DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 21, 39 and 40 recite a method, a system and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media, respectively, for monitoring a property. The limitation of “determining, using the image data, whether the image data depicts the human changing their apparel”, as drafted, comprises a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “one or more computers” in claims 39 and 40, nothing in the claims precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the recitation of generic computer components, the step of determining in the context of this claim encompasses a user of a monitoring system mentally assessing whether or not a person approaching a property is changing their apparel while viewing video/images of the person. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The “one or more computers” are recited at a high level of generality, such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additionally recited elements (i.e., obtaining image data, performing a monitoring system action) amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activities of data gathering and outputting information. Furthermore, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using one or more computers to perform the “determining” step amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, independent claims 21, 39 and 40 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 22-38 are additionally rejected under 35 USC 101 because they recite additional elements which amount to further mental processes of visual analysis and decision making, and/or insignificant extra-solution activities such as data gathering and outputting information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26, 28-32, 35 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PG PUB. 2018/0247504 A1 (hereinafter “Siminoff”; applicant-submitted prior art).
Regarding claim 21, Siminoff discloses a method (Fig. 20) comprising:
obtaining, from a camera of a monitoring system that is configured to monitor a property, image data depicting a human (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Step 2005; “based on received image data (block 2005) of a person within the field of view of a camera 154 of an A/V recording and communication device 130”);
determining, using the image data, whether the image data depicts the human changing their apparel (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Step 2010; “determine…that the person has used an object to obscure or partially obscure their face, at block 2010…In any event, in accordance with the present embodiments”); and
in response to determining that the image data depicts the human changing their apparel, performing a monitoring system action using data representing the change in apparel (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Step 2020; “if the process determines that a person is in the field of view of the camera, but that the person's face is obscured, or is obscured for some predetermined period of time, or that the person's face is obscured at the time that the person activates the doorbell, a suspicious person warning flag may be set, at block 2015, and an alert may be generated and transmitted, at block 2020. The alert may be sent to one or more client devices associated with the A/V recording and communication device 130, and/or to a law enforcement agency, local police department, private security agency, etc.”).
Regarding claim 22, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the change in apparel comprises applying a clothing item or removing a clothing item, wherein performing the monitoring system action using the data representing the change in apparel is responsive to determining that the change in apparel comprises applying the clothing item or removing the clothing item (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Steps 2010-2020; “determine, based on received image data (block 2005) of a person within the field of view of a camera 154 of an A/V recording and communication device 130, that the person has used an object to obscure or partially obscure their face, at block 2010. Such obscuring items may include items that are immediately suspicious, such as a ski mask…Other items that may be suspicious, depending upon the circumstances, are a hooded sweatshirt covering a person's head or face on warm days, or the wearing of sunglasses at night…if the process determines that a person is in the field of view of the camera, but that the person's face is obscured, or is obscured for some predetermined period of time, or that the person's face is obscured at the time that the person activates the doorbell, a suspicious person warning flag may be set, at block 2015, and an alert may be generated and transmitted, at block 2020.”).
Regarding claim 23, claim 22 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the clothing item comprises one or more of a mask, eyewear, a handkerchief, a scarf, or a hat (Siminoff, ¶0143; “determine, based on received image data (block 2005) of a person within the field of view of a camera 154 of an A/V recording and communication device 130, that the person has used an object to obscure or partially obscure their face, at block 2010. Such obscuring items may include items that are immediately suspicious, such as a ski mask…Other items that may be suspicious, depending upon the circumstances, are a hooded sweatshirt covering a person's head or face on warm days, or the wearing of sunglasses at night…”).
Regarding claim 24, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the change in apparel comprises applying a face covering or removing a face covering (Siminoff, ¶0143; “determine, based on received image data (block 2005) of a person within the field of view of a camera 154 of an A/V recording and communication device 130, that the person has used an object to obscure or partially obscure their face, at block 2010. Such obscuring items may include items that are immediately suspicious, such as a ski mask…”).
Regarding claim 25, claim 24 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action using the data representing the change in apparel is responsive to determining that the change in apparel comprises applying the face covering or removing the face covering (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Steps 2010-2020; “if the process determines that a person is in the field of view of the camera, but that the person's face is obscured, or is obscured for some predetermined period of time, or that the person's face is obscured at the time that the person activates the doorbell, a suspicious person warning flag may be set, at block 2015, and an alert may be generated and transmitted, at block 2020.”).
Regarding claim 26, claim 24 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the face covering comprises one or more of a mask, eyewear, a handkerchief, a scarf, a hat, or a body part (Siminoff, ¶0143; “determine, based on received image data (block 2005) of a person within the field of view of a camera 154 of an A/V recording and communication device 130, that the person has used an object to obscure or partially obscure their face, at block 2010. Such obscuring items may include items that are immediately suspicious, such as a ski mask…Other items that may be suspicious, depending upon the circumstances, are a hooded sweatshirt covering a person's head or face on warm days, or the wearing of sunglasses at night…”).
Regarding claim 28, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises generating visual data using the data representing the change in apparel (Siminoff, ¶0153; “audio and/or video data is transmitted (streamed) from the A/V recording and communication device 130 to the user's client device 114 via the user's network 110 and the network 112. The streaming video may include images of the person(s) who was/were determined to have been unauthorized.”).
Regarding claim 29, claim 28 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises providing the visual data to one or more display devices (Siminoff, ¶0055, 0153; “The user's client device 114 comprises a display (not shown) and related components capable of displaying streaming and/or recorded video images” wherein “audio and/or video data is transmitted (streamed) from the A/V recording and communication device 130 to the user's client device 114 via the user's network 110 and the network 112. The streaming video may include images of the person(s) who was/were determined to have been unauthorized.”).
Regarding claim 30, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises generating audio data using the data representing the change in apparel (Siminoff, ¶0153-0154; “the alert may comprise an audible alarm emitted from the speaker 152 of the A/V recording and communication device 130. The audible alarm may be any loud noise likely to attract attention and/or startle the suspicious person”).
Regarding claim 31, claim 30 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises providing the audio data to one or more speakers at the property (Siminoff, ¶0153-0154; “the alert may comprise an audible alarm emitted from the speaker 152 of the A/V recording and communication device 130. The audible alarm may be any loud noise likely to attract attention and/or startle the suspicious person”).
Regarding claim 32, claim 30 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the audio data comprises data for an audible alarm (Siminoff, ¶0154; “the alert may comprise an audible alarm”).
Regarding claim 35, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein performing the monitoring system action using the data representing the change in apparel comprises providing a notification to emergency response personnel, wherein the emergency response personnel comprise one or more of security personnel, law enforcement personnel, firefighting personnel, or medical personnel (Siminoff, ¶0143, Fig. 20, Step 2020; “The alert may be sent to one or more client devices associated with the A/V recording and communication device 130, and/or to a law enforcement agency, local police department, private security agency, etc.”).
Regarding claim 38, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff further discloses wherein the image data includes a plurality of image frames including: at least one image frame depicting the human before the change in apparel; and at least one image frame depicting the human after the change in apparel (Siminoff ¶0143; “if the process determines that a person is in the field of view of the camera, but that the person's face…is obscured for some predetermined period of time, or that the person's face is obscured at the time that the person activates the doorbell”).
Claim 39 recites a system having features corresponding to method claim 21, the rejection of which is applicable here, and Siminoff further discloses one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions executable by the one or more computers (Siminoff, ¶0168-0169).
Claim 40 recites one or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions having features corresponding to method claim 21, the rejection of which is applicable here, and Siminoff further discloses one or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with instructions executable (Siminoff, ¶0168-0170).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff, as applied to claim 21 above, in view of US PG Pub. 2007/0014439 A1 (hereinafter “Ando”; applicant-submitted prior art).
Regarding claim 33, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff does not expressly teach the limitations as further claimed, but, in an analogous field of endeavor, Ando does as follows.
Ando teaches determining, using the data representing the change in apparel, a malicious intent score of the human, wherein the malicious intent score indicates a likelihood that the human has a malicious intent; and performing the monitoring system action using a) the data representing the change in apparel and b) the malicious intent score (Ando, ¶0124-0127, 0304, 0312-0313, Fig. 24; “the suspicious individual detecting unit 112 computes the degree of suspiciousness of the identified approaching individual to judge whether the approaching individual is a suspicious individual or not. The suspicious individual detecting unit 112 further detects a disguised suspicious individual, who is an approaching individual with face covered with a ski mask, hood of a jacket, full-face helmet or the like…The suspicious individual detecting unit 112 supplies the coping operation unit 113 with information on the approaching individual, which includes the classification of approaching individuals (usage-authorized individuals, approach-authorized individuals, previously detected individuals, or previously undetected individuals), degree of suspiciousness, or judgment results on whether the approaching individual is a suspicious individual or not (referred to as “approaching individual detection information” hereinafter)”).
Ando is considered analogous art because it pertains to a surveillance system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Siminoff to include a step of performing a monitoring system action based on a degree of suspiciousness determined from a detection that the face of the approaching individual is covered, as taught by Ando, in order to more accurately identify the presence of a suspicious individual and prevent against occurrence of damage against a target of the monitoring (Ando, ¶0055-0056).
Regarding claim 34, claim 33 is incorporated, and Ando in the combination further teaches determining that the malicious intent score satisfies a malicious intent score threshold, wherein performing the monitoring system action using a) the data representing the change in apparel and b) the malicious intent score is responsive to determining that the malicious intent score satisfies the malicious intent score threshold (Ando, ¶0347; “If the degree of suspiciousness of the approaching individual is a predetermined threshold (for example, 10) or more, the suspiciousness degree judgment unit 311 judges that the approaching individual is a suspicious individual”).
Regarding claim 36, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff does not expressly teach the limitations as further claimed, but, in an analogous field of endeavor, Ando does as follows.
Ando teaches wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises preventing the human from accessing the property (Ando, ¶0107, 0167; "The monitoring system 11 further controls operation of the target of monitoring and cautions, warns, and intimidates the suspicious individual to cause the suspicious individual to stay away from the target of monitoring in order to prevent the occurrence and expansion of damage against a target of monitoring by the suspicious individual.").
Ando is considered analogous art because it pertains to a surveillance system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Siminoff to include a monitoring system action comprising preventing a suspicious individual from entering a target of monitoring based on a determination that the face of the approaching individual is covered, as taught by Ando, in order to more efficiently prevent against occurrence and expansion of damage against a target of the monitoring (Ando, ¶0055-0056).
Regarding claim 37, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff does not expressly teach the limitations as further claimed, but, in an analogous field of endeavor, Ando does as follows.
Ando teaches wherein performing the monitoring system action comprises permitting the human to access the property (Ando, ¶0109-0111, 0128, 0174-0175, 0349, 0353; "The coping operation unit 113 further uses the command from the user to cause the authorized individual information recording unit 115 to record the information on the approaching individual, which is recorded on the approach information recording unit 116, and registers the detected approaching individual as the usage- authorized individual or approach-authorized individual.").
Ando is considered analogous art because it pertains to a surveillance system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Siminoff to include a monitoring system action comprising allowing an individual access to a monitored target property based on a determination that the approaching individual is not suspicious, as taught by Ando, in order to more efficiently prevent against occurrence and expansion of damage against a target of the monitoring (Ando, ¶0055-0056).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siminoff, as applied to claim 21 above, in view of US PG Pub. 2018/0137362 A1 (hereinafter “Danielsson”).
Regarding claim 27, claim 21 is incorporated, and Siminoff does not expressly teach the limitations as further claimed, but, in an analogous field of endeavor, Danielsson does as follows.
Danielsson teaches wherein determining, using the image data, whether the image data depicts the human changing their apparel comprises providing the image data as input to a classifier trained to identify instances of apparel change (Danielsson, ¶0034-0044; “Action recognition in a video sequence is the task of detecting one or more predefined types of actions in the video sequence. Examples of predefined types of actions are…suspicious behavior detection (e.g. detection of anomalous or unusual behavior)… A first action recognition algorithm is run on the digital network camera 100 for finding action candidates and a second action recognition algorithm is run on the server 200 for verifying or rejecting that the action candidate is an actual action.” – The second action recognition algorithm (implemented via trained neural network) is read here as the claimed “classifier trained to identify instances of apparel change”).
Danielsson is considered analogous art because it pertains to suspicious action detection in surveillance video. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Siminoff to include inputting the image data into an action recognizer trained on a predetermined type of action, as taught by Danielsson, in order to more accurately verify that a suspicious action has occurred in the video (Danielsson, ¶0034).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references pertain generally to face concealment detection and/or suspicious behavior recognition in surveillance video.
Contact Information
/SAMAH A BEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676