DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2017/0107725 to Jones et al. (herein Jones).
Regarding claim 1¸ Jones teaches a modular mat (abstract) having a first layer and a second layer (paragraph 0042) corresponding to the external sheets recited in the instant claims. Jones teaches that the mat can be made of polypropylene (paragraph 0041). Jones teaches that the inner surfaces of the first and second layers include integral reinforcing structures that can be ribs in any suitable configuration (paragraph 0051) such that the reinforcing structure of the first and second layer correspond and match (paragraph 0052). Jones teaches that the first and second layers can be joined together via glue or welding (paragraph 0048). Jones also teaches that the outer surfaces of the first and second layers can include traction elements that can be extensions or recesses disposed in any orientation and configuration (paragraph 0053) such that a first and second layer having parallel extensions and recesses would meet the recited limitation of being corrugated. Jones also teaches that the mat is provided with fitting receivers (paragraph 0057) corresponding to the eyelets recited in the instant claims wherein the fitting receivers are formed along the edges of the mat (paragraph 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied above.
Regarding claim 2¸ Jones teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Jones is silent as to the size and the distance from the edge of the fitting receivers; however, such dimensions amount to a mere change in size or proportion thereby rendering the claimed limitations obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783