DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi et al (US 2022/0014337), in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0111776).
Regarding Claim 21, Ouchi teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a receiver; a transmitter; and a processor; wherein the receiver, the transmitter ([0009], terminal apparatus), and the processor are configured to: receive a configuration message set comprising one or more configuration messages ([0064], higher layer parameter given by a signal of the RRC layer may be configured by the terminal apparatus 1 being notified thereof from the base station apparatus 3),
each configuration message including (i) a type identifier identifying a type of the configuration message and (ii) a report type ([0092-0094], configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report may be a configuration that indicates whether the CSI report is performed aperiodically, the CSI report is performed semi-persistently, or is performed semi-statically. The type of content of the CSI report may indicate whether or not the CSI report includes the Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP) of the layer 1. The index of the CSI report may be given by a higher layer parameter, [0403], FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of triggering/activation of a CSI report for a possible CSI-RS configuration according to an aspect of the present embodiment. FIG. 11 illustrates one or multiple CSI report configurations, supported combinations of one or multiple CSI-RS resource configurations, and how a CSI report is triggered for each CSI-RS resource configuration); and
transmit a channel state information (CSI) report set comprising one or more CSI reports, each CSI report in the CSI report set being configured by a respective configuration message in the configuration message set ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value);
wherein each CSI report in the CSI report set is associated with a corresponding priority ([0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured).
Ouchi fails to teach the corresponding priority being used to determine at least one of (i) whether the corresponding CSI report is updated or (ii) whether the corresponding CSI report is transmitted; and wherein, for each CSI report in the CSI report set, the corresponding priority is determined based on whether a field is included in the respective configuration message that configures the CSI report.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches the corresponding priority being used to determine at least one of (i) whether the corresponding CSI report is updated or (ii) whether the corresponding CSI report is transmitted ([0033], In S101, whether overwriting CPUs is required is determined according to a triggered first type CSI report, and/or, according to signaling or a signaling format for triggering a first type CSI report, [0034] In S102, when it is determined that the overwriting is required, W CPUs are overwritten; where W≤X, and X is the maximum number of CPUs used for processing CSI reports and supported by a terminal); and
wherein, for each CSI report in the CSI report set ([0041-0042], Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high, whether overwriting CPUs is required may be determined in one or more of the following manners according to the triggered first type CSI report, and/or, according to the signaling or the signaling format for triggering the first type CSI report), the corresponding priority is determined based on whether a field is included in the respective configuration message that configures the CSI report ([0038], Manner 1: The value of W is determined to be X, that is, the terminal may use X CPUs for processing the triggered first type CSI. Manner 2: The value of W is determined to be a preset value, and the preset value may include at least one of: X/2 or 1. Manner 3: The value of W is determined according to higher layer configuration information of the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is configured in the higher layer configuration information of a corresponding CSI report. Manner 4: The value of W is determined according to the first type CSI report. Manner 5: The value of W is determined according to a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is determined according to the corresponding CSI report or CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI report, for example, the value of W is a number of resources included in a CSI-RS resource set associated with the corresponding CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 22, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, where Wu further teaches wherein for a given configuration message, whether the field is included in the given configuration message depends on the report type indicated by the given configuration message ([0038], Manner 1: The value of W is determined to be X, that is, the terminal may use X CPUs for processing the triggered first type CSI. Manner 2: The value of W is determined to be a preset value, and the preset value may include at least one of: X/2 or 1. Manner 3: The value of W is determined according to higher layer configuration information of the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is configured in the higher layer configuration information of a corresponding CSI report. Manner 4: The value of W is determined according to the first type CSI report. Manner 5: The value of W is determined according to a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is determined according to the corresponding CSI report or CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI report, for example, the value of W is a number of resources included in a CSI-RS resource set associated with the corresponding CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 23, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches UE of claim 22, Ouchi further teaches wherein: (i) when the report type indicated by a given configuration message is within a first candidate type set, the given configuration message does not include the field ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value), the first candidate type set comprising at least one of cri-RI-PMI-CQI, cri-RI-il, cri-RI-il-CQI, cri-RI-CQI, cri-RSRP, cri-SINR, ssb-Index-RSRP, ssb-Index-SINR, or cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI ([0412], CSI report setting may have wideband frequency granularity in a case that any one condition of the following 9A to 9D is satisfied. In other words, in a case that at least one condition among the conditions described below is satisfied, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting to be a wideband. [0413] 9A) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’, cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report, and pmi-FormatIndicator indicates one PMI report [0414] 9B) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-i1’ [0415] 9C) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-i1-CQI’, and cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report [0416] 9D) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘ssb-Index-RSRP’ [0417] In a case that none of conditions of 9A through 9D described above are satisfied, the CSI report setting may have subband frequency granularity. In other words, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting as being a subband).
Ouchi fails to teach (ii) when the report type indicated by the given configuration message is within a second candidate type set, the given configuration message includes the field, the second candidate type set comprising one or more candidate types not included in the first candidate type set.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches (ii) when the report type indicated by the given configuration message is within a second candidate type set, the given configuration message includes the field, the second candidate type set comprising one or more candidate types not included in the first candidate type set ([0039] In some embodiments, Q overwritten CSI reports satisfy at least one of: after CPUs occupied by the Q overwritten CSI reports are overwritten, a sum of W and a number of CPUs unoccupied before the CPUs are overwritten is less than or equal to X; or, the Q overwritten CSI reports are Q CSI reports with low CSI reset priorities before the W CPUs are overwritten, [0040] The CSI reset priority may be determined in one or more of the following manners, [0041] Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 24, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, Wu further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that does not include the field, the corresponding priority is set to a reference priority ([0053], In some embodiments, the step in which that the W CPUs are overwritten includes performing at least one of not updating, not transmitting or discarding a second type CSI report, [0055], second type CSI report is a corresponding processed CSI report before the W CPUs are overwritten by the first type CSI report), and wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that includes the field, the corresponding priority is set to a revision priority, the revision priority being linearly related to a first parameter indicated by the field ([0039] In some embodiments, Q overwritten CSI reports satisfy at least one of: after CPUs occupied by the Q overwritten CSI reports are overwritten, a sum of W and a number of CPUs unoccupied before the CPUs are overwritten is less than or equal to X; or, the Q overwritten CSI reports are Q CSI reports with low CSI reset priorities before the W CPUs are overwritten, [0040] The CSI reset priority may be determined in one or more of the following manners, [0041] Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 25, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches UE of claim 24, Wu further teaches wherein a linear coefficient relating the revision priority to the first parameter is configurable or fixed ([0118], if CSI satisfying the first condition is triggered or CSI is triggered by signaling satisfying the first condition, W CPUs of the X CPUs are overwritten by this CSI, W has a fixed value, such as X/2 or 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 26, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, Ouchi further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that includes the field: (i) the report type of the configuration message indicates a first reporting type; (ii) the field indicates a first reporting reference type; and (iii) the CSI report is generated according to one of the first reporting type or the first reporting reference type, a first parameter indicated by the field being associated with the first reporting reference type ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value, [0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured).
Regarding Claim 27, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 26, Ouchi further teaches wherein the first reporting reference type is within a first candidate type set and the first reporting type is within a second candidate type set, wherein the first candidate type set comprises at least one of cri-RI-PMI-CQI, cri-RI-il, cri-RI-il-CQI, cri-RI-CQI, cri-RSRP, cri-SINR, ssb-Index-RSRP, ssb-Index-SINR, or cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI, and wherein the second candidate type set comprises at least one candidate type not included in the first candidate type set ([0412], CSI report setting may have wideband frequency granularity in a case that any one condition of the following 9A to 9D is satisfied. In other words, in a case that at least one condition among the conditions described below is satisfied, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting to be a wideband. [0413] 9A) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’, cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report, and pmi-FormatIndicator indicates one PMI report [0414] 9B) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-i1’ [0415] 9C) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-i1-CQI’, and cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report [0416] 9D) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘ssb-Index-RSRP’ [0417] In a case that none of conditions of 9A through 9D described above are satisfied, the CSI report setting may have subband frequency granularity. In other words, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting as being a subband).
Regarding Claim 28, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, Wu further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that does not include the field, the CSI report is generated according to the report type indicated by the configuration message ([0053], In some embodiments, the step in which that the W CPUs are overwritten includes performing at least one of not updating, not transmitting or discarding a second type CSI report, [0055], second type CSI report is a corresponding processed CSI report before the W CPUs are overwritten by the first type CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 29, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, Ouchi further teaches wherein the receiver is further configured to: receive reference signals in at least one reference signal (RS) resource set, each RS resource set comprising at least one RS resource ([0009], terminal apparatus includes a receiver configured to receive at least a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), [0226], The CSI-RS may be a signal that is used at least for calculating the CSI. The CSI-RS may be used for measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). A pattern of the CSI-RS assumed by the terminal apparatus 1 may be given by at least a higher layer parameter).
Regarding Claim 30, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the UE of claim 21, Ouchi further teaches wherein each configuration message further includes a transmission mode selected from periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and wherein each configuration message further indicates an RS resource set and a cell index identifying a cell associated with the indicated RS resource set ([0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured, [0403], FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of triggering/activation of a CSI report for a possible CSI-RS configuration according to an aspect of the present embodiment. FIG. 11 illustrates one or multiple CSI report configurations, supported combinations of one or multiple CSI-RS resource configurations, and how a CSI report is triggered for each CSI-RS resource configuration).
Regarding Claim 31, Ouchi teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0009], terminal apparatus), the method comprising: receiving a configuration message set comprising one or more configuration messages ([0064], higher layer parameter given by a signal of the RRC layer may be configured by the terminal apparatus 1 being notified thereof from the base station apparatus 3),
each configuration message including (i) a type identifier identifying a type of the configuration message and (ii) a report type ([0092-0094], configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report may be a configuration that indicates whether the CSI report is performed aperiodically, the CSI report is performed semi-persistently, or is performed semi-statically. The type of content of the CSI report may indicate whether or not the CSI report includes the Reference Signals Received Power (RSRP) of the layer 1. The index of the CSI report may be given by a higher layer parameter, [0403], FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of triggering/activation of a CSI report for a possible CSI-RS configuration according to an aspect of the present embodiment. FIG. 11 illustrates one or multiple CSI report configurations, supported combinations of one or multiple CSI-RS resource configurations, and how a CSI report is triggered for each CSI-RS resource configuration); and
transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report set comprising one or more CSI reports, each CSI report in the CSI report set being configured by a respective configuration message in the configuration message set ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value);
wherein each CSI report in the CSI report set is associated with a corresponding priority ([0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured).
Ouchi fails to teach the corresponding priority being used to determine at least one of (i) whether the corresponding CSI report is updated or (ii) whether the corresponding CSI report is transmitted; and wherein, for each CSI report in the CSI report set, the corresponding priority is determined based on whether a field is included in the respective configuration message that configures the CSI report.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches the corresponding priority being used to determine at least one of (i) whether the corresponding CSI report is updated or (ii) whether the corresponding CSI report is transmitted ([0033], In S101, whether overwriting CPUs is required is determined according to a triggered first type CSI report, and/or, according to signaling or a signaling format for triggering a first type CSI report, [0034] In S102, when it is determined that the overwriting is required, W CPUs are overwritten; where W≤X, and X is the maximum number of CPUs used for processing CSI reports and supported by a terminal); and
wherein, for each CSI report in the CSI report set ([0041-0042], Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high, whether overwriting CPUs is required may be determined in one or more of the following manners according to the triggered first type CSI report, and/or, according to the signaling or the signaling format for triggering the first type CSI report), the corresponding priority is determined based on whether a field is included in the respective configuration message that configures the CSI report ([0038], Manner 1: The value of W is determined to be X, that is, the terminal may use X CPUs for processing the triggered first type CSI. Manner 2: The value of W is determined to be a preset value, and the preset value may include at least one of: X/2 or 1. Manner 3: The value of W is determined according to higher layer configuration information of the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is configured in the higher layer configuration information of a corresponding CSI report. Manner 4: The value of W is determined according to the first type CSI report. Manner 5: The value of W is determined according to a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is determined according to the corresponding CSI report or CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI report, for example, the value of W is a number of resources included in a CSI-RS resource set associated with the corresponding CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 32, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Wu further teaches wherein for a given configuration message, whether the field is included in the given configuration message depends on the report type indicated by the given configuration message ([0038], Manner 1: The value of W is determined to be X, that is, the terminal may use X CPUs for processing the triggered first type CSI. Manner 2: The value of W is determined to be a preset value, and the preset value may include at least one of: X/2 or 1. Manner 3: The value of W is determined according to higher layer configuration information of the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is configured in the higher layer configuration information of a corresponding CSI report. Manner 4: The value of W is determined according to the first type CSI report. Manner 5: The value of W is determined according to a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource associated with the first type CSI report, that is, the value of W is determined according to the corresponding CSI report or CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI report, for example, the value of W is a number of resources included in a CSI-RS resource set associated with the corresponding CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 33, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 32, Ouchi further teaches wherein: (i) when the report type indicated by a given configuration message is within a first candidate type set, the given configuration message does not include the field ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value), the first candidate type set comprising at least one of cri-RI-PMI-CQI, cri-RI-il, cri-RI-il-CQI, cri-RI-CQI, cri-RSRP, cri-SINR, ssb-Index-RSRP, ssb-Index-SINR, or cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI ([0412], CSI report setting may have wideband frequency granularity in a case that any one condition of the following 9A to 9D is satisfied. In other words, in a case that at least one condition among the conditions described below is satisfied, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting to be a wideband. [0413] 9A) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’, cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report, and pmi-FormatIndicator indicates one PMI report [0414] 9B) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-i1’ [0415] 9C) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-i1-CQI’, and cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report [0416] 9D) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘ssb-Index-RSRP’ [0417] In a case that none of conditions of 9A through 9D described above are satisfied, the CSI report setting may have subband frequency granularity. In other words, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting as being a subband).
Ouchi fails to teach (ii) when the report type indicated by the given configuration message is within a second candidate type set, the given configuration message includes the field, the second candidate type set comprising one or more candidate types not included in the first candidate type set.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches (ii) when the report type indicated by the given configuration message is within a second candidate type set, the given configuration message includes the field, the second candidate type set comprising one or more candidate types not included in the first candidate type set ([0039] In some embodiments, Q overwritten CSI reports satisfy at least one of: after CPUs occupied by the Q overwritten CSI reports are overwritten, a sum of W and a number of CPUs unoccupied before the CPUs are overwritten is less than or equal to X; or, the Q overwritten CSI reports are Q CSI reports with low CSI reset priorities before the W CPUs are overwritten, [0040] The CSI reset priority may be determined in one or more of the following manners, [0041] Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 34, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Wu further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that does not include the field, the corresponding priority is set to a reference priority ([0053], In some embodiments, the step in which that the W CPUs are overwritten includes performing at least one of not updating, not transmitting or discarding a second type CSI report, [0055], second type CSI report is a corresponding processed CSI report before the W CPUs are overwritten by the first type CSI report), and wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that includes the field, the corresponding priority is set to a revision priority, the revision priority being linearly related to a first parameter indicated by the field ([0039] In some embodiments, Q overwritten CSI reports satisfy at least one of: after CPUs occupied by the Q overwritten CSI reports are overwritten, a sum of W and a number of CPUs unoccupied before the CPUs are overwritten is less than or equal to X; or, the Q overwritten CSI reports are Q CSI reports with low CSI reset priorities before the W CPUs are overwritten, [0040] The CSI reset priority may be determined in one or more of the following manners, [0041] Manner 1: The CSI reset priority is a CSI priority. Manner 2: The higher a CSI priority is, the higher a CSI reset priority corresponding to the CSI priority is. Manner 3: A CSI reset priority corresponding to CSI is determined according to whether the CSI is capable of being updated, that is, according to whether the CSI may be updated, the CSI reset priority of the CSI that is capable of being updated is high).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 35, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 34, Wu further teaches wherein a linear coefficient relating the revision priority to the first parameter is configurable or fixed ([0118], CSI satisfying first condition is triggered or CSI is triggered by signaling satisfying the first condition, W CPUs of the X CPUs are overwritten by this CSI, W has a fixed value, such as X/2 or 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 36, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Ouchi further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that includes the field: (i) the report type of the configuration message indicates a first reporting type; (ii) the field indicates a first reporting reference type; and (iii) the CSI report is generated according to one of the first reporting type or the first reporting reference type, a first parameter indicated by the field being associated with the first reporting reference type ([0087], CSI may include at least some or all of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoder matrix indicator (PMI), and a rank index (RI). The CQI is an index relating to quality (for example, propagation strength) of a channel, and the PMI is an index indicating a precoder. The RI is an index indicating a transmission rank (or the number of transmission layers, [0090] The set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be a part or all of 1 to 8. In addition, the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report may be given based on at least a higher layer parameter RankRestriction. In a case that the set of RIs allowed in the CSI report includes only one value, the RI of the CSI report may be the one value, [0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured).
Regarding Claim 37, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 36, Ouchi further teaches wherein the first reporting reference type is within a first candidate type set and the first reporting type is within a second candidate type set, wherein the first candidate type set comprises at least one of cri-RI-PMI-CQI, cri-RI-il, cri-RI-il-CQI, cri-RI-CQI, cri-RSRP, cri-SINR, ssb-Index-RSRP, ssb-Index-SINR, or cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI, and wherein the second candidate type set comprises at least one candidate type not included in the first candidate type set ([0412], CSI report setting may have wideband frequency granularity in a case that any one condition of the following 9A to 9D is satisfied. In other words, in a case that at least one condition among the conditions described below is satisfied, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting to be a wideband. [0413] 9A) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-PMI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-LI-PMI-CQI’, cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report, and pmi-FormatIndicator indicates one PMI report [0414] 9B) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-i1’ [0415] 9C) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’ or ‘cri-RI-i1-CQI’, and cqi-FormatIndicator indicates one CQI report [0416] 9D) reportQuantity is set to ‘cri-RSRP’ or ‘ssb-Index-RSRP’ [0417] In a case that none of conditions of 9A through 9D described above are satisfied, the CSI report setting may have subband frequency granularity. In other words, the terminal apparatus 1 may consider the frequency granularity for the CSI report setting as being a subband).
Regarding Claim 38, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Wu further teaches wherein, for a CSI report configured by a configuration message that does not include the field, the CSI report is generated according to the report type indicated by the configuration message ([0053], In some embodiments, the step in which that the W CPUs are overwritten includes performing at least one of not updating, not transmitting or discarding a second type CSI report, [0055], second type CSI report is a corresponding processed CSI report before the W CPUs are overwritten by the first type CSI report).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining whether to update or reset the corresponding report based on the priority indicated and report type, as taught in Wu, in the system of Ouchi, in order to improve performance and accuracy of CSI reporting. (See Wu [0004-0005])
Regarding Claim 39, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Ouchi further teaches further comprising: receiving reference signals in at least one reference signal (RS) resource set, each RS resource set comprising at least one RS resource ([0009], terminal apparatus includes a receiver configured to receive at least a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), [0226], The CSI-RS may be a signal that is used at least for calculating the CSI. The CSI-RS may be used for measuring Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ). A pattern of the CSI-RS assumed by the terminal apparatus 1 may be given by at least a higher layer parameter).
Regarding Claim 40, Ouchi, modified by Wu, teaches the method of claim 31, Ouchi further teaches wherein each configuration message further includes a transmission mode selected from periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic, and wherein each configuration message further indicates an RS resource set and a cell index identifying a cell associated with the indicated RS resource set ([0091], A priority level may be configured for the CSI report. The priority level of the CSI report may be given based on at least some or all of the configuration relating to a behavior (processing) of the time domain of the CSI report, the type of content of the CSI report, the index of the CSI report, and/or the index of a serving cell for which the measurement of the CSI report is configured, [0403], FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating an example of triggering/activation of a CSI report for a possible CSI-RS configuration according to an aspect of the present embodiment. FIG. 11 illustrates one or multiple CSI report configurations, supported combinations of one or multiple CSI-RS resource configurations, and how a CSI report is triggered for each CSI-RS resource configuration).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hao et al (US 2021/0399861) teaches [0107] The UE may determine how to report CSI, based on whether a QCL configuration for two CSI reports is determined as valid or invalid. For example, if a configuration is determined valid, then the UE may send both CSI reports. As noted above, a valid configuration may be declared when the gap between a common resource of the two resource sets, or the gap between the two TCI state configuration is greater than or equal to a timing threshold.
[0108] On the other hand, if a configuration is declared invalid for any reason (e.g., the gap is below the timing threshold), the UE may decide to drop or to not update one of the two CSI reports based on a priority rule. In some cases, the priority rule may be determined based on the type of the CSI report (e.g., whether periodic, semi-persistent, aperiodic), report quantity/content (e.g., L1-RSP, or CRI-RI-PMI . . . ), and/or the serving cell ID and/or report ID. Certain types of traffic and certain cells may have different reporting requirements (e.g., to achieve reliability, latency and/or throughput objectives). In the event one or more CSI reporting configurations are found invalid, the priority rules may, in effect, prioritize different types of traffic and/or traffic for certain cells;
Wei et al (US 2022/0321189) teaches UE feedback processing capability may depend on channel state information (CSI) processing units (CPUs) available to the UE for feedback processing operations (e. g., for performing channel measurements, processing feedback, generating a feedback report, etc.). A UE may report feedback processing capability separately for periodic feedback reporting and for aperiodic feedback reporting, for different types of feedback reporting (e. g., for CSI reporting, for beam management reporting, etc.), etc. As such, a UE may more efficiently report capabilities pertaining to UE feedback processing, and a base station may more efficiently configure UE feedback reporting according to UE feedback processing capability. (Abstract);
Go et al (US 2024/0380460) teaches a device for transmitting or receiving channel state information in a wireless communication system. A method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a CSI report and second configuration information related to a CSI resource, wherein, on the basis that a group-based report is configured by the first configuration information, the second configuration information includes information on M (M is a natural number) CSI resource sets associated with the first configuration information; receiving, from the base station, a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) through a plurality of CSI resources of the M CSI resource sets on the basis of the second configuration information; receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for triggering a CSI report; and transmitting, to the base station, the CSI report on the basis of the DCI and the first configuration information. (Abstract)
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641