mem., 738 F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984). The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion. See MPEP 2173.05(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2018/0287357 to Knudson in view of USPN 5,972,139 to Chu and USPAP 2006/0185872 to Rodrigues.
Claims 1-3, Knudson discloses an electromagnetic interference shielding, self-wrappable textile sleeve for providing EMI protection about an elongate member, comprising: a wall of interlaced yarns, said wall having opposite inner edges extending lengthwise between opposite inner ends; said interlaced yarns including heat-set yarn biasing said inner and outer edges into overlapping relation with one another and yarn having an outermost layer of conductive material bonded thereto (see entire document including [0002], [0005]-[0007], [0020] and [0046]-[0048]).
Knudson does not appear to mention an outer wall of interlaced wire but Knudson does disclose that further enhance maintaining of abrasion resistance and EMI protection may be desirable [0048]. Chu discloses that it is known in the art that an outer sleeve of interlaced wire provides an outer surface that is appealing to the eyes, durable against abrasion, and provides EMI shielding (see entire document including column 1, lines 7-24 and column 3,lines 15-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the self-wrappable sleeve of Knudson with the claimed outer wall of interlaced wire to provide the sleeve with an appearance that is appealing to the eyes, to provide added durability against abrasion, and/or to provide added EMI shielding.
Knudson and Chu are silent regarding how to fabricate a multi-wall sleeve but Rodrigues discloses that it is known in the art to fabricate a multi-wall EMI shielding sleeve by stitching the walls together as claimed along the longitudinal direction of the sleeve adjacent the opposite outer and inner edges (see entire document including [0061] and the Figures). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to fix the walls together by stitching, as claimed, to fabricate the multi-wall sleeve.
Claim 4, the heat-set yarn includes the conductive material bonded thereto [0048].
Claim 5, the conductive material is a conductive metalized coating [0048].
Claim 6, the conductive metalized is selected from one of nickel, copper, silver, or aluminum [0048].
Claim 7, considering that the sleeve taught by the applied prior art is substantially identical to the claimed sleeve in terms of structure and materials, it would inherently possess the claimed properties. Plus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art construct the sleeve to sleeve as claimed to provide the sleeve with full spectrum shielding.
Claim 8, the interlaced wire is woven (column 1, lines 7-24 of Chu).
Claim 10, the interlaced yarn is woven ([0005] and [0046] of Knudson).
Claim 12, Chu does not appear to mention the wire being bundles of wires but Knudson discloses that it is known in the art to use bundles of wires ([0007] and [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the interlaced wire from any suitable wire material, such as a bundle of wires, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known wire construction on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The following patent is cited to further show the state of the art with respect to self-wrapping textile sleeves: USPAP 2010/0089515 to Malloy.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789