DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a position of the information terminal” in lines 12 and 13. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”. See lines 7 and 8.
Claim 2 recites “a position of the information terminal” in lines 2 and 3. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”. See claim 1, lines 11-13.
Claim 3 recites “a position of the information terminal” in line 4. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”.
Claim 9 recites “a position of the information terminal” in lines 7 and 8. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”. See lines 5 and 6.
Claim 10 recites “a position of the information terminal” in line 3. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”.
Claim 11 recites “a position of the information terminal” in line 5. It is presumed to recite “the position of the information terminal”.
Claim 16 recites “a position of each of the plurality of information terminal” in line 2. It is presumed to recite “the position of each of the plurality of information terminals”.
Claim 17 recites “a position of each of the plurality of information terminal” in line 4. It is presumed to recite “the position of each of the plurality of information terminals”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soleimani (US 10,045,187 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Soleimani discloses an evacuation guidance apparatus (see at least Figure 1 | col. 4, lines 8-9), comprising:
a server (see at least Figure 1, item 135 | col. 4, lines 39-40, note server 135); and
at least one information terminal configured to move in a commercial facility and communicate with the server, wherein the information terminal includes an emitting component configured to emit specifying information for specifying a position of the information terminal including the emitting component (see at least Figure 1, items 140, 120, 135 and 110 | col. 4, lines 9-12, note facility 110 | col. 4, lines 21-25, note mobile device 140 | col. 5, lines 8-23, note the mobile device 140 transmits “presence messages” to at least one short-range wireless transceiver 120 that is in communication with the server 135 | col. 6, lines 23-38 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals),
the server includes:
a specifying component configured to specify, based on the specifying information, a position of the information terminal in the commercial facility (see at least col. 5, lines 24-58 | col. 7, lines 40-44, note the server 135 processes the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140 | Figure 7, item 704 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 13, lines 24-38, note the server 135 has a processor 704 that executes a sequence of instructions, specifically a sequence of instructions that process the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140);
a receiving component configured to receive an emergency signal emitted from an emission apparatus (see at least Figure 1, items 132 and 135 | col. 6, lines 5-22, note manual pull stations or pushbutton stations 132 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals);
a determining component configured to, if the emergency signal is received, determine evacuation guidance routes for each of the information terminals based on the specified position of the information terminal (see at least Figure 5, items 532 and 538 | col. 8, lines 52-57, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 10, line 37 – col. 11, line 13, note the server 135 receives the emergency signal, obtains specified positions of the mobile devices 140, and transmits an alert to the mobile devices 140 with the appropriate evacuation route 532 and 538 for display on the mobile device’s 140 display 510); and
a transmitting component configured to transmit evacuation guidance route information including information concerning the determined evacuation guidance routes to the information terminals (see at least | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals | col. 10, line 64 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538), and
the information terminal includes a displaying component configured to display, on a display, an evacuation guidance route included in the evacuation guidance route information received from the server (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538).
Regarding claim 2, Soleimani discloses wherein the specifying component specifies a position of the information terminal based on a position of a beacon in a position where a radio wave of the specifying information emitted by the emitting component is most intensely received among a plurality of beacons disposed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed location 532 and displayed evacuation route 538 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based on the database of locations for the beacons and signal strength, where a larger signal strength indicates that the mobile device 140 is closer to beacon 122 than beacon 120 | col. 4, lines 28-32, note U.S. Patent Application Ser. No. 14/985,523, entitled “Hands-Free Access Control,” and filed on Dec. 31, 2015, is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, and corresponds to US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 16-25 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 47-53 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 10, lines 56-63 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 12, lines 16-52 of US 9,483,887 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Soleimani discloses wherein the determining component determines an evacuation guidance route from an installation position of the emission apparatus, a position of the information terminal, and a position of an exit of the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532, 534 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 37, note the displayed location 532, displayed evacuation route 538, and displayed exit/egress points 534 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based upon at least the database of fixed locations of short range wireless transceivers and position of the mobile device 140 as determined via RSSI).
Regarding claim 7, Soleimani discloses at least two information terminals, each information terminal configured to move in the commercial facility and communicate with the server (see at least Figure 1, items 140, 144, 142 and 135).
Regarding claim 8, Soleimani discloses at least three information terminals, each information terminal configured to move in the commercial facility and communicate with the server (see at least Figure 1, items 140, 144, 142 and 135).
Regarding claim 9, Soleimani discloses an evacuation guidance method in an evacuation guidance apparatus (see at least Figure 1 | col. 4, lines 8-9) including a server (see at least Figure 1, item 135 | col. 4, lines 39-40, note server 135) and at least one information terminal configured to move in a commercial facility and communicate with the server (see at least Figure 1, items 140, 120, 135 and 110 | col. 4, lines 9-12, note facility 110 | col. 4, lines 21-25, note mobile device 140 | col. 5, lines 8-23, note the mobile device 140 transmits “presence messages” to at least one short-range wireless transceiver 120 that is in communication with the server 135 | col. 6, lines 23-38 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals), comprising:
emitting specifying information for specifying a position of the information terminal (see at least col. 5, lines 8-23, note the mobile device 140 transmits “presence messages” to at least one short-range wireless transceiver 120 that is in communication with the server 135);
specifying, based on the specifying information emitted, a position of the information terminal in the commercial facility (see at least col. 5, lines 24-58 | col. 7, lines 40-44, note the server 135 processes the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140 | Figure 7, item 704 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 13, lines 24-38, note the server 135 has a processor 704 that executes a sequence of instructions, specifically a sequence of instructions that process the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140);
determining, if an emergency signal emitted from an emission apparatus is received (see at least Figure 1, items 132 and 135 | col. 6, lines 5-22, note manual pull stations or pushbutton stations 132 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals, evacuation guidance routes for each of the at least one information terminals based on the position of the information terminal specified (see at least Figure 5, items 532 and 538 | col. 8, lines 52-57, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 10, line 37 – col. 11, line 13, note the server 135 receives the emergency signal, obtains specified positions of the mobile devices 140, and transmits an alert to the mobile devices 140 with the appropriate evacuation route 532 and 538 for display on the mobile device’s 140 display 510); and
transmitting evacuation guidance route information including information concerning the evacuation guidance routes determined to the information terminals (see at least | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals | col. 10, line 64 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538); and
displaying, on a display, an evacuation guidance route included in the evacuation guidance route information received from the server (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538).
Regarding claim 10, Soleimani discloses specifying a position of the information terminal based on a position of a beacon in a position where a radio wave of the specifying information emitted is most intensely received among a plurality of beacons disposed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed location 532 and displayed evacuation route 538 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based on the database of locations for the beacons and signal strength, where a larger signal strength indicates that the mobile device 140 is closer to beacon 122 than beacon 120 | col. 4, lines 28-32, note U.S. Patent Application Ser. No. 14/985,523, entitled “Hands-Free Access Control,” and filed on Dec. 31, 2015, is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, and corresponds to US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 16-25 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 47-53 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 10, lines 56-63 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 12, lines 16-52 of US 9,483,887 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Soleimani discloses determining an evacuation guidance route from an installation position of the emission apparatus, a position of the information terminal, and a position of an exit of the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532, 534 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 37, note the displayed location 532, displayed evacuation route 538, and displayed exit/egress points 534 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based upon at least the database of fixed locations of short range wireless transceivers and position of the mobile device 140 as determined via RSSI).
Regarding claim 15, Soleimani discloses an evacuation guidance system (see Figure 1), comprising:
a server (see at least Figure 1, item 135 | col. 4, lines 39-40, note server 135); and
a plurality of information terminals each configured to move in a commercial facility and communicate with the server (see at least Figure 1, items 110, 140, 144 and 135),
wherein each of the plurality of information terminals includes an emitting component configured to emit specifying information for specifying a position of the information terminal including the emitting component (see at least Figure 1, items 140, 120, 135 and 110 | col. 4, lines 9-12, note facility 110 | col. 4, lines 21-25, note mobile device 140 | col. 5, lines 8-23, note the mobile device 140 transmits “presence messages” to at least one short-range wireless transceiver 120 that is in communication with the server 135 | col. 6, lines 23-38 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals),
the server includes:
a specifying component configured to specify, based on the specifying information, a position of each of the plurality of information terminals in the commercial facility (see at least col. 5, lines 24-58 | col. 7, lines 40-44, note the server 135 processes the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140 | Figure 7, item 704 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 13, lines 24-38, note the server 135 has a processor 704 that executes a sequence of instructions, specifically a sequence of instructions that process the presence messages to determine the location or position of the mobile devices 140);
a receiving component configured to receive an emergency signal emitted from an emission apparatus (see at least Figure 1, items 132 and 135 | col. 6, lines 5-22, note manual pull stations or pushbutton stations 132 | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals);
a determining component configured to, if the emergency signal is received, determine evacuation guidance routes for each of the plurality of information terminals based on the specified position of each of the plurality of information terminals (see at least Figure 5, items 532 and 538 | col. 8, lines 52-57, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 10, line 37 – col. 11, line 13, note the server 135 receives the emergency signal, obtains specified positions of the mobile devices 140, and transmits an alert to the mobile devices 140 with the appropriate evacuation route 532 and 538 for display on the mobile device’s 140 display 510); and
a transmitting component configured to transmit evacuation guidance route information including information concerning the determined evacuation guidance routes to each of the plurality of information terminals (see at least | Figure 7, item 718 | col. 12, lines 53-58 | col. 14, lines 15-50, note the communication interface 718 transmits/receives signals | col. 10, line 64 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538), and
each of the plurality of information terminals includes a displaying component configured to display, on a display, an evacuation guidance route included in the evacuation guidance route information received from the server (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed evacuation route 538).
Regarding claim 16, Soleimani discloses wherein the specifying component specifies a position of each of the plurality of information terminals based on a position of a beacon in a position where a radio wave of the specifying information emitted by the emitting component is most intensely received among a plurality of beacons disposed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 13, note the displayed location 532 and displayed evacuation route 538 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based on the database of locations for the beacons and signal strength, where a larger signal strength indicates that the mobile device 140 is closer to beacon 122 than beacon 120 | col. 4, lines 28-32, note U.S. Patent Application Ser. No. 14/985,523, entitled “Hands-Free Access Control,” and filed on Dec. 31, 2015, is incorporated herein by reference in its entirety, and corresponds to US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 16-25 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 7, lines 47-53 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 10, lines 56-63 of US 9,483,887 B1 | col. 12, lines 16-52 of US 9,483,887 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Soleimani discloses wherein the determining component determines an evacuation guidance route from an installation position of the emission apparatus, a position of each of the plurality of information terminals, and a position of an exit of the commercial facility (see at least Figure 5, items 510, 532, 534 and 538 | col. 10, line 48 – col. 11, line 37, note the displayed location 532, displayed evacuation route 538, and displayed exit/egress points 534 | col. 5, lines 24-58, note location is based upon at least the database of fixed locations of short range wireless transceivers and position of the mobile device 140 as determined via RSSI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleimani (US 10,045,187 B1) in view of Sinha (US 2019/0145648 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Soleimani discloses wherein the determining component determines the evacuation guidance route to avoid a position of an unavailable egress point, and further discloses a plurality of fire alarms installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 | col. 6, lines 5-14 | col. 8, lines 52-57, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37).
However, Soleimani does not specifically disclose to avoid a position of a fire alarm that detected fire and emitted the emergency signal.
It is known to provide a safe evacuation route. For example, Sinha teaches a system that avoids a position of a fire alarm that detected fire and emitted the emergency signal (see at least [0323-0324]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Sinha into Soleimani. This provides the occupants with a safer evacuation route.
Regarding claim 6, Soleimani in view of Sinha teach wherein the specifying component determines the position of the information terminal to avoid a position of an emergency button that emitted the emergency signal based on operation at an emergency time among a plurality of emergency buttons installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 of Soleimani | col. 6, lines 5-14 of Soleimani | col. 8, lines 52-57 of Soleimani, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37 of Soleimani | [0323-0234] of Sinha).
Regarding claim 12, Soleimani in view of Sinha teach determining the evacuation guidance route to avoid a position of a fire alarm that detected fire and emitted the emergency signal among a plurality of fire alarms installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 of Soleimani | col. 6, lines 5-14 of Soleimani | col. 8, lines 52-57 of Soleimani, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37 of Soleimani | [0323-0234] of Sinha).
Regarding claim 14, Soleimani in view of Sinha teach determining the position of the information terminal to avoid a position of an emergency button that emitted the emergency signal based on operation at an emergency time among a plurality of emergency buttons installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 of Soleimani | col. 6, lines 5-14 of Soleimani | col. 8, lines 52-57 of Soleimani, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37 of Soleimani | [0323-0234] of Sinha).
Regarding claim 18, Soleimani in view of Sinha teach wherein the determining component determines the evacuation guidance route to avoid a position of a fire alarm that detected fire and emitted the emergency signal among a plurality of fire alarms installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 of Soleimani | col. 6, lines 5-14 of Soleimani | col. 8, lines 52-57 of Soleimani, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37 of Soleimani | [0323-0234] of Sinha).
Regarding claim 20, Soleimani in view of Sinha teach wherein the specifying component determines the position of the each of the plurality of information terminals to avoid a position of an emergency button that emitted the emergency signal based on operation at an emergency time among a plurality of emergency buttons installed in the commercial facility (see at least Figure 1, item 132 of Soleimani | col. 6, lines 5-14 of Soleimani | col. 8, lines 52-57 of Soleimani, note that when the emergency signal is received, which can be from an alarm device 132 or some other mobile device 144, the server 135 determines at least the occurrence of the event and its location | col. 11, lines 26-37 of Soleimani | [0323-0234] of Sinha).
Claims 5, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleimani (US 10,045,187 B1) in view of Klein (US 2017/0024839 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Soleimani discloses a movement determining component configured to determine, whether the information terminal has moved from a specified position after the evacuation guidance route information was transmitted; and a specific display component configured to display the information terminal determined by the movement determining component as moved (see at least col. 11, lines 14-37, note the server 135 updates and refines the mobile device 140 location, and displays the mobile device’s 140 progress during the evacuation).
However, Soleimani does not specifically disclose determining, whether the information terminal moved a predetermined distance or more from a specified position; and displaying the information terminal as not having moved the predetermined distance or more.
It is known to display a user’s evacuation progress in different ways. For example, Klein teaches a system that determines, whether an information terminal moved a predetermined distance or more from a specified position; and displays the information terminal as not having moved the predetermined distance or more (see at least [0063] | [0061] | [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Klein into Soleimani. This provides the ability to determine whether or not the evacuee has strayed from their evacuation route, and provide immediate human intervention if needed.
Regarding claim 13, Soleimani in view of Klein teach determining whether the information terminal moved a predetermined distance or more from a specified position after the evacuation guidance route information was transmitted; and displaying the information terminal determined as not having moved the predetermined distance or more (see at least col. 11, lines 14-37 of Soleimani, note the server 135 updates and refines the mobile device 140 location, and displays the mobile device’s 140 progress during the evacuation | [0063] of Klein | [0061] of Klein | [0047] of Klein).
Regarding claim 19, Soleimani in view of Klein teach a movement determining component configured to determine, whether each of the plurality of information terminals moved a predetermined distance or more from a specified position after the evacuation guidance route information was transmitted; and a specific display component configured to display the information terminal determined by the movement determining component as not having moved the predetermined distance or more (see at least col. 11, lines 14-37 of Soleimani, note the server 135 updates and refines the mobile device 140 location, and displays the mobile device’s 140 progress during the evacuation | [0063] of Klein | [0061] of Klein | [0047] of Klein).
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689