DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on March 5, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1 – 21 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 7 and 8 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-7 and 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by XU et al., (US 2024/0236298 A1) in view of ZHAO et al., (US 2024/0137515 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 3, 5, 9 - 13, 15 and 19 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al., (US 2020/0120353 A1) referred to as Xu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses a method of encoding or decoding video data (Fig. 12), the method comprising:
for a chroma block of a picture, determining luma blocks that are co-located with the chroma block (Fig. 11A, Par. [0123], The chroma CB (1110) includes a plurality of chroma units (1111)-(1114) (i.e. chroma block), and is co-located with the collocated luma region (1120). The collocated luma region (1120) includes a plurality of luma units (1121)-(1136) (i.e. co-located luma blocks));
determining two or more reference chroma blocks based on block vectors for the luma blocks (Par. [0123] In the example shown in FIG. 11A, a 4:2:0 format is used, each chroma unit has a size of 4×4 chroma samples, each luma unit has a size of 4×4 luma samples, and each chroma unit is collocated with four luma units (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks) instead of one luma unit shown in FIG. 10. For example, the chroma unit (1111) is collocated with the four luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks)), the block vectors pointing to locations within the picture (Par. [0110] A position offset between the reference block (940) and the current block (930) is referred to as a BV (i.e. block vector)(950). Par. [0125] a luma BV for a luma unit where the luma sample is located can be used to determine the chroma BV);
fusing the reference chroma blocks to generate prediction samples for the chroma block (Par. [0153], the chroma BV for the chroma unit (1111) is determined (i.e. generate prediction sample) based on an average (i.e. fusing) of multiple luma BVs for some or all of the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. reference chroma blocks). The luma BVs of the luma units (1121)-(1124) can be averaged with or without weights to obtain an averaged luma BV. The averaged luma BV can be scaled to determine the chroma BV); and
block vector encoding or decoding the chroma block based on the prediction samples (Par. [0022], The processing circuitry can reconstruct (i.e. decode) at least one sample in the one of the one or more chroma units based on the chroma BV).
Regarding Claim 2, Xu discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein fusing the two or more reference chroma blocks comprises at least one of: averaging the two or more reference chroma blocks (Par. [0153], the chroma BV for the chroma unit (1111) is determined based on an average (i.e. fusing) of multiple luma BVs for some or all of the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks). The luma BVs of the luma units (1121)-(1124) can be averaged with or without weights to obtain an averaged luma BV. The averaged luma BV can be scaled to determine the chroma BV); or scaling and summing the two or more reference chroma blocks.
Regarding Claim 3, Xu discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses further comprising: determining respective weights for the two or more reference chroma blocks, wherein fusing comprises fusing the two or more reference chroma blocks based on the respective weights (Par. [0153], the chroma BV for the chroma unit (1111) is determined based on an average of multiple luma BVs for some or all of the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks). The luma BVs of the luma units (1121)-(1124) can be averaged with or without weights (i.e. respective weights) to obtain an averaged luma BV. The averaged luma BV can be scaled to determine the chroma BV).
Regarding Claim 5, Xu discloses claim 3. Xu further discloses determining a weighting factor derivation operation, wherein determining respective weights comprises determining respective weights based on the weighting factor derivation operation (Par. [0130], the luma BVs of the luma units (1121)-(1124) can be averaged with or without weights to obtain an averaged (i.e. weight factor derivation) luma BV).
Regarding Claim 9, XU discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein block vector encoding or decoding the chroma block comprises decoding the chroma block, and wherein decoding the chroma block (Par. [0022] decode prediction information of a chroma coding block (CB) from a coded video bitstream) comprises: determining residual values indicative of a difference between the prediction samples and the chroma block (Fig. 5, Par. [0059] After motion compensating the fetched samples in accordance with the symbols (521) pertaining to the block, these samples can be added (i.e. adding) by the aggregator (555) to the output of the scaler/inverse transform unit (551) (in this case called the residual samples or residual signal) (i.e. residual values) so as to generate output sample information); and adding the residual values to the prediction samples to reconstruct the chroma block (Par. [0022] reconstruct at least one sample in the one of the one or more chroma units based on the chroma BV. Par. [0103] The reconstruction module (874) is configured to combine, in the spatial domain, the residual as output by the residue decoder (873) and the prediction results (as output by the inter or intra prediction modules as the case may be) to form a reconstructed block, that may be part of the reconstructed picture, which in turn may be part of the reconstructed video).
Regarding Claim 10, XU discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein block vector encoding or decoding the chroma block comprises encoding the chroma block (Par. [0022] Aspects of the disclosure provide methods and apparatuses for video encoding/decoding), and wherein encoding the chroma block (Fig. 7, a video encoder (703), Par. [0022] decode prediction information of a chroma coding block (CB) from a coded video bitstream) comprises: determining residual values indicative of a difference between the prediction samples and the chroma block (Par. [0095] The residue calculator (723) is configured to calculate a difference (residue data) between the received block and prediction results selected from the intra encoder (722) or the inter encoder (730)); and signaling information indicative of the residual values (Par. [0095] The residue encoder (724) is configured to operate based on the residue data to encode the residue data to generate the transform coefficients. Par. [0096] the entropy encoder (725) is configured to include the general control data, the selected prediction information (e.g., intra prediction information or inter prediction information), the residue information (i.e. signaling information), and other suitable information in the bitstream).
Apparatus claims 11 – 13, 15, and 19 are drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claims 1 – 3, 5, 9 and 10. Therefore Claims 11 – 13, 15, and 19 correspond to method Claims 1 – 3, 5, 9 and 10 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above. Claim 11 further recites one or more memories configured to store the video data and processing circuitry coupled to the one or more memories (See Xu, Par. [0160] Fast storage and retrieve to any of the memory devices can be enabled through the use of cache memory (i.e. memory), that can be closely associated with one or more CPU (1341) (i.e. processing circuitry)).
Computer-readable storage medium claim 20 is drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claim 1. Therefore Claim 20 corresponds to method claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding Claim 21, Xu discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses wherein determining the two or more reference chroma blocks based on block vectors for the luma blocks (Fig. 11A, Par. [0122]-[0123] A chroma BV for the chroma unit can be determined based on one or more luma BVs for the plurality of luma units (i.e. block vectors for luma blocks). The chroma CB (1110) includes a plurality of chroma units (1111)-(1114), and is co-located with the collocated luma region (1120). The collocated luma region (1120) includes a plurality of luma units (1121)-(1136) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks)) comprises:
determining a first chroma block vector for the chroma block based on one or more of the block vectors for the luma blocks (Par. [0123] the chroma unit (1111) (i.e. first chroma block) is collocated with the four luma units (1121)-(1124), where a chroma BV of each chroma unit can be determined);
determining a second chroma block vector for the chroma block based on one or more of the block vectors for the luma blocks (Par. [0123] the chroma unit (1112) (i.e. second chroma block) is collocated with the four luma units (1125)-(1128), where a chroma BV of each chroma unit can be determined);
determining a first reference chroma block of the two or more reference chroma blocks based on the first chroma block vector (Par. [0125] Referring to FIG. 11B, the luma units (1121)-(1124) form a luma sub-region (1160) where the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks) are located at a top left, a top right, a bottom left, and a bottom right location of the luma sub-region (1160)); and
determining a second reference chroma block of the two or more reference chroma blocks based on the second chroma block vector (Par. [0131] Chroma BVs for the other chroma units (1112)-(1114) can be determined similarly as described with reference to FIG. 11B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 7, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0120353 A1) in view of Kang et al., (US 2025/0301121 A1) referred to as Kang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Xu discloses claim 3. Xu further discloses determining the two or more reference chroma blocks, wherein determining respective weights comprises determining respective weights (Par. [0153], the chroma BV for the chroma unit (1111) is determined based on an average of multiple luma BVs for some or all of the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more reference chroma blocks). The luma BVs of the luma units (1121)-(1124) can be averaged with or without weights (i.e. respective weights) to obtain an averaged luma BV. The averaged luma BV can be scaled to determine the chroma BV).
Xu does not specifically disclose determining costs of reference chroma blocks. Therefore, Xu fails to explicitly teach determining respective costs of the two or more reference chroma blocks.
However, Kang teaches determining respective costs of the two or more reference chroma blocks (Par. [0141], the neighboring samples (i.e. reference chroma blocks) of the chroma block are used to calculate the template matching cost, where the first-order linear function may be used to convert luma sample values to chroma sample values, as in the CCLM), wherein determining respective weights comprises determining respective weights based on the respective costs (Par. [0158], the video encoding device may calculate a first template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 and a second template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 by using the neighboring blocks of the prediction block in each predicted direction. After normalizing the calculated template matching costs, the video encoding device may calculate a first chroma weight w0 and a second chroma weight w1 according to Equation 17 to set a larger weight for a block with smaller matching cost).
References Xu and Kang are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding reference blocks. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying determining a cost of reference blocks as taught by Kang in the invention of Xu. This modification would apply the weights to the chroma bi-prediction block to generate the final chroma prediction block of the current chroma block from the smaller matching cost (See Kang, Par. [0159]).
Regarding Claim 6, Xu discloses claim 1. Xu further discloses determining respective candidate reference chroma blocks based on respective block vectors for the luma blocks Par. [0153], the chroma BV for the chroma unit (1111) is determined based on an average of multiple luma BVs for some or all of the luma units (1121)-(1124) (i.e. two or more candidate reference chroma blocks).
Xu does not specifically disclose determining costs of candidate reference chroma blocks. Therefore, Xu fails to explicitly teach determining respective costs of the respective candidate reference chroma blocks.
However, Kang teaches determining respective costs of the respective candidate reference chroma blocks (Par. [0141], the neighboring samples (i.e. candidate reference chroma blocks) of the chroma block are used to calculate the template matching cost, where the first-order linear function may be used to convert luma sample values to chroma sample values, as in the CCLM), wherein determining the two or more reference chroma blocks comprises selecting two or more of the candidate reference chroma blocks based on the respective costs (Par. [0158], the video encoding device may calculate a first template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 and a second template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 by using the neighboring blocks of the prediction block in each predicted direction. After normalizing the calculated template matching costs, the video encoding device may calculate a first chroma weight w0 and a second chroma weight w1 according to Equation 17 to set a larger weight for a block with smaller matching cost. Par. [0111] the CU-level weights may be determined based on a merge candidate index).
References Xu and Kang are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding reference blocks. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifying determining a cost of reference blocks as taught by Kang in the invention of Xu. This modification would apply the weights to the chroma bi-prediction block to generate the final chroma prediction block of the current chroma block from the smaller matching cost (See Kang, Par. [0159]).
Regarding Claim 7, Xu in view of Kang teaches claim 6. Kang further teaches wherein determining the respective costs comprises determining an amount of matching between a first template adjacent the respective candidate reference chroma blocks and a second template adjacent the chroma block (Par. [0158], the video encoding device may calculate a first template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 and a second template matching cost TC.sub.pred0 by using the neighboring blocks of the prediction block in each predicted direction. After normalizing the calculated template matching costs, the video encoding device may calculate a first chroma weight w0 and a second chroma weight w1 according to Equation 17 to set a larger weight for a block (i.e. amount of matching) with smaller matching cost).
Apparatus claims 14, 16 and 17 are drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claims 4, 6 and 7. Therefore Claims 14, 16 and 17 correspond to method Claims 4, 6 and 7 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0120353 A1), in view of Kang et al., (US 2025/0301121 A1), and in further view of LI et al., (US 2024/0022739 A1) referred to as LI hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Xu in view of Kang teaches claim 6. Xu in view of Kang does not specifically teach constructing a list based on costs. Therefore, Xu in view of Kang fails to explicitly teach constructing a chroma block vector list based on the respective costs, wherein selecting two or more of the candidate reference chroma blocks comprises selecting two or more of the candidate reference chroma blocks based on the chroma block vector list
However, LI teaches constructing a chroma block vector list based on the respective costs (Par. [0216], the candidate chroma BVs are reordered (i.e. chroma block vector list) based on the template matching costs into a reordered list having an ascending order for example), wherein selecting candidate reference chroma blocks comprises selecting the candidate reference chroma blocks based on the chroma block vector list (Par. [0207], chroma BV predictor candidates can be generated according to the above techniques, and put into a candidate list (i.e. chroma block vector list). A BVP index that indicates a selected chroma BV predictor from the chroma BV predictor candidates can be signaled from the encoder side to the decoder side).
References Xu, Kang and LI are considered to be analogous art because they relate to chroma block coding. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifying constructing a chroma block vector list as suggest by LI in inventions of XU and Kang. This modification would allow a final chroma BV that points to a reference chroma block for copying as the current chroma block (See LI, Par. [0207]).
Apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the corresponding method claimed in Claim 8. Therefore Claim 18 corresponds to method Claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425