DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Examiner suggests changing “device increasing” in line 26 to --device by increasing--. Claim 20 is objected to for similar reasons.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Examiner suggests changing “end, , each” in line 6 to --end, each--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the phrase "one of said first and second straps" in line 48. This is a double inclusion of “one of said first and second straps” in lines 41 of claim 20. The Examiner suggests changing “one of said first and second straps” to --the one of said first and second straps--.
Appropriate correction is required. Accordingly, the invention has been examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968).
In regard to claim 1, Shi discloses an adjustable dog leash system configured to permit a user to walk two dogs simultaneously (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is an adjustable dog leash system (multifunctional dog chain) configured to permit a user to walk two dogs (so as to control the distance between dogs) simultaneously) comprising: a leash assembly comprising a first strap, a first collar attachment connected to said first strap, a second strap, and a second collar attachment connected to said second strap (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is a leash assembly including a first strap (first of ropes 1), a first collar attachment (first of hooks 3) connected to said first strap, a second strap (second of ropes 1), and a second collar attachment (second of hooks 3) connected to said second strap); a handle connected to said leash assembly (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is a handle 2 connected to said leash assembly); an adjustment structure comprising a band disposed about said first strap and said second strap such that said first strap and said second strap overlap within said band such that said band is configured to divide said first and second straps into a stacked section between said adjustment structure and said handle and an unstacked section between said adjustment structure and said first and second collar attachments (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is an adjustment structure 9 comprising a band (defined as “something that confines or constricts while allowing a degree of movement”) disposed about said first strap (first of ropes 1) and said second strap (second of ropes 1) such that said first strap and said second strap at least “overlap” within said band 9 and configured to divide said first and second straps 1 into a relatively stacked section 10 between said adjustment structure 9 and said handle 2 and an unstacked section 11 between said adjustment structure 9 and said first and second collar attachments 3); and said band being slidable toward said handle to decrease the length of said stacked section and increase the length of said unstacked section to permit two dogs connected to said leash assembly to move further away from each other, and being slidable away from said handle to decrease the length of said unstacked section and increase the length of said stacked section to keep two dogs connected to said leash assembly closer together (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said band (of 9) is slidable toward said handle 2 to decrease the length of said stacked section 10 and increase the length of said unstacked section 11 to permit two dogs connected to said leash assembly to move further away from each other (so as to control the distance between dogs) and where said band (of 9) is slidable away from said handle 2 to decrease the length of said unstacked section 11 and increase the length of said stacked section 10 to keep two dogs connected to said leash assembly closer together (preventing… too large separation distance between dogs)); a securing device configured to secure said adjustment band in a desired position on said first and second straps (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said adjustment structure 9 comprises a securing device 15/16 configured to secure (clamp) said adjustment band (of 9) in a desired position on said first and second straps 1), said securing device comprising a threaded securing knob (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said securing device comprises a threaded knob 16 (clamping knob 16 is fitted with the connecting pole 15 in a screw joint manner)). Shi is silent on each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap. Arnold et al. discloses each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0032-0034], where each of said first strap 104 and said second strap 106 are elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap 104 and said second strap 106); an adjustment structure comprising a band disposed about said first strap and said second strap such that said first strap and said second strap overlap within said band such that said band is configured to divide said first and second straps into a stacked section between said adjustment structure and said handle and an unstacked section between said adjustment structure and said collar attachments (Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0032-0034], where an adjustment structure comprising a band 134 is disposed about said first strap 104 and said second strap 106 such that said first strap 104 and said second strap 106 overlap (“such that the inner surface 210… may face or even contact the inner surface 214”) within said band 134 such that said band 134 is configured to divide said first and second straps into a stacked section between said adjustment structure and said handle 120 and an unstacked section between said adjustment structure and said collar attachment 122). Shi and Arnold et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi such that each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap in view of Arnold et al. The motivation would have been to use flat straps which provide a wider surface to better prevent rope burn, distribute pressure more evenly, be less prone to tangling, and be easier to detangle.
Shi as modified by Arnold et al. is silent on a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap. Prusia et al. discloses a securing device configured to secure said adjustment band in a desired position on said first and second strap portions (Paragraphs [0051-0054] and Figs. 4 and 10, where there is a securing device 30 configured to secure said adjustment band 42 in a desired position on said first and second strap portions 26/27), said securing device comprising a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap (Paragraphs [0051-0054] and Figs. 4 and 10, where said securing device 30 includes a threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27 such that said threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device 30 by increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27). Shi and Prusia et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. such that a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap in view of Prusia et al., since the securing mechanism of Prusia et al. could be used with the straps of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. The motivation would have been to use a clamping device which fits a flat strap and to provide a relatively more secure connection mechanism which further prevents displacement between two strap portions when engaged.
In regard to claim 2, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 1, wherein: each of said first strap and said second strap comprises a first end and a second end (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where each of said first strap and said second strap 1 includes a first end (end near 3) and a second end (end near 2)); said first collar attachment is connected to said first end of said first strap (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said first collar attachment 3 is connected to said first end of said first strap 1); said second collar attachment is connected to said first end of said second strap (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said second collar attachment 3 is connected to said first end of said second strap 1); and said second end of said first strap is attached to said second end of said second strap (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where and said second end of said first strap 1 is attached to said second end of said second strap 1 via sleeve 5 (a first soft rubber sleeve (5) is arranged at the end of each of the at least two ropes (1) to interconnect the ropes to form a first connecting portion)).
In regard to claim 3, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 1, wherein each of said first and second collar attachments comprises a leash clip configured to be releasably connected to a dog collar (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where each of said first and second collar attachments 3 comprises a leash clip (see clip structure of 3 as shown in Fig. 1) configured to be releasably connected to a dog collar (the hooks (3) used for connecting with dog collars)).
In regard to claim 4, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 1, wherein said handle comprises a closed loop (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said handle 2 at least is a closed loop).
In regard to claim 5, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 4, wherein said handle comprises a tube disposed on and about said closed loop and configured to be gripped by a hand of a user (Shi, Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said handle 2 at least comprises a tube (sleeve 4) disposed on and about said closed loop (of 2) and configured to be gripped by a hand of a user (to increase the grip comfort of users)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Andaloro et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200296933).
In regard to claim 6, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 5. Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. is silent on wherein said tube comprises plastic. Andaloro et al. discloses wherein said tube comprises plastic (Fig. 1A and Paragraph [0038], where said tube 20 is made of plastic). Shi and Andaloro et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. such that said tube comprises plastic in view of Andaloro et al. The motivation would have been to use a material which is relatively cheaper, yet durable enough to withstand constant use. Plastics can also be manufactured to be relatively light weight, thereby allowing the user to easily hold and manipulate the handle for long periods of time (Andaloro et al., Paragraph [0038]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353), Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968), and Andaloro et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200296933) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Nasser et al. (WO 9639024).
In regard to claim 7, Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Andaloro et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 6. Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Andaloro et al. is silent on wherein said tube comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said tube. Nasser et al. discloses said handle comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said handle (Figs. 6-7 and Specification Page 5 lines 26-36, where said handle 40 comprises a connecting structure 70 to permit detachable connection of a flashlight 60 to said handle 40). Shi and Nasser et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Andaloro et al. such that said tube comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said tube in view of Nasser et al., since the connecting structure and flashlight of Nasser et al. could be used with the tube and handle of Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Andaloro et al. The motivation would have been to allow the user to easily and conveniently carry a flashlight on the leash, in order to provide light during night walks or in emergency situations.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Craig (U.S. Pat. 9737055).
In regard to claim 10, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 1. Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. is silent on wherein said adjustable dog leash system comprises a container connected to one of said first and second straps and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein. Craig discloses a dog leash system comprising a container connected to a leash and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein (Figs. 2A-3 and Column 4 lines 17-57, where there is a dog leash system comprising a container 10 connected to a leash 16 and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein (any item may be so stored in the pocket(s) 28 of the storage pouch 10)). Shi and Craig are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. such that said adjustable dog leash system comprises a container connected to one of said first and second straps and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein in view of Craig, since the container of Craig could be used with one of said first and second straps of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. The motivation would have been to enable the user to have an attached container to conveniently and easily store items on the leash, while on a walk with the pet.
In regard to claim 11, Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 10, wherein said container is disposed adjacent said handle (Craig, Figs. 2A-3, where said container 10 is disposed adjacent said handle 18).
In regard to claim 12, Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 11, wherein said container comprises a container body and a foldable lid, and said foldable lid comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member to releasably secure said foldable lid in a closed position on said container body (Craig, Figs. 2A-3 and Column 4 lines 17-57, where said container 10 comprises a container body (which has pocket 28) and a foldable lid 26 and where said foldable lid 26 comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member (opening may be closed using a hook-and-loop fastening system… or any other fastener to hold contents within each pocket of the storage pouch 10) to releasably secure said foldable lid 26 in a closed position on said container body).
In regard to claim 13, Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 12, wherein said container comprises a flexible pouch (Craig, Figs. 2A-3, where the container 10 is at least a flexible pouch (flexible to open and hold items such as mobile device 30)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353), Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968), and Craig (U.S. Pat. 9737055) as applied to claim 13, and further in view of Polding (U.S. Pat. 6073590).
In regard to claim 14, Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 13, wherein said container is elongated and attached transversely to the leash (Craig, Figs. 2A-3, where the container 10 is elongated and attached transversely to the leash 16). Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig is silent on wherein said container is attached to one of said first and second straps by stitching. Polding discloses said container is attached to the leash by stitching (Fig. 1 and Column 2 lines 63-67, where the container 24 is attached to the leash 20 by stitching). Shi and Polding are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig such that said container is attached to one of said first and second straps by stitching in view of Polding, since the stitched container of Polding could be used with one of said first and second straps of Shi as modified by Arnold et al., Prusia et al. and Craig. The motivation would have been to attach the container to the leash using a simple stitching attachment, which ensures that the container will not fall off of the leash when walking the pet.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Passarella et al. (U.S. Pat. 5429075).
In regard to claim 15, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 1. Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. is silent on wherein said adjustable dog leash system comprises a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle. Passarella et al. discloses a dog leash system comprising a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle (Figs. 1-2 and Column 3 lines 33-58, where a dog leash system comprising a flashlight 12 being detachably connectable to said handle 42). Shi and Passarella et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. such that said adjustable dog leash system comprises a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle in view of Passarella et al. The motivation would have been to allow the user to easily and conveniently carry a flashlight on the leash, in order to provide light during night walks or in emergency situations.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968) as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Polcyn et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160050887).
In regard to claim 16, Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. discloses the adjustable dog leash system of claim 4. Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. is silent on wherein said first strap, said second strap, and said closed loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; and said closed loop is formed by attaching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap. Polcyn et al. discloses said first strap, said second strap, and said closed loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; and said closed loop is formed by attaching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0022-0024], where said first strap (first half of folded 200), said second strap (second half of folded 200), and said closed loop 101 together comprise a single strap 200 folded in half and where said closed loop 101 is formed by attaching said single strap 200 to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap 200 via stitching 110). Shi and Polcyn et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Arnold et al. and Prusia et al. such that said first strap, said second strap, and said closed loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; and said closed loop is formed by attaching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap in view of Polcyn et al. The motivation would have been to manufacture the leash using a unitary strip of material, thereby relatively reducing complexity and number of parts required when making the device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Andaloro et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200296933), Nasser et al. (WO 9639024), Craig (U.S. Pat. 9737055), Polding (U.S. Pat. 6073590), Polcyn et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160050887), and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968).
In regard to claim 20, Shi discloses an adjustable dog leash system configured to permit a user to walk two dogs simultaneously (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is an adjustable dog leash system (multifunctional dog chain) configured to permit a user to walk two dogs (so as to control the distance between dogs) simultaneously) comprising: a leash assembly comprising a first strap, a first collar attachment connected to said first strap, a second strap, and a second collar attachment connected to said second strap (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is a leash assembly including a first strap (first of ropes 1), a first collar attachment (first of hooks 3) connected to said first strap, a second strap (second of ropes 1), and a second collar attachment (second of hooks 3) connected to said second strap); each of said first strap and said second strap comprises a first end and a second end (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where each of said first strap and said second strap 1 includes a first end (end near 3) and a second end (end near 2)); said first collar attachment is connected to said first end of said first strap (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said first collar attachment 3 is connected to said first end of said first strap 1); said second collar attachment is connected to said first end of said second strap (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said second collar attachment 3 is connected to said first end of said second strap 1); said second end of said first strap is attached to said second end of said second strap (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where and said second end of said first strap 1 is attached to said second end of said second strap 1 via sleeve 5 (a first soft rubber sleeve (5) is arranged at the end of each of the at least two ropes (1) to interconnect the ropes to form a first connecting portion)); each of said first and second collar attachments comprises a leash clip configured to be releasably connected to a dog collar (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where each of said first and second collar attachments 3 comprises a leash clip (see clip structure of 3 as shown in Fig. 1) configured to be releasably connected to a dog collar (the hooks (3) used for connecting with dog collars)); a handle connected to said leash assembly (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is a handle 2 connected to said leash assembly); said handle comprises a closed loop (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said handle 2 at least is a closed loop); said handle comprises a tube disposed on and about said closed loop and configured to be gripped by a hand of a user (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said handle 2 at least comprises a tube (sleeve 4) disposed on and about said closed loop (of 2) and configured to be gripped by a hand of a user (to increase the grip comfort of users)); an adjustment structure comprising a band disposed about said first strap and said second strap such that said first strap and said second strap overlap within said band such that said band is configured to divide said first and second straps into a stacked section between said adjustment structure and said handle and an unstacked section between said adjustment structure and said first and second collar attachments (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is an adjustment structure 9 comprising a band (defined as “something that confines or constricts while allowing a degree of movement”) disposed about said first strap (first of ropes 1) and said second strap (second of ropes 1) such that said first strap and said second strap at least “overlap” within said band 9 and configured to divide said first and second straps 1 into a relatively stacked section 10 between said adjustment structure 9 and said handle 2 and an unstacked section 11 between said adjustment structure 9 and said first and second collar attachments 3); said band being slidable toward said handle to decrease the length of said stacked section and increase the length of said unstacked section to permit two dogs connected to said leash assembly to move further away from each other, and being slidable away from said handle to decrease the length of said unstacked section and increase the length of said stacked section to keep two dogs connected to said leash assembly closer together (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said band (of 9) is slidable toward said handle 2 to decrease the length of said stacked section 10 and increase the length of said unstacked section 11 to permit two dogs connected to said leash assembly to move further away from each other (so as to control the distance between dogs) and where said band (of 9) is slidable away from said handle 2 to decrease the length of said unstacked section 11 and increase the length of said stacked section 10 to keep two dogs connected to said leash assembly closer together (preventing… too large separation distance between dogs)); said adjustment structure comprises a securing device configured to secure said adjustment band in a desired position on said first and second straps (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said adjustment structure 9 comprises a securing device 15/16 configured to secure (clamp) said adjustment band (of 9) in a desired position on said first and second straps 1); said adjustment structure comprises a threaded securing knob being rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device (Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where said adjustment structure 9 comprises a threaded securing knob 16 being rotatable (clamping knob (16) is fitted with the connecting pole (15) in a screw joint manner) to loosen or tighten (clamping knob (16) moves up and down relative to the connecting pole (15)… so as to clamp or release the ropes) said securing device). Shi is silent on wherein said tube comprises plastic. Andaloro et al. discloses wherein said tube comprises plastic (Fig. 1A and Paragraph [0038], where said tube 20 is made of plastic). Shi and Andaloro et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi such that said tube comprises plastic in view of Andaloro et al. The motivation would have been to use a material which is relatively cheaper, yet durable enough to withstand constant use. Plastics can also be manufactured to be relatively light weight, thereby allowing the user to easily hold and manipulate the handle for long periods of time (Andaloro et al., Paragraph [0038]).
Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. is silent on said tube comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said tube; a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle. Nasser et al. discloses said handle comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said handle (Figs. 6-7 and Specification Page 5 lines 26-36, where said handle 40 comprises a connecting structure 70 to permit detachable connection of a flashlight 60 to said handle 40); a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle (Figs. 6-7 and Specification Page 5 lines 26-36, where a flashlight 60 is detachably connectable to said handle 40). Shi and Nasser et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. such that said tube comprises a connecting structure to permit detachable connection of a flashlight to said tube; a flashlight being detachably connectable to said handle in view of Nasser et al., since the connecting structure and flashlight of Nasser et al. could be used with the tube and handle of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. The motivation would have been to allow the user to easily and conveniently carry a flashlight on the leash, in order to provide light during night walks or in emergency situations.
Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. and Nasser et al. is silent on a container is connected to one of said first and second straps and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein; said container is disposed adjacent said handle; said container comprises a container body and a foldable lid; said foldable lid comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member to releasably secure said foldable lid in a closed position on said container body; said container comprises a flexible pouch; said container is elongated and attached transversely to one of said first and second straps. Craig discloses a container connected to a leash and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein (Figs. 2A-3 and Column 4 lines 17-57, where there is a dog leash system comprising a container 10 connected to a leash 16 and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein (any item may be so stored in the pocket(s) 28 of the storage pouch 10)); said container is disposed adjacent said handle (Figs. 2A-3, where said container 10 is disposed adjacent said handle 18); said container comprises a container body and a foldable lid, and said foldable lid comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member to releasably secure said foldable lid in a closed position on said container body (Figs. 2A-3 and Column 4 lines 17-57, where said container 10 comprises a container body (which has pocket 28) and a foldable lid 26 and where said foldable lid 26 comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member (opening may be closed using a hook-and-loop fastening system… or any other fastener to hold contents within each pocket of the storage pouch 10) to releasably secure said foldable lid 26 in a closed position on said container body); said container comprises a flexible pouch (Figs. 2A-3, where the container 10 is at least a flexible pouch (flexible to open and hold items such as mobile device 30)); said container is elongated and attached transversely to the leash (Figs. 2A-3, where the container 10 is elongated and attached transversely to the leash 16). Shi and Craig are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. and Nasser et al. such that a container is connected to one of said first and second straps and configured to store small personal items, dog treats, and dog waste bags therein; said container is disposed adjacent said handle; said container comprises a container body and a foldable lid; said foldable lid comprises a first mating member and said container body comprises a second mating member to releasably secure said foldable lid in a closed position on said container body; said container comprises a flexible pouch; said container is elongated and attached transversely to one of said first and second straps in view of Craig, since the container of Craig could be used with one of said first and second straps of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al. and Nasser et al. The motivation would have been to enable the user to have an attached container to conveniently and easily store items on the leash, while on a walk with the pet.
Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., and Craig is silent on said container is attached to one of said first and second straps by stitching. Polding discloses said container is attached to the leash by stitching (Fig. 1 and Column 2 lines 63-67, where the container 24 is attached to the leash 20 by stitching). Shi and Polding are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., and Craig such that said container is attached to one of said first and second straps by stitching in view of Polding, since the stitched container of Polding could be used with one of said first and second straps of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., and Craig. The motivation would have been to attach the container to the leash using a simple stitching attachment, which ensures that the container will not fall off of the leash when walking the pet.
Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., Craig, and Polding is silent on each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap; said first strap, said second strap, and said loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; said loop is formed by stitching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap. Polcyn et al. discloses each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap; said first strap, said second strap, and said closed loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; and said closed loop is formed by attaching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap (Figs. 1-2 and Paragraphs [0022-0024], where said first strap (first half of folded 200), said second strap (second half of folded 200), and said closed loop 101 together comprise a single strap 200 folded in half and where said closed loop 101 is formed by attaching said single strap 200 to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap 200 via stitching 110 and where each of said first strap and said second strap are at least elongated and flat). Shi and Polcyn et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., Craig, and Polding such that each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap; said first strap, said second strap, and said closed loop together comprise a single strap folded in half; and said closed loop is formed by attaching said single strap to itself at a point adjacent a middle portion of said single strap in view of Polcyn et al. The motivation would have been to manufacture the leash using a unitary strip of material, thereby relatively reducing complexity and number of parts required when making the device. Additionally, the motivation would have been to use flat straps which provide a wider surface to better prevent rope burn, distribute pressure more evenly, be less prone to tangling, and be easier to detangle
Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., Craig, Polding and Polcyn et al. is silent on a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap. Prusia et al. discloses a securing device configured to secure said adjustment band in a desired position on said first and second strap portions (Paragraphs [0051-0054] and Figs. 4 and 10, where there is a securing device 30 configured to secure said adjustment band 42 in a desired position on said first and second strap portions 26/27), said securing device comprising a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap (Paragraphs [0051-0054] and Figs. 4 and 10, where said securing device 30 includes a threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27 such that said threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device 30 by increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27). Shi and Prusia et al. are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor which include pet leashes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device body of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., Craig, Polding and Polcyn et al. such that a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap in view of Prusia et al., since the securing mechanism of Prusia et al. could be used with the straps of Shi as modified by Andaloro et al., Nasser et al., Craig, Polding and Polcyn et al. The motivation would have been to use a clamping device which fits a flat strap and to provide a relatively more secure connection mechanism which further prevents displacement between two strap portions when engaged
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (filed 10/30/2025) with respect to the rejection of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Shi (U.S. Pat. 10070625) in view of Arnold et al. (U.S. Pub. 20160262353) and Prusia et al. (U.S. Pub. 20020035968) disclose the applicant’s claim 1, as specified under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above. Additionally, the amendments made to claim 20 have been rejected in a similar manner.
Specifically, Shi teaches an adjustment structure comprising a band disposed about said first strap and said second strap such that said first strap and said second strap overlap within said band such that said band is configured to divide said first and second straps into a stacked section between said adjustment structure and said handle and an unstacked section between said adjustment structure and said first and second collar attachments in Figs. 1-3 and Column 3 lines 18 – Column 4 line 15, where there is an adjustment structure 9 comprising a band (defined as “something that confines or constricts while allowing a degree of movement”) disposed about said first strap (first of ropes 1) and said second strap (second of ropes 1) such that said first strap and said second strap at least “overlap” within said band 9 and configured to divide said first and second straps 1 into a relatively stacked section 10 between said adjustment structure 9 and said handle 2 and an unstacked section 11 between said adjustment structure 9 and said first and second collar attachments 3.
Furthermore, Arnold et al. teaches each of said first strap and said second strap being elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap and said second strap in Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs [0032-0034], where each of said first strap 104 and said second strap 106 are elongated and flat along respective lengths of said first strap 104 and said second strap 106. For claim 20, this limitation is similarly taught by Polcyn et al., in Figs. 1-2.
Latsly, Prusia et al. teaches said securing device comprising a threaded securing knob being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap such that said threaded securing knob is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap in Paragraphs [0051-0054] and Figs. 4 and 10, where said securing device 30 includes a threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 being centrally positioned between respective lateral edges of said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27 such that said threaded securing knob 50/46/45/44 is rotatable to loosen or tighten said securing device 30 by increasing friction directly between said first strap and said second strap portions 26/27.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited, for the full list of prior art made of record. Particularly the references were cited because they pertain to the state of the art of pet leashes.
/KEVIN M DENNIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647