DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “an outlet cap configured to guide a direction of the air discharged through the outlet; and an outlet cap coupling portion disposed around the outlet to allow the outlet cap to be coupled, the outlet cap coupling portion to guide a position where the outlet cap is coupled to the outlet.” The further recitations of “the outlet” are unclear to the Examiner if the Applicant is intending for a specific outlet of the four previously introduced or if any of the outlets are serviceable. A review of the specific did not make this clear and for examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the Applicant’s use of “the outlet” as reading on any of the previously mentioned outlets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0223761 (Lee hereinafter) in view of US 2023/00132253 (Park hereinafter) and further in view of US 2006/0090778 (Oakes hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a dishwasher that discloses a tub (Figure 3, tub 10); a blower fan configured to blow air (Blower 140); a blower duct configured to guide the air blown by the blower fan to flow therethrough (Ducting 100 from 110a to 120a in Figure 3), the blower duct including: an inlet through which the air enters (Inlet 110a); and an outlet through which the air discharges (Outlet 120a); and an outlet cap to cover the outlet (Broadly interpreted mesh covering shown at the outlet 120a in Figure 3), and configured to guide a direction of the air discharged through the outlet (The cover will allow air to pass in be at least partially guided by the blocking portions of the mesh), the outlet cap comprising a first outlet cap (Cap being the structure holding the mesh cover at the outlet 120a), wherein the outlet comprises: a first outlet (Outlet at 120a); and the blower duct further comprises: an outlet cap coupling portion configured to guide the first outlet cap to a first seating position where the first outlet cap is coupled to the first outlet (Perimeter of the outlet at 120a will allow for the mesh covering to mate and act as a seating portion).
Lee is silent with respect to the outlet cap comprising a second outlet cap, wherein the outlet comprises: a first outlet; and a second outlet spaced apart from the first outlet.
However, Park teaches a dishwasher that discloses two outlets for directing air towards the tub (Figures 2 and 5 with outlets 141/142). The resultant combination would be such that the outlet cap comprising a first outlet cap (Park 141 as acting in 120a of Lee) and a second outlet cap (Park 141), wherein the outlet comprises: a first outlet (at 141 of Park which is at 120a of Lee); and a second outlet spaced apart from the first outlet (142 of Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the single outlet of Lee with the dual outlet of Park to increase the area from which air can pass into the tub for increased air circulation.
Lee is silent with respect that the blower duct further comprises: an outlet cap coupling portion configured to guide the first outlet cap to a first seating position where the first outlet cap is coupled to the first outlet, and to guide the second outlet cap to a second seating position where the second outlet cap is coupled to the second outlet.
However, Oakes teaches a dishwasher with a modular outlet vent that discloses an outlet cap coupling portion configured to guide the first outlet cap to a first seating position where the first outlet cap is coupled to the first outlet (Figure 3B shows the outlet cover 110 being mounted to the outlet via detents 94 where there are two seating positions, one with the detents engaged and the second being with the detents not engaged). The resultant combination would apply the same guiding structure of Oakes to Lee/Park’s second outlet such that the outlet cap coupling portion is configured to guide the second outlet cap to a second seating position where the second outlet cap is coupled to the second outlet (The same structure as described in Oakes above would be duplicated for the second outlet cover as taught by Lee/Parks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet cap mounting portions of Lee/Park with the teachings of Oakes to increase the ease of mounting the outlet covers.
Regarding claim 6, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes would further disclose that the outlet cap coupling portion comprises a coupling protrusion formed to fix the outlet cap coupled to the outlet (Coupling protrusion formed with the connection of the detent 94 of Oakes).
Regarding claim 8, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes would further disclose that the outlet cap comprises an discharge guide rib formed at an angle to guide a discharge direction of the air discharging from the outlet (Discharge guide ribs shown in Park Figure 5 and ribs 118 of Oakes).
Regarding claim 9, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes would further disclose that the discharge guide rib is formed to discharge the air in a first direction in response to the first outlet cap being in the first seating position (Result of the air passing through either of Park’s or Yoon’s ribs in a partially attached position while the over is still connected to the outlet), and to discharge the air in a second direction which is different from the first direction, in response to the second outlet cap being in the second seating position (Result of the air passing through either of Park’s or Yoon’s ribs in a fully attached position and fully twisted to be secured to the outlet).
Regarding claim 10, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes would further disclose an inlet cover configured to be coupled to the inlet to cover the blower fan (Inlet cover shown by the mesh at 110a of Lee Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 10 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes would further disclose that the blower duct comprises an inlet cover coupling portion configured to allow the inlet cover to be coupled to the inlet (Perimeter of the inlet at 110a will allow for the mesh covering to mate and act as a seating portion).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0223761 (Lee) in view of US 2023/00132253 (Park) in view of US 2006/0090778 (Oakes) and further in view of KR 2019-0096168 (Yoon hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the outlet cap coupling portion comprises a guide protrusion protruding toward the outlet cap to guide the first outlet cap to the first seating position and to guide the second outlet cap to the second seating position of the outlet cap.
However, Yoon teaches a dishwasher that discloses an outlet cap coupling portion comprises a guide protrusion protruding toward the outlet cap to guide the first outlet cap to the first seating position and to guide the second outlet cap to the second seating position of the outlet cap (Guide protrusion 25b in Figures 5-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet caps of Lee/Park/Oakes with the guide portion of Yoon to allow for a user to readily assembly and know the position of the cap.
Regarding claim 3, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Yoon would further disclose that the guide protrusion comprises: a first guide protrusion on the first outlet to guide the first outlet cap to the first seating position of the outlet cap (Guide portion 25b as applied to the first outlet of Lee/Park); and a second guide protrusion on the second outlet to guide the second outlet cap to the second seating position of the outlet cap (Guide portion 25b as applied to the second outlet of Lee/Park).
Regarding claim 4, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Yoon would further disclose that the outlet cap comprises a guide hole formed to be coupled to the guide protrusion (Guide holes 174 of Yoon in Figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 5, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Yoon would further disclose that the guide hole is formed to be larger than the guide protrusion to allow the outlet cap to be rotatably coupled to the outlet (Evident form Figures 5-7 of Yoon).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0223761 (Lee) in view of US 2023/00132253 (Park) in view of US 2006/0090778 (Oakes) and further in view of US 2007/0068561 (Shin hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes is silent with respect that the outlet cap comprises a drain hole formed to drain water in the blower duct therethrough. It should be noted that Oakes in Figure 2 appears to show what could be seen as a drain outlet on the face of the cover however they do not disclose anything regarding this structure.
However, Shin teaches an outlet cover of a dishwasher that discloses an outlet cap comprises a drain hole formed to drain water in the blower duct therethrough (¶ 32 with Figure 6 showing the drain 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet covers of Lee/Park/Oakes with a drain opening to allow for excess water to leave the cover and prevent fluid or bacteria build-up.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0223761 (Lee) in view of US 2023/00132253 (Park) in view of US 2006/0090778 (Oakes) and further in view of US 2005/0274036 (Osvatic hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 11 where the combination of Lee, Park, and Oakes is silent with respect that the inlet cover comprises: a body portion configured to cover the blower fan so as to prevent water in the tub from flowing into the blower fan; and a duct coupling portion configured to be coupled to the inlet cover coupling portion.
However, Osvatic teaches a dishwasher vent assembly that discloses an inlet cover (Figure 2, cover 40) that comprises a body portion configured to cover the blower fan so as to prevent water in the tub from flowing into the blower fan (Cover 40 as seen in Figure 2 when applied to the inlet 110a of Lee would act to prevent water from entering the duct 100 which leads to the blower 140); and a duct coupling portion configured to be coupled to the inlet cover coupling portion (Coupling portion 41 per ¶ 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the inlet cover of Lee/Park with the inlet cover of Osvatic to allow for a removably mountable cover.
Regarding claim 13, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Osvatic would further disclose that the body portion and the duct coupling portion are formed integrally (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the body portion of 40 in Osvatic and the portion of 41 on 40 are integrally formed).
Regarding claim 14, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Osvatic would further disclose that the inlet cover further comprises a protruding portion protruding from the body portion toward an inside of the tub (Figure 2 of Osvatic shows 40 having part of 41 that protrudes towards the inlet and the resultant combination has the inlet of Lee on the tub 10).
Regarding claim 15, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Lee, Park, Oakes, and Osvatic would further disclose that the inlet cover further comprises an inlet guide rib formed at an angle to guide the air to the blower fan (Ribs 44 of Osvatic will guide the air in some manner towards the blower 140 within the ducting 100 of Lee).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0100644 (Kopera hereinafter) in view of US 2023/00132253 (Park) and further in view of US 2006/0090778 (Oakes).
Regarding claim 16, Kopera teaches a dishwasher that discloses a tub (Tub 102); a plurality of blower fans disposed at both sides of the tub to blow air (Figures 2-5 with blowers 212 and 262); an outlet formed in the tub to discharge the air blown by the plurality of blower fans (Outlet made of 214, 254, and 260), the outlet comprising: a first outlet (Outlet 214); a third outlet (Outlet 254); and a fourth outlet (Outlet 260), the third outlet and the fourth outlet being at another side of the tub and spaced apart from each other in another direction different from the one direction (Evident form Figures 2 and 4 with the spaced direction being at least vertical); an outlet cap configured to guide a direction of the air discharged through the outlet (Cap shown on outlet 214); and an outlet cap coupling portion disposed around the outlet to allow the outlet cap to be coupled (Border of 214 making it able for the cover to be connected to the tub side of the outlet).
Kopera is silent with respect to a second outlet and the first outlet and the second outlet being at one side of the tub and spaced apart from each other in one direction.
However, Park teaches a dishwasher that discloses two outlets for directing air towards the tub (Figures 2 and 5 with outlets 141/142). The resultant combination would be such that the outlet comprises: a first outlet (at 141 of Park which is at 214 of Kopera); and a second outlet spaced apart from the first outlet in one direction (142 of Park with the direction being horizontal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the single outlet of Kopera with the dual outlet of Park to increase the area from which air can pass into the tub for increased air circulation.
Kopera is silent with respect to the outlet cap coupling portion to guide a position where the outlet cap is coupled to the outlet.
However, Oakes teaches a dishwasher with a modular outlet vent that discloses an outlet cap coupling portion with an outlet cap coupling portion to guide a position where the outlet cap is coupled to the outlet (Figure 3B shows the outlet cover 110 being mounted to the outlet via detents 94 where there are two seating positions, one with the detents engaged and the second being with the detents not engaged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlet cap mounting portions of Kopera/Park with the teachings of Oakes to increase the ease of mounting the outlet covers
Conclusion
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762