Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-21, in the reply filed on July 1, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 22 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 1, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “a bearing system configured to provide spacing between the first and second sets of filter rings”. Claim 1 is understood as the bearing system providing any amount of space between any portion of the first set of filter rings with any portion of the a second set of filter rings.
Claim 1 recites “the first and second sets of filter rings form a stack having a passage defined within the stack and having an outlet, and wherein a filtration gap is defined between each adjacent pair of filter rings to filter the solid particles while allowing fluid to pass therethrough into the passage and then expelled via the outlet”. It is noted that the flow of water through an apparatus is determined by the pressure applied to the water to force movement. That is the movement of fluid through the claimed filter cartridge is not a structural feature of the claimed apparatus. Thus, this limitation is an intended use of the claimed apparatus. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).),
Claim 3 recites “a plurality of spaced-apart vertical support columns and first annular supports”. Claim 3 is understood as comprising at least 2 first annular supports. Claim 4 is similarly understood.
Claim 7 recites “the first and second sets of filter rings are sized and configured to receive solids-containing diluted bitumen as the oil sands slurry”. It is noted that “solids-containing diluted bitumen” and “the oil sands slurry” are not components of the claimed filter cartridge. Claim 19 is similarly understood.
Claim 10 recites “the first and second filter components are configured such that the stack and the passage are oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end, when installed in a filtration vessel”. It is noted that a “filtration vessel” is not an element of the claimed filter cartridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a filtration gap is defined between each adjacent pair of filter rings” (emphasis added). Claim 1 is deemed indefinite because it is unclear what encompasses “each adjacent pair of filter rings”. That is, it is unclear if it a single first ring with a single second ring or an undefined set of first rings with a set of second rings or an undefined set of first rings in relation to one another. Further, the term “filtration gap” is deemed indefinite as it is based upon an unknown element, i.e. “each adjacent pair of filter rings”. Claim 11 is deemed indefinite for similar reasoning.
Claims 2-21 are also rejected by virtue of the claim dependency.
Claim 5 recites “the drive system comprises a motor coupled to a drive shaft”. Claim 3 is deemed indefinite because it is unclear if a drive shaft is a component of the claimed drive system or merely an element that the claimed motor is capable of being coupled to. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 5 is understood as follows:
wherein the drive system comprises a motor and a drive shaft; wherein the motor is coupled to [[a]] the drive shaft, and
wherein the drive shaft is coupled to the first support structure for rotating the first support structure and the first set of filter rings.
Claim 10 recites “the first and second filter components are configured such that the stack and the passage are oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end, when installed in a filtration vessel”. Claim 10 is deemed indefinite because the orientation of vertical is based upon an unknown element of the claimed filter cartridge, i.e. filtration vessel. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 10 is understood as first and second filter components are capable of being oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end of the filter cartridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 116078032 (hereinafter CN 032) (machine generated translation herein cited)
Regarding claim 11, CN 032 discloses an oil sands slurry filter cartridge for filtering solid particles from an oil sands slurry (see CN 032 filtration device figures 1-4, 6 and paragraphs 0004, 0006).
Statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02, §2112.02 and 2114-2115.
CN 032 discloses a first filter component comprising a first set of filter rings (see CN 032 first filter ring and first brush or second filter ring and second brush); and a first support structure (see CN 032 first or second mounting ring, and/or first or second permanent magnet and/or the rods connecting first mounting ring to the transmission column) supporting the first set of filter rings (see CN 032 figures 3, 4 & 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035, 0039).
CN 032 discloses a second filter component comprising a second set of filter rings (see CN 032 second filter ring and second brush or third filter ring and third brush) arranged in alternating relation with respect to the first set of filter rings; and a second support structure (see CN 032 second or third mounting ring, and/or second or third mounting permanent magnet and/or filter box) supporting the second set of filter rings (see CN 032 figures 3, 4 & 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035, 0039).
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of CN 032 is substantially identical to the claimed a) a first support structure and b) a second support structure of the present application, and therefore, the structure of CN 032 is presumed inherently capable of a) structure supporting the first set of filter rings and b) supporting the second set of filter rings.
CN 032 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings form a stack having a passage defined within the stack and having an outlet (see CN 032 extrusion plate , and wherein a filtration gap is defined between each adjacent pair of filter rings to filter the solid particles while allowing fluid to pass therethrough into the passage and then expelled via the outlet (see CN 032 figures 3-4 and paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0035, 0036).
CN 032 discloses the filter rings of the first and second sets of filter rings each have a wedge-shaped profile tapering inward toward the passage (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 discloses the first support structure is provided on an inner side of the first set of filter rings, and the second support structure is provided on an outer side of the second set of filter rings (see rejection of claim 11; see CN 032 figure 1, 4 & 6).
Regarding claim 13, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 13. Further, CN 032 discloses the wedged- shaped profile of each filter ring of the first set of filter rings comprises a neck extending outwardly from the first support structure; and a wedge-shaped head extending and tapering outwardly from the neck and having an end surface that is spaced apart from the second support structure (see CN 032 figure 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035).
Regarding claim 14, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 discloses the wedged- shaped profile of each filter ring of the second set of filter rings comprises a base extending inwardly from the second support structure; and a wedge-shaped head extending and tapering inwardly from the base and having an end tip that is spaced apart from the first support structure (see CN 032 figure 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035).
Regarding claim 15, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Further, CN 032 discloses the end surface is located along a same plane as an inner end of the base (see rejection of claim 11, 13). It is understood that “along a same plane” may be any plane.
Regarding claim 16, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 14. Further, CN 032 does not disclose the end surface has a width that is the same as that of the base.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the width the wedge-shaped elements of CN 032 and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. filter and/or clean (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the width the wedge-shaped elements of CN 032 to share a similar width because it would assist with filtering solid matter of a specific sizing by blocking it at more than one filter ring.
Regarding claim 17, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 discloses wedge- shaped profile is the same for each filter ring (see CN 032 figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings are configured to be rotatable with respect to each other (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 disclose the first and second sets of filter rings are sized (see rejection of claim 11).
The term “sized” is understood to be any size. Herein, there must necessarily be a value within the prior art. “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.” See MPEP 2112, II.
CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings are configured to receive solids-containing diluted bitumen as the oil sands slurry (see rejection of claim 1). “it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App & Inter. 1987) that states a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 20, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, as noted above, claim 20 is understood as 1) a filtration vessel is not a component of the claimed filter cartridge and 2) the orientation is based upon an unknown element, i.e. filtration vessel. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 10 is understood as first and second filter components are capable of being oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end of the filter cartridge. Herein, CN 032 in view of US 093 is deemed to disclose first and second filter components are capable of being oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end of the filter cartridge (see rejection of claim 11; see CN 032 figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 21, CN 032 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 11. Further, CN 032 disclose the first and second sets of filter rings are configured such that the passage defines a tortuous path (see rejection of claim 11; see CN 032 figure 6).
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of CN 032 is substantially identical to the claimed first and second sets of filter rings of the present application, and therefore, the structure of CN 032 is presumed inherently capable defining a tortuous path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 116078032 (hereinafter CN 032) (machine generated translation herein cited) in view of US 20210394093 A1 (hereinafter US 093).
Regarding claim 1, CN 032 discloses an oil sands slurry filter cartridge for filtering solid particles from an oil sands slurry (see CN 032 filtration device figures 1-4, 6 and paragraphs 0004, 0006).
Statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02, §2112.02 and 2114-2115.
CN 032 discloses a first filter component comprising a first set of filter rings (see CN 032 first filter ring and first brush or second filter ring and second brush); and a first support structure (see CN 032 first or second mounting ring, and/or first or second permanent magnet and/or the rods connecting first mounting ring to the transmission column) supporting the first set of filter rings (see CN 032 figures 3, 4 & 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035, 0039).
CN 032 discloses a second filter component comprising a second set of filter rings (see CN 032 second filter ring and second brush or third filter ring and third brush) arranged in alternating relation with respect to the first set of filter rings; and a second support structure (see CN 032 second or third mounting ring, and/or second or third mounting permanent magnet and/or filter box) supporting the second set of filter rings (see CN 032 figures 3, 4 & 6 and paragraphs 0011, 0035, 0039).
Additionally, regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.). Herein, the structure of CN 032 is substantially identical to the claimed a) a first support structure and b) a second support structure of the present application, and therefore, the structure of CN 032 is presumed inherently capable of a) structure supporting the first set of filter rings and b) supporting the second set of filter rings.
CN 032 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings form a stack having a passage defined within the stack and having an outlet (see CN 032 extrusion plate , and wherein a filtration gap is defined between each adjacent pair of filter rings to filter the solid particles while allowing fluid to pass therethrough into the passage and then expelled via the outlet (see CN 032 figures 3-4 and paragraphs 0012, 0015, 0035, 0036).
CN 032 discloses a drive system configured to provide rotation of the first and second sets of filter rings with respect to each other (see CN 032 drive mechanism and/or transmission mechanism/gear/transmission rack figures 3-4, and paragraphs 0015, 0028, 0032, 0035, 0039).
CN 032 does not disclose a bearing system configured to provide spacing between the first and second sets of filter rings.
US 093 discloses “a consumption-free high-efficiency filter, which designs a low-consumption, environmentally friendly, and high-efficiency liquid delivery filtration treatment device” (see US 093 paragraph 0004; see also US 093 abstract and figure 1), wherein the filter comprising first group of support rings and second group of support rings mounted within a tank body (see US 093 paragraph 0005; see also US 093 abstract, figures 1, 4 & 6 and paragraph 0005). US 093 discloses that the filter comprises “a mandrel including an upper end and a lower end, and a first sliding bearing and a second sliding bearing used for rotatably mounting the upper end of the mandrel and the lower end of the mandrel. The first sliding bearing and the second sliding bearing are arranged at central positions of the upper and lower cross support frames” (see US 093 paragraph 0005; see also US 093 abstract, figures 1, 4 & 6). US 093 discloses “[S]liding bearings used for rotatably mounting the upper end and the lower end of the mandrel are arranged at the central positions of the two cross support frames. Filter element sleeves of the filter elements are fixedly mounted on the mandrel” (see US 093 paragraph 0026; see also US 093 figures 2 & 3 and paragraphs 0006-0009, 0030, 0035).
US 093 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. concentric filter apparatus and/or filtration of fluids from various industries, such as iron/steel, chemical, food and/or oil.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify CN 032 by incorporating the sliding bearing, as disclosed in US 093, by incorporating sliding bearings to the transmission column/transmission mechanism and/or the sliding mechanism of CN 032 because it would assist with achieving the rotational movement of the sliding mechanism and/or transmission column.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify and/or substitute the sliding mechanism and/or transmission mechanism of CN 032 by incorporating the sliding bearing and mandrel structure, with or without the support rings mounted to cross support frames, as disclosed in US 093, because it would assist with achieving the rotational movement of the sliding mechanism and/or transmission column.
Regarding claim 2, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the first support structure is provided on an inner side of the first set of filter rings, and the second support structure is provided on an outer side of the second set of filter rings (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figure 1, 4 & 6).
Regarding claim 3, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the first support structure comprises a plurality of spaced-apart vertical support columns (see CN 032 first or second permanent magnet and/or the rods connecting first mounting ring to the transmission column) and first annular supports (see CN 032 first or second mounting ring) at opposed ends of the vertical support columns, each of the vertical support columns being connected to the filter rings of the first set of filter rings (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the second support structure comprises a plurality of spaced-apart support members (see CN 032 second or third mounting permanent magnet and/or filter box) and second annular supports (see CN 032 second or third mounting ring ) at opposed ends of the support columns, each of the support columns being connected to the filter rings of the second set of filter rings (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figures 3 and 6).
CN 032 in view of US 093 does not disclose spiral support members. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of second or third mounting permanent magnet of CN 032 to form a spiral shape because a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of second or third mounting permanent magnet of CN 032 to form a spiral shape and reasonably expect the resulting apparatus to work as the prior art intended, i.e. be a magnet.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of second or third mounting permanent magnet of CN 032 to form a spiral shape because it may assist with attractive force interaction between the different magnets.
Regarding claim 6, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the drive system configured to provide rotation of the first set of filter rings while the second set of filter rings are configured to remain stationary (see rejection of claim 1). “it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App & Inter. 1987) that states a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 7, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings are sized (see rejection of claim 1).
The term “sized” is understood to be any size. Herein, there must necessarily be a value within the prior art. “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.” See MPEP 2112, II.
CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the first and second sets of filter rings are configured to receive solids-containing diluted bitumen as the oil sands slurry (see rejection of claim 1). “it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App & Inter. 1987) that states a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 does not disclose the filtration gap is between 100 and 400 microns.
However, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filtration gap of the filtering rings of CN 032 in view of US 093 to be a size needed based on intended use, such as to prevent a specific solid matter. One of ordinary skill in the art, such as a chemical engineer with a Bachelors of Science, would have the capacity to modify the filtration gap of the filtering rings of CN 032 in view of US 093 to be between 100 and 400 microns by modifying the brush/filter ring of CN 032 in view of US 093.
Regarding claim 9, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the filter rings of the first and second sets of filter rings each have a wedge-shaped profile tapering inward toward the passage (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, as noted above, claim 10 is understood as 1) a filtration vessel is not a component of the claimed filter cartridge and 2) the orientation is based upon an unknown element, i.e. filtration vessel. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 10 is understood as first and second filter components are capable of being oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end of the filter cartridge. Herein, CN 032 in view of US 093 is deemed to disclose first and second filter components are capable of being oriented vertically with the outlet at a bottom end of the filter cartridge (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 figures 3-4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 032 in view of US 093 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 112237781 A (hereinafter CN 781) (machine generated translation herein cited)
Regarding claim 5, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, CN 032 in view of US 093 discloses the drive system comprises a shaft, wherein the drive shaft is coupled to the first support structure for rotating the first support structure and the first set of filter rings (see rejection of claim 1; see CN 032 transmission column figures 3 & 6).
CN 032 in view of US 093 does not disclose a motor coupled to a drive shaft.
CN 781 discloses a filtration apparatus comprising “the filter cartridge includes an end cap, a connecting ring, a support rod, and filter rings. There are multiple filter rings arranged closely along the axial direction of the filter cartridge, with a water passage gap between adjacent filter rings. … The end caps are located outside the connecting rings and cooperate with the main shaft assembly” (see CN 781 paragraph 0008; see also CN 781 paragraphs 0007, 0010-11). CN 781 discloses “main shaft assembly includes a main rotating shaft 5 and a negative pressure shaft 6. The main rotating shaft 5 cooperates with a rotating shaft drive device 4, which is a geared motor that cooperates with the main rotating shaft 5 through chain drive. The negative pressure shaft 6 is a hollow shaft. One end of the negative pressure shaft 6 is located in the negative pressure chamber 3, and the other end passes through the wall of the filter chamber 2 and enters the filter cylinder 7, and is connected to the main rotating shaft 5” (see CN 781 paragraph 0025; see also CN 781 paragraph 0026-0027 and figures 1-2).
CN 781 is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, i.e. concentric filter apparatus and/or solid-liquid separation apparatus.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify CN 032 in view of US 093 by incorporating the main shaft assembly, as disclosed in CN 781, which would include a motor coupled to a shaft, because it would assist with providing a means for moving the transmission column of CN 032 in view of US 093.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substituting the transmission mechanism of CN 781 with the main shaft assembly, as disclosed in CN 781, which would include a motor and shaft(s) structural elements, because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). This substitution would yield the predictable result of motorized movement of a shaft to generate a rotational movement.
Related Prior Art
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants’ disclosure:
US 20210308602 A1 (hereinafter US 602) discloses novel slot tube screen material for filtering applications (see US 602 abstract and figures 1A-1D). US 602 discloses that the tubes can have various support structures, such as a spiral support (see US 602 figures 1A-1D and paragraphs 0028, 0032)
EP 1293688 A1 (hereinafter EP 688) discloses an “article comprises a wire 4 which is wound around a series of elongate members 6 in a helical path as shown. The wire is wound, spaced and attached to the elongate members such that a continuous helical slot or aperture 8 is formed along the length of the threaded portion” (see EP 688 paragraph 0018). EP 688 discloses that the support element is formed internal or external (see EP 688 figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0021-0024
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Conclusion
/BERNADETTE KAREN MCGANN/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773