DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed April 29, 2026. Claims 1-32 are still pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Wu (US 2021/0410191).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal teaches a method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding”);
receiving, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, a random access response {that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI} ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running”); and
causing, based on the receiving the random access response, transmission of a contention resolution identifier parameter ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3)”)
However, Agiwal does not teach a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI.
Wu teaches a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI ([0052] “The DCI controller 134 generates a DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH. In some implementations, the DCI is generated so that the UE 102 obtains the information necessary to decode information on the PDSCH. For example, when the DCI controller 134 generates a first DCI, the UE 102 determines to decode a MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a first format having an RAR. When the DCI controller 134 generates a second DCI different from the first DCI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB.” [0054] The RNTI generator 138 generates an RNTI which is used to scramble the DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH… When the RNTI generator 138 generates a second RNTI different from the first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB… The RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI as the RNTI included in the payload of the MsgA transmitted by the UE 102. In another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on a UE identifier (ID) associated with the UE 102. In yet another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on other characteristics of the PRACH in which the MsgA is transmitted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI, to provide efficient messaging in random access procedure.
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter comprises causing a Msg3 transmission that comprises the contention resolution identifier parameter ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3).”)
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI comprises a Msg A transmission ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding.”)
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; or a reserve bit ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant”).
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches determining, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, to fall back from a two-step random access procedure to a four-step random access procedure, wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is associated with the four-step random access procedure ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3).”)
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches comprising: causing, by the wireless device, second transmission of: a preamble; and the C-RNTI; monitoring for a response to the second transmission; and determining, based on receiving a response to the second transmission that is identified by the C-RNTI, successful completion of a two-step random access procedure ([0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 8, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches starting, based on the causing transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, the random access response time window ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 9, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, stopping monitoring ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.”)
Regarding claim 10, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches monitoring for the random access response that is scheduled by the DCI that is identified by the RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”).
Regarding claim 11, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure is different from an RNTI associated with a four-step random access procedure ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”. C-RNTI and TC-RNTI are two different parameters).
Regarding claim 12, Agiwal teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions, that when executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 20, terminal 2000, [0352]), cause the wireless device to:
cause transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding”);
receive, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, a random access response {that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI} ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.”); and
cause, based on receiving the random access response, transmission of a contention resolution identifier parameter ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3)”)
However, Agiwal does not teach a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI.
Wu teaches a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI ([0052] “The DCI controller 134 generates a DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH. In some implementations, the DCI is generated so that the UE 102 obtains the information necessary to decode information on the PDSCH. For example, when the DCI controller 134 generates a first DCI, the UE 102 determines to decode a MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a first format having an RAR. When the DCI controller 134 generates a second DCI different from the first DCI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB.” [0054] The RNTI generator 138 generates an RNTI which is used to scramble the DCI to be transmitted to the UE 102 via a PDCCH… When the RNTI generator 138 generates a second RNTI different from the first RNTI, the UE 102 determines to decode the MAC PDU transmitted on the PDSCH in a second format having a MsgB… The RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI as the RNTI included in the payload of the MsgA transmitted by the UE 102. In another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on a UE identifier (ID) associated with the UE 102. In yet another example, the RNTI generator 138 may generate the second RNTI based on other characteristics of the PRACH in which the MsgA is transmitted).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI, to provide efficient messaging in random access procedure.
Regarding claim 14, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to cause transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter by causing a Msg3 transmission that comprises the contention resolution identifier parameter ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3).”)
Regarding claim 15, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches wherein the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI comprises a Msg A transmission ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding.”)
Regarding claim 16, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to determine, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, to fall back from a two-step random access procedure to a four-step random access procedure, wherein causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is associated with the four-step random access procedure ([0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260.” [0061] “… the UE's contention resolution identity (first X bits of common control channel (CCCH) service data unit (SDU) transmitted in the Msg3).”)
Regarding claim 17, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to: cause second transmission of: a preamble; and the C-RNTI; monitor for a response to the second transmission; and determine, based on receiving a response to the second transmission that is identified by the C-RNTI, successful completion of a two-step random access procedure ([0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 18, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to monitor for the random access response that is scheduled by the DCI that is identified by the RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”).
Regarding claim 19, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to: start, based on causing transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stop, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, the random access response time window ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 20, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 and further teaches to stop monitoring based on the DCI identified by the RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.”)
Regarding claim 21, Agiwal teaches a method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding”);
receiving, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, DCI identified by the C-RNTI ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.” [0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”); and
{receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI}
Agiwal does not teach receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI.
However, Wu teaches receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI ([0059] “The MAC SDU may be a fixed or variable size and may not be included if the DL grant is included in the MsgB. The DL grant may also be referred to as a DL assignment”. “DL grant” or “DL assignment” indicates the data can be transmitted by the base station and received by an UE according to the grant or assignment).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI, to provide efficient messaging in random access procedure.
Regarding claim 22, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 21, and further teaches determining, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the successful completion of the two-step random access procedure ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.”)
Regarding claim 23, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 21, and further teaches wherein the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI is associated with a Msg B reception ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.”)
Regarding claim 24, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 21, and further teaches wherein the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; or a reserve bit ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.” [0102] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 includes a RAPID, a TA command, a UL grant, a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA) in the msgB.” [0103] “If the gNB 803 only receives the PRACH preamble but fails to receive the msgA payload, the gNB 80-3 includes the RAPID, the TA command, the UL grant and a temporary C-RNTI (a TC-RNTI) in the msgB.”)
Regarding claim 25, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 21, and further teaches starting, based on causing the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the random access response time window ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA”).
Regarding claim 26, Agiwal teaches claim 21, and further teaches monitoring for the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”
Regarding claim 27, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 21, and further teaches stopping monitoring based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 28, Agiwal teaches a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions, that when executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 20, terminal 2000, [0352]), cause the wireless device to:
cause transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0146] The UE transmits a PRACH preamble in a PRACH occasion and an msgA payload (or an msgA MAC PDU) in a PUSCH resource/occasion in step 1210. [0068] “The MsgA payload may include one or more of a CCCH SDU, a dedicated control channel (DCCH) SDU, a dedicated traffic channel (DTCH) SDU, a buffer status report (BSR) MAC control element (CE), a power headroom report (PHR) a MAC CE, synchronization signal block (SSB) information, a C-RNTI MAC CE, or padding”);
receive, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, DCI identified by the C-RNTI ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.” [0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”); and
{receive a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI}
Agiwal does not teach to receive a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI.
However, Wu teaches to receive a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI ([0059] “The MAC SDU may be a fixed or variable size and may not be included if the DL grant is included in the MsgB. The DL grant may also be referred to as a DL assignment”. “DL grant” or “DL assignment” indicates the data can be transmitted by the base station and received by an UE according to the grant or assignment).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to receive a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI, to provide efficient messaging in random access procedure.
Regarding claim 29, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 28, and further teaches cause the wireless device to determine, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the successful completion of the two-step random access procedure ([0105] “If the gNB 803 receives the msgA (i.e., both the PRACH preamble and the msgA payload) successfully, the gNB 803 transmits a PDCCH addressed to a C-RNTI of the UE 801 (which transmitted the msgA), wherein the PDCCH may schedule a UL grant for a new transmission or the PDCCH may include a DL assignment. Upon receiving the PDCCH, the random access procedure is successfully completed.”)
Regarding claim 30, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 28, and further teaches to: start, based on causing the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stop, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the random access response time window ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Regarding claim 31, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 28, and further teaches to monitor for the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI. ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250”
Regarding claim 32, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 28, and further teaches to stop monitoring based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI ([0147] “After transmitting the msgA, the UE starts a msgB-ResponseWindow and monitors a PDCCH for a random access response (i.e., the msgB) in an msgB-ResponseWindow. The UE monitors a PDCCH of an SpCell for a random access response identified by an MSGB-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running. If a C-RNTI MAC CE was included in the msgA payload, the UE additionally monitors the PDCCH of the SpCell for a random access response identified by the C-RNTI while the msgB-ResponseWindow is running.” [0148] “If the UE receives the msgB in step 1230, and the msgB includes fallback information, i.e., a RAPID, a TA, a TC-RNTI and a UL grant and the RAPID in the fallback information matches the random access preamble index of the PRACH preamble transmitted by the UE in step 1240, the UE prepares an msg3 MAC PDU using contents of the msgA MAC PDU and transmits the msg3 MAC PDU in the UL grant received in the msgB in step 1260. Otherwise, if the msgB does not include fallback information and the RA procedure is successfully completed upon receiving the msgB, the UE discards the msgA payload in steps 1240 and 1250.” [0067] “If the window in which the UE 101 monitors for a network response after transmitting the MsgA expires and the UE 101 has not received the MsgB including contention resolution information or fallback information as described above, the UE 101 goes back to the first step 110 and transmits the MsgA.”)
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Wu and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0146069, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is further based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter
Chen teaches wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is further based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter ([0092] “In some of the present implementations, the UE may transmit a Msg3 (e.g., for re-sending the content in MsgA payload) using the UL grant received in the MsgB in order to perform a fallback mechanism from a 2-step RA procedure to a 4-step RA procedure, based on a response for fallback indication associated with the sent MsgA, or based on other information (successfully) received in the MsgB (e.g., when Temporary C-RNTI is included, or when Contention Resolution ID is not included).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is further based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter, to resolve the issue with contention resolution unsuccessful in two-step random access.
Regarding claim 13, Agiwal in view of Wu teaches claim 12 but fails to teach to cause transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter
Chen teaches to cause transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter ([0092] “In some of the present implementations, the UE may transmit a Msg3 (e.g., for re-sending the content in MsgA payload) using the UL grant received in the MsgB in order to perform a fallback mechanism from a 2-step RA procedure to a 4-step RA procedure, based on a response for fallback indication associated with the sent MsgA, or based on other information (successfully) received in the MsgB (e.g., when Temporary C-RNTI is included, or when Contention Resolution ID is not included).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to cause transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter, to resolve the issue with contention resolution unsuccessful in two-step random access.
Double Patenting
1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-11 of Patent No. 11,985,706. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are broader.
Claims 21-27 12, and 14-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-11 of Patent No. 11,985,706. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of Wu.
Application 18/625,682
Patent 11,985,706
Note
1. A method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI);
receiving, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, a random access response that is scheduled by DCI identified by an RNTI associated with the two-step random access procedure and different from the C-RNTI; and
causing, based on the receiving the random access response, transmission of a contention resolution identifier parameter.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is further based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI comprises a Msg A transmission.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; or a reserve bit.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, to fall back from a two-step random access procedure to a four-step random access procedure, wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is associated with the four-step random access procedure.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: causing, by the wireless device, second transmission of: a preamble; and the C-RNTI; monitoring for a response to the second transmission; and determining, based on receiving a response to the second transmission that is identified by the C-RNTI, successful completion of a two-step random access procedure.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: starting, based on the causing transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, the random access response time window.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the DCI identified by the RNTI, stopping monitoring.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising monitoring for the random access response that is scheduled the DCI that is identified by the RNTI.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the RNTI associated with the two-step random access response is different from an RNTI associated with a four-step random access response.
21. A method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI);
receiving, while monitoring for downlink control information (DCI) that is identified by the C-RNTI for indication of a successful completion of a two-step random access procedure, DCI identified by the C-RNTI; and
receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI.
22. The method of claim 21, further comprising determining, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the successful completion of the two-step random access procedure.
23. The method of claim 21, wherein the DCI that is identified by the RNTI is associated with a Msg B reception.
24. The method of claim 21, wherein the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; or a reserve bit.
25. The method of claim 21, further comprising: starting, based on causing the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the random access response time window.
26. The method of claim 21, further comprising monitoring for the DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI.
27. The method of claim 21, further comprising: stopping monitoring for the random access response based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI.
1. A method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI);
monitoring for a random access response to the transmission, wherein: a received random access response that is scheduled by received downlink control information (DCI) identified by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with a two-step random access procedure and that comprises an identifier of a preamble indicates proceeding with a transmission associated with a contention resolution procedure; and received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI indicates successful completion of a two-step random access procedure; and
based on receiving a random access response that is scheduled by received DCI identified by the RNTI associated with a two-step random access procedure and that comprises the identifier of the preamble, causing transmission of a contention resolution identifier parameter.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is further based on the random access response not comprising the contention resolution identifier parameter.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI comprises a Msg A transmission.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI consists of at least one of each of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; and a reserve bit.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, based on the received DCI that is identified by the RNTI, to fall back from a two-step random access procedure to a four-step random access procedure, wherein the causing transmission of the contention resolution identifier parameter is associated with the four-step random access procedure.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: causing, by the wireless device, second transmission of: a preamble; and the C-RNTI; monitoring for a response to the second transmission; and determining, based on receiving a response to the second transmission that is identified by the C-RNTI, successful completion of a two-step random access procedure.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: starting, based on causing transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on received DCI that is identified by the RNTI associated with the random access response, the random access response time window.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising: stopping the monitoring of the random access response based on received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI; or stopping the monitoring of the random access response based on received DCI that is identified by the RNTI.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the RNTI associated with the random access response is different from an RNTI associated with a four-step random access response.
12. A method comprising:
causing, by a wireless device, transmission of: a preamble; and a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), wherein the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI comprises a Msg A transmission;
monitoring for a random access response to the transmission, wherein: a received random access response that is scheduled by received downlink control information (DCI) identified by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with a two-step random access procedure and that comprises an identifier of the preamble indicates proceeding with a transmission associated with a contention resolution procedure; and received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI indicates successful completion of a two-step random access procedure; and
sending data using an uplink grant in the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI.
14. The method of claim 12, further comprising determining, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the successful completion of the two-step random access procedure.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein the received DCI that is identified by the RNTI is associated with a Msg B reception.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI consists of at least one of each of: a timing advance command; an uplink grant; a temporary C-RNTI; and a reserve bit.
17. The method of claim 12, further comprising: starting, based on causing the transmission of the preamble and the C-RNTI, a random access response time window; and stopping, based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI, the random access response time window.
18. The method of claim 12, further comprising: stopping the monitoring of the random access response based on the received DCI that is identified by the C-RNTI; or stopping the monitoring of the random access response based on received DCI that is identified by the RNTI.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated with additional limitations
Anticipated with additional limitations.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated with additional limitations
Anticipated with additional limitations
Additional limitations
Wu teaches the limitations (see [0059]).
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Although Agiwal does not teach the limitations receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI. However, Wu teaches receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI ([0059] “In one example, the base station 104 may include at least some of the following information in a MsgB if the base station 104 receives a MsgA from the UE 102: a C-RNTI… The MAC SDU may be a fixed or variable size and may not be included if the DL grant is included in the MsgB. The DL grant may also be referred to as a DL assignment”. “DL grant” or “DL assignment” indicates the data can be transmitted by the base station and received by an UE according to the grant or assignment)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI. However, Wu teaches receiving a message scheduled by the received DCI identified by the C-RNTI, to provide efficient messaging in random access procedure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-32 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai (US 2018/0270869) teaches a 2 step RA procedure in FIG. 9.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642