DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 15, 2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words and contains the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims such as “comprises” in lines 1 and 6. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There are two separate requirements set forth in the second paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that applicants regard as their invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant.
With regard to claims 7-9, each of these claims recites a limitation “the system is configured to…”, but there are two systems recited in these claims: “system for measuring power quality at a structure” and “remote reporting system”. Therefore, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the feature “the system”.
The essential purpose of patent examination is to determine whether or not the claims are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. Therefore, the uncertainties of claim scope should be removed as much as possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karlgaard et al. (US 2022/0244076 A1).
Karlgaard et al. teaches a system for controlling load devices and DER (distributed energy resource) devices using one or more edge computing devices comprising:
With regard to claim 1, a system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) for measuring power quality at a structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) receiving electrical power from a utility (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, electric distribution network or grid 102), the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) comprising: a monitoring unit (FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106 and edge computing device 410) configured to be electrically coupled to a panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) of the structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) and to an electric service meter (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106); and a measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) coupled to the monitoring unit (FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106 and edge computing device 410) and configured to measure a plurality of electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing) associated with the panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) (FIG. 1, test position currently occupied by RFID device 102) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0065]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
With regard to claim 2, the monitoring unit (FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106 and edge computing device 410) comprises an expansion interface component (communications modules) configured to couple to a modular daughter board (PCB (printed circuit board)) programmed to extend a functionality of the measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) (Paragraphs: [0030] and [0057]-[0062]).
With regard to claims 4 and 20, the measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) is configured to detect power quality events (power quality issue) based on the measured electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing) and to transmit the detected power quality events (power quality issue) to a remote reporting system (FIG. 4, head-end system 402) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0065]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
With regard to claim 5, the measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) is configured to generate power measurement waveforms based on the measured electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing) and comprises a pattern recognition system (FIG. 10 in view of FIGS. 1 and 6, aggregator and control device 1002 and power quality meter 1006) to detect events (power quality issue) in the power measurement waveforms (a pattern recognition is based on “weather, historical patterns of generation and load data, time of day, day of week, geographic location”) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0064]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
With regard to claim 6, the power quality events (power quality issue) include high speed voltage transients (“charging at a fastest charging rate may create a spike”) (Paragraph: [0064]).
With regard to claim 7, the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) is configured to detect events (power quality issue) based on a logical combination of individual events (power quality issue) from the electrical power measurements measured by the measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) (a logical combination is based on “weather, historical patterns of generation and load data, time of day, day of week, geographic location”) (Paragraph: [0064]).
With regard to claim 8, the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B, system 1000 using aggregator and control device 1002) is configured to capture data from any combination of power measurement channels when an event is detected allowing the recording of measurements that are coincident with the detected event (Paragraph: [0074]).
With regard to claim 9, the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B, system 1000 using aggregator and control device 1002) is configured to detect events (power quality issue) that are detectable at a specific location (FIG. 4, the far right meter 106) in an electric grid (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, electric distribution network or grid 102) to allow the reporting system (FIG. 4, head-end system 402) to aggregate a plurality of such events (power quality issue) received from different monitoring units (FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meters 106 and edge computing devices 410) (FIG. 8 in view of FIG. 4, edge computing devices 410) to coordinate a grid wide view of distribution events (power quality issue) (Paragraphs: [0032]-[0039]).
With regard to claim 10, a system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) for measuring power quality on an electrical grid (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, electric distribution network or grid 102), the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) comprising: a plurality of monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) installed at a plurality of structures (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) receiving power via the electrical grid (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, electric distribution network or grid 102), each monitoring system (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing device 410) configured to be electrically coupled to a panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) of the structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) at which it is installed and to an electric service meter (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106) at such structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104), each monitoring system (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing device 410) comprising a measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) configured to measure a plurality of electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing) associated with the panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) at the structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) and to detect power quality events (power quality issue) based on the measured electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing); and a reporting system (FIG. 4, head-end system 402) communicatively coupled to the plurality of monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) and configured to receive data representing the detected power quality events (power quality issue) from the monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0065]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
With regard to claim 11, the reporting system (FIG. 4, head-end system 402) detects patterns of disruption (power quality issue) within the electrical grid (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, electric distribution network or grid 102) through pattern matching (a logical combination is based on “weather, historical patterns of generation and load data, time of day, day of week, geographic location”) of detected power quality events (power quality issue) received from the plurality of monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0065]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
With regard to claim 12, the pattern matching (a logical combination is based on “weather, historical patterns of generation and load data, time of day, day of week, geographic location” is detected through a neural network (communications network), machine learning model, or statistical model (Paragraphs: [0032]-[0039] and [0074]).
With regard to claim 13, the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) downloads data captured (historical factors and historical load and generation data) by the monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) associated with the detected power quality events (power quality issue) (Paragraphs: [0024], [0050], [0058], [0070], [0074] and [0075]).
With regard to claim 14, the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) comprises a user interface module to (network interface devices) enable an operator (FIG. 6, independent system operator 604) to select events and files to download from a monitoring system (FIG. 6 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing device 410) (Paragraphs: [0047] and [0085]).
With regard to claim 15, the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) automatically selects data to download from the monitoring systems (FIGS. 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) (Paragraphs: [0052] and [0056]).
With regard to claim 16, the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) is configured to analyze the received power quality events (power quality issue) and associated downloaded data (“the machine-learning algorithm may learn, over time, power consumption trends” and ‘current and historical energy demand, time of day, day of week, day of year, geographical location, current and forecasted weather conditions, historical generation”) to identify a probability of a complex event and to report this data to a user (Paragraphs: [0050]-[0052]).
With regard to claim 17, the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) is configured to allow a user to reconfigure one or more of the monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) to further refine power measurements (“control commands may also be implemented to reduce or increase the energy consumption” and “the edge computing device 410 may generate control commands for devices operating on various phases”, etc.) (Paragraphs: [0050]-[0052]).
With regard to claim 18, wherein the reporting system (FIG. 6 in view of FIG. 4, head-end system 602) is configured to receive refined power measurements from the one or more monitoring systems (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, edge computing devices 410) and triangulate a source of a disturbance in the electrical grid (“provide predictive and preventive recommendations to avoid negative impacts on the grid”) based on the refined power measurements (Paragraphs: [0050]-[0052]).
With regard to claim 19, a system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) for monitoring and controlling power usage at a structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104), the structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) comprising an electrical panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) and including one or more distributed energy resources (FIGS. 1-5, DER devices 110a, 110b, . . . 110n), the system (FIGS. 1-6, 8, 10A and 10B) comprising: a modular energy intelligence unit (MEIU (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 3 and 5, edge computing device 410)) configured for electrical coupling to the panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) and to an electric service meter (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106) such that the MEIU (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 3 and 5, edge computing device 410) may be electrically disposed between the panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) and the electric service meter (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106); a measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122) coupled to the MEIU (FIG. 8 in view of FIGS. 3 and 5, edge computing device 410) and configured to measure a plurality of electrical values (electric power, power quality and power factor data, measurements or data for non-revenue-grade billing) associated with the panel assembly (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, panel 108) or the structure (FIGS. 1 and 3-5, premises 104) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0005]-[0007], [0025]-[0038], [0040], [0047], [0065]-[0068] and [0074]-[0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlgaard et al. in view of Kagan (US 8,907,657 B2).
Karlgaard et al. teaches all that is claimed as discussed in the rejections of claims 1, 2 and 4-20 above including the monitoring unit (FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 in view of FIGS. 1 and 3-5, meter 106 and edge computing device 410) and the measurement unit (FIG. 1 in view of FIG. 6, metrology module 122), but it does not specifically teach the following feature:
a plurality of blades configured for insertion into a plurality of jaws of the panel assembly to electrically couple the monitoring unit to the panel assembly, and wherein the measurement unit is connected to the blades.
Kagan teaches an intelligent electronic device for electrical power system comprising:
With regard to claim 3, a monitoring unit (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, IED 10) comprises a socket based meter (FIG. 4A in view of FIG. 1, socket based meter 202) including a plurality of blades (FIG. 4A in view of FIG. 1, electrically-conducting bayonets 204 (blade type terminals)) configured for insertion into a plurality of jaws (FIG. 4B in view of FIG. 1, jaws 208) of the panel assembly (FIG. 4B in view of FIG. 1, revenue meter socket 210) to electrically couple the monitoring unit (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, IED 10) to the panel assembly (FIG. 4B in view of FIG. 1, revenue meter socket 210), and wherein a measurement unit (at least one sensor) is connected to the blades (Abstract; and column 6, lines 46-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system for controlling load devices and DER devices using one or more edge computing devices of Karlgaard et al. to use a plurality of blades configured for insertion into a plurality of jaws of the panel assembly to electrically couple the monitoring unit to the panel assembly as taught by Kagan since Kagan teaches that such an arrangement is beneficial to provide an extremely simple installation of new meters and especially replacement of defective meters as disclosed in column 6, lines 46-63.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant' s attention is invited to the followings whose inventions disclose similar devices.
Karlgaard (US 11,415,598 B2) teaches an electric meter socket.
Fan et al. (CN 205864077 U) teaches a utility model.
CONTACT INFORMATION
HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858