3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/15/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 2 of Claim 6, insert --inverted-- before “cone”;
in line 1 of 13, insert --sanitizing device-- after “stethoscope”;
in line 1 of 14, insert --sanitizing device-- after “stethoscope”;
in line 10 of Claim 15, insert --radiation-- before “emitter”;
in line 1 of Claim 16, insert --central-- before “opening”;
in line 2 of Claim 18, insert --inverted-- before “cone”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “chest piece receiving structure” in claims 8-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the chest piece receiving structure" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since the claim depends from claim 5 rather than claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR20180076208).
As to Claim 1, Lee (‘208) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device for a stethoscope (see Figures 1-7), comprising:
a housing (11) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (i.e. within 11 where 21-22 and 24-25 are located);
a radiation emitter (25) located within the housing (11), wherein the radiation emitter (25) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (i.e. within 11) (see Figures 2 and 4); and
a support pane (12) fixed to the housing (11) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (see Figures 2, 4-5 and 7).
As to Claim 2, Lee (‘208) discloses that the support pane (12) is transparent (see entire English translation, p. 2 lines 2-3 and 8-9).
As to Claim 8, Lee (‘208) discloses that the housing (11) includes a chest piece receiving structure (i.e. between 16) configured to secure the stethoscope via contact with a back surface of a chest piece (33) of the stethoscope (see Figures 2 and 4).
As to Claim 9, Lee (‘208) discloses that the chest piece receiving structure (i.e. between 16) is configured to secure a chest piece (33) of the stethoscope in place when the chest piece receiving structure (i.e. between 16) is located between a diaphragm (i.e. surface of 33 located adjacent 12) of the stethoscope and a bell (i.e. located opposite to the diaphragm) of the stethoscope (see Figures 2 and 4).
As to Claim 10, Lee (‘208) discloses that the stethoscope sanitizing device further comprises at least one spring clip (15, 16) extending from the housing (11) and configured to contact a chest piece (33) of the stethoscope for securing the chest piece (33) in place relative to the housing (11) (see Figures 2, 4 and 7).
As to Claim 11, Lee (‘208) discloses that the radiation emitter (25) includes a UV light emitter (see entire English translation, p. 2 line 5).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tarcan (GB2607930).
As to Claim 1, Tarcan (‘930) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device (2) for a stethoscope (12) (see Figures 1-9), comprising:
a housing (4, 6) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (i.e. within 6 above 20) (see Figures 1-8);
a radiation emitter located (via 28) within the housing (4) (see Abstract – lines 2 and 9-10, p. 4 lines 31-34, p. 7 line 23), wherein the radiation emitter is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (i.e. within 6 above 20) (see Figure 1-8); and
a support pane (10, 20) fixed to the housing (4, 6) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (12) (see Figures 1-5 and 7-8).
As to Claim 3, Tarcan (‘930) discloses that the support pane (10, 20) includes an opening (8) that exposes at least a portion of the patient-facing side of the stethoscope (12) (see Figures 1-3 and 5-9).
As to Claim 4, Tarcan (‘930) discloses that the opening (8) is circular, and wherein the support pane (10, 20) forms a support ring (10) configured to accommodate stethoscopes of different sizes (see Figures 5-6).
As to Claim 7, Tarcan (‘930) discloses that the housing (4, 6) includes a rim (24, 26) that extends axially beyond the support pane (10, 20), wherein the rim (24, 26) at least partially surrounds the support pane (10, 20) to prevent radiation escape during device operation (see Figures 1-2, 5 and 7-8).
As to Claim 12, Tarcan (‘930) discloses that the radiation emitter is electrically connected to a controller located within the housing (4, 6) (see entire document, particularly p. 6 lines 11-12 and 21-25).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Medal (WO2022266762).
Medal (‘762) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device (100) for a stethoscope (see Figures 1-25), comprising:
a housing (110) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (114);
a radiation emitter (230) located within the housing (110), wherein the radiation emitter (230) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (114); and
a support pane (170, 236) fixed to the housing (110) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (see Figures 1-4, 7, 9, 11 and 21),
wherein the support pane (170, 236) includes a transparent material (see entire document, particularly p. 15 [00102]), and
wherein the support pane (170, 236) includes a central opening (i.e. opening of 236, more particularly in the configuration with a plurality of 170, and parallel with 150 – see entire document, particularly Figures 1 and 9, p. 15 [00101]/lines 13-14 and 16-17, pp. 15-16 [00103]/p. 15 line 29 to p. 16 line 6) configured/capable to permit direct radiation application to the patient-facing side of the stethoscope from the radiation emitter (230).
Claim(s) 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenkins (WO02056920).
As to Claim 15, Jenkins (‘920) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device (130) for an object capable of being a stethoscope (see Figures 18-20), comprising:
a housing (133) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (i.e. within 133);
a radiation emitter (135) located within the housing (130), wherein the radiation emitter (135) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (i.e. within 133); and
a support pane (141) fixed to the housing (133) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of an object capable of being a stethoscope (see Figures 18-20),
wherein the support pane (141) includes a transparent material (see entire document, particularly p. 16 lines 19-20), and
wherein the support pane (141) includes a central opening (i.e. opening between 141) configured/capable to permit direct radiation application to the patient-facing side of the object capable of being a stethoscope from the radiation emitter (135) (see Figures 18-20).
As to Claim 16, Jenkins (‘920) discloses that the central opening (i.e. opening between 141) of the support pane (141) is circular (see Figures 18-20 to accommodate the circular object 131), and wherein the support pane (141) forms a support ring configured/capable to accommodate stethoscopes of different sizes (see Figures 18-20).
As to Claim 17, Jenkins (‘920) discloses that the stethoscope sanitizing device (130) further comprises a reflective surface (137) at a bottom of the sanitation cavity (i.e. within 133), wherein the reflective surface (137) forms an inverted cone (see Figures 18-20)l.
As to Claim 18, Jenkins (‘920) discloses that the radiation emitter (135) is located at an apex of the inverted cone (see Figures 18-20).
As to Claim 19, Jenkins (‘920) discloses that the housing (133) includes a rim (139, 147) that extends axially beyond the support pane (141), wherein the rim (139, 147) at least partially surrounds the support pane (141) to prevent radiation escape during device operation (see entire document, particularly Figures 19-20, p. 16 lines 21-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarcan (GB2607930) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koh (KR20170094773) or Messina (WO2016001776).
Tarcan (‘930) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
While Tarcan (‘930) discloses the bottom of the sanitation cavity (i.e. within 6 above 20) forms an inverted cone (22) where the radiation emitter is located at an apex (via 28) of the inverted cone (22) (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-5 and 8, p. 5 lines 27-28, p. 7 lines 15-16 and 23), Tarcan (‘930) does not specifically teach that the bottom of the sanitation cavity comprises a reflective surface.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflective surface at a bottom of a sanitation cavity of a stethoscope sanitizing device. Koh (‘773) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device (3) for a stethoscope (1) (see Figures 1-21), comprising:
a housing (60) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (i.e. internal volume formed/surrounded by 50);
a radiation emitter (40) located within the housing (60), wherein the radiation emitter (40) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (i.e. internal volume formed/surrounded by 50) (see Figure 2); and
a support pane (71) fixed to the housing (60) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (1) (see Figures 2, 10-11, 14-19 and 21),
wherein a bottom of the sanitation cavity (i.e. internal volume formed/surrounded by 50) is a reflective surface (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 12-15),
in order to reflect UV rays within the sanitation cavity/device (see entire English translation, particularly p. 4 lines 12-15).
Messina (‘776) also discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device (1) for a stethoscope (S, T) (see Figures 1A-10), comprising:
a housing (2) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (6) (see Figures 1A-1B and 3);
a radiation emitter (3) located within the housing (2), wherein the radiation emitter (3) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (6) (see Figures 1-10);
a support pane (11) fixed to the housing (2) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (S, T) (see Figures 1A-1B); and
a reflective surface (i.e. surface of 11) at a bottom of the sanitation cavity (6) (see entire document, particularly p. 11 lines 3-7 and 17-20), wherein the reflective surface (i.e. surface of 11) forms an inverted cone (see Figures 1-10);
wherein the radiation emitter (3) is located at an apex of the inverted cone (see Figures 1A-1B, 3, 7 and 9-10),
in order to provide a waveguide for radiation so as to allow a better directional guidance of the light and capture the light energy in a smaller volume and improve its effectiveness on the surface to be treated (see entire document, particularly p. 11 lines 6-11 and 20-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a reflective surface at the bottom of the sanitation cavity in the stethoscope sanitizing device of Tarcan as a known configuration in order to reflect and deliver the radiation/ray/light generated by the radiation emitter so as to enable a better directional guidance of the light in a smaller volume as shown by Koh or Messina.
Thus, Claims 5-6 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Tarcan (‘930), and Koh (‘773) or Messina (‘776).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20180076208) or Tarcan (GB2607930) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (KR101324463).
Lee (‘208) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Tarcan (‘930) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
As to Claim 13, neither Kim (‘208) or Tarcan (‘930) appears to specifically teach that the stethoscope sanitizing device is further comprised of a light collector that glows upon receiving radiation from the radiation emitter.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light collector in a stethoscope sanitizing device. Kim (‘463) discloses a stethoscope sanitizing device for a stethoscope (see Figures 3-6), comprising:
a housing (40) that at least partially surrounds a sanitation cavity (42);
a radiation emitter (52) located within the housing (40), wherein the radiation emitter (52) is configured to selectively emit a radiation into the sanitation cavity (42);
a support pane (60) fixed to the housing (40) and configured to receive and support a patient-facing side of a stethoscope (10) (see Figures 4-5); and
a light collector (i.e. 54 and the portion of 50 adjacent 52) that glows upon receiving radiation from the radiation emitter (52) (see entire English translation, particularly p. 2 - 4th – 5th lines from the bottom, p. 3 lines 8-13),
in order to confirm operation of the radiation emitter as well as to provide light therapy function to those present adjacent the stethoscope sanitizing device (see entire English translation, particularly p. 2 - 4th – 5th lines from the bottom, p. 3 lines 8-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light collector in the stethoscope sanitizing device of Lee or Tarcan as a known alternate configuration in order to provide a visual indication of operation of the radiation emitter as well as a light therapy function so as to provide a better/improved mental health state as shown by Kim.
As to Claim 14, while Kim (‘463) discloses that the light collector (i.e. 54 and the portion of 50 adjacent 52) includes an indicator portion (i.e. ends of 50 that is disposed and extends out from the housing 40 – see Figure 4) that is exposed for view by a user, Kim (‘463) does not appear to specifically teach a separate indicator tab. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indicator tab that is separate but connected to the light collector in the stethoscope sanitizing device of Lee or Tarcan as modified by Kim as an alternate configuration in order to provide the visual indication as well as the light therapy function to a nearby occupant/person as a matter of design/engineering choice (see MPEP §2144.04(V)(C)). Only the expected results would be attained.
Thus, Claims 13-14 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Lee (‘208) or Tarcan (‘930), and Kim (‘463).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references relate either to the field of the invention or subject matter of the invention, but are not relied upon in the rejection of record: KR20200079609 (a stethoscope sterilizer using a plasma generating unit), KR101441078 and KR20080028393 and EP2762169 and 5892233 and 20160324996 and 20120261593 and 20140217307 (a sterilizer for stethoscope via ultraviolet light), 20210402026 (UV sterilizer for items).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758