Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The strap is described as a “ring shape” in [0033], and further it is said that “two ends” of the strap are wrapped around two latches. A ring does not have ends, and this description of the strap as “ring shaped” is not appropriate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “bottom wall” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that the specification recites that bottom wall 100D is shown in Figure 3, but no such numeral is present in Figure 3.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 – 4, 6 – 8, 10 – 13, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 2, “sequentially having” is awkward, and “the first lateral wall sequentially having a first notch” lacks antecedent basis. It is suggested that “sequentially having” be changed to -sequentially has- or something similar. In line 3, “rectangle” should be rectangular. In line 4, “the maximum distance” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 4, line 2, “sequentially having” is awkward, and it is suggested this be changed to sequentially has. In line 3, “rectangle” should be rectangular.
In claim 6, line 4, “the alignment hole” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 7, line 3, “the whole stopping wall” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 8, “wherein whole of the bottom wall” is awkward and appears to have missing language.
In claim 10, line 4, “the corresponding ramp” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 11, line 1, “base being one piece formed” is awkward. In line 3, “top surface with same height” is awkward. In lines 3 – 4, “the base portion” lacks antecedent basis. In line 5, “portion of vertical gap” appears to be missing language. In lines 6 – 7, “portion of horizontal gap” appears to be missing language.
In claim 12, line 2, “the top surfaces” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 13, line 2, “parallel” should be parallely. Alternatively, “arranged” may be deleted.
In claim 16, the second to last line, “for ensuring at least one of the ramps to be contacted with the cage” is awkward.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 8,870,471 (“Ito”).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a board end connector (Fig. 1), comprising:
a cage (12), having a top wall (the wall near members 12N in Fig. 1), a bottom wall (12BP), a first lateral wall (12RW) and a second lateral wall (12LW), the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall connecting the top wall and the bottom wall respectively for forming an accommodating space therein (see Fig. 1), the cage having a front opening (opening near portions 12FF, Fig. 1) and a rear opening (12D), the first lateral wall having at least one elastic bridge (12SRF) and at least one alignment hole (12N) at a rear side of the cage, the elastic bridge being recessed toward the accommodating space (12SRF is a bridge member and has the same shape as bridge member 12TF seen in Fig. 12, where it is recessed inwardly), when the elastic bridge is abutted and elastically deformed, a reverse force shall be provided thereby (col. 9, lns. 20 – 25).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 11,569,613 (“Lu”).
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses a plug (600), comprising:
a base (portion A, see below), having a port facing an insertion direction (see below), the port exposing at least a portion of a terminal set secured therein (see below, and further see Fig. 6B); and
a cable (B, see below), connected with the terminal set within the base and extending away from the base,
two latches (the snap-fit member which includes protrusions 602, see col. 14, lns. 15 – 27), secured on a first side surface and a second side surface of the base respectively (portions 604 and 606 both have latch members), each of the latches having a flexible plate (portion C, see below), a fixed plate (portion D, see below) and two C-shaped connecting portions (portions E, see below) connecting the flexible plate and the fixed plate, each of two latches connected with the base via the fixed plate (see below), the flexible plate having at least two ramps (602).
Marked up version of Fig. 6C
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,870,471 (“Ito”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,189,943 (“Zerebilov”).
Regarding claim 2, Ito does not disclose wherein the elastic bridge and the alignment hole of the cage are located on a same surface.
However, Zerebilov discloses a board end connector with a cage, where the cage side walls includes an alignment hole (see 2606, 2620, Fig. 26a). It would have been obvious to include an alignment hole on the side wall, the same sidewall where the bridge is located, because this sidewall hole helps position the inner connector member within the cage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is allowed, if all applicable claim objections are remedied.
Claims 3 – 8 and 10 – 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if all applicable claim objections are remedied.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed board end connector, including wherein the first lateral wall sequentially has a first notch, two alignment holes, and two elastic bridges along a longitudinal direction, the first notch is substantially rectangularly shaped, a width of the first notch is larger than a maximum distance of the two alignment holes, the first notch, the two alignment holes, and the two elastic bridges are arranged in a mirrored configuration across a longitudinal axis, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed plug, further including a strap connecting both of the flexible plates of the latches; wherein when the strap is pulled, the strap drives the two latches to elastically deform to change a position of a corresponding ramp, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed plug wherein the base formed as one piece and has a left pillar, a right pillar and a base portion connected therebetween, the left pillar and the right pillar having a top surface with a same height, the port is a part of the base, the plug further comprises a metal plate, a vertical portion of the metal plate covers at least a portion of a vertical gap between the left pillar and the right pillar, a horizontal portion of the metal plate covers at least a portion of a horizontal gap between the left pillar and the right pillar, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed board end connector, comprising: a cage, the cage having a front opening and a rear opening, the first lateral wall having at least one elastic bridge and at least one alignment hole at a rear side of the cage, the elastic bridge being recessed toward the accommodating space; and a plug, having: a base, having a port; and two latches, secured on a first side surface and a second side surface of the base respectively, each of the latches having a flexible plate, the flexible plate having at least two ramps, wherein, when the plug is plugged into the cage via the rear opening, the ramps enter the alignment holes respectively and the elastic bridge pushes the plug backward ensuring at least one of the ramps contacts the cage, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Ito and Zerebilov do not disclose the sequence of a notch, two alignment holes, and two elastic bridges as required by claim 3. Henry, Phillips, Sun, and Li each disclose plugs with latch members having ramps, and pull straps, but none disclose two latches, or teach a pull strap which will pull two latch members on first and second side surfaces of the plug. Lu, and none of the latch members just mentioned, disclose or teach the plug having the metal plate with the vertical and horizontal portions as required by claim 11. Finally, Lu discloses a cage member 2 which mates with the plug, and the cage member has an elastic portion 21, but the elastic portion is not a bridge and furthermore the plug does not enter the rear of the cage 2 as required by claim 16.
The prior art, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831