DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I claims in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20-25 are cancelled as being drawn to a nonelected Group II claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0320119 (hereinafter referred to as Ou) in view of Xu et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0324276 (hereinafter referred to as Xu).
Regarding claims 1-19, Ou discloses a process for upgrading tar-containing effluent from a steam cracker furnace that comprises: a) contacting a steam cracker tar-containing effluent with steam and for a time, sufficient to convert at least a portion of the steam cracker tar to a mixture comprising lower boiling molecules and the steam cracker tar-containing effluent; and b) separating the mixture from step a) into i) at least one tar-lean product; and ii) a tar-rich product having a final boiling above the final boiling point of the at least one tar-lean product.
Step a) includes at least one of: 1) contacting said steam cracker tar-containing effluent with steam added to the effluent in a transfer line downstream of a steam cracker furnace comprising a quench inlet, with the steam added through or downstream of the quench inlet; 2) contacting the steam cracker tar-containing effluent with steam under heat soaking conditions in a heat soaking vessel to which the steam is added; and 3) contacting the steam cracker tar-containing effluent with steam under visbreaking conditions in a visbreaker. The steam treated tar can be separated into higher value gas oil, fuel oil and tar streams (see Abstract).
In paragraphs 0013-0014, Ou discloses a process for upgrading tar-containing effluent from a steam cracker furnace comprising: a) feeding a hydrocarbon feedstock having a final boiling point above 260°C to a steam cracking furnace containing a radiant section outlet producing a steam cracker tar-containing effluent; b) adding steam to at least a portion of said steam cracker tar-containing effluent of said radiant section outlet, while the tar-containing effluent is at a temperature of from 300°C to 850°C to form a steam-effluent mixture; and c) separating the steam-effluent mixture into i) at least one tar-lean product containing a first tar; and ii) a tar-rich product containing a second tar, the tar-rich product having a final boiling point above the final boiling point of the at least one tar-lean product. The steam is added in step b), at or between the radiant section furnace outlet and a primary fractionator.
Ou further discloses in paragraph 0021, the process comprises at least one of i) adding at least a portion of the steam cracker gas oil fraction, such as from a primary fractionator, to the high boiling stream to provide a fluxed tar stream and ii) directing at least a portion of the fluxed tar stream to a partial oxidation reactor for combusting.
Ou discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose (III) recovering a steam cracker gas oil ("SCGO") side stream from the steam cracker primary fractionator; wherein: the make-up liquid stream comprises a first hydrocarbon portion and a second hydrocarbon portion, the first hydrocarbon portion is distributed into the SCGO side stream, and the second hydrocarbon portion is distributed into the SCT stream as recited in claim 1.
Xu discloses a method for decreasing reactor fouling in a steam cracking process is provided. The method includes steam cracking a hydrocarbon feed to obtain a quench oil composition comprising a concentration of donatable hydrogen of 0.5 wt. % or more based on a total weight percent of the quench oil composition; exposing a steam cracker effluent flowing from a pyrolysis furnace to the quench oil composition to form a mixture; and fractionating the mixture in a separation apparatus to obtain a steam cracker tar (see Abstract).
In paragraph 0052, Xu discloses at least a portion of the quench oil composition (e.g., one or more of hydroprocessed tar, TLP, and mid-cut) is used as a quench oil composition at a quench location that is downstream of a pyrolysis furnace and/or transfer line exchanger(s) and upstream of a separation apparatus (e.g., primary fractionator). In addition, the quench oil composition can be mixed with one or more effluents flowing from the separation apparatus (e.g., primary fractionator) such as those effluents flowing through a “steam cracker tar” SCT line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the process steps of Xu in the process of Ou as it is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771