DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/625,340 filed on 04/03/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application a continuation of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/123797, filed October 8, 2022, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202111171937.1, filed October 8, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8 – 10, 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GODIN et al. (GODIN hereinafter referred to GODIN) (US 2024/0073649 A1, relied on filing date of US Provisional application no. 63/135,051 that properly supports all citation).
Regarding claim 6, GODIN teaches a method (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) for processing a multicast service (Abstract, Network devices and a method for providing a session management function (SMF)-centric multicast and broadcast services (MBS) activation), comprising:
receiving, by a second core network function (Fig.5, AMF 210), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message; Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, the information in the activate message is considered as first area information), and
performing, by the second core network function, a first operation based on the first area information (Fig.5 and [0116], in operation S1060, the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message),
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
selecting a first terminal;
sending information about a first terminal to a first core network function;
selecting a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
selecting a first radio access network (RAN) node.
Regarding claim 16, GODIN teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
a second core network function (Fig.4 and [0102], core network device is a network function (NF) device, such as AMF), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (Fig.4 and [103], memory 4300 may include various program code including computer executable instructions); and a processor (Fig.4 and [0103], processor 4100) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 6 (Fig.4 and [0104], processor 4100, is configured to control one or more elements of the core network device 4000, and thereby cause the core network device 4000 to perform various operations).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, GODIN teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first terminal is located in an area indicated by the first area information (Fig.5 and [0115], the activate message includes at least one of the MBS session identifier information, a group paging identifier …, a list of deactivated UEs associated with the receiving AMF. Here, one of the deactivated UE is considered as a first terminal, which is located in an area indicated by the first area information) and comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
a UE in a connected state; or
a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0003], UE device to an idle state and/or deactivated state (e.g., the RAN node moves the UE device to an RRC inactive mode and/or an RRC idle mode, etc.). here, the deactivated state of first terminal is the RRC inactive state).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, GODIN teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first RNA node comprises RAN nodes within the paging area ([0015], the AMF network device is caused to determine the first MBS group paging area, determine the at least one first RAN node associated with the at least one first MBS group paging area; Fig.5 and [0119], AMF 210 transmits a single MBS group paging message to each of the RAN nodes (e.g., RAN node 110) included in the determined MBS group paging area. Here, the RAN nodes are within the paging area); or
the first RNA node is used to send a paging message Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, GODIN teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first core network function comprises a Session Management Function (SMF) (Fig.5, SMF 220), and the second core network function comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig.5, AMF 210).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 17 and 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODIN in view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2024/0188185 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GODIN teaches a method (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) for processing a multicast service (Abstract, Network devices and a method for providing a session management function (SMF)-centric multicast and broadcast services (MBS) activation), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.5, SMF 220), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message) to a second core network function (Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, AMF 210 is a second core network function and the information in the activate message is considered as first area information),
wherein the first area information is used for at least one of the following processes (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the second core network function selects a first terminal;
the second core network function sends information about a first terminal to the first core network function;
the second core network function selects a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
the second core network function selects a first radio access network (RAN) node.
GODIN does not specifically teach
sending, by a first core network function, first area information to a second core network function when a multicast session or service is active.
However, LI teaches a method (Title, DATA COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.6, MB-SMF), first area information to a second core network function (Fig.6, SMF) when a multicast session or service is active ([0133], When the session status is an activated state, the multicast and broadcast session management function sends the information about the service area of the MBS to the session management function; Fig.6 and [0186], when a multicast session of a local MBS is in an active state, the MB-SMF performs S601. Here, the information about the service area is considered as first area information),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, GODIN teaches (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) a first core network function (Fig.4 and [0102], core network device is a network function (NF) device, such as SMF), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (Fig.4 and [103], memory 4300 may include various program code including computer executable instructions); and a processor (Fig.4 and [0103], processor 4100) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations ((Fig.4 and [0104], processor 4100, is configured to control one or more elements of the core network device 4000, and thereby cause the core network device 4000 to perform various operations), comprising:
sending, by the first core network function (Fig.5, SMF 220), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message) to a second core network function (Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, AMF 210 is a second core network function and the information in the activate message is considered as first area information),
wherein the first area information is used for at least one of the following processes (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the second core network function selects a first terminal;
the second core network function sends information about a first terminal to the first core network function;
the second core network function selects a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculate a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
the second core network function selects a first radio access network (RAN) node.
GODIN does not specifically teach
sending, by the first core network function, first area information to a second core network function when a multicast session or service is active.
However, LI teaches a method (Title, DATA COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.6, MB-SMF), first area information to a second core network function (Fig.6, SMF) when a multicast session or service is active ([0133], When the session status is an activated state, the multicast and broadcast session management function sends the information about the service area of the MBS to the session management function; Fig.6 and [0186], when a multicast session of a local MBS is in an active state, the MB-SMF performs S601. Here, the information about the service area is considered as first area information),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, combination of GODIN and LI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity.
However, LI teaches
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity ([0084] and [0114], the service area of the MBS is indicated by using an element, e.g., a cell identity list and/or a tracking area identity list (TAI list) of the multicast session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of GODIN and LI as mentioned in claims 1 and 11 and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, combination of GODIN and LI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first terminal is located in an area indicated by the first area information (Fig.5 and [0115], the activate message includes at least one of the MBS session identifier information, a group paging identifier …, a list of deactivated UEs associated with the receiving AMF. Here, one of the deactivated UE is considered as a first terminal, which is located in an area indicated by the first area information) and comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
a UE in a connected state; or
a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0003], UE device to an idle state and/or deactivated state (e.g., the RAN node moves the UE device to an RRC inactive mode and/or an RRC idle mode, etc.). here, the deactivated state of first terminal is the RRC inactive state).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, combination of GODIN and LI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first RNA node comprises RAN nodes within the paging area ([0015], the AMF network device is caused to determine the first MBS group paging area, determine the at least one first RAN node associated with the at least one first MBS group paging area; Fig.5 and [0119], AMF 210 transmits a single MBS group paging message to each of the RAN nodes (e.g., RAN node 110) included in the determined MBS group paging area. Here, the RAN nodes are within the paging area); or
the first RNA node is used to send a paging message (Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, combination of GODIN and LI teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first core network function comprises a Session Management Function (SMF) (Fig.5, SMF 220), and the second core network function comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig.5, AMF 210).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, GODIN teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity.
However, LI teaches
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity ([0084] and [0114], the service area of the MBS is indicated by using an element, e.g., a cell identity list and/or a tracking area identity list (TAI list) of the multicast session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned in claims 6 and 16 and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LI et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0219106 A1) – “MULTICAST/BROADCAST SERVICE TRANSMISSION METHOD, CORE NETWORK ELEMENT, AND TERMINAL DEVICE” discloses a first core network element includes: obtaining a multicast/broadcast access type supported by a terminal device that is located in a first service area of a multicast/broadcast service and that belongs to a group corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service; determining a multicast/broadcast transmission type of the multicast/broadcast service in the first service area based on the multicast/broadcast access type supported by the terminal device; and notifying an access network element corresponding to the multicast/broadcast service to use the multicast/broadcast transmission type to transmit data of the multicast/broadcast service.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474