DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 calls for the limitation “in which” in line 3, which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear which previously recited limitation the term is referring to.
Applicant is encouraged to recite “a housing for guiding the air flow, said housing comprising at least one defrost outlet, at least one ventilation outlet, and at least one footwell outlet
A similar issue is found in line 10 of claim 1, with the recitation “which is”.
Applicant is encouraged to recite “a cold air path bypassing the heat exchanger and a warm air path running through the heat exchanger lead downstream into a mixing space, wherein the mixing space is connected to the at least one defrost outlet, the at least one ventilation outlet, or a dashboard outlet, and the at least one footwell outlet;”
Claim 5 calls for the limitation “the open region” in lines 3-4, which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9 and 10 each call for the limitation “the open regions”, which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki (EP 1445133 A2).
Regarding claim 1:
Araki discloses a motor vehicle air conditioning system (Fig. 1) comprising
a fan (“air blower” discussed in para [0017]) to generate an air flow;
a housing #2 for guiding the air flow, the housing comprising at least one defrost outlet #13, at least one ventilation outlet #14, and at least one footwell outlet #15;
an evaporator #3 arranged in the housing and through which the air flow can flow ([0017]), and a heat exchanger #4 arranged in the housing and through which the air flow can flow downstream of the evaporator ([0017]), wherein, starting from a cold air space located downstream of the evaporator and upstream of the heat exchanger, a cold air path bypassing the heat exchanger and a warm air path running through the heat exchanger lead downstream into a mixing space ([0004] & Fig. 6: cool air bypass the heat exchanger; and warm air passes through the heat exchanger; and are mixed by baffle #11), wherein the mixing space is connect-ed to the at least one defrost outlet, the at least one ventilation outlet, or a dashboard outlet, and the at least one footwell outlet ([0004]);
an internal air guiding device #11 with a plurality of warm air ducts #21 (Fig. 6) at the end of the warm air path and at the entrance to the mixing space (Fig. 1), each of the warm air ducts being designed to guide warm air in a direction of the at least one defrost outlet, the at least one ventilation outlet, or the at least one footwell outlet (Fig. 1 & 6; [0004]), wherein the warm air ducts are each designed to be open on one side along a predominant part of a course of the warm air ducts in a longitudinal direction of the warm air ducts (best seen in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2:
Araki further discloses wherein the warm air ducts #21 are arranged separately from one another (Fig. 6), such that several of the warm air ducts do not originate from a common connection (see Fig. 6: #21 are separate and distinct from one another; and do not originate from a common connection).
Regarding claim 3:
Araki further discloses wherein the warm air ducts are arranged parallel to one another (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4:
Araki further discloses wherein a cross section of at least one open one of the warm air ducts is U-shaped (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5:
Araki further discloses wherein at least one of the warm air ducts, which is designed to guide warm air to the at least one defrost outlet, has an end region in which the at least one of the warm air duct is closed by a wall (see wall of #21 opposite the open end), whereby an open region of the at least one of the warm air duct ends (Fig. 6), the wall being adjacent to an outlet opening of the at least one of the warm air duct for guiding warm air to the at least one defrost outlet (see Fig. 1& 6; [0004]).
Regarding claim 6:
Araki further discloses wherein at least one of the warm air ducts, which is designed to guide warm air to the at least one ventilation outlet, has an end region continually enlarging up to an end face with the end face being completely or partially closed (see upper end region of #21; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7:
Araki further discloses wherein the end face is provided with an air outlet opening (see Fig. 1 & 6: the upper end of #21 is an air outlet opening to the regions #13 & #14).
Regarding claim 8:
Araki further discloses wherein at least one of the warm air ducts, which is designed to guide warm air to the at least one footwell outlet #15, has an end region continually enlarging up to an end face with the end face being completely or partially closed (see lower end region of #21; Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki (EP 1445133 A2) in view of Hisato (JP 2009227026 A).
Regarding claim 9:
Araki discloses all the limitations, except for wherein a baffle for introducing warm air into a respective one of the warm air ducts is formed on each of the open regions of the warm air ducts.
In the same field of endeavor, Hisato teaches wherein a baffle #24b for introducing warm air into a respective one of the warm air ducts #24a is formed on each of the open regions of the warm air ducts (see Fig. 1-2 & 6; [0061).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Araki with a baffle for introducing warm air into a respective one of the warm air ducts formed on each of the open regions of the warm air ducts; in a similar manner as taught by Hisato.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have guided the warm airflow in a predetermined direction as suggested by Hisato ([0019]); thereby, improving the air transport efficiency.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki (EP 1445133 A2) in view of Jeong (US 20200406703 A1).
Regarding claim 10:
Araki discloses all the limitations, except for wherein a common baffle is arranged for introducing warm air into the warm air ducts over an entire width of the air guiding device and the open regions of the warm air ducts.
In the same field of endeavor, Jeong teaches wherein a common baffle #130 is arranged for introducing warm air into the warm air ducts #110 over an entire width of the air guiding device #100 and the open regions of the warm air ducts ([0033]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Araki with a common baffle arranged for introducing warm air into the warm air ducts over an entire width of the air guiding device and the open regions of the warm air ducts; in a similar manner as taught by Jeong.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have guided the warm airflow in a predetermined direction; thereby, improving the air transport efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Furuzumi (US 20140087646 A1), Vincent (US 20030042011 A1), and Vincent (US 20020157811 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763