DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Final.
Claims 1, 18 and 19 are independent claims. Claims 2-17 are dependent claims.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 04-13-2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configuration tool”, “diagnostic tool”, and “setup tool” in claim(s) 1, 4, 18, and 19.
As per dependent claims 2-17, these claims are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Action May Be Required By Applicants
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function).
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. In particular, claims are directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S._,_, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2352 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293-1294 (2012)).
The Office recognizes the Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance memorandum that makes changes to how patent examiner apply the Alice/Mayo test, for which the subject matter eligibility is examined. Particularly, under the new revised guidance, the Office determines claim eligibility based on the following:
Step 1: Statutory Category
As explained in MPEP 2106(1), the claimed invention is directed to one of four- categories: a process, machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter. Examiner respectfully submits that all of the current claims are clearly directed to statutory categories of subject matter. In other words, claims 1-19 are not directed to the following non-limiting examples such as: “signals per se”, “software per se” or “humans per se”.
Thus, the Office finds the first step of the analysis to be satisfied and the claim to fall within a statutory category. (STEP 1: YES)
Step 2 (A): Directed to a Judicial Exception by determining whether the claim recites a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea.
The revised guidance released as of January 4th 2014, breaks step to 2(A) into a pair of sub-steps, 2(A)(Prong 1) and 2(A)(Prong 2).
In sub-step Step 2(A)(Prong 1), the office is to determine whether the claim recites a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea. Abstract ideas are limited to the following categories: mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes.
if the above step is True, then in sub-step 2A(Prong 2), the Office is to determine further "whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception."
Analysis under Step 2(A) Prong 1:
In this instant application, applying the first sub-step 2(A) (Prong 1), the Office states that claim 1 under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is directed to an apparatus for a system [that] comprises:
i) determine whether resultant scan data has changed from a previous scan’s scan data, and to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data provided;
ii) comparing respective data values of the resultant scan data to corresponding respective portions of the previous scan data; and
iii) identify configuration errors with respect to changes in configuration data.
The recitation for performing the claimed expression under i) recites an apparatus of organizing a “human mental work”. As a non-limiting example, the claimed invention is similar to that of human mental work of comparing and evaluating scanned data files for any changes. Stated differently, the claim recites no substantive limitations on how the apparatus determines the resultant scan has changed because the limitation are entirely functional. Stated differently, the claims attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. In similar vein, the recitation under ii) also fails to disclose how the apparatus compares data values of the resultant scan data to corresponding respective portions of the previous scanned data. Lastly, the claims further fail to disclose how the apparatus identifies configuration errors with respect to changes in configuration data.
Therefore, claim is directed to a “mental process”, “evaluation” or “judgement” consistent with MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) which are judicially recognized as one of the exceptions.
Thus, the Office finds the Step 2(A)(Prong 1) under the judicial exception of the analysis to be satisfied and the claim to fall within one of the judicial exception. In this instance, the judicial exception is a mental process based on the analysis above. Thus, step 2A(Prong 1) is a YES.
Analysis under Step 2(A)(Prong 2):
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates into a practical application of that exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception.
In this instance, claim 1 further recites the following additional elements:
a network; (MPEP: 2106.05(h).That is, the field of use and technological environment )
a plurality of components, each communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the plurality of components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (MPEP: 2106.05(h).That is, the field of use and technological environment )
a configuration tool communicatively coupled to the network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception)
a diagnostic tool communicatively coupled to the network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception)
wherein the configuration tool is configured to perform a configuration for a selected component of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP )
2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.)
scan data comprises at least in part configuration data for respective ones of the component. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP )2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.)
Thus, the Office finds the Step 2(A) (Prong 2) under the judicial exception of the analysis to be not satisfied and thus the claim to be directed to an abstract idea. Step 2(A) (Prong 2) is a NO.
Analysis under Step 2(B)—“Significantly More”:
Step 2(B) is directed on whether the claim provided an inventive concept. As described above under step 2(A) (Prong 2) the determination to whether the additional elements amount to significantly more.
-a network; (MPEP: 2106.05(h).That is, the field of use and technological environment )
-a plurality of components, each communicatively coupled to the network, wherein the plurality of components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (MPEP: 2106.05(h).That is, the field of use and technological environment )
-a configuration tool communicatively coupled to the network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception)
-a diagnostic tool communicatively coupled to the network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, Receiving or transmitting data over a network -MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i), and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document--MPEP 2105(d)(II)(v) )
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to perform a configuration for a selected component of the plurality of components; (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, Receiving or transmitting data over a network -MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i) )
scan data comprises at least in part configuration data for respective ones of the component. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP )2106.05(g). That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. That is, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, Receiving or transmitting data over a network -MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i), and electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document--MPEP 2105(d)(II)(v)
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible. Step 2(B) is a NO.
To conclude, based on the above analysis, claim 1 is ineligible and properly rejected under 101.
Independent claim 19 recites similar features and are rejected for similar reasons explained above.
With respect to claim 2:
2(A) Prong 1: The claim recited a judicial exception.
-determine whether each of the configuration steps has been completed and verified, and wherein the configuration tool is configured to record corresponding configuration step data, completion data, and verification data for each configuration step. (mental process-evaluation whether step has been completed and verified)
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the configuration tool is configured to access a database for a list of components and related configuration files, wherein each configuration file corresponds to a configuration procedure for a respective component of the plurality of components, wherein the configuration tool is configured to select a configuration file that corresponds to the selected component for configuration, and wherein the database is stored on either a local memory or an external memory. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity- MPEP 2106.05(g) )
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to access a database for a list of components and related configuration files, wherein each configuration file corresponds to a configuration procedure for a respective component of the plurality of components, wherein the configuration tool is configured to select a configuration file that corresponds to the selected component for configuration, and wherein the database is stored on either a local memory or an external memory. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception. And, insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g), Storing and retrieving information in memory-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iv) And, receiving or transmitting data over a network-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iv))
With respect to claim 3:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein each configuration file comprises at least one configuration step for configuring the corresponding component. MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g),
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein each configuration file comprises at least one configuration step for configuring the corresponding component, (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity-MPEP 2106.05(g), Storing and retrieving information in memory-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iv) And, receiving or transmitting data over a network-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iv)))
With respect to claim 4:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein the configuration tool comprises a system setup tool and/or a display setup tool, wherein the system setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a system component configuration, and wherein the display setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a display configuration. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception.)
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein the configuration tool comprises a system setup tool and/or a display setup tool, wherein the system setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a system component configuration, and wherein the display setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a display configuration. (MPEP: 2106.05(f). That is, mere instructions to apply an exception.)
With respect to claim 5:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein the display is one of a monitor, a projector, a tablet, a phone, a wearable device, or some other electronic device. (MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment.)
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the display is one of a monitor, a projector, a tablet, a phone, a wearable device, or some other electronic device. (MPEP § 2106.05(h): Field of Use and Technological Environment.)
With respect to claim 6:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to output configuration data to a log, and wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to access the configuration data for use in evaluating the scan data. (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-)
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to output configuration data to a log, and wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to access the configuration data for use in evaluating the scan data. (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) & MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity- updating an activity log-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(ii) and Receiving or transmitting data over a network-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i) )
With respect to claim 7:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to troubleshoot and correct configuration errors in system components, (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f))
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to receive the log from the configuration tool, wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to run a list of tests during the diagnostic scan, (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-)
wherein each test corresponds with a line item in the list of tests, wherein the diagnostic scan comprises at least one line item for each component, and wherein the diagnostic tool accesses the list of tests from a database stored on either a local memory or an external memory. (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity)
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to troubleshoot and correct configuration errors in system components, (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to receive the log from the configuration tool, wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to run a list of tests during the diagnostic scan, (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity- updating an activity log-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(ii) and Receiving or transmitting data over a network-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i))
wherein each test corresponds with a line item in the list of tests, wherein the diagnostic scan comprises at least one line item for each component, and wherein the diagnostic tool accesses the list of tests from a database stored on either a local memory or an external memory. (mere instructions to apply an exception- MPEP: 2106.05(f) and MPEP § 2106.05(g)- Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity- Receiving or transmitting data over a network-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i))
With respect to claim 8:
2A Prong 1:
- determine at least one of: a configuration, a software version and status, an operational state or condition of the component, and information related to software drivers utilized by the component, and ( “mental process”, “evaluation” or “judgement” consistent with MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) which are judicially recognized as one of the exceptions.
2A Prong 2:
- wherein the line-item tests comprise tests (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-MPEP 2106.05(g))
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to identify whether a line item test’s scan data has changed. (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-MPEP 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
wherein the line-item tests comprise tests (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-MPEP 2106.05(g), Performing repetitive calculations-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(ii) )
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to identify whether a line item test’s scan data has changed. (Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity-MPEP 2106.05(g), Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document-MPEP 2105(d)(II)(v))
With respect to claim 9:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein the system is a light guide system configured to monitor and guide manufacturing activities.( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein the system is a light guide system configured to monitor and guide manufacturing activities. ( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
With respect to claim 10:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the components comprise at least one of: a plurality of cameras, a plurality of projectors, a plurality of monitors, a system controller, one or more external computer systems, input/output devices, and a manufacturing execution system.( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the components comprise at least one of: a plurality of cameras, a plurality of projectors, a plurality of monitors, a system controller, one or more external computer systems, input/output devices, and a manufacturing execution system. ( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
With respect to claim 11:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the pluralities of cameras are configured to monitor the activities of workers at workstations in a manufacturing area, and wherein the pluralities of projectors and monitors are configured to display information to the workers and to guide manufacturing activities at the workstations.( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the pluralities of cameras are configured to monitor the activities of workers at workstations in a manufacturing area, and wherein the pluralities of projectors and monitors are configured to display information to the workers and to guide manufacturing activities at the workstations.( linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use -MPEP 2106.05(f))
With respect to claim 12:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to display a visual timeline of the configurations and errors of the system based on the log, and (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f), Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to highlight serious and/or strange items in the visual timeline, and wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to access the changed scan data for each respective line-item test and rank them according to their severity and oddity with respect to the system’s ability to operate as expected. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f), Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to display a visual timeline of the configurations and errors of the system based on the log, and (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f), Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii)
-wherein the configuration tool is configured to highlight serious and/or strange items in the visual timeline, and wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to access the changed scan data for each respective line-item test and rank them according to their severity and oddity with respect to the system’s ability to operate as expected. (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f), Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii)
With respect to claim 13:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
-wherein rankings according to severity and oddity are updated over time based on performance metrics of the system or experience gained from servicing the system.
(insignificant extra solution -MPEP 2106.05(g))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein rankings according to severity and oddity are updated over time based on performance metrics of the system or experience gained from servicing the system.
(insignificant extra solution -MPEP 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii)
With respect to claim 14:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the configuration tool and/or the diagnostic tool comprises machine learning used to highlight components in the system that are showing unusual behavior.(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea-MPEP 2106.05(f))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the configuration tool and/or the diagnostic tool comprises machine learning used to highlight components in the system that are showing unusual behavior.
(Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea-MPEP 2106.05(f))
With respect to claim 15:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the configuration tool is configured to output the logs and configuration data to a central server to process and analyze results of the configuration (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g)
-wherein the central server processes and analyzes results of individual systems for centralized management. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii))
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the configuration tool is configured to output the logs and configuration data to a central server to process and analyze results of the configuration (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii)
-wherein the central server processes and analyzes results of individual systems for centralized management. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii))
With respect to claim 16:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the configuration tool is configured to prevent the system from running without user acknowledgement of any configurations remaining incomplete. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g),
-wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to output scan results to the system (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g),
-wherein the system is configured to bypass selected components of the plurality of components and to limit work to perform based on the scan results. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g),
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the configuration tool is configured to prevent the system from running without user acknowledgement of any configurations remaining incomplete. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Receiving or transmitting data over a network- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(i)
-wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to output scan results to the system (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii) )
-wherein the system is configured to bypass selected components of the plurality of components and to limit work to perform based on the scan results. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii) )
With respect to claim 17:
2A Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
- wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to generate one or more resolution tips to resolve at least one of the identified occurrences of changed scan data for a particular line-item test (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception-See MPEP § 2106.05(g))
-wherein the resolution tips are defined at least in part on related configuration data provided by the configuration tool. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g),
-
2B: The claim(s) does/do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
- wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to generate one or more resolution tips to resolve at least one of the identified occurrences of changed scan data for a particular line-item test (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception-See MPEP § 2106.05(g), updating an activity log - MPEP 2105(d)(II)(iii))
-wherein the resolution tips are defined at least in part on related configuration data provided by the configuration tool. (insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), repetitive calculation- MPEP 2105(d)(II)(ii) )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 7,206,824 (hereinafter, “Somashekar”).
As per claim 18, Somashekar discloses a configuration apparatus for a system comprises:
a network; (network 200; Fig. 3)
a plurality of components, each communicatively coupled to the network, (pluggable components 208A and 208B within the plurality of embedded server systems coupled to network 200; Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (Fig. 3 further illustrates each pluggable component responsible to provide service 210A, 210B and 210b)
a configuration tool (configuration system 202; Fig 3) communicatively coupled to the network (Fig. 3) and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (Fig. 3 further illustrates configuration system 202 to communicate with pluggable components through network 200)
wherein the configuration tool is configured to perform a configuration for a selected component of the plurality of components, (Inter alia: abstract states “a Bundle Configuration Utility (BCU) for configuring network deliverable pluggable components for deployment in embedded servers are described.” ) wherein the configuration tool is configured to guide a user in performing at least one configuration step for a selected component. (Fig’s 4-8 illustrate how a user uses a configuration utility GUI interface to set preferences for a different pluggable components)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2020/0074086 (hereinafter, “Bulygin”) and U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004226 (hereinafter, “Gungabeesoon”).
As per claim 19, Bulygin discloses a diagnostic scanner for a system comprises:
a network; (cloud network; Fig. 1)
one or more components, each communicatively coupled to the network, (groups of host devices; Fig. 1)
wherein the one or more components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (groups of host devices performing functions dedicated to their organization; ¶ [0018])
a diagnostic tool (centralized server, e.g., server 108, on-premises server; Fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the network (within a private or public cloud network); ¶ [0017]) and configured to communicate with each of the one or more components; (communicate with group host devices; Fig. 1)
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to perform a diagnostic scan of each of the components and determine whether resultant scan data has changed from a previous scan’s scan data ( ¶ [0026] states that “an administrator may submit a request for an on-demand scan of a group of host”. Based on said scanning, the system is configured to determine “changes to specific hardware components may be monitored to ensure that any deviation from baseline is detected in order to detect possible compromise. In this way, device data is extracted and compared against previous results, providing indications of change” ) data by comparing respective data values of the resultant scan data to corresponding respective portions of the previous scan data, ( ¶ [0026] states that “an administrator may submit a request for an on-demand scan of a group of host”. Based on said scanning, the system is configured to determine “changes to specific hardware components may be monitored to ensure that any deviation from baseline is detected in order to detect possible compromise. In this way, device data is extracted and compared against previous results, providing indications of change” )
wherein the scan data comprises at least in part configuration data for respective ones of the components, and (the system is configured to scan data for changes to configuration information that includes hardware/firmware components of the plurality hosts ; at least ¶s [0040]-[0049] )
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data to identify configuration in any of the components with respect to changes in configuration data. (the system is configured to scan data for changes to configuration information that includes hardware/firmware components of the plurality hosts ; at least ¶s [0040]-[0049] )
Bulygin does not distinctly disclose configuration errors.
However, Gungabeesoon explicitly discloses wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data to identify configuration errors in any of the components with respect to changes in configuration data. (Gungabeesoon is directed to service-oriented architecture system for deploying, via a network, various “service configurations” to build a software service for a plurality legacy system systems. The system may further evaluate these newly build software service for “errors” ¶s [0062]-[0072] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bulygin and Gungabeesoon because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Gungabeesoon’s teaching of detecting configuration errors would enhance Bulygin's system by eliminating issues when deploying software packages to clients, thus enhancing the deployment of service-oriented architecture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7.206,824 (hereinafter, “Somashekar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0074086 (hereinafter, “Bulygin”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004226 (hereinafter, “Gungabeesoon”).
As per claim 1, Somashekar discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus for a system comprises:
a network; (network 200; Fig. 3)
a plurality of components, each communicatively coupled to the network, (pluggable components 208A and 208B within the plurality of embedded server systems coupled to network 200; Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (Fig. 3 further illustrates each pluggable component responsible to provide service 210A, 210B and 210b)
a configuration tool (configuration system 202; Fig 3) communicatively coupled to the network (network; Fig. 3) and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components; (Fig. 3 further illustrates configuration system 202 to communicate with pluggable components through network 200)
wherein the configuration tool is configured to perform a configuration for a selected component of the plurality of components; and (Inter alia: abstract states “a Bundle Configuration Utility (BCU) for configuring network deliverable pluggable components for deployment in embedded servers are described.” )
Somashekar does not distinctly disclose the following:
a diagnostic tool communicatively coupled to the network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components;
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to perform a diagnostic scan of each of the components and determine whether resultant scan data has changed from a previous scan’s scan data, and
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data provided by the configuration tool.
However, Bulygin explicitly discloses the following:
a network; (cloud network; Fig. 1)
one or more components, each communicatively coupled to the network, (groups of host devices; Fig. 1)
wherein the one or more components are configured to perform the system’s functionality; and (groups of host devices performing functions dedicated to their organization; ¶ [0018])
a diagnostic tool (centralized server, e.g., server 108, on-premises server; Fig. 1) communicatively coupled to the network (within a private or public cloud network); ¶ [0017]) and configured to communicate with each of the one or more components; (communicate with group host devices; Fig. 1)
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to perform a diagnostic scan of each of the components and determine whether resultant scan data has changed from a previous scan’s scan data ( ¶ [0026] states that “an administrator may submit a request for an on-demand scan of a group of host”. Based on said scanning, the system is configured to determine “changes to specific hardware components may be monitored to ensure that any deviation from baseline is detected in order to detect possible compromise. In this way, device data is extracted and compared against previous results, providing indications of change” ) by comparing respective data values of the resultant scan data to corresponding respective portions of the previous scan data, wherein the scan data comprises at least in part configuration data for respective ones of the components, (the system is configured to scan data for changes to configuration information that includes hardware/firmware components of the plurality hosts ; at least ¶s [0040]-[0049] )
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data provided by the configuration tool to identify configuration in any of the components with respect to changes in configuration data. (centralized server (e.g., within a private or public cloud network) for analyzing information collected from the local agent of each associated host device; ¶ [0017] & the system is configured to scan data for changes to configuration information that includes hardware/firmware components of the plurality hosts ; at least ¶s [0040]-[0049] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Somashekar and Bulygin because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Bulygin’s teaching of analyzing information collected from a local agent from each of the host devices would enhance Somashekar's system by detecting any vulnerabilities and patching them with updated version that leads enhanced hardware/software security for the organization.
Somashekar as modified does not distinctly disclose configuration errors.
However, Gungabeesoon explicitly discloses wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to evaluate the scan data based at least in part upon related configuration data to identify configuration errors in any of the components with respect to changes in configuration data. (Gungabeesoon is directed to service-oriented architecture system for deploying, via a network, various “service configurations” to build a software service for a plurality legacy system systems. The system may further evaluate these newly build software service for “errors” ¶s [0062]-[0072] )
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Somashekar as modified and Gungabeesoon because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Gungabeesoon’s teaching of detecting configuration errors would enhance Somashekar as modified 's system by eliminating issues when deploying software packages to clients, thus enhancing the deployment of service-oriented architecture.
As per claim 4, Somashekar as modified discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the configuration tool comprises a system setup tool and/or a display setup tool, wherein the system setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a system component configuration, and (Somashekar: BCU 206 may support multiple GUI windows 300 open at one time, with each displaying a set of preferences for a different pluggable component 208; Col 10 lines 34-39, Fig. 4)
wherein the display setup tool is configured to perform or guide a user through a display configuration. (Somashekar: BCU 206 may support multiple GUI windows 300 open at one time, with each displaying a set of preferences for a different pluggable component 208; Col 10 lines 34-39, Fig. 4)
As per claim 5, Somashekar as modified discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the display is one of a monitor, a projector, a tablet, a phone, a wearable device, or some other electronic device. (Somashekar: Fig 2illustrates a PC, phone, PDS and other electronic devices and display Fig 4) & (Bulygin; display ¶ [0020]
Claims 6, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. U.S. Patent No. 7.206,824 (hereinafter, “Somashekar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0074086 (hereinafter, “Bulygin”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004226 (hereinafter, “Gungabeesoon”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2006/0235697 (hereinafter, “Filibeck”) .
As per claim 6, Somashekar as modified discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the configuration tool is configured to output configuration data. (Somashekar; discloses a local agent to output collected data to a central server for analysis)
wherein the diagnostic tool is configured to access the configuration data for use in evaluating the scan data. (see mapping associated with claim 1)
Somashekar as modified does not distinctly disclose outputting data to a log.
However, Filibeck discloses outputting data to a log. (inter alia; log report; Fig 31)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Somashekar as modified and Filibeck because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Filibeck’s teaching of outputting information to a log report would enhance Somashekar's as modified system by allowing an administrator to more easily track events, thus enhancing system monitoring.
As per claim 15, Somashekar as modified discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the configuration tool is configured to output the logs and configuration data to a central server to process and analyze results of the configuration, wherein the central server processes and analyzes results of individual systems for centralized management. (Somashekar; discloses a local agent to output collected data to a central server for analysis) and (Filibeck: inter alia; log report; Fig 31)
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. U.S. Patent No. 7.206,824 (hereinafter, “Somashekar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0074086 (hereinafter, “Bulygin”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004226 (hereinafter, “Gungabeesoon”) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,854,015 (hereinafter, “Borke”) .
As per claim 9, Somashekar as modified does not distinctly disclose a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the system is a light guide system configured to monitor and guide manufacturing activities.
However, Borke discloses an apparatus, wherein the system is a light guide system configured to monitor and guide manufacturing activities. (provide for real-time quality control during manufacturing using augmented reality. In particular, in one embodiment, techniques herein project a three-dimensional (3D) virtual shape/model onto a work-in-progress part in the real-world in order to see defects in real-time, thus allowing for mid-manufacturing corrections; abstract)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Somashekar as modified and Borke because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Borke’s teaching of tracking manufacturing activities would enhance Somashekar's as modified system by enhancing quality of manufacturing products, thus limiting any errors.
As per claim 10, Somashekar as modified discloses a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the components comprise at least one of: a plurality of cameras, a plurality of projectors, a plurality of monitors, a system controller, one or more external computer systems, input/output devices, and a manufacturing execution system. (one or more projectors, cameras; Fig 1a-b, col 3 lines 0-5)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7.206,824 (hereinafter, “Somashekar”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0074086 (hereinafter, “Bulygin”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0004226 (hereinafter, “Gungabeesoon”) and further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,854,015 (hereinafter, “Borke”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2024/0330620 (hereinafter, “O’Hagan”) .
As per claim 11, Somashekar as modified discloses the following:
a configuration and diagnostic apparatus, wherein the pluralities of cameras are configured to monitor the activities at workstations in a manufacturing area, and (projectors 110 may be set up to project on a given area (e.g., a clean room, manufacturing floor, or otherwise) for “inside-out tracking”; col 3 lines 0-5)
wherein the pluralities of projectors and monitors are configured to display information to and to guide manufacturing activities at the workstations. (projectors 110 may be set up to project on a given area (e.g., a clean room, manufacturing floor, or otherwise) for “inside-out tracking”; col 3 lines 0-5)
Somashekar as modified does not discloses monitor activity of workers.
However, O’Hagan explicitly discloses monitor activity of workers ( ¶ [0025])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Somashekar as modified and O’Hagan because all references are in the same field of endeavor. O’Hagan’s teaching of tracking worker activities would enhance Somashekar's as modified system by optimizing processes and enhancing worker productivity.
Allowable Subject Matter Over 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-14, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04-13-2026 related to the newly added features have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on 04-13-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to the extent that is applicable to the claims.
I. Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C § 112(f)
Applicant remarks indicate that the terms “configuration tool” , “diagnostic tool” and “setup tool” should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C § 112(f), because the recited terms of the claims are understood by persons of ordinary skill in the art to denote definite structure.
As initial matter, the Office submits that Applicant has not provided any evidence how one of ordinary skill would interpret these claimed terms as describing a definite structure. For example, Applicant may provide specifics of what that structure is for each of the claimed terms. While portions of the claim describe other terms (e.g., coupled to a network and configured to communicate with each of the plurality of components), these other terms do not convey any specific structural character of the limitation in questions or otherwise impart a definite structure as being alleged.
For the foregoing reasons, the Office maintains that the limitations “configuration tool” , “diagnostic tool” and “setup tool” fail to recited sufficient definite structure and are interpreted under 35 U.S.C § 112 (f) .
II. Claim Rejection under 35 U.S.C § 101
Applicant contends that the claims limitation cannot be performed in the human mind because of limitations recited in claim 1.
The Office submits that claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea because the claims fail to provide any substantive limitation on how the apparatus determines the resultant scan has changed because the limitation are entirely functional. Indeed, courts have long ruled that a mental process that is performed on a generic computer to be an abstract idea. See Verified, Inc. v. Election Systems & Software, LLC, 887 F.3d 1376, 1385, 126 USPQ2d 1498, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2018). In that case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification in explaining that the claimed steps of voting, verifying the vote, and submitting the vote for tabulation are "human cognitive actions" that humans have performed for hundreds of years. In the same way, a human performing visual scans to documents to determine changes are cognitive skills that akin to mental process. Therefore, without the claims reciting any specifics on how the scans are performed and how the scam changes are determined, the claims do not provide any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result.
For the foregoing reasons, the Office maintains that claims 1-17 and 19 are abstract ideas under 35 U.S.C § 101 .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov