Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 11, 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “one or more software modules” should read “comprising one or more software modules”
Claim 11: “claim 1” should read “claim 10”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 13: the list of sensor types should read “a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor,...”. furthermore there should be an “or” between electrical and current sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-13, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Specht (9960455).
Regarding claim 1, Specht discloses a battery fire suppression system, comprising: one or more battery packs (2, fig 1); one or more sensors (5, fig 1) disposed internal to the one or more battery packs; a fire suppressant deployment system (4, fig 1); a controller (7, fig 1), one or more software modules that, when executed by the controller, receive one or more signals from the one or more sensors indicative of one or more conditions internal to the one or more battery packs; actuate the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a thermal runaway in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 2, Specht discloses wherein the one or more battery packs are one or more lithium-ion battery packs (col 1, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 3, Specht discloses a vehicle including the one or more battery packs (col 1, lines 17-25).
Regarding claim 4, Specht discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a temperature sensor (col 5, lines 12-16).
Regarding claim 6, Specht discloses wherein the fire suppressant deployment system includes an electronic valve (col 3, lines 45-50, the valves are activated by the controller, and thus would be electronic as that is the only opening signal the invention has to produce), and the one or more software modules that, when executed by the controller, control the electronic valve to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress the fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a thermal runaway in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 7, Specht discloses wherein the one or more sensors include one or more temperature sensors, and the one or more software modules that, when executed by the controller, actuate the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of temperature above a threshold in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 10, Specht discloses A method of using a battery fire suppression system, comprising: providing the battery fire suppression system of claim 1; receiving via the controller the one or more signals from the one or more sensors indicative of one or more conditions internal to the one or more battery packs; actuating via the controller the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy the fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a thermal runaway in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 11, Specht discloses wherein the one or more battery packs are one or more lithium-ion battery packs (col 1, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 12, Specht discloses a vehicle including the one or more battery packs (col 1, lines 17-25).
Regarding claim 13, Specht discloses wherein the one or more sensors include a temperature sensor (col 5, lines 12-16).
Regarding claim 15, Specht discloses wherein the fire suppressant deployment system includes an electronic valve (col 3, lines 45-50, the valves are activated by the controller, and thus would be electronic as that is the only opening signal the invention has to produce), and controller controls the electronic valve to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress the fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a thermal runaway in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Regarding claim 16, Specht discloses wherein the one or more sensors include one or more temperature sensors, and the controller actuates the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of temperature above a threshold in the one or more battery packs (col 5, lines 12-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Specht in view of Roh (11975615) and Bosch (DE 102013216296A).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Specht discloses wherein the battery pack can have one or more different types of sensors include one or more temperature sensors (col 5, lines 12-16).
Speck does not disclose wherein the one or more sensors include one or more pressure or chemical sensors.
Roh teaches a vehicle battery fire detection system (300, fig 3), wherein a pressure sensor can be used alongside of a temperature sensor to determine a fire by detecting when pressure in the pack goes above a threshold (col 3, lines 10-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery fire detection system disclosed by Specht by using a pressure sensor based on the teachings of Roh. Doing so would allow for the detection of gas released from a battery in the case of damage (col 1, lines 10-20), as suggested by Roh.
Bosch teaches a battery fire detection system (10, fig 1), wherein a chemical sensor can be to determine a fire by detecting when chemical leakage in the pack goes above a threshold (attached translation, page 2, last paragraph- page 3, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery fire detection system disclosed by Specht by using a Chemical sensor based on the teachings of Bosch. Doing so would allow for the detection of a fire risk before the fire has a chance to propagate (page 3, attached translation), as suggested by Bosch.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Specht in view of Roh (11975615).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Speck discloses the one or more software modules that, when executed by the controller, actuate the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a sensor above a threshold in the one or more battery packs.
Speck does not disclose wherein the sensor is a pressure sensor.
Roh teaches a vehicle battery fire detection system (300, fig 3), wherein a pressure sensor can be used alongside of a temperature sensor to determine a fire by detecting when pressure in the pack goes above a threshold (col 3, lines 10-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery fire detection system disclosed by Specht by using a pressure sensor based on the teachings of Roh. Doing so would allow for the detection of gas released from a battery in the case of damage (col 1, lines 10-20), as suggested by Roh.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Specht in view of Bosch.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Speck discloses the one or more software modules that, when executed by the controller, actuate the fire suppressant deployment system to deploy a fire suppressant to suppress a fire or possible fire in the one or more battery packs if the one or more signals are indicative of a sensor above a threshold in the one or more battery packs.
Speck does not disclose wherein the sensor is a chemical sensor.
Bosch teaches a battery fire detection system (10, fig 1), wherein a chemical sensor can be to determine a fire by detecting when chemical leakage in the pack goes above a threshold (attached translation, page 2, last paragraph- page 3, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery fire detection system disclosed by Specht by using a Chemical sensor based on the teachings of Bosch. Doing so would allow for the detection of a fire risk before the fire has a chance to propagate (page 3, attached translation), as suggested by Bosch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bandhauer (9704384) and Jung (9539448) both disclose a battery with an integrated fire sensing and suppression system.
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741