DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 09/25/2025 In virtue of this amendment:
Claims 21-25 canceled;
Claims 1, 8 and 16 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-20 are pending;
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 21 is moot in view of cancellation of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2023/0031367A1 hereinafter “Li” in view of US2020/0253015A1 hereinafter “Huang”
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a lighting structure comprising:
a housing having a light emission surface (¶32L2: a light engine housing);
a light engine (¶37L2-3: the light engine, e.g., light emitting diode (LED) light engine) within the housing (¶337L2-3: a housing for containing the light engine) including at least two lighting schemes comprised of light emitting diodes for emitting light through the light emission surface (¶32L5-8: two lighting schemes in which a separate current can be set and adjusted to be sent to each of the two lighting scheme);
a multi-channel electronics driver (¶38L2-3: driver electronics) in electrical communication with the light engine (¶38L5-7: electrical connection between the driver electronics and the light engine), the multi-channel electronics driver including a current circuit (¶48L7-9: the mixing integrated circuit (IC) can distribute current to each of the lighting scheme) for controlling a mixture of current of the at least two lighting schemes to provide light emission from the light engine (¶48L7-9: distribute current to each of the lighting scheme to mix the light being emitted by the lighting scheme)of a selected color correlated temperature (CCT) (¶54L1-15: IC of the driver electronics can distribute current to each of the lighting scheme to mix the light, e.g., color of light);
a near field communication (NFC) circuit (¶33L2-3: an integrated near field communication (NFC) transceiver) having a near field communication (NFC) receiver for receiving instructions for setting the selected color correlated temperature (¶33L3-5: transceiver for receiving commands for selecting lighting characteristics emitted by the lamp) and memory for storing read instructions for the selected color correlated temperature (¶89L7-12: NFC circuit includes memory having instructions stored thereon to interpret command signal received to select characteristics for the light that the user has selected), wherein
the near field communication circuit is in communication with the multi-channel electronics driver to provide the instruction for the selected color correlated temperature (CCT) to the current circuit for controlling the current (¶92L1-13: the mixing integrated circuit distributes portions of the current to each of the lighting arrangements)of the at least two lighting schemes (¶89L15-22: NFC control signal includes PWM signals to the mixing integrated circuit; the mixing IC receiving the control signal sets a separate current to each of the two lighting scheme to control light characteristic for light being emitted by the light engine), wherein
the near field communication (NFC) circuit includes an auxiliary power supply (¶89L6-7: an auxiliary power module for the NFC module) that is independent from a primary power supply to the multi-channel electronics driver (as shown in Fig.8 and Fig.9).
Li discloses distributing current for mixing the color scheme (¶54L1-15) however, does not expclitly disclose that the current distribution is based on a “current ratio” of the at least two lighting scheme.
Huang discloses a lighting structure comprising:
a current ratio circuit (¶44L4-6: the MCU control the ratio of the current) for controlling a mixture ratio of the at least two lighting schemes to provide light emission from the light engine (¶44L1-6: the total drive current ITOTAL output by the power supply is split into two currents: flowing through the first LED string and flowing through the second LED string)of a selected color correlated temperature (CCT) (¶44L4-6: the MCU controls the ratio of the current to control the output CCT of the luminaire)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to replace the mixing integrated IC circuit disclosed by Li with the ratio control circuit disclosed by Huang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows both CCT and maximum luminosity to be filed-configurable and user may be able to further adjust the CCT and/or maximum luminosity as required for desired. (Huang ¶54L1-11)
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Huang hereinafter “Li/Huang” discloses in Li the lighting structure of claim 1, wherein the at least two lighting schemes comprises
a first light emitting diode string having a first color correlated temperature (¶52L1-8: LED string may include LED that emit blue light) and
a second light emitting diode string having a second color correlated temperature. (¶52L1-8: the second string of LED may include LED that emit red light)
Regarding claim 3, Li/Huang discloses the light structure of claim 2, wherein
the controlling of the mixture ratio of the at least two lighting schemes to provide light emission from the light engine of the selected color correlated temperature (CCT) comprises adjusting current to each of the first and second light emitting diode strings to achieve a combined color correlated temperature that is a mixture of the first and second color correlated temperatures. (Li ¶54L1-15: driver can distribute current to each of the lighting scheme to mix the light, E.g., color of light, being emitting by the light scheme; by mixing the light produced by the separate lighting scheme the color light characteristic of the light engine may be a mixture of the color light characteristic of the individual lighting scheme; Huang ¶28L1-8: a current ratio control circuit determines a ratio of current; by controlling the ratio of currents, a desired overall, blended CCT of the luminaire may be selected across a broad spectrum of CCT values)
Regarding claim 4, Li/Huang discloses in Huang the light structure of claim 3, wherein the adjusting of the current to each of the first and second light emitting diode strings to achieve the combined color correlated temperature comprises:
receiving at the multi-channel electronics driver a full current value from a power integrated circuit (¶44L1-6: the total drive current ITOTAL output by the power supply is split into two currents: flowing through the first LED string and flowing through the second LED string);
distributing a first portion of the current to a first lighting scheme of the light engine (¶44L1-6: I1 flowing through the first LED string); and
distributing a second portion of the current to at least a second lighting scheme of the light engine. (¶44L1-6: I2 flowing through the second LED string)
Regarding claim 5, Li/Huang discloses in Li the discloses the light structure of claim 1,
the housing has the geometry of a bulb that meets an ANSI bulb standard selected from the group consisting of A-type, B-type, BR-type, E-type, PAR-type, MR-type, T-type, ST-type and combinations thereof. (¶35L1-12: examples of standards for tube lighting include UL Type A T8 lamp, UL Type B T8 lamp, and T12 magnetic and electronic ballast lamps.)
Regarding claim 6, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 1,
the housing has the geometry of a tube having a standard selected from the group consisting of T2, T4, T5, T6, T8, T9, T10, T12, T17 and combinations thereof. (¶35L1-12: examples of standards for tube lighting include UL Type A T8 lamp, UL Type B T8 lamp, and T12 magnetic and electronic ballast lamps.)
Regarding claim 7, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 1,
the housing has the geometry of a recessed downlight (¶33L1-2: a downlight geometry luminaire), the recessed downlight having a diameter selected from the group consisting of 3 inch, 4 inch, 5 inch, 6 inch, 8 inch, 9 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch. (¶101L18-24: light engine hosing having a diameter of 5 inches or less)
Regarding claim 8, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 1 further comprising
a DC-DC power circuit for powering the NFC circuit. (¶100L1-11: the auxiliary power module be provide a DC-DC power circuit for powering the NFC circuit)
Regarding claim 9, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 1,
an exterior of the housing does not include any switches for selecting light characteristics to be emitted by the light engine. (as shown in Fig.1, there are no physical switches on either housing)
Regarding claim 10, Li/Huang discloses in Huang the light structure of claim 1, wherein
the multi-channel electronics driver has two channels. (¶44L1-6: the total drive current ITOTAL output by the power supply is split into two currents: flowing through the first LED string and flowing through the second LED string)
Regarding claim 11, Li/Huang discloses the light structure of claim 1,
Li/Huang does not expclitly disclose:
the multi-channel electronics driver is housed within the housing.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the IC/MCU into the housing of the luminaire.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the entire luminaire to be in a single package and it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 1,
the multi-channel electronics driver is exterior to the housing of the light structure. (¶54L1-15: the mixing integrated circuit of the driver electronics within the second housing)
Regarding claim 13, Li/Huang discloses the light structure of claim 4,
Li/Huang does not expclitly disclose:
the first color correlated temperature is 3000K, and the second color correlated temperature is 5000K.
Huang does disclose that when all the current is going to the first channel LED strings the luminaire has the CCT of the first LED string which may be cool white (¶36L6-7) and when all the current is going to the second channel LED string the luminaire has the CCT of the second LED string which is a warm color e.g. orange or red. (¶36L12-14).
Thus the CCT of the first LED string would be in the range of cool white, which is understood to be typically between 4600K to 6500K and the CCT of the second string would be in warm color, which is understood to be typically 2700K-3000K.
Regarding claim 14, Li/Huang discloses the light structure of claim 4,
Li/Huang does not expclitly disclose:
the first color correlated temperature is 2700K, and the second color correlated temperature is 5000K.
Huang does disclose that when all the current is going to the first channel LED strings the luminaire has the CCT of the first LED string which may be cool white (¶36L6-7) and when all the current is going to the second channel LED string the luminaire has the CCT of the second LED string which is a warm color e.g. orange or red. (¶36L12-14).
Thus the CCT of the first LED string would be in the range of cool white, which is understood to be typically between 4600K to 6500K and the CCT of the second string would be in warm color, which is understood to be typically 2700K-3000K.
Regarding claim 15, Li/Huang discloses in Li the light structure of claim 4,
the combined color correlated temperature ranges from 2700K to 6500K. (¶57L1-12: a color correlated temperature of total light provided by the totality of lighting schemes that is equal to 3000K, 3500K, 4000K, 5000K or 6500K)
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the same limitations (except as a method claim) as in claim 1 and thus rejected under the same rejection as presented above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites the same limitations (except as a method claim) as in claim 1 and thus rejected under the same rejection as presented above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites the same limitations (except as a method claim) as in claim 1 and thus rejected under the same rejection as presented above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, Li/Huang discloses in Huang the discloses the method of claim 18, wherein
the modulating of the percentage of current to the different lighting schemes of the at least two lighting schemes provides for different light settings of light being emitted from the light engine, the light settings for the light characteristic extend from a minimum value to a maximum value through a functionally continuous range. (¶46L1-20: independently controlling the duty cycles of PWM control signal, the MCU establish any desired ratio of current with either of the LED string receiving from 0% to 100% of the total drive current)
Regarding claim 20, Li/Huang discloses in Li the method of claim 19, wherein
the combined color correlated temperature ranges from 2700K to 6500K. (¶57L1-12: a color correlated temperature of total light provided by the totality of lighting schemes that is equal to 3000K, 3500K, 4000K, 5000K or 6500K)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844