DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to amendment filed on 06/04/2026.
Claims 1, 6 and 11 are amended.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/04/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 6 and 11 . The amendments have changed the scope of the claims; therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made in view of previously cited prior art GODIN et al. (US 2024/0073649 A1) and a new prior art Hyun et al. (US 8,064,820 B2) for claim 6 and in view of previously cited prior arts GODIN et al., LI et al. (US 2024/0188185 A1) and the new prior art Hyun et al. for claims 1 & 11.
Applicant argued on page 2: 3rd and 4th paragraphs of the remark, that Godin fails to disclose that the AMF 210 receives "first area information," wherein "the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service," as recited in amended claim 6. According to applicant, “Since Godin does not disclose each and every limitation of amended claim 6, Godin does not anticipate claim 6 as amended. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 6 is allowable over Godin".
Examiner respectfully agrees that GODIN does not teach the new limitation in the currently amended independent claim 6; but respectfully disagrees with applicant’s comments and conclusion. The new prior art Hyun discloses the limitation in question. Hyun teaches in Fig. 5 and col.10:line 19 – 21 that UTRAN transmits a virtual IGMP or MLD for a service announcement multicast service and transmits a service announcement area ID at step S402. Further claim 24 discloses that the radio access network control node requests MBMS multicast activation for service announcement by transmitting a service announcement area ID. Here, the service announcement area ID is a first area information received from the UTRAN. Hyun also discloses in col.10: line 42 – 43 that a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) is activated at step S403. Through the MBMS activation step S403, a multicast tree is formed. Claim 19 also states that broadcast multicast service center (BM-SC) performs a process of activating a MBMS multicast service for service announcement and performs a session setting procedure for setting a MBMS multicast bearer for transferring a service announcement document to a corresponding service announcement area. Here, regarding Fig.5, the MBMS is activated ($403) after receiving the first area information ($402); therefore, the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast service. Thus, Hyun teaches the new limitation of the claim. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 4: 3rd paragraph of the remark, that Godin and Li, either alone or in combination, do not render amended independent claim 1 obvious, and Applicant thus respectfully submits that amended independent claim 1 is allowable over Godin and Li.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. Examiner agrees that the combination of Godin and Li does not teach the new limitation in the currently amended independent claim 1; but the new prior art Hyun discloses the limitation in question as mentioned above. Detailed is described in the rejection section below. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant argued on page 4: 4th paragraph of the remark, that amended independent claim 11 is likewise allowable over Godin and Li because it recites limitations similar to those of amended independent claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remark. Since, claim 11 recites limitations similar to those of amended independent claim 1, therefore same rational applies to it. Accordingly claim 11 is not allowable over Godin, Li and Hyun. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not appropriate.
Applicant argued on page 4: 5th paragraph of the remark, regarding dependent claims. According to applicant, dependent claims are allowable over Godin and Li at least by virtue of their dependency from their respective base claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks and conclusion. Since, the independent claims 1, 6 and 11 are not allowable, therefore, the dependent claims are not patentable by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not proper.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with all the arguments filed by the applicant. All arguments and remarks are replied in detail in the rejection section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8 – 10, 16 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODIN et al. (GODIN hereinafter referred to GODIN) (US 2024/0073649 A1, relied on filing date of US Provisional application no. 63/135,051 that properly supports all citation) in view of Hyun et al. (Hyun hereinafter referred to Hyun) (US 8,064,820 B2).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 6, GODIN teaches a method (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) for processing a multicast service (Abstract, Network devices and a method for providing a session management function (SMF)-centric multicast and broadcast services (MBS) activation), comprising:
receiving, by a second core network function (Fig.5, AMF 210), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message; Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, the information in the activate message is considered as first area information), and
performing, by the second core network function, a first operation based on the first area information (Fig.5 and [0116], in operation S1060, the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message),
wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
selecting a first terminal;
sending information about a first terminal to a first core network function;
selecting a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
selecting a first radio access network (RAN) node.
GODIN does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service.
However, Hyun teaches a method (Title, Method And System For Service Announcement Using MBMS Multicast Bearer), comprising:
receiving, first area information (Fig. 5 and Col.10: line 19 – 21, UTRAN transmits a virtual IGMP or MLD for a service announcement multicast service and transmits a service announcement area ID at step S402; Claim 24, the radio access network control node requests MBMS multicast activation for service announcement by transmitting a service announcement area ID. Here, the service announcement area ID is a first area information received from the UTRAN);
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service (Fig.5 and Col.10: line 42 – 43, a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) is activated at step S403. Through the MBMS activation step S403, a multicast tree is formed. Claim 19, broadcast multicast service center (BM-SC) performs a process of activating a MBMS multicast service for service announcement and performs a session setting procedure for setting a MBMS multicast bearer for transferring a service announcement document to a corresponding service announcement area. Here, regarding Fig.5, the MBMS is activated ($403) after receiving the first area information ($402); therefore, the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and system for service that can announce only available MBMS to a corresponding service using a scheme of processing a MBMS multicast service in a MBMS frame work. Accordingly, radio resources are saved by removing unnecessary information to transmit, and supplementary processes for selecting available services from a received service announcement document is simplified (Hyun, Col.4: line 31 – 38).
(Original) Regarding claim 16, GODIN and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
a second core network function (Fig.4 and [0102], core network device is a network function (NF) device, such as AMF), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (Fig.4 and [103], memory 4300 may include various program code including computer executable instructions); and a processor (Fig.4 and [0103], processor 4100) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform the method according to claim 6 (Fig.4 and [0104], processor 4100, is configured to control one or more elements of the core network device 4000, and thereby cause the core network device 4000 to perform various operations).
(Original) Regarding claims 8 and 18, GODIN and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first terminal is located in an area indicated by the first area information (Fig.5 and [0115], the activate message includes at least one of the MBS session identifier information, a group paging identifier …, a list of deactivated UEs associated with the receiving AMF. Here, one of the deactivated UE is considered as a first terminal, which is located in an area indicated by the first area information) and comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
a UE in a connected state; or
a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0003], UE device to an idle state and/or deactivated state (e.g., the RAN node moves the UE device to an RRC inactive mode and/or an RRC idle mode, etc.). here, the deactivated state of first terminal is the RRC inactive state).
(Original) Regarding claims 9 and 19, GODIN and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first RNA node comprises RAN nodes within the paging area ([0015], the AMF network device is caused to determine the first MBS group paging area, determine the at least one first RAN node associated with the at least one first MBS group paging area; Fig.5 and [0119], AMF 210 transmits a single MBS group paging message to each of the RAN nodes (e.g., RAN node 110) included in the determined MBS group paging area. Here, the RAN nodes are within the paging area); or
the first RNA node is used to send a paging message Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
(Original) Regarding claims 10 and 20, GODIN and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first core network function comprises a Session Management Function (SMF) (Fig.5, SMF 220), and the second core network function comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig.5, AMF 210).
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 17 and 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GODIN in view of LI et al. (LI hereinafter referred to LI) (US 2024/0188185 A1) and further in view of Hyun.
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 1, GODIN teaches a method (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) for processing a multicast service (Abstract, Network devices and a method for providing a session management function (SMF)-centric multicast and broadcast services (MBS) activation), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.5, SMF 220), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message) to a second core network function (Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, AMF 210 is a second core network function and the information in the activate message is considered as first area information),
wherein the first area information is used for at least one of the following processes (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the second core network function selects a first terminal;
the second core network function sends information about a first terminal to the first core network function;
the second core network function selects a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculates a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
the second core network function selects a first radio access network (RAN) node.
GODIN does not specifically teach
sending, by a first core network function, first area information to a second core network function when a multicast session or service is active.
However, LI teaches a method (Title, DATA COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.6, MB-SMF), first area information to a second core network function (Fig.6, SMF) when a multicast session or service is active ([0133], When the session status is an activated state, the multicast and broadcast session management function sends the information about the service area of the MBS to the session management function; Fig.6 and [0186], when a multicast session of a local MBS is in an active state, the MB-SMF performs S601. Here, the information about the service area is considered as first area information),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
The combination of GODIN and LI does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service.
However, Hyun teaches a method (Title, Method And System For Service Announcement Using MBMS Multicast Bearer), comprising:
sending, first area information (Fig. 5 and Col.10: line 19 – 21, UTRAN transmits a virtual IGMP or MLD for a service announcement multicast service and transmits a service announcement area ID at step S402; Claim 24, the radio access network control node requests MBMS multicast activation for service announcement by transmitting a service announcement area ID. Here, the service announcement area ID is a first area information is sending from the UTRAN);
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service (Fig.5 and Col.10: line 42 – 43, a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) is activated at step S403. Through the MBMS activation step S403, a multicast tree is formed. Claim 19, broadcast multicast service center (BM-SC) performs a process of activating a MBMS multicast service for service announcement and performs a session setting procedure for setting a MBMS multicast bearer for transferring a service announcement document to a corresponding service announcement area. Here, regarding Fig.5, the MBMS is activated ($403) after receiving the first area information ($402); therefore, the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of GODIN and LI as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and system for service that can announce only available MBMS to a corresponding service using a scheme of processing a MBMS multicast service in a MBMS frame work. Accordingly, radio resources are saved by removing unnecessary information to transmit, and supplementary processes for selecting available services from a received service announcement document is simplified (Hyun, Col.4: line 31 – 38).
(Currently Amended) Regarding claim 11, GODIN teaches (Title, SMF-CENTRIC MBS ACTIVATION WITH GROUP PAGING) a first core network function (Fig.4 and [0102], core network device is a network function (NF) device, such as SMF), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (Fig.4 and [103], memory 4300 may include various program code including computer executable instructions); and a processor (Fig.4 and [0103], processor 4100) coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations ((Fig.4 and [0104], processor 4100, is configured to control one or more elements of the core network device 4000, and thereby cause the core network device 4000 to perform various operations), comprising:
sending, by the first core network function (Fig.5, SMF 220), first area information ([0116], information included in AMF MBS activate message) to a second core network function (Fig.5, S1050. [0115], SMF 220 transmits an activate message to each of the determined and/or identified AMFs, e.g., AMF 210. Here, AMF 210 is a second core network function and the information in the activate message is considered as first area information),
wherein the first area information is used for at least one of the following processes (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only):
the second core network function selects a first terminal;
the second core network function sends information about a first terminal to the first core network function;
the second core network function selects a paging area (Fig.5 and [0116], the AMF 210 determines and/or calculate a group paging area for the deactivated UEs based on the information included in the AMF MBS activate message; [0026], the AMF MBS activate message causing the at least one AMF network device to trigger a group paging of the at least one UE device. Here, the AMF determines/ selects a group paging area based on the activate message); or
the second core network function selects a first radio access network (RAN) node.
GODIN does not specifically teach
sending, by the first core network function, first area information to a second core network function when a multicast session or service is active.
However, LI teaches a method (Title, DATA COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS), comprising:
sending, by a first core network function (Fig.6, MB-SMF), first area information to a second core network function (Fig.6, SMF) when a multicast session or service is active ([0133], When the session status is an activated state, the multicast and broadcast session management function sends the information about the service area of the MBS to the session management function; Fig.6 and [0186], when a multicast session of a local MBS is in an active state, the MB-SMF performs S601. Here, the information about the service area is considered as first area information),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
The combination of GODIN and LI does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service.
However, Hyun teaches a method (Title, Method And System For Service Announcement Using MBMS Multicast Bearer), comprising:
sending, first area information (Fig. 5 and Col.10: line 19 – 21, UTRAN transmits a virtual IGMP or MLD for a service announcement multicast service and transmits a service announcement area ID at step S402; Claim 24, the radio access network control node requests MBMS multicast activation for service announcement by transmitting a service announcement area ID. Here, the service announcement area ID is a first area information is sent from the UTRAN);
wherein the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast session or service (Fig.5 and Col.10: line 42 – 43, a broadcast/multicast service (MBMS) is activated at step S403. Through the MBMS activation step S403, a multicast tree is formed. Claim 19, broadcast multicast service center (BM-SC) performs a process of activating a MBMS multicast service for service announcement and performs a session setting procedure for setting a MBMS multicast bearer for transferring a service announcement document to a corresponding service announcement area. Here, regarding Fig.5, the MBMS is activated ($403) after receiving the first area information ($402); therefore, the first area information is area information for activation of a multicast service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide method and system for service that can announce only available MBMS to a corresponding service using a scheme of processing a MBMS multicast service in a MBMS frame work. Accordingly, radio resources are saved by removing unnecessary information to transmit, and supplementary processes for selecting available services from a received service announcement document is simplified (Hyun, Col.4: line 31 – 38).
(Original) Regarding claims 2 and 12, combination of GODIN, LI and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity.
However, LI teaches
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity ([0084] and [0114], the service area of the MBS is indicated by using an element, e.g., a cell identity list and/or a tracking area identity list (TAI list) of the multicast session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of GODIN, LI and Hyun as mentioned in claims 1 and 11 and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
(Original) Regarding claims 3 and 13, combination of GODIN, LI and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first terminal is located in an area indicated by the first area information (Fig.5 and [0115], the activate message includes at least one of the MBS session identifier information, a group paging identifier …, a list of deactivated UEs associated with the receiving AMF. Here, one of the deactivated UE is considered as a first terminal, which is located in an area indicated by the first area information) and comprises at least one of the following (Due to alternative language “at least one of” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only):
a UE in a connected state; or
a UE in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0003], UE device to an idle state and/or deactivated state (e.g., the RAN node moves the UE device to an RRC inactive mode and/or an RRC idle mode, etc.). here, the deactivated state of first terminal is the RRC inactive state).
(Original) Regarding claims 4 and 14, combination of GODIN, LI and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first RNA node comprises RAN nodes within the paging area ([0015], the AMF network device is caused to determine the first MBS group paging area, determine the at least one first RAN node associated with the at least one first MBS group paging area; Fig.5 and [0119], AMF 210 transmits a single MBS group paging message to each of the RAN nodes (e.g., RAN node 110) included in the determined MBS group paging area. Here, the RAN nodes are within the paging area); or
the first RNA node is used to send a paging message (Due to alternative language “or” in the claims, examiner addresses one limitation only).
(Original) Regarding claims 5 and 15, combination of GODIN, LI and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN further teaches
wherein the first core network function comprises a Session Management Function (SMF) (Fig.5, SMF 220), and the second core network function comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig.5, AMF 210).
(Original) Regarding claims 7 and 17, GODIN and Hyun teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 16, respectively as outlined above.
GODIN does not specifically teach
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity.
However, LI teaches
wherein the first area information comprises at least one of the following:
at least one cell identity; or
at least one tracking area identity ([0084] and [0114], the service area of the MBS is indicated by using an element, e.g., a cell identity list and/or a tracking area identity list (TAI list) of the multicast session).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified GODIN and Hyun as mentioned in claims 6 and 16 and further incorporate the teaching of LI. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a data communication method and an apparatus, to reduce a waste of transmission resources, and improve a success rate of sending data of an MBS (LI, Title and [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474