DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 31-45 are currently pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 appears to contain a typographical error and should read “GF109203X, and any”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-38, 40-42, 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishikawa, KI., Nonaka, R., Akamatsu, W. (2021). Differentiation of Midbrain Dopaminergic Neurons from Human iPS Cells. In: Imai, Y. (eds) Experimental Models of Parkinson’s Disease. Methods in Molecular Biology, vol 2322. Humana, New York, NY. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-0716-1495-2_8 (hereinafter Ishikawa).
Regarding claims 31-38, 40-41, Ishikawa discloses methods of producing dopaminergic cells for therapeutic applications (Abstract). Ishikawa discloses retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) cells in a neural differentiation media comprising Neurobasal® medium supplemented with B27, 2 mM l-glutamine, 1mM sodium pyruvate, 0.1 mM 2-mercaptoethanol, 100 nM LDN193189, 10 μM CHIR99021, 10 μM SB431542, and 4 μM Y-27632 (Induction of dopamine-producing cells from RPE cells).
Regarding claim 42, Ishikawa discloses that the media does not comprise either FGF8 or FGF2 (Induction of dopamine-producing cells from RPE cells).
Regarding claim 45, Ishikawa discloses that the culture media is composed of Neurobasal® medium supplemented with chemically defined components (Induction of dopamine-producing cells from RPE cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied 31-38, 40-42, 45 above.
Regarding claim 43, Ishikawa does not disclose that the glutamine is present at a concentration of about 0.1% to about 5% by volume. However, Ishikawa discloses that l-glutamine in utilized in the culture media at a concentration of about 2mM. Generally differences in concentration will not support the patentability in the absence of evidence demonstrating criticality. MPEP § 2144.05. Therefore, the claimed concentrations are considered to be obviated by Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 44, Ishikawa does not disclose that the antioxidant is present at a concentration of about 5 µg/mL to about 200 µg/mL. However, Ishikawa discloses that the media comprises sodium pyruvate at a concentration of about 1 mM. Generally differences in concentration will not support the patentability in the absence of evidence demonstrating criticality. MPEP § 2144.05. Therefore, the claimed concentrations are considered to be obviated by Ishikawa.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied 31-38, 40-42, 45 above and in view of B-27 Supplement (50X). Datasheet [online]. Gibco, 2018 [retrieved on 2016-06-13]. Retrieved from the Internet:<URL: https://documents.thermofisher.com/TFS-Assets/LSG/manuals/B27_Supplement_man.pdf> (hereinafter B27).
Regarding claim 39, Ishikawa does not disclose that the B27 is present at a concentration of about 0.1% to 20% by volume. However, Ishikawa discloses that culture media comprises B27. As evidenced by B27, the supplement is routinely utilized at a concentration of about 2% by volume for neuronal cultures. Therefore, a skilled artisan would understand that B27 could be utilized in the methods of Ishikawa at well-known concentrations for neuronal cultures.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632