DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-10 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/093,618 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. As shown in the table below, claims 1-10 of the instant application are identical to claims 1-10 of the reference application.
RELATED APPLICATION 19/093,618
THIS APPLICATION 18/625,518
1. An information processor comprising: a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding one or more work areas, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed, and a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed.
2. An information processing system comprising: a status management unit that determines a work completion timing at which a predetermined work has been completed for each of one or more work areas, sets a status of the work area to a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing and changes the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed; and a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding the one or more work areas, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and the status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information.
3. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the status management unit sets the status of the work area within a predetermined period after the work completion timing and before the status changes to the work required status, to a transition status corresponding to a status in the middle of changing to the work required status, and the work area image indicating the transition status is an image indicating a state regarding the predetermined work for the work area during a period corresponding to the transition status.
4. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the work area image includes a work area contour image indicating a contour of the work area, and the work area contour image is an image with transparency different in accordance with the status of the work area, and is set to an image in which transparency in the work required status is lower than transparency in the work completion status.
5. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the work area image includes a figure having a predetermined shape, and transparency of at least one of inside or outside of the figure is changed in accordance with the status of the work area, and/or a size of the figure is increased or decreased in accordance with the status of the work area.
6. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein in a case of the work completion status, the work area image includes a decorative image that emphasizes that the status is the work completion status.
7. The information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the work area image includes an area status display element indicating the status of the work area, and the area status display element is an image indicating that there are a lot of targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work required status and indicating that there are a few targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work completion status.
8. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the work area is an area in which autonomous traveling work machine performs a work, and the status management unit determines a work completion timing at which the work for the work area has been completed by the autonomous traveling work machine transmitting the work completion timing in the work area to the status management unit.
9. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein a period setting table that associates at least one of a region of the work area, a season, a requirement for each region or individual factors for each region with the predetermined period with which the status of the work area is changed is provided, and the status management unit determines the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table.
10. A control method of an information processor including a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding one or more work areas, in which the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed and a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed.
1. An information processor comprising: a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding one or more work areas, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed, and a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed.
2. An information processing system comprising: a status management unit that determines a work completion timing at which a predetermined work has been completed for each of one or more work areas, sets a status of the work area to a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing and changes the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed; and a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding the one or more work areas, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and the status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information.
3. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the status management unit sets the status of the work area within a predetermined period after the work completion timing and before the status changes to the work required status, to a transition status corresponding to a status in the middle of changing to the work required status, and the work area image indicating the transition status is an image indicating a state regarding the predetermined work for the work area during a period corresponding to the transition status.
4. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the work area image includes a work area contour image indicating a contour of the work area, and the work area contour image is an image with transparency different in accordance with the status of the work area, and is set to an image in which transparency in the work required status is lower than transparency in the work completion status.
5. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the work area image includes a figure having a predetermined shape, and transparency of at least one of inside or outside of the figure is changed in accordance with the status of the work area, and/or a size of the figure is increased or decreased in accordance with the status of the work area.
6. The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein in a case of the work completion status, the work area image includes a decorative image that emphasizes that the status is the work completion status.
7. The information processing system according to claim 4, wherein the work area image includes an area status display element indicating the status of the work area, and the area status display element is an image indicating that there are a lot of targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work required status and indicating that there are a few targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work completion status.
8. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the work area is an area in which autonomous traveling work machine performs a work, and the status management unit determines a work completion timing at which the work for the work area has been completed by the autonomous traveling work machine transmitting the work completion timing in the work area to the status management unit.
9. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein a period setting table that associates at least one of a region of the work area, a season, a requirement for each region or individual factors for each region with the predetermined period with which the status of the work area is changed is provided, and the status management unit determines the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table.
10. A control method of an information processor including a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and acquires information regarding one or more work areas, in which the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed and a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0024] recites “…a control function of performing control regarding communication and performs…”, in which the underlined portion appears to be grammatically incorrect.
[0035] recites “…three the…”, which appears to be grammatically incorrect.
[0102] recites “…one or more the…”, which appears to be grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 10 recite “…the work area…” in lines 6-7 and 12. Since claim 1 initially recites “…one or more work areas…”, which suggests there can be multiple work areas, Examiner respectfully suggests changing “…the work area…” to “…the one or more work areas…” to improve consistency throughout the claims.
Claim 2 recites “…the work area…” in lines 5 and 15-16. Since claim 2 initially recites “…one or more work areas…”, Examiner respectfully suggests changing “…the work area…” to “…the one or more work areas…” in this claim and its dependents to improve consistency.
Claim 8 recites “…in which autonomous traveling work machine…”, in which the underlined portion appears to be grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the status management unit in claims 2-9 (See at least [0022] & [0025] for corresponding structure):
“…determines a work completion timing at which a predetermined work has been completed for each of one or more work areas…”
“…sets a status of the work area to a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing…”
“…changes the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed…”
“…sets the status of the work area within a predetermined period after the work completion timing and before the status changes to the work required status, to a transition status corresponding toa status in the middle of changing to the work required status…”
“…determines a work completion timing at which the work for the work area has been completed by the autonomous traveling work machine transmitting the work completion timing in the work area to the status management unit.”
“…determines the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 8, and 10 recite the limitation "the work" in lines 14, 8, 6, and 14, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the latest work completion timing" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites “…a predetermined period after the work completion timing…”. It is unclear if this refers to the same time period as “a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing” recited in parent claim 2.
The terms “a lot of” and “a few” in claim 7 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “a lot of” and “a few” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “…the area status display element is an image indicating that there are a lot of targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work required status and indicating that there are a few targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work completion status” are rendered indefinite by the use of the terms “a lot of” and “a few”, respectively.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a work”. It is unclear if this refers to the same work as “the predetermined work” recited in parent claims 2-3.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "a work”. It is unclear if this refers to the same work as “the predetermined work” recited in parent claim 2.
Claim 8 recites “…the status management unit determines a work completion timing at which the work for the work area has been completed by the autonomous traveling work machine transmitting the work completion timing in the work area to the status management unit”. It is unclear if this “work completion timing” is the same timing as “a work completion timing” recited in parent claim 2.
Claim 9 recites “…associates at least one of a region…with the predetermined period with which the status of the work area is changed…”. It is unclear what is meant by “…the predetermined period with which the status of the work area is changed…” (i.e., changing the status of the work area with the predetermined period). It is also unclear if “predetermined period” in claim 9 refers to the same time period as “a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing” recited in parent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama of US 20210302999 A1, filed 03/23/2021, hereinafter “Yokoyama”.
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses:
An information processor comprising: a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and (See at least Fig. 2 & [0090-0092]: “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image related to additional work information which is displayed on the terminal 5…The image g21 includes an image indicating a work area…”)
acquires information regarding one or more work areas, wherein (See at least [0051]: “The leftover uncut edge detection unit 223 detects the third area 530 (FIG. 1) left uncut at the edge of the work area.”)
the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and (See at least Fig. 4 & [0092]: “The image g21 includes an image indicating a work area, an image indicating an area in which additional work needs to be performed, and an image indicating the type of work required for the area.”)
a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and (See at least Fig. 4 & [0093]: “The image g31 is a type image indicating an uncut leftover among the types of the contents of the additional work.”)
the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed, and (See at least Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5 & [0032-0034]: “…the work area 500…An edge 502 is a boundary between the lawn within the work area 500 and the outside of the work area (for example, a sidewalk). A first area 510 is an example of an area in which the autonomous work machine 2 of the present embodiment has left the lawn uncut” & [0105]: “…The control unit 205 of the autonomous work machine 2 transmits detection result information to the server 4 through the communication unit 203 and the network NW after the completion of the work…”)
a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed. (See at least Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0093]: “The image g31 is a type image indicating an uncut leftover among the types of the contents of the additional work” & [0034]: “A first area 510 is an example of an area in which the autonomous work machine 2 of the present embodiment has left the lawn uncut. As shown in FIG. 1, the first area 510 is, for example, an area under or around the tree, an area around a bench, an area where there was a person during work, an area where the host device could not enter, or the like. After the work of the autonomous work machine 2, a worker uses, for example, a lawn mower called a mowing machine to perform lawn mowing at a location where the autonomous work machine 2 could not enter.”)
Regarding claim 10, Yokoyama discloses:
A control method of an information processor including a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and (See at least Fig. 2 & [0090-0092]: “FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of an image related to additional work information which is displayed on the terminal 5…The image g21 includes an image indicating a work area…”)
acquires information regarding one or more work areas, in which (See at least [0048]: “The detection unit 202 detects the state of work (completed work or uncompleted work (work left undone)) of the host device on the basis of work schedule information stored by the storage unit 206 and the content of work which is being currently performed. The detection unit 202 may detect the content of done work (completed work), may detect the content of undone work (work left undone), or may detect at least one of completed work and work left undone” & [0051]: “The leftover uncut edge detection unit 223 detects the third area 530 (FIG. 1) left uncut at the edge of the work area.”)
the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and (See at least Fig. 4 & [0092]: “The image g21 includes an image indicating a work area, an image indicating an area in which additional work needs to be performed, and an image indicating the type of work required for the area.”)
a status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, and (See at least Fig. 1, Fig. 4 & [0093]: “The image g31 is a type image indicating an uncut leftover among the types of the contents of the additional work.”)
the status includes a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from a work completion timing at which a predetermined work for the work area has been completed and (See at least Fig. 1, Figs. 4-5, [0032-0034]: “…the work area 500 is formed in a horizontally long shape, and has a shape with irregularities in a longitudinal direction. A tree 501 is planted in the center of the work area 500. An edge 502 is a boundary between the lawn within the work area 500 and the outside of the work area (for example, a sidewalk). A first area 510 is an example of an area in which the autonomous work machine 2 of the present embodiment has left the lawn uncut” & [0105]: “…The control unit 205 of the autonomous work machine 2 transmits detection result information to the server 4 through the communication unit 203 and the network NW after the completion of the work…”)
a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed. (See at least Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0093]: “The image g31 is a type image indicating an uncut leftover among the types of the contents of the additional work” & [0034]: “A first area 510 is an example of an area in which the autonomous work machine 2 of the present embodiment has left the lawn uncut. As shown in FIG. 1, the first area 510 is, for example, an area under or around the tree, an area around a bench, an area where there was a person during work, an area where the host device could not enter, or the like. After the work of the autonomous work machine 2, a worker uses, for example, a lawn mower called a mowing machine to perform lawn mowing at a location where the autonomous work machine 2 could not enter.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi of US 20240111299 A1, filed 09/29/2022, hereinafter “Yamauchi”, in view of Yokoyama.
Regarding claim 2, Yamauchi teaches:
An information processing system comprising a status management unit that determines a work completion timing at which a predetermined work has been completed for each of one or more work areas, (See at least Fig. 7, [0092]: “In the working information image 154, the state of each of the working machines 14, a working time period, a remaining time period until the work is completed, the work completion percentage, and the area of the assigned working regions 120 are displayed…”)
sets a status of the work area to a work completion status corresponding to a condition during a predetermined period from the latest work completion timing and (See at least Fig. 7, [0091]: “…dashed line regions 162 that surround the travel paths 160 are simply shown in a pseudo manner as portions where the work has been completed” & [0074]: “…in the case that the assigned working regions 120 are reset, concerning a work completed region that is an assigned working region 120 for which the work completion percentage has become greater than or equal to a work completion threshold value, the working region assigning unit 112 excludes such a region from being a target of resetting of the assigned working regions 120…”)
a display terminal control unit that displays a map image on a display unit and (See at least [0086]: “FIG. 7 is a diagram showing the displayed contents of the display unit 142, which is a display screen of the monitor 26 (refer to FIG. 5). A working region image 152 showing the working region 16 is displayed on the right part of the display unit 142…”)
acquires information regarding the one or more work areas, (See at least [0098]: “…the information acquisition unit 108 (refer to FIG. 5) of the server 24 acquires the working region information…”)
wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and (see at least [0087]: “In the working region image 152, the working region 16, the assigned working regions 120…are included…”)
the status of the work area in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information. (See at least [0091]: “…dashed line regions 162 that surround the travel paths 160 are simply shown in a pseudo manner as portions where the work has been completed.”)
Yamauchi does not explicitly teach:
changes the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed; and
Yokoyama teaches:
changes the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed; and (See at least Fig. 1, [0122-0124]: “The autonomous work machine 2 advances the work as shown in FIG. 6, completes the work on the basis of the work schedule information including the map information 601 and the route information 602 which are received from the server 4, and then transmits a detection result including information of the detected uncut leftover area (or location) and leftover uncut edge area to the server 4. The autonomous work machine 2 may transmit the detection result to the server 4 at predetermined time intervals during the work…The server 4 transmits the additional work information to the terminal 5 on the basis of the detection result information received from the autonomous work machine 2…” & [0093]: “The image g31 is a type image indicating an uncut leftover among the types of the contents of the additional work.” See also [0119-0121] regarding the work area changing from including an area in which no mowing has been completed to including areas where mowing has been completed and an uncut leftover area.)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Yamauchi’s system with Yokoyama’s technique of changing the status to a work required status corresponding to a condition that requires the work after the predetermined period has elapsed. Doing so would be obvious so “it is possible to detect work left behind by the work machine and to perform work efficiently” (See [0015] of Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 8, Yamauchi and Yokoyama in combination teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein the work area is an area in which autonomous traveling work machine performs a work, and (See at least [0084]: “…one of the working machines 14 carries out the lawn mowing work in one of the assigned working regions 120.”)
the status management unit determines a work completion timing at which the work for the work area has been completed by the autonomous traveling work machine transmitting the work completion timing in the work area to the status management unit. (See at least Fig. 7 & [0101]: “The three working machines 14, while carrying out work in their assigned working regions 120, transmit various types of information in relation to their work to the server 24 at the predetermined communication period. The server 24 sequentially transmits the information received from the three working machines 14 to the monitors 26…the working time periods, the remaining time periods, the work completion percentages of the respective working machines 14, and the area of the assigned working regions 120 are sequentially updated in the working information image 154.”)
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Yokoyama and further in view of Doughty of US 20170020064 A1, filed 07/24/2015, hereinafter “Doughty”.
Regarding claim 3, Yamauchi and Yokoyama in combination teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Yamauchi and Yokoyama in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein the status management unit sets the status of the work area within a predetermined period after the work completion timing and before the status changes to the work required status, to a transition status corresponding to a status in the middle of changing to the work required status, and
the work area image indicating the transition status is an image indicating a state regarding the predetermined work for the work area during a period corresponding to the transition status.
Doughty teaches:
wherein the status management unit sets the status of the work area within a predetermined period (See at least [0058]: “…The portion 120a of the mowable area 102 has vegetation characteristics that are within a healthy range for baseline values of vegetation characteristics for healthy vegetation. The portion 120b has a level of the vegetation characteristics that is generally less desirable for the user 114 but does not require immediate attention from the user 114 to correct for the less-than-desirable characteristics. In contrast, portion 120c has a level of vegetation characteristics sufficiently outside of the range of baseline values of vegetation characteristics for healthy vegetation. In the portion 120c, further degradation of the vegetation characteristics may result in irreparable damage to the vegetation should attention or correction be delayed…”)
the work area image indicating the transition status is an image indicating a state regarding the predetermined work for the work area during a period corresponding to the transition status. (See at least Fig. 7B & [0096]: “The user device 510 also displays the map 705b showing variation of grass height of the vegetation in the mowable area…”)
Although Doughty does not explicitly teach setting the status of the work area to a transition status after the work completion timing, Doughty teaches determining the grass height is at a low level that “does not require remediation from the user” or a medium level “that may not require immediate attention” (See at least [0099]). Doughty further changing the mowing frequency depending on the grass height, which implies multiple work cycles are performed (See at least [0100]). Therefore, the teachings of Doughty render obvious monitoring the condition of the work area during any period of time, including after work is completed, and updating the grass height (i.e., a transition status) until it reaches a height that requires mowing (i.e., a work required status), which has the benefit of automatically adapting the system “to fluctuating lawn conditions” (See [0023] of Doughty).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Yamauchi and Yokoyama’s system with Doughty’s technique of setting the status of the work area to a transition status. Doing so would be obvious for “the user to readily understand actual lawn health, for example, and prompt the user to take appropriate measures to improve health” (See [0023] of Doughty).
Regarding claim 4, Yamauchi, Yokoyama, and Doughty in combination teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein the work area image includes a work area contour image indicating a contour of the work area, and (See at least Fig. 7 & [0087]: “In the working region image 152, the working region 16, the assigned working regions 120, the positions of the charging stations 22, the positions of the three working machines 14, the travel paths 160 of the three working machines 14, and the boundaries 150 are included…”)
Doughty additionally teaches:
the work area contour image is an image with transparency different in accordance with the status of the work area, and is set to an image in which transparency in the work required status is lower than transparency in the work completion status. (See at least Fig. 7B & [0097]: “Different portions of the map 705b are marked to indicate the level of grass height of the corresponding portions of the mowable area. The map 705b depicts a portion 730b with a marking corresponding to the low level 715b of grass height. The marking of the portion 730b indicates that the corresponding portion of the mowable area has a low level of grass height. Similarly, the map 705b depicts a portion 735b with a marking corresponding to the medium level 720b of grass height. The marking of the portion 735b indicates that the corresponding portion of the mowable area has a medium level of grass height. The map 705b further depicts a portion 740b with a marking corresponding to the high level 725b of grass height. The color of the portion 740b indicates that the corresponding portion of the mowable area has a high level of grass height.”)
Regarding claim 5, Yamauchi, Yokoyama, and Doughty in combination teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein the work area image includes a figure having a predetermined shape, and (See at least Fig. 7 & [0091]: “…dashed line regions 162 that surround the travel paths 160 are simply shown in a pseudo manner as portions where the work has been completed”, wherein the dashed line regions are within the assigned working regions.)
Doughty additionally teaches:
transparency of at least one of inside or outside of the figure is changed in accordance with the status of the work area, and/or a size of the figure is increased or decreased in accordance with the status of the work area. (See at least Fig. 7B & [0096]: “…The legend 710b indicates the meaning of each of the markings used in the map 705b. The legend 710b includes three levels 715b, 720b, 725b of grass height: a low level 715b, a medium level 720b, and a high level 725b.”)
Regarding claim 6, Yamauchi, Yokoyama, and Doughty in combination teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein in a case of the work completion status, the work area image includes a decorative image that emphasizes that the status is the work completion status. (See at least Fig. 7 & [0091]: “…dashed line regions 162 that surround the travel paths 160 are simply shown in a pseudo manner as portions where the work has been completed”, wherein the dashed line regions are within the assigned working regions.)
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi, Yokoyama, and Doughty in combination teach all the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein the work area image includes an area status display element indicating the status of the work area, and (See at least Fig. 7 & [0087]: “…the travel paths 160 are indicated by thick outline lines, and thick lines with hatching. The thick lines with hatching indicate locations where the loads of the working machines 14 are relatively high.”)
the area status display element is an image indicating that there are a lot of targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work required status and indicating that there are a few targets for which a work is to be performed in a case of the work completion status. (See at least [0090]: “…the travel paths 160 may be represented by gradations of color or brightness in accordance with the magnitude of the loads of the working machines 14. Alternatively, within the travel paths 160, only locations where a load threshold value set in advance by the user is exceeded may be displayed in varied colors or brightnesses. In accordance with this feature, it is possible to visually inform the user of places where grass grows easily by using such gradations of the colors or brightnesses, or variations in the colors or brightnesses…”)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi in view of Yokoyama and further in view of Yamamura of US 20170285630 A1, filed 03/29/2017, hereinafter “Yamamura”.
Regarding claim 9, Yamauchi and Yokoyama in combination teach all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Yamauchi additionally teaches:
wherein a period setting table that associates at least one of a region of the work area, a season, a requirement for each region or individual factors for each region with the predetermined period with which the status of the work area is changed is provided, and (See at least Fig. 7 & [0092]: “In the working information image 154, the state of each of the working machines 14, a working time period, a remaining time period until the work is completed, the work completion percentage, and the area of the assigned working regions 120 are displayed…”)
Yamauchi and Yokoyama in combination do not explicitly teach:
the status management unit determines the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table.
Yamamura teaches:
the status management unit determines the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table. (See at least [0075]: “…a required work period is set or selected by retrieval from the work period table using the calculated area S as search criterion. This processing is equivalent to calculating required work period per unit time period in accordance with characteristics (work period table shown in FIG. 11) set in advance with respect to the calculated area S of the working area AR.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Yamauchi and Yokoyama’s system with Yamamura’s technique of determining the predetermined period for each work area based on the period setting table. Doing so would be obvious so it is “easy for a user to set the work period and enables work to be properly performed” (See [0005] of Yamamura).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220355734 A1 is directed to a work screen display system that provides a predetermined history indication on a travel route for a work vehicle.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nikki Molina whose telephone number is (571) 272-5180. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday and alternate Fridays, 7:30-4:30 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad, can be reached onu7 (571) 270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIKKI MARIE M MOLINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662