DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing September 14, 2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's amendments filed September 14, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's amendment of claims 3-11; and addition of new claims 12-20.
Election of Species
Applicant’s election without traverse of a formulation species comprising a α2-receptor agonist, brimonidine, in the reply filed on September 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 6-11, 13, and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 14, 2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 14 are presently under examination as they relate to the elected species: brimonidine.
Priority
The present application is a Continuation of US Application No. 17/358,883 filed on June 25, 2021, which is a Continuation of US Application No. 16/578,679 filed on September 23, 2019, which is a Continuation of US Application No. 15/132,768 filed on April 19, 2016, which is a Continuation of US Application No. 13/939,381 filed on July 11, 2013, which claims benefit of US Provisional Application No. 61/671,219 filed on July 13, 2012.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 3, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner, except where marked with a strikethrough.
Duplicate Claims
Applicant is advised that should claims 1, 3, and 5 be found allowable, claims 2, 12, and 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Prasanna et al (US 2008/0045545 A1, cited in the IDS filed April 3, 2024) in view of Hagihara et al (WO 2010/113957, cited in the IDS filed April 3, 2024).
WO 2010/113957 (Hagihara) is the PCT counterpart to US 2012/0190852 (Hagihara). WO 2010/113957 has a 102(a)(1) date as a result of its October 7, 2010 publication date. Because WO 2010/113957 and US 2012/0190852 appear to have identical disclosures, and because the WO document was published in Japanese language designating the United States, the US 2012/0190852, which is the National Stage entry of WO 2010/113957, is being used as a translation of WO 2010/113957. As such, any reference hereinafter to column and line numbers will be based upon the US publication, but should be interpreted as referring to the corresponding disclosure of the aforementioned WO counterpart.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 14, Prasanna teaches a pharmaceutical composition containing EP2 agonists for lowering intraocular pressure and thereby treating glaucoma (abstract); an EP2 agonist for lowering intraocular pressure is the compound depicted as Compound 1 below ([0144 and claims 7 and 9]):
Compound 1
Compound 1 is structurally similar to the instantly claimed compound, isopropyl (6-{[4-(pyrazol-1-yl)benzyl](pyridin-3-ylsulfonyl) aminomethyl}pyridin-2-ylamino)acetate, depicted as Claimed compound below:
Claimed Compound
Compound 1 differs from the instantly claimed compound in positions denoted by dashed circles labeled A and B. In particular, Compound 1 does not contain an N in position A and contains an NH (amino) moiety at position B instead of an O (oxygen) moiety at position B. Moreover, Prasanna et al teach EP2 agonist compounds are administered alone or in combination with one or more other EP2 agonist compounds or in combination with one or more other drugs (or as any combination thereof) including a alpha2-adrenergic receptor
agonist such as brimonidine (Alphagan); generally, such drugs and/or combinations thereof will be administered as a formulation in association with one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients [0108]. Thus, Prasanna teaches a composition for treating glaucoma or for lowering intraocular pressure comprising a structurally similar EP2 agonist and brimonidine.
Prasanna does not explicitly teach the EP2 agonist is the claimed compound, isopropyl (6-{[4-(pyrazol-1-yl)benzyl](pyridin-3-ylsulfonyl) aminomethyl}pyridin-2-ylamino)acetate.
However, Hagihara teaches a medical composition for the treatment or prophylaxis of glaucoma which comprises Compound 1473, isopropyl (6-{[4-(pyrazol-1-yl)benzyl](pyridin-3-ylsulfonyl) aminomethyl}pyridin-2-ylamino)acetate (claims 1 and 18) and Compound 1473 is exemplified as a most preferred EP2 agonist compound ([0391] and [0420]).
Since Prasanna teaches a composition for treating glaucoma or for lowering intraocular pressure comprising a structurally similar EP2 agonist and brimonidine, and since Hagihara teaches Compound 1473 is an EP2 agonist for treating glaucoma and lowering intraocular pressure, at the time of the invention it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one functional equivalence (any EP2 agonist) for another (Compound 1473) with an expectation of success, since the prior art establishes that both function in similar manner, thus resulting in the practice of claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 14, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,339,496 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The previously granted claims are directed to a composition for treating glaucoma or ocular hypertension comprising the claimed compound and the therapeutic drug for glaucoma or ocular hypertension, timolol. Thus, the composition of the previously granted claims would anticipate the instantly claimed composition.
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,974,994 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The previously granted claims are directed to a composition for treating glaucoma or ocular hypertension comprising the claimed compound and the therapeutic drug for glaucoma or ocular hypertension, timolol. Thus, the composition of the previously granted claims would anticipate the instantly claimed composition.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 14 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/Rayna Rodriguez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628