DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed March 19, 2026 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 2, in the reply filed on March 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
5. Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
6. Claims 1 and 2 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are indefinite because the phrase “traditional Chinese medicine” is unclear. It is unclear what characteristics a medicine must have in order to be considered “traditional Chinese.” In addition, it is unclear if “Chinese” is intended to limit the claims to ingredients that are only sourced from China.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2005/0142223) in view of Zou (US 2022/0226413).
Gong teaches a composition for treating Alzheimer’s disease comprising 5.67 parts ginseng, 5.67 parts Salvia miltiorrhiza, 2.83 parts radix polygalae, 8.58 parts rhizoma acori tatarinowii, 11.35 parts rehmannia root, and 5.67 parts Poria cocos (see Table 1 and paragraph 4). The reference does not teach using Cistanche deserticola in the composition or that the rehmannia root is dried.
However, Zou teaches a composition for treating Alzheimer’s disease that comprises Cistanche deserticola and dried rehmannia root (see abstract, paragraphs 2, 12, 13, and 67).
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in compositions that treat Alzheimer’s disease. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in compositions to treat Alzheimer’s disease, an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating compositions to treat Alzheimer’s disease. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
The references do not specifically teach adding the ingredients together in all of the amounts claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The references teach the use of each of the ingredients in a pharmaceutical composition. Varying the concentration of ingredients within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655