DETAILED ACTION
Notice relating to Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference(s) and/or citations being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 all recite the limitation "the one or more biometrics". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims as the claim(s) from which they depend have been amended to recite “two or more biometrics”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeanne et al., US 2019/0209052 in view of HE, US 2022/0052855.
Regarding claim 1, Jeanne discloses a computer-implemented method for detecting liveness of a subject from a media stream, the computer-implemented method comprising:
capturing a media stream of the subject, the media stream including a sequence of frames (receiving/capturing a sequence of video frames, i.e. media stream; page 2, paragraph 21);
processing each frame of the media stream to track biometrics of the subject (based on the receive and processed frames, can identify a face area and extract/track biometric related data; page 2, paragraphs 21, 24, and 29); and
determining whether the subject in the media stream is live based on the one or more biometrics detected in the media steam (can determine if person is a living person, i.e. real/live; page 2, paragraph 22, and page 3, paragraph 50).
Jeanne does not explicitly disclose processing with two or more biometrics of a subject, including a combination of physiological and non-physiological characteristics.
In a related art, HE does disclose processing with two or more biometrics of a subject, including a combination of physiological and non-physiological characteristics (identified biometric information can include a combination of multiple types of biometric information, wherein the types can include physiologic biometrics such as fingerprints, iris, and face, and non-physiological/behavioral biometrics such as voice and gait information; page 3, paragraph 40, and wherein this information can be based on captured multi-frame images and/or video; page 3, paragraph 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Jeanne and HE by allowing different combinations and types of biometric data to be utilized with the already present biometric data of Jeanne, in order to provide an improved system and method for liveness detection which focuses on biometric information itself, to ensure a user is a real alive user (HE; page 5, paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 2, Jeanne in view of HE discloses the media stream includes one or more of a visible-light video stream, a near-infrared video stream, a longwave-infrared video stream, a thermal video stream, and an audio stream of the subject (Jeanne; receiving a sequence of video frames, i.e. media stream; page 2, paragraph 21, and wherein can include streams with lighting, such as controlled lighting or active/ambient light, i.e. visible-light and infrared; page 4, paragraphs 79 and 81 and 88-89).
Regarding claim 3, Jeanne in view of HE discloses the one or more biometrics includes two or more of pulse rate, eye gaze, eye blink rate, pupil diameter, face temperature, speech, respiration rate, and micro-expressions (Jeanne; with at least heart pulse; page 6, paragraph 114, and respiration rate and heart-beat; page 2, paragraph 32, and page 4, paragraph 84, and wherein any vital sign(s) can be used; page 4, paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 4, Jeanne in view of HE discloses the one or more biometrics includes pulse rate and respiration rate (Jeanne; with at least heart pulse; page 6, paragraph 114, and respiration rate and heart-beat; page 2, paragraph 32, and page 4, paragraph 84, and wherein any vital sign(s) can be used; page 4, paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 5, Jeanne in view of HE discloses cropping each frame of the media stream to encapsulate a region of interest that includes one or more of a face, facial cheek, forehead, eye, eye pupil, chest or hand (Jeanne; region can be recognized, i.e. cropped to include the face area of a user; page 3, paragraphs 50 and 54, and page 5, paragraphs 94-95, and with a cropped, i.e. boxed, frame area, of a face; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Jeanne in view of HE discloses the region of interest includes two or more body parts (Jeanne; face region can include at least eyes, mouth, nose, i.e. two or more body parts; page 5, paragraphs 94-95, and Figs. 4 and 5).
Claim 9, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 1. The following additional limitations are also disclosed:
a processor (Jeanne; with at least a processor; page 2, paragraph 20, and page 4, paragraph 90, and page 7, paragraph 153); and
a memory storing one or more programs for execution by the processor, the one or more programs including instructions (Jeanne; medium containing a computer readable program that when executed causes the computer to perform operations; page 2, paragraph 35, and page 7, paragraph 153, and including at least a specific memory; page 4, paragraph 90).
Claim 10, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 2.
Claim 11, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 3.
Claim 12, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 4.
Claim 13, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 5.
Claim 14, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 6.
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeanne et al., US 2019/0209052 in view of HE, US 2022/0052855 and further in view of Kirenko, US 2015/0223700.
Regarding claim 7, Jeanne in view of HE discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1, as well as video and different types of light streams (Jeanne; receiving a sequence of video frames, i.e. media stream; page 2, paragraph 21, and wherein can include streams with lighting, such as controlled lighting or active/ambient light, i.e. visible-light and infrared; page 4, paragraphs 79 and 81 and 88-89).
Jeanne in view of HE does not explicitly disclose combining at least two of a visible-light stream, a near-infrared stream, and a thermal stream into a fused stream.
In a related art, Kirenko does disclose combining at least two of a visible-light stream, a near-infrared stream, and a thermal stream into a fused stream (system can utilize and combine transmitted channels/streams, which can include at least red, i.e. visible light, and IR, i.e. infrared; page 3, paragraph 37, and page 5, paragraph 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the prior art of Jeanne, HE, and Kirenko by allowing the processing of Kirenko to be utilized with the already present streams/signals of Jeanne in view of HE, in order to provide an improved system and method for determining vital signs of a subject having an increased signal-to-noise ratio and efficiency in reduction of artefacts caused by distortions, in particular by motion of the subject or disturbance from ambient light (Kirenko; page 2, paragraph 14).
Regarding claim 8, Jeanne in view of HE and Kirenko discloses the visible-light video stream, the near-infrared video stream, and/or the thermal video stream are combined according to a synchronization device (Kirenko; can be combined with synchronization being performed; page 3, paragraphs 32 and 36, and page 5, paragraphs 63, 67, and 69, and Jeanne; receiving a sequence of video frames, i.e. media stream; page 2, paragraph 21, and wherein can include streams with lighting, such as controlled lighting or active/ambient light, i.e. visible-light and infrared; page 4, paragraphs 79 and 81 and 88-89).
Claim 15, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 7.
Claim 16, which discloses a system, is analyzed with respect to the citations and/or rationale provided in the rejection of similar claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ionita (US 2018/0046853), describing use of various forms of biometric data for liveness detection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RANDY A FLYNN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424