apDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/18/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 05/18/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Regarding the rejection of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of Bhamri (US 2022/0014333), Applicant argues Bhamri is directed to improving the flexibility of time-domain resource allocation for PUSCH repetitions and multiple PUSCH transmissions in order to reduce scheduling delays, in contrast to the present invention, which is directed to enhanced DTX operation for XR services - specifically the management of uplink configured grants and the reporting of configured grant usage status to the base station via CGI, in order to enable the base station to reallocate unused resources. Applicant argues that Bhamri contains no disclosure whatsoever of: (i) DTX operation of any kind; (ii) configured grant indication or reporting of unused configured grants; (iii) a timer- based first period with selective control information transmission; or (iv) a set of parameters controlling both a timer-triggered first period and a periodically occurring second period. Applicant further argues the amended claims are not disclosed in Bhamri because Bhamri [0142]-[0143] disclose parameters for configuring uplink PUSCH transmission slots (K2 offsets, SLIV values) - none of which are timer lengths or period cycles for DTX operation. Bhamri has no concept of a "first timer," a "first period during which a first timer is running," or a "second period occurring periodically." The consolidated "set of parameters" of amended Claim 1 and Claim 2 corresponds to DTX-Config IE comprising and DTX Cycle Offset – none of which are present in or analogous to Bhamri. Applicant argues Bhamri is directed to a completely different technical problem - flexible time-domain resource scheduling for PUSCH repetitions - and does not disclose the fundamental elements of amended Claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., DTX operation) are not recited in the rejected claims. The claims are completely silent regarding DTX operation of any kind. The claims do not recite the DTX Config IE, DTX Cycle Offset, nor any other limitations that are DTX specific. Applicant’s response pointed to numerous portions of the specification which describe the claimed invention as used in the DTX context. However, Applicant has recited the claimed invention so broadly as to not even recite or require DTX in any manner, as is demonstrated by the art rejections provided. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). DTX will not be interpreted as fundamental to the claimed invention until it is explicitly recited. Applicant’s arguments to the contrary are inconsistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and unpersuasive.
Applicant’s remaining arguments regarding Bhamri are moot because they do not apply to the new combination being provided below, under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, particularly in view of Bhamri (US 2022/0014333), modified by Zhou (US 2020/0260486), Applicant argues There is also no motivation of record to combine Bhamri with Zhou to arrive at the claimed invention. The combination of references directed to PUSCH scheduling flexibility (Bhamri) and unlicensed spectrum configured grant enhancements (Zhou) would not lead a person of ordinary skill to a DTX-based configured grant usage reporting mechanism for XR services.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, The claimed invention is not directed to DTX-based configured grant usage. DTX is not recited in the claims in any manner. Therefore this argument is moot.
Applicant has not provided any technical reason as to why the proposed combination fails to render the claimed invention obvious, except for arguments pertaining to subject matter not appearing in the claims. For these reasons, the rejections are updated below to reflect amendment to the claims, and maintained accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al (US 2022/0014333), in view of Zhou et al (US 2020/0260486).
Regarding Claim 1, Bhamri teaches a method performed by a terminal (Fig. 5, Fig. 8), the method comprising: receiving, by the terminal from a base station (Fig. 6), a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0142], receiver 420 of the user equipment 410 receives a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, config information element, IE, in form of radio resource control, RRC, signaling),
wherein the RRC message comprises: a set of parameters related to uplink transmission ([0142], PUSCH config IE is applicable to a particular bandwidth part. The PUSCH config IE is received from the base station 460 serving the particular bandwidth part. For example, the reception operation may be performed by the PUSCH config IE receiver 520-a of FIG. 5, [0143], the processor 430 of the user equipment 410 configures a table which is defined by a PUSCH time domain resource allocation list IE carried in the received PUSCH config IE. The RRC configured table comprises rows, each with a first set of values related to allocated time-domain resources for a plurality of PUSCH transmissions. For example, this configuration operation may be performed by the table configuring processing circuitry 530-a of FIG. 5); and
one or more third sets of parameters related to configured grant ([0144], the receiver 420 of the user equipment 410 receives a configured grant config IE in form of RRC signaling carrying a time domain allocation filed with value m, wherein the value m provides a row index m+1 to the configured table. For example, this reception operation may be performed by the configured grant config IE receiver 520-c of FIG. 5); and
performing, by the terminal and based on the set of parameters ([0145], processor 430 of the user equipment 410 determines allocated resources for the plurality of PUSCH transmissions based on: (i) a value of a time domain offset field additionally carried in the received configured grant config IE and associated with the time domain allocation filed, and (ii) the first set of values related to allocated time-domain resources comprised in the indexed row of the RRC configured table. For example, this determination operation may be performed by the allocated resources determining processing circuitry 530-b of FIG. 5), uplink transmission for control information on unused configured grant ([0148], the transmitter 420 of the user equipment 410 transmits a PUSCH transmission using the respectively determined allocated resources. For example, this transmission operation may be performed by the PUSCH transmitter 520-f of FIG. 5),
wherein the control information consists of two or more bits ([0146-0147], transmitter 420 of the user equipment 410 selects transport blocks of data to be carried in the plurality of PUSCH transmissions. For example, this selection operation may be performed by the transport blocks selecting transmitter 520-d of FIG. 5, transport blocks of data are selected based on at least one second parameter comprised in the indexed row of the RRC configured table which is indicating whether the plurality of PUSCH transmissions are either different PUSCH transmissions or repeated PUSCH transmissions),
wherein the control information is: transmitted in a first period ([0260], Fig. 8, For determining the allocated time-domain resources for the first PUSCH transmission (#1), the processor 430 reverts to the first set of parameters in the indexed row with row index 3 of the RRC configured table, [0262], from the value K.sub.2, the processor 430 infers that allocated time-domain resources for the first PUSCH transmission are included in the slot with slot number k+2. Additionally, from the values S and L the processor 430 infers that the allocated resources for the initial PUSCH transmission start in the slot with slot number k+2 at the symbol with symbol number 1 and have a length of 4 symbols); and
not transmitted in a second period ([0268], For the subsequent PUSCH transmission #3, the second parameter with value D, meaning a difference over the preceding PUSCH transmission, indicates that a new transport block of data is to be selected which is different from that of the preceding PUSCH transmission #2. In other words, the second parameters define the repetition or difference for a subsequent PUSCH transmission with respect to the preceding PUSCH transmission);
wherein the first period is a period during which a first timer is running, wherein the first timer starts based on the set of parameters ([0094], the processor 430 may determine the allocated time-domain resource for a first PUSCH transmission based on: (i) index of a slot carrying the received DCI, and (ii) the value K.sub.2 indicating the slot offsets, and (iii) the value SLIV indicating the start and length indicator comprised in indexed row of the RRC configured table. This implies that the processor 430 has previously determined that the value indicating the PUSCH mapping type indicates a type B mapping (only when the PUSCH transmission is permitted to start at any symbol within a slot, then it is necessary to base the determination on the value SLIV),
wherein the second period is a period that occurs periodically based on the set of parameters ([0268], For the subsequent PSUCH transmission #2, the second parameter with value R, meaning a repetition of the preceding PUSCH transmission, indicates that the same transport block of data is to be selected which is repeating that of the preceding PUSCH transmission #1, [0098], the processor 430 checks (see, e.g., step 750—FIG. 7) a second parameter which indicates to the user equipment 410 whether the subsequent PUSCH transmissions are either different (or separate) PUSCH transmissions or whether they are repeated PUSCH transmissions, [0109], the processor 430, for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission, reverts to the row with row index m+1 of the RRC configured table, and determines that the allocated resources, for the first repetition of the first PUSCH transmission, are included in a slot with number k+K.sub.2+1 (where 1 is a pre-defined constant fixed by standardization), and have a start and length in terms of symbols of this slot corresponding to the same value SLIV).
Bhamri fails to teach wherein the control information is multiplexed in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a configured grant in the first period, and wherein the one or more third sets of parameters comprise: a parameter indicating a number of bits of the control information; and a parameter related to a resource for transmission of the control information.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches
wherein the control information is multiplexed in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a configured grant in the first period ([0533], UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed when UCI and PUSCH transmissions coincide in time. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be due to transmission of a UL-SCH transport block or due to triggering of A-CSI transmission without UL-SCH transport block. In an example, UCI (e.g. UCI carrying HARQ-ACK feedback with small payload, e.g., 1 or 2 bits) may be multiplexed by puncturing PUSCH. In an example, UCI may be multiplexed by rate matching PUSCH. In an example for puncturing, a TB may be mapped to radio resources and one or more resources elements may be punctured for transmission of the UCI. In an example, for rate matching, the UCI and data may be jointly coded and mapped to the radio resources), and
wherein the one or more third sets of parameters comprise: a parameter indicating a number of bits of the control information ([0550], second configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of HARQ processes for configured grants. The wireless device may select a HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ process for transmission of one or more transport via resources of a configured grant of the configured grants. The second configuration parameters may indicate (e.g., the second configuration parameters or the second configuration parameters along with an activation DCI) radio resources of the configured grants on the unlicensed cell. The second configuration parameters may indicate one or more power control parameters and/or time domain resource allocation (e.g., periodicity and/or offset (e.g., with respect to a first SFN) and/or a bitmap indicating slots/symbols/subframes of the configured grants) and/or one or more repetition parameters (e.g., a number of repetitions), etc); and
a parameter related to a resource for transmission of the control information ([0548], the first configuration parameters may comprise bandwidth part configuration parameters. The bandwidth part configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of bandwidth parts of the unlicensed cell. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology corresponding to the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate frequency domain location and bandwidth of the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology and/or frequency domain location and bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing of the bandwidth part and/or a cyclic prefix (e.g., normal or extended cyclic prefix)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 2, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 1, Bhamri further teaches wherein the set of parameters comprises: a parameter indicating a length of the first timer, a parameter indicating a cycle of the first period, and a parameter indicating a cycle of the second period ([0130], a mechanism is disclosed which facilitates alleviating the uplink scheduling constraints resulting from one uplink grant per TTI. For this purpose, the RRC configure table permits the user equipment 410, despite having received only a single DCI with an uplink grant, to transmit plural PUSCH transmission, be it in the form of different (or separate) PUSCH transmissions, or be it in the form of repeated PUSCH transmissions, [0044], TTI determines the timing granularity for scheduling assignment. One TTI is the time interval in which given signals is mapped to the physical layer. Conventionally, the TTI length can vary from 14-symbols (slot-based scheduling) to 2-symbols (non-slot based scheduling). Downlink and uplink transmissions are specified to be organized into frames (10 ms duration) consisting of 10 subframes (1 ms duration). In slot-based transmission, a subframe, in return, is divided into slots, the number of slots being defined by the numerology/subcarrier spacing and the specified values range between 10 slots for a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz to 320 slots for a subcarrier spacing of 240 kHz. The number of OFDM symbols per slot is 14 for normal cyclic prefix and 12 for extended cyclic prefix (see section 4.1 (general frame structure), 4.2 (Numerologies), 4.3.1 (frames and subframes) and 4.3.2 (slots) of the 3GPP TS 38.211 V15.4.0, incorporated herein by reference). However, assignment of time resources for transmission may also be non-slot based. In particular, the TTIs in non slot-based assignment may correspond to mini-slots rather than slots. E.g., one or more mini-slots may be assign to a requested transmission of data/control signaling. In non slot-based assignment, the minimum length of a TTI may conventionally be 2 OFDM symbols).
Regarding Claim 3, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 1, Bhamri further teaches wherein the one or more third sets of parameters related to configured grant are specific to an uplink bandwidth part ([0184], due to the fact that the radio spectrum configuration pertains to the same particular bandwidth part to which also the PUSCH config IE is applicable, the user equipment 410 can implicitly establish a relationship between an unlicensed mode of operation and a necessity (or requirement) for an enhanced reliability of the PUSCH transmissions on the particular bandwidth part).
Regarding Claim 4, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 1, Bhamri further teaches wherein each of the one or more third sets of parameters comprises a first subset of parameters related to a frequency resource ([0468], the PUSCH time domain resource allocation list IE additionally comprises at least one of: a parameter indicating whether the transport block size is calculated for each PUSCH transmission separately, or whether a combined transport block size is calculated for all PSUCH transmissions, including the initial PUSCH transmission and the at least one repetition thereof, a parameter indicating whether frequency hopping is applied for each PUSCH transmission separately, or whether continuous frequency hopping is applied for all PUSCH transmissions, including the initial PUSCH transmission and the at least one repetition thereof, and a parameter indicating whether or not demodulation reference symbols, DMRS, are present in all or each individual one of the at least one repetition of the initial PUSCH transmission).
Regarding Claim 5, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 4, Bhamri further teaches wherein two or more configured grants are configured based on a set of parameters in case that the set of parameters further comprises a second subset of parameters related to a time resource ([0092], time-domain resources to be used by the user equipment 410 for the plural PUSCH transmissions have been previously allocated by the base station 460. In this context, the processor 430 accordingly determines which of the previously allocated resource it shall use for the plural PUSCH transmissions. For easy reference, the plural PUSCH transmissions may be understood to include a first PUSCH transmission and at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission which are all being scheduled by a single DCI, [0178-0179], the processor 430 infers from same received second parameter, whether or not it is indicating different or repeated PUSCH transmissions for all of the plurality of PUSCH transmission, the separate (e.g., new) parameter comprised in the Phy-Parameter IE may be termed “pusch-MultipleTrasmissions” and may be of format “ENUMERATED{repeatTB, differentTB].” This parameter may only be considered when a single DCI is configured to schedule plural PUSCH transmissions as in the focus of the present disclosure. If the single DCI is not configured to schedule multiple PUSCH transmissions, then this parameter is not considered by the user equipment 410. Such distinction can be either applied to all DCIs or can be restricted to particular DCIs).
Regarding Claim 6, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 5 above, Zhou teaches wherein the two or more configured grants occur periodically ([0398], RRC signaling may indicate (e.g., for Type 1 configured grants) the time domain resource allocation e.g., periodicity, offset in the frame, start symbol and length of PUSCH and K-repetition of the configured grant resource. In an example for Type 2 configured grant, RRC may indicate periodicity and K-repetition in time domain. The other time domain related parameters may be given through DCI activation scrambled with a corresponding RNTI for configured grants (e.g., CS-RNTI). In an example, some enhancements may be used in different application scenario such as URLLC. For example, the granularity of time domain allocation may be based on slot instead of OFDM symbol. In an example, the K-repetition may be reinterpreted as number of configured resource within a period).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 7, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 4, Bhamri further teaches wherein a single configured grant is configured based on the set of parameters in case that the set of parameters does not comprise a second subset of parameters related to a time resource ([0178-0179], the processor 430 infers from same received second parameter, whether or not it is indicating different or repeated PUSCH transmissions for all of the plurality of PUSCH transmission, the separate (e.g., new) parameter comprised in the Phy-Parameter IE may be termed “pusch-MultipleTrasmissions” and may be of format “ENUMERATED{repeatTB, differentTB].” This parameter may only be considered when a single DCI is configured to schedule plural PUSCH transmissions as in the focus of the present disclosure. If the single DCI is not configured to schedule multiple PUSCH transmissions, then this parameter is not considered by the user equipment 410. Such distinction can be either applied to all DCIs or can be restricted to particular DCIs).
Regarding Claim 8, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 7 above, Zhou teaches wherein the configured grant occurs periodically ([0398], RRC signaling may indicate (e.g., for Type 1 configured grants) the time domain resource allocation e.g., periodicity, offset in the frame, start symbol and length of PUSCH and K-repetition of the configured grant resource. In an example for Type 2 configured grant, RRC may indicate periodicity and K-repetition in time domain. The other time domain related parameters may be given through DCI activation scrambled with a corresponding RNTI for configured grants (e.g., CS-RNTI). In an example, some enhancements may be used in different application scenario such as URLLC. For example, the granularity of time domain allocation may be based on slot instead of OFDM symbol. In an example, the K-repetition may be reinterpreted as number of configured resource within a period).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 9, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 4 above, Zhou teaches wherein the first subset of parameters comprises: a first parameter related to a frequency resource ([0548], the first configuration parameters may comprise bandwidth part configuration parameters. The bandwidth part configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of bandwidth parts of the unlicensed cell. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology corresponding to the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate frequency domain location and bandwidth of the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology and/or frequency domain location and bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing of the bandwidth part and/or a cyclic prefix (e.g., normal or extended cyclic prefix));
a second parameter related to a number of Hybrid Automatic Retransmission request (HARQ) processes ([0550], second configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of HARQ processes for configured grants. The wireless device may select a HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ process for transmission of one or more transport via resources of a configured grant of the configured grants. The second configuration parameters may indicate (e.g., the second configuration parameters or the second configuration parameters along with an activation DCI) radio resources of the configured grants on the unlicensed cell. The second configuration parameters may indicate one or more power control parameters and/or time domain resource allocation (e.g., periodicity and/or offset (e.g., with respect to a first SFN) and/or a bitmap indicating slots/symbols/subframes of the configured grants) and/or one or more repetition parameters (e.g., a number of repetitions), etc);
a third parameter related to Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) table ([0542], a configuration parameter mcs-Table may indicate the MCS table the UE may use for PUSCH with transform precoding); and a fourth parameter related to periodicity ([0550]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 10, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 5, Bhamri further teaches wherein a number of the two or more configured grants is determined based on the second subset of parameters ([0212], With this understanding, the RRC configured table comprises not only values from the first set of values which are specifying allocated time-domain resources for the first PUSCH transmission. Rather the RRC configured table comprises a third set of values including values K.sub.2′ and/or SLIV′ which are specifying allocated time-domain resources for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s). In addition, the third set of values includes a value indicating the number of the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s) further complements the RRC configured table in that it permits a more flexible determination as to which of the specified allocated time-domain resource are to be used for subsequent PUSCH transmissions).
Regarding Claim 11, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 5, Bhamri further teaches wherein a time resource of each of the two or more configured grants is determined based on the second subset of parameters ([0210-0211], at least one of the third set of values, comprised in the indexed row of the RRC configured table, is at least one of a value K.sub.2′ indicating another slot offset for at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s), a value SLIV′ indicating another start and length indicator value for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s), and/or a value indicating the number of the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s). In particular, the other start and length indicator value SLIV′ comprises: a value S′ indicating a symbol number specifying the start of the allocated time-domain resources for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s), and a value L′ indicating a number of symbols specifying the length of the allocated time-domain resources for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission(s)).
Regarding Claim 12, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 5 above, Zhou teaches wherein: all of the two or more configured grants are configured in the same frequency resource determined based on the first subset of parameters; and each of the two or more configured grants is configured in a time resource that is different from each other and that is determined based on the second subset of parameters ([0405-0407], a wireless device may be configured with multiple transmission occasions over the pre-configured time-domain resource within a CG period. In an example, before the beginning of the pre-configured period, the wireless device may perform the LBT procedure towards accessing the first transmission occasion/burst starting position. If the LBT is successful, the UE may start transmitting one or more PUSCHs up to the end of the CG resource within the pre-configured period. In an example, if the LBT fails, the UE may not defer the channel access for the remaining period. The wireless device may resume its channel access attempt by performing LBT towards accessing the second transmission occasion, and so on. In an example, transmission start time of multiple UEs configured with the same time-domain resources and either same or orthogonal frequency interlaces on a given unlicensed channel may be aligned. In an example, base station may align uplink transmission with configured grant using an Alignment Signal (e.g., a group common DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 13, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 9 above, Zhou teaches wherein: frequency resources indicated by the first parameter are applied to two or more configured grants in case that the set of parameters comprises the second subset of parameters ([0541], a configuration parameter frequenctDomainAllocation may indicate frequency domain resource allocation. In an example, a intraSlot value of a configuration parameter frequencyHopping enables ‘Intra-slot frequency hopping’ and a value interSlot enables ‘Inter-slot frequency hopping’. If the field is absent, frequency hopping is not configured. In an example, a configuration parameter frequencyHoppingOggset enables intra-slot frequency hopping with the given frequency hopping offset. Frequency hopping offset may be used when frequency hopping is enabled, [0543], a configuration parameter repK indicates the number of repetitions of K. In an example, a configuration parameter resourceAllocation indicates configuration of resource allocation type 0 and resource allocation type 1. For Type 1 UL data transmission without grant, “resourceAllocation” may be resourceAllocationType0 or resourceAllocationType1. In an example, a configuration parameter rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant may indicate configuration for “configured grant” transmission with fully RRC-configured UL grant (Type1). If this field is absent the UE uses UL grant configured by DCI addressed to CS-RNTI (Type2). Type 1 configured grant may be configured for UL or SUL, but not for both simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 14, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 13 above, Zhou teaches wherein: frequency resources indicated by the first parameter are applied to a single configured grant in case that the set of parameters does not comprise the second subset of parameters ([0541], a configuration parameter frequenctDomainAllocation may indicate frequency domain resource allocation. In an example, a intraSlot value of a configuration parameter frequencyHopping enables ‘Intra-slot frequency hopping’ and a value interSlot enables ‘Inter-slot frequency hopping’. If the field is absent, frequency hopping is not configured. In an example, a configuration parameter frequencyHoppingOggset enables intra-slot frequency hopping with the given frequency hopping offset. Frequency hopping offset may be used when frequency hopping is enabled, [0543], a configuration parameter repK indicates the number of repetitions of K. In an example, a configuration parameter resourceAllocation indicates configuration of resource allocation type 0 and resource allocation type 1. For Type 1 UL data transmission without grant, “resourceAllocation” may be resourceAllocationType0 or resourceAllocationType1. In an example, a configuration parameter rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant may indicate configuration for “configured grant” transmission with fully RRC-configured UL grant (Type1). If this field is absent the UE uses UL grant configured by DCI addressed to CS-RNTI (Type2). Type 1 configured grant may be configured for UL or SUL, but not for both simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 15, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 9 above, Zhou teaches wherein: the third parameter is applied to two or more configured grants in case that the set of parameters comprises the second subset of parameters ([0178-0179], the processor 430 infers from same received second parameter, whether or not it is indicating different or repeated PUSCH transmissions for all of the plurality of PUSCH transmission, the separate (e.g., new) parameter comprised in the Phy-Parameter IE may be termed “pusch-MultipleTrasmissions” and may be of format “ENUMERATED{repeatTB, differentTB].” This parameter may only be considered when a single DCI is configured to schedule plural PUSCH transmissions as in the focus of the present disclosure. If the single DCI is not configured to schedule multiple PUSCH transmissions, then this parameter is not considered by the user equipment 410. Such distinction can be either applied to all DCIs or can be restricted to particular DCIs).
Regarding Claim 16, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 15 above, Zhou teaches wherein: the third parameter is applied to a single configured grant in case that the set of parameters does not comprise the second subset of parameters ([0178-0179], the processor 430 infers from same received second parameter, whether or not it is indicating different or repeated PUSCH transmissions for all of the plurality of PUSCH transmission, the separate (e.g., new) parameter comprised in the Phy-Parameter IE may be termed “pusch-MultipleTrasmissions” and may be of format “ENUMERATED{repeatTB, differentTB].” This parameter may only be considered when a single DCI is configured to schedule plural PUSCH transmissions as in the focus of the present disclosure. If the single DCI is not configured to schedule multiple PUSCH transmissions, then this parameter is not considered by the user equipment 410. Such distinction can be either applied to all DCIs or can be restricted to particular DCIs).
Regarding Claim 17, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 9 above, Zhou teaches wherein the fourth parameter is applied to a single configured grant in case that the set of parameters does not comprise the second subset of parameters ([0178-0179], the processor 430 infers from same received second parameter, whether or not it is indicating different or repeated PUSCH transmissions for all of the plurality of PUSCH transmission, the separate (e.g., new) parameter comprised in the Phy-Parameter IE may be termed “pusch-MultipleTrasmissions” and may be of format “ENUMERATED{repeatTB, differentTB].” This parameter may only be considered when a single DCI is configured to schedule plural PUSCH transmissions as in the focus of the present disclosure. If the single DCI is not configured to schedule multiple PUSCH transmissions, then this parameter is not considered by the user equipment 410. Such distinction can be either applied to all DCIs or can be restricted to particular DCIs).
Regarding Claim 18, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 1 above, Zhou teaches wherein the number of bits of the control information is determined based on the parameter indicating the number of bits of the control information included in the one or more third sets of parameters ([0533], UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed when UCI and PUSCH transmissions coincide in time. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be due to transmission of a UL-SCH transport block or due to triggering of A-CSI transmission without UL-SCH transport block. In an example, UCI (e.g. UCI carrying HARQ-ACK feedback with small payload, e.g., 1 or 2 bits) may be multiplexed by puncturing PUSCH. In an example, UCI may be multiplexed by rate matching PUSCH. In an example for puncturing, a TB may be mapped to radio resources and one or more resources elements may be punctured for transmission of the UCI. In an example, for rate matching, the UCI and data may be jointly coded and mapped to the radio resources).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 19, Bhamri, modified by Zhou, teaches the method of claim 1 above, Zhou teaches wherein the resource for transmission of the control information is a resource included in the PUSCH associated with the configured grant ([0405-0407], a wireless device may be configured with multiple transmission occasions over the pre-configured time-domain resource within a CG period. In an example, before the beginning of the pre-configured period, the wireless device may perform the LBT procedure towards accessing the first transmission occasion/burst starting position. If the LBT is successful, the UE may start transmitting one or more PUSCHs up to the end of the CG resource within the pre-configured period. In an example, if the LBT fails, the UE may not defer the channel access for the remaining period. The wireless device may resume its channel access attempt by performing LBT towards accessing the second transmission occasion, and so on. In an example, transmission start time of multiple UEs configured with the same time-domain resources and either same or orthogonal frequency interlaces on a given unlicensed channel may be aligned. In an example, base station may align uplink transmission with configured grant using an Alignment Signal).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Regarding Claim 20, Bhamri teaches a terminal comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a controller coupled to the transceiver and the memory ([0008-0009]), wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to: receive, from a base station (Fig. 6), a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0142], receiver 420 of the user equipment 410 receives a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, config information element, IE, in form of radio resource control, RRC, signaling),
wherein the RRC message comprises: a set of parameters related to uplink transmission ([0142], PUSCH config IE is applicable to a particular bandwidth part. The PUSCH config IE is received from the base station 460 serving the particular bandwidth part. For example, the reception operation may be performed by the PUSCH config IE receiver 520-a of FIG. 5, [0143], the processor 430 of the user equipment 410 configures a table which is defined by a PUSCH time domain resource allocation list IE carried in the received PUSCH config IE. The RRC configured table comprises rows, each with a first set of values related to allocated time-domain resources for a plurality of PUSCH transmissions. For example, this configuration operation may be performed by the table configuring processing circuitry 530-a of FIG. 5); and
one or more third sets of parameters related to configured grant ([0144], the receiver 420 of the user equipment 410 receives a configured grant config IE in form of RRC signaling carrying a time domain allocation filed with value m, wherein the value m provides a row index m+1 to the configured table. For example, this reception operation may be performed by the configured grant config IE receiver 520-c of FIG. 5); and
perform, based on the set of parameters ([0145], processor 430 of the user equipment 410 determines allocated resources for the plurality of PUSCH transmissions based on: (i) a value of a time domain offset field additionally carried in the received configured grant config IE and associated with the time domain allocation filed, and (ii) the first set of values related to allocated time-domain resources comprised in the indexed row of the RRC configured table. For example, this determination operation may be performed by the allocated resources determining processing circuitry 530-b of FIG. 5), uplink transmission for control information on unused configured grant ([0148], the transmitter 420 of the user equipment 410 transmits a PUSCH transmission using the respectively determined allocated resources. For example, this transmission operation may be performed by the PUSCH transmitter 520-f of FIG. 5),
wherein the control information consists of two or more bits ([0146-0147], transmitter 420 of the user equipment 410 selects transport blocks of data to be carried in the plurality of PUSCH transmissions. For example, this selection operation may be performed by the transport blocks selecting transmitter 520-d of FIG. 5, transport blocks of data are selected based on at least one second parameter comprised in the indexed row of the RRC configured table which is indicating whether the plurality of PUSCH transmissions are either different PUSCH transmissions or repeated PUSCH transmissions),
wherein the control information is: transmitted in a first period ([0260], Fig. 8, For determining the allocated time-domain resources for the first PUSCH transmission (#1), the processor 430 reverts to the first set of parameters in the indexed row with row index 3 of the RRC configured table, [0262], from the value K.sub.2, the processor 430 infers that allocated time-domain resources for the first PUSCH transmission are included in the slot with slot number k+2. Additionally, from the values S and L the processor 430 infers that the allocated resources for the initial PUSCH transmission start in the slot with slot number k+2 at the symbol with symbol number 1 and have a length of 4 symbols);
not transmitted in a second period ([0268], For the subsequent PUSCH transmission #3, the second parameter with value D, meaning a difference over the preceding PUSCH transmission, indicates that a new transport block of data is to be selected which is different from that of the preceding PUSCH transmission #2. In other words, the second parameters define the repetition or difference for a subsequent PUSCH transmission with respect to the preceding PUSCH transmission);
wherein the first period is a period during which a first timer is running, wherein the first timer starts based on the set of parameters ([0094], the processor 430 may determine the allocated time-domain resource for a first PUSCH transmission based on: (i) index of a slot carrying the received DCI, and (ii) the value K.sub.2 indicating the slot offsets, and (iii) the value SLIV indicating the start and length indicator comprised in indexed row of the RRC configured table. This implies that the processor 430 has previously determined that the value indicating the PUSCH mapping type indicates a type B mapping (only when the PUSCH transmission is permitted to start at any symbol within a slot, then it is necessary to base the determination on the value SLIV),
wherein the second period is a period that occurs periodically based on the set of parameters ([0268], For the subsequent PSUCH transmission #2, the second parameter with value R, meaning a repetition of the preceding PUSCH transmission, indicates that the same transport block of data is to be selected which is repeating that of the preceding PUSCH transmission #1, [0098], the processor 430 checks (see, e.g., step 750—FIG. 7) a second parameter which indicates to the user equipment 410 whether the subsequent PUSCH transmissions are either different (or separate) PUSCH transmissions or whether they are repeated PUSCH transmissions, [0109], the processor 430, for the at least one subsequent PUSCH transmission, reverts to the row with row index m+1 of the RRC configured table, and determines that the allocated resources, for the first repetition of the first PUSCH transmission, are included in a slot with number k+K.sub.2+1 (where 1 is a pre-defined constant fixed by standardization), and have a start and length in terms of symbols of this slot corresponding to the same value SLIV).
Bhamri fails to teach wherein the control information is multiplexed in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a configured grant in the first period, and wherein the one or more third sets of parameters comprise: a parameter indicating a number of bits of the control information; and a parameter related to a resource for transmission of the control information.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou teaches
wherein the control information is multiplexed in a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with a configured grant in the first period ([0533], UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be performed when UCI and PUSCH transmissions coincide in time. In an example, UCI multiplexing in PUSCH may be due to transmission of a UL-SCH transport block or due to triggering of A-CSI transmission without UL-SCH transport block. In an example, UCI (e.g. UCI carrying HARQ-ACK feedback with small payload, e.g., 1 or 2 bits) may be multiplexed by puncturing PUSCH. In an example, UCI may be multiplexed by rate matching PUSCH. In an example for puncturing, a TB may be mapped to radio resources and one or more resources elements may be punctured for transmission of the UCI. In an example, for rate matching, the UCI and data may be jointly coded and mapped to the radio resources), and
wherein the one or more third sets of parameters comprise: a parameter indicating a number of bits of the control information ([0550], second configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of HARQ processes for configured grants. The wireless device may select a HARQ process from the plurality of HARQ process for transmission of one or more transport via resources of a configured grant of the configured grants. The second configuration parameters may indicate (e.g., the second configuration parameters or the second configuration parameters along with an activation DCI) radio resources of the configured grants on the unlicensed cell. The second configuration parameters may indicate one or more power control parameters and/or time domain resource allocation (e.g., periodicity and/or offset (e.g., with respect to a first SFN) and/or a bitmap indicating slots/symbols/subframes of the configured grants) and/or one or more repetition parameters (e.g., a number of repetitions), etc); and
a parameter related to a resource for transmission of the control information ([0548], the first configuration parameters may comprise bandwidth part configuration parameters. The bandwidth part configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of bandwidth parts of the unlicensed cell. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology corresponding to the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate frequency domain location and bandwidth of the bandwidth part. In an example, configuration parameters of a bandwidth part of a cell may indicate a numerology and/or frequency domain location and bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing of the bandwidth part and/or a cyclic prefix (e.g., normal or extended cyclic prefix)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the periodic configured grants each determined based on a number of included parameters, as taught in Zhou, in the system of Bhamri, in order to improve network coverage and transmission efficiency of the wireless network. (See Zhou [0329])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641