DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action is response to communications filed on April 3rd 2024. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 19/093,658 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. As shown in the table below, claims 1-12 of the instant application are identical to claims 1-12 of the reference application.
Reference Application 19/093,658
Instant Application 18/625,570
1. An information processor comprising: a display terminal control unit that acquires information regarding each of one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of a user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
1. An information processor comprising: a display terminal control unit that acquires information regarding each of one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of a user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
2. An information processing system comprising: an operation device to be operated by a user; and one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area based on an instruction from the operation device, wherein the operation device acquires information regarding each of the one or more autonomous traveling work machines and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of the user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes predetermined information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
2. An information processing system comprising: an operation device to be operated by a user; and one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area based on an instruction from the operation device, wherein the operation device acquires information regarding each of the one or more autonomous traveling work machines and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of the user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes predetermined information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
3. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a system error state, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the system error state.
3. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a system error state, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the system error state.
4. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a low energy state, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the low energy state.
4. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a low energy state, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the low energy state.
5. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine granting operation authority to the user, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the user does not have operation authority.
5. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine granting operation authority to the user, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the user does not have operation authority.
6. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work possible identification element (h3) indicating that the work can be started on the display unit when the autonomous traveling work machine moves within a predetermined distance from a work start position of the work area.
6. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work possible identification element (h3) indicating that the work can be started on the display unit when the autonomous traveling work machine moves within a predetermined distance from a work start position of the work area.
7. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work.
7. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work.
8. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information with which an energy amount necessary for the work and a remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine can be determined, and the display terminal control unit can display the energy amount necessary for the work and the remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine on the display unit.
8. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information with which an energy amount necessary for the work and a remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine can be determined, and the display terminal control unit can display the energy amount necessary for the work and the remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine on the display unit.
9. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a list of autonomous moving routes available in a case where the autonomous traveling work machine automatically moves to the work area corresponding to the selected work area image and performs the work and a selection screen that accepts selection of the autonomous moving routes at the same time in a superimposed manner on the map image based on operation of the user.
9. The information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a list of autonomous moving routes available in a case where the autonomous traveling work machine automatically moves to the work area corresponding to the selected work area image and performs the work and a selection screen that accepts selection of the autonomous moving routes at the same time in a superimposed manner on the map image based on operation of the user.
10. The information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit displays an addition button that accepts addition of the autonomous moving routes on at least one of the list of the autonomous moving routes or the selection screen.
10. The information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit displays an addition button that accepts addition of the autonomous moving routes on at least one of the list of the autonomous moving routes or the selection screen.
11. The information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit has a function of performing processing of accepting selection of a plurality of the autonomous moving routes from the user via the list of the autonomous moving routes and the selection screen and processing of giving an instruction to perform the work in the work area using the accepted plurality of autonomous moving routes.
11. The information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit has a function of performing processing of accepting selection of a plurality of the autonomous moving routes from the user via the list of the autonomous moving routes and the selection screen and processing of giving an instruction to perform the work in the work area using the accepted plurality of autonomous moving routes.
12. A control method of an information processor comprising a display terminal control unit that acquires information regarding each of one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of a user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
12. A control method of an information processor comprising a display terminal control unit that acquires information regarding each of one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area and one or more work areas, displays a map image on a display unit, accepts operation of a user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information, accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image, the information includes information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine, and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated.
Claim Interpretation 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a display terminal control unit in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The structure of the above listed unit is described in the specifications in Para. [0030]…the control unit 51a, and the like, are implemented by software processing, and the control unit 51a, and the like, may be implemented by hardware.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamauchi et al. (2024/0111299) "Yamauchi" .
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi teaches an information processor comprising:
a display terminal control unit that acquires information regarding each of one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area and one or more work areas (Fig. 7, the working information 154) , displays a map image on a display unit (, accepts operation of a user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work (Para. [0083]… By operating the operation input unit 144 after having confirmed the displayed contents of the display unit 142, the user is capable of selecting at least either the working machines 14 used in performing the work, or the assigned working regions 120 where the work is to be continued. The control unit 138 transmits the selection result of the user to the server 24 via the communication unit 134), wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information (Para. [0087]…In the working region image 152, the working region 16, the assigned working regions 120, the positions of the charging stations 22, the positions of the three working machines 14, the travel paths 160 of the three working machines 14, and the boundaries 150 are included. In this case, the boundaries 150 are displayed in the form of solid lines), accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image (Para. [0083]), the information includes information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine (Para. [0134]… based on the working machine state information, it is possible to determine whether or not the autonomous mobile working machines are capable of continuing to perform work. For example, in the case that an autonomous mobile working machine does not move for a certain period of time due to the remaining capacity of the battery, or a malfunction or the like in the autonomous mobile working machine, it may be determined that the autonomous mobile working machine is in a state of being incapable of continuing to perform work), and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated (Para. [0092]… In the working information image 154, the state of each of the working machines… are displayed.)
Regarding claim 2, Yamauchi teaches an information processing system comprising:
an operation device to be operated by a user (operation input unit 144); and one or more autonomous traveling work machines that perform a predetermined work in a work area based on an instruction from the operation device (Para. [0083]…by operating the operation input unit 144 after having confirmed the displayed contents of the display unit 142, the user is capable of selecting at least either the working machines 14 used in performing the work, or the assigned working regions 120 where the work is to be continued), wherein the operation device acquires information regarding each of the one or more autonomous traveling work machines and one or more work areas (Para. [0079-0080]…the display processing unit 140 carries out a display process for displaying the information received by the communication unit 134 on a display unit 142 (information providing unit) of the touch panel 132. In the information received by the communication unit 134, there is included at least one item of information from among information indicating the assigned working regions 120, and working information, which is information concerning the work of the working machines 14), displays a map image on a display unit (Fig, 7, Para. [0086]…a working region image 152 showing the working region 16 is displayed on the right part of the display unit 142), accepts operation of the user and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine to perform the work (Para. [0083]...the control unit 138 transmits the selection result of the user to the server 24 via the communication unit 134), the display terminal control unit displays a work area image indicating a position of the work area and a work machine image indicating a position of the autonomous traveling work machine in a superimposed manner on the map image based on the acquired information (Para. [0087]… In the working region image 152, the working region 16, the assigned working regions 120, the positions of the charging stations 22, the positions of the three working machines 14, the travel paths 160 of the three working
machines 14, and the boundaries 150 are included), accepts selection operation of the work area image and the work machine image and instructs the autonomous traveling work machine corresponding to the selected work machine image to perform the work in the work area corresponding to the selected work area image (Para. [0083]) , the information includes predetermined information with which it is possible to determine whether or not a work can be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine (Para. [0134]… based on the working machine state information, it is possible to determine whether or not the autonomous mobile working machines are capable of continuing to perform work. For example, in the case that an autonomous mobile working machine does not move for a certain period of time due to the remaining capacity of the battery, or a malfunction or the like in the autonomous mobile working machine, it may be determined that the autonomous mobile working machine is in a state of being incapable of continuing to perform work), and the work machine image is displayed so as to make it possible to discern whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a state where the work can be allocated (Para. [0092]… In the working information image 154, the state of each of the working machines… are displayed.).
Regarding claim 3, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim
2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a system error state (Para. [0066]…the information indicating the operating states of the working machines 14 is the status of the working machines 14. Specifically, the information indicates whether the working machines 14 are in any one of a state of charging, in a state of performing work, or in a stopped state…), and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the system error state (Para. [0066]…. The information indicating errors occurring in the working machines 14 is information indicating a malfunction or a failure of the working machines 14. For example, such information is information indicating that the working machines 14 are stuck in a depression and cannot move.)
Regarding claim 4, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein
the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is in a low energy state, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is the low energy state (Para. [0134]... in the case that an autonomous mobile working machine does not move for a certain period of time due to the remaining capacity of the battery, or a malfunction or the like in the autonomous mobile working machine, it may be determined that the autonomous mobile working machine is in a state of being incapable of continuing to perform work.)
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim
2, wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the autonomous traveling work machine is autonomously moving and performing a work (Para. [0066]… The information indicating the operating states of the working machines 14 is the status of the working machines 14. Specifically, the information indicates whether the working machines 14 are in any one of a state of charging, in a state of performing work, or in a stopped state. The information indicating errors occurring in the working machines 14 is information indicating a malfunction or a
failure of the working machines 14. For example, such information is information indicating that the working machines 14 are stuck in a depression and cannot move…)
Regarding claim 8, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the predetermined information includes information with which an energy amount necessary for the work and a remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine can be determined, and the display terminal control unit can display the energy amount necessary for the work and the remaining amount of energy of the autonomous traveling work machine on the display unit (Para. [0065]… there is included at least one item of information from among information indicating operating states of the working machines 14, information indicating remaining capacities of the batteries 44 (refer to FIG. 2) provided in the working machines 14…)
Regarding claim 9, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein the display terminal control unit displays a list of autonomous moving routes available in a case where the autonomous traveling work machine automatically moves to the work area corresponding to the selected work area image and performs the work and a selection screen that accepts selection of the autonomous moving routes at the same time in a superimposed manner on the map image based on operation of the user (Para. [0064]…In the travel path information, there is included information indicating the travel paths 160 (refer to FIG. 7), which are travel trajectories of the working machines 14. As noted previously, the travel path information is information indicating the travel trajectories of the working machines 14. Therefore, the travel path information may be information indicating the positions of the working machines 14 at respective times. In this case, the travel paths 160 are formed by connecting the positions of the working machines 14 at the respective times.)
Regarding claim 10, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit displays an addition button that accepts addition of the autonomous moving routes on at least one of the list of the autonomous moving routes or the selection screen (Para. [0144]... the user can add regions in which the user desires to have the autonomous mobile working machines perform work again.)
Regarding claim 11, Yamauchi teaches the information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the display terminal control unit has a function of performing processing of accepting selection of a plurality of the autonomous moving routes from the user via the list of the autonomous moving routes and the selection screen and processing of giving an instruction to perform the work in the work area using the accepted plurality of autonomous moving routes (Para. [0144]... the user can add regions in which the user desires to have the autonomous mobile working machines perform work again.)
Regarding claim 12, please refer to the rejection of claim 1 which is commensurate in scope. Claim 1 being drawn to a control unit and claim 12 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi et al. (2024/0111299) "Yamauchi" in view of Lee (US 2023/0397525).
Regarding claim 5, Yamauchi teach the information processing system according to claim 2, Lee further teaches wherein the predetermined information includes information indicating whether or not the autonomous traveling work machine granting operation authority to the user, and one of states where a work cannot be allocated to the autonomous traveling work machine is a state where the user does not have operation authority (Lee, Para. [0100]…a user may enter information into the external device 115, and if the entered information and the unique identifier from the bar code or QR code match the stored information in the server 152, the server 152 may register the robotic mower 105 with the user and/or the user's account such that only an external device 115 associated with the associated user and/or account may monitor and/or control the robotic mower 105 using the external device 115.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve user interaction between the robotic mower and the user to allow the
user to more efficiently monitor and control operation of the robotic mower (Lee, Para. [0070]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi et al. (2024/0111299) "Yamauchi" in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 2024/0107932)
Regarding claim 6, The information processing system according to claim 2, Miyamoto further teaches wherein the display terminal control unit displays a work possible identification element (h3) indicating that the work can be started on the display unit when the autonomous traveling work machine moves within a predetermined distance from a work start position of the work area (Miyamoto, Para. [0076]…the operator issues an instruction to the work vehicle 10 to start autonomous traveling in the field F (traveling start instruction). When the work vehicle 10 satisfies the autonomous traveling start condition, thereby being in a state where autonomous traveling is possible, for example, when the work vehicle 10 is positioned within a predetermined distance from the target route R and within a predetermined orientation relative to the target route R (refer to FIG. SC), the operator can press the autonomous traveling button (not illustrated) of the operation display unit 73 to issue the traveling start instruction).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work management device as taught by Yamauchi with the traveling control method as taught by Miyamoto to improve the operability of an operator in a work vehicle that performs work while switching between autonomous traveling and manual traveling (Miyamoto, Para. [0004]).
Conclusion
/JODI JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666