DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 04/03/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “a plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM) associated with the web page”, “a container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that is to be replaced”, “the container”, and “the container of the DOM“. The relationship between these limitations is unclear. It is further unclear whether “associated with the web page” is intended to modify the plurality of containers or the web page. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: “a plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM), wherein the plurality of containers are associated with the web page”, “a first container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that is to be replaced”, “a second container”, and “a third container of the DOM “
Claim 1 further recites “original content that is to be replaced”, “the original content”, and “the original content from the hidden container of the DOM“. The relationship between these limitations is unclear. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: “first original content that is to be replaced”, “second original content”, and “third original content from the hidden container of the DOM“.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, claims 9 and 16 recite “a plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM) associated with the web page”, “a container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that has been viewed”, and “the container of the DOM“. The relationship between these limitations is unclear. It is further unclear whether “associated with the web page” is intended to modify the plurality of containers or the web page. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: “a first plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM) associated with the web page”, “a second container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that has been viewed”, and “a third container of the DOM“
Regarding claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20, claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Regarding claims 11 and 17, claims 11 and 17 recite “the original content from the hidden container of the DOM“. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited “original content that has been viewed” and “the original content” For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: “second original content from the hidden container of the DOM”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dan et al. (US 20220244820 A1, published 08/04/2022), hereinafter Dan.
Regarding claim 1, Dan teaches the claim comprising:
A system for using interaction data to dynamically replace content in a document object model, the system comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0023], an apparatus comprising a processor and coupled memory, said processor being adapted to: obtain a user instruction instructing the browser to navigate to a second page, wherein the browser is displaying a first page, wherein the first page comprises a link to a second page, wherein the link is configured to instruct the browser to navigate to the second page, wherein the user instruction is based on a selection of the link; [0043], the element that is used to render content from the second page within the first page may be referred to as the ‘element’ or ‘iframe’, although it may comprise non-iframe elements such as a container. The usage of iframe herein is done for clarification purposes and in a non-limiting manner. Other technologies may be utilized to achieve a similar user experience effect. Such technologies include, for example, Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) tags like <embed>, the usage of other libraries or specific standards that are supported by the browser, dynamic manipulation of the Document Object Model (DOM) of the page; [0045], the agent may monitor or capture events of the page in which it is embedded, DOM changes of the page, or the like; [0072], timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page):
receive a web page that includes code, and includes content organized in a plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM) associated with the web page; render, in connection with an initial page load, the web page for presentation in a user interface; monitor interaction data relating to a use of the user interface, wherein the interaction data relates to one or more of scrolling behavior or inactivity behavior (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers, which may be linked to one or more respective second pages; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0043], the element that is used to render content from the second page within the first page may be referred to as the ‘element’ or ‘iframe’, although it may comprise non-iframe elements such as a container; dynamic manipulation of the Document Object Model (DOM) of the page; [0044], iframe and container elements may be used to embed another document within a current HTML page. In some exemplary embodiments, a functionality of the iframe, the container, or the like, may be supported by various browsers including CHROME™, FIREFOX™, INTERNET EXPLORER/EDGE™, SAFARI™ OPERA™, or the like; [0045], the currently disclosed subject matter may be implemented by a software agent that may be embedded in pages of a website; [0065], HTML tags may define a container for rendering an external resource; HTML frames (framesets) may be used to divide a browser display or window into multiple sections, where each section can load a separate HTML document; [0083], the agent may identify one or more recommendation cards in the user's display that are predicted to be clicked by the user, and load content associated with one or more of these cards ahead of time; [0089], As shown in FIG. 3A, a user may browse a first page, e.g., Page 310, using a browser. A display of Page 310, such as Display 312, may comprise the portion of the page that is visible to the user at a certain moment; based on the scrolling of user in Page 310, the display may change as different areas of Page 310 may become visible without affecting the remaining content portions that are not visible at each point in time; [0090], As shown in FIG. 3B, in case the user scrolls down Page 310 to an area below Content 315, the Display 312 may comprise a different area of Page 310 that does not depict Content 315, e.g., an area of Page 310 depicting Content 317);
identify, in accordance with the interaction data, a container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that is to be replaced; duplicate, responsive to identification of the container, the original content into a hidden container of the DOM; load, using the code and asynchronously to the initial page load, replacement content into the container of the DOM to replace the original content with the replacement content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0045], the currently disclosed subject matter may be implemented by a software agent that may be embedded in pages of a website; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0089-0090], As shown in FIG. 3B, in case the user scrolls down Page 310 to an area below Content 315, the Display 312 may comprise a different area of Page 310 that does not depict Content 315, e.g., an area of Page 310 depicting Content 317; [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model);
determine, in accordance with the interaction data, that the container is to revert to the original content; and insert, responsive to a determination that the container is to revert to the original content, the original content from the hidden container of the DOM into the container of the DOM to replace the replacement content with the original content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0096], after rendering or consuming Content 325, the user may attempt to return to the previous Display 312 in her user experience by pressing a “back” button, or instructing in any other way to return to the previous display. For example, the user may remember that card r12, which was not selected, seemed interesting, and may wish to consume content that is linked to card r12; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience. In some exemplary embodiments, since Display 322 in FIG. 3D may be loaded within Page 310, the user's instruction may not be handled as a navigation operation by the browser. In some exemplary embodiments, the ‘back’ functionality or other navigation functionality of the browser may be overridden, altered, or the like, by the agent, so that upon obtaining an instruction to return to Page 310, the agent may obtain the instruction and close the iframe presenting Display 322, or otherwise stop Display 322 from being displayed; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; see [0043] containers in a document object model)
Regarding claim 16, Dan teaches the claim comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for using interaction data to dynamically replace content in a document object model, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to (Dan Figs. 1-4; abs., A method, system, and product comprising: obtaining a user instruction instructing the browser to navigate to a second page, wherein the browser is displaying a first page, wherein the first page comprises a link to a second page, wherein the link is configured to instruct the browser to navigate to the second page, wherein the user instruction is based on a selection of the link; preventing the browser from navigating to the second page in response to the user instruction; and causing the browser to present content from the second page in an element that is placed over the first page; [0024], a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium retaining program instructions, which program instructions when read by a processor, cause the processor to; [0043], the element that is used to render content from the second page within the first page may be referred to as the ‘element’ or ‘iframe’, although it may comprise non-iframe elements such as a container. The usage of iframe herein is done for clarification purposes and in a non-limiting manner. Other technologies may be utilized to achieve a similar user experience effect. Such technologies include, for example, Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) tags like <embed>, the usage of other libraries or specific standards that are supported by the browser, dynamic manipulation of the Document Object Model (DOM) of the page; [0045], the agent may monitor or capture events of the page in which it is embedded, DOM changes of the page, or the like; [0072], timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page):
receive a web page that includes content organized in a plurality of containers of a document object model (DOM) associated with the web page; render, in connection with an initial page load, the web page for presentation in a user interface; monitor scrolling behavior relating to a use of the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers, which may be linked to one or more respective second pages; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0043], the element that is used to render content from the second page within the first page may be referred to as the ‘element’ or ‘iframe’, although it may comprise non-iframe elements such as a container; dynamic manipulation of the Document Object Model (DOM) of the page; [0044], iframe and container elements may be used to embed another document within a current HTML page. In some exemplary embodiments, a functionality of the iframe, the container, or the like, may be supported by various browsers including CHROME™, FIREFOX™, INTERNET EXPLORER/EDGE™, SAFARI™ OPERA™, or the like; [0065], HTML tags may define a container for rendering an external resource; [0089], As shown in FIG. 3A, a user may browse a first page, e.g., Page 310, using a browser. A display of Page 310, such as Display 312, may comprise the portion of the page that is visible to the user at a certain moment; based on the scrolling of user in Page 310, the display may change as different areas of Page 310 may become visible without affecting the remaining content portions that are not visible at each point in time; [0090], As shown in FIG. 3B, in case the user scrolls down Page 310 to an area below Content 315, the Display 312 may comprise a different area of Page 310 that does not depict Content 315, e.g., an area of Page 310 depicting Content 317);
identify, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, a container of the plurality of containers of the DOM that contains original content that has been viewed; and load, asynchronously to the initial page load, replacement content into the container of the DOM to replace the original content with the replacement content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model)
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 16. Consequently, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors, to load the replacement content into the container, are configured to: insert the replacement content into a staging container of the DOM; and load the replacement content from the staging container into the container (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0083], the agent may identify one or more recommendation cards in the user's display that are predicted to be clicked by the user, and load content associated with one or more of these cards ahead of time, and possibly generate a potential target layout in memory, invisible in the background, or the like; upon the user selecting a recommendation card that was predicted to be selected with content that was loaded ahead of time, the target content of the recommendation card may be rendered swiftly, without waiting for the content to be obtained, for DOM elements to be generated, or the like; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model; see also [0035], [0042])
Regarding claim 3, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors, to load the replacement content into the container, are configured to: load the replacement content into the container in accordance with a timing that is based on the interaction data (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0072], timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page; [0083], the agent may identify one or more recommendation cards in the user's display that are predicted to be clicked by the user, and load content associated with one or more of these cards ahead of time, and possibly generate a potential target layout in memory, invisible in the background, or the like; upon the user selecting a recommendation card that was predicted to be selected with content that was loaded ahead of time, the target content of the recommendation card may be rendered swiftly, without waiting for the content to be obtained, for DOM elements to be generated, or the like; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model; see also [0035], [0042])
Regarding claim 4, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors, to load the replacement content into the container, are configured to: transmit a request for the replacement content to a content server; receive the replacement content from the content server; and insert the replacement content into the container of the DOM to replace the original content with the replacement content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0059], In response to a user clicking a content card, the browser may be instructed to display the page with which the content card is associated. The page may be in the same domain, or in a different domain; obtained from the same web server, or from a different web server; or the like; [0067], the element may be added to the first page in by the browser or by a server that provides the page; the element may be added to the first page by a server-side manipulation of the first page, which may add the element to the first page before the first page is served to the browser. For example, the element may be added by a server that provides the first page to the browser, by a server that provides the first page to another server until eventually reaching the browser, or the like; [0082], rendering target content associated with a clicked card may comprise obtaining the target content from a target publisher of the pressed card and rendering the content in an iframe; [0083], the agent may identify one or more recommendation cards in the user's display that are predicted to be clicked by the user, and load content associated with one or more of these cards ahead of time, and possibly generate a potential target layout in memory, invisible in the background, or the like; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model; see also [0035], [0042])
Regarding claims 10 and 18, claims 10 and 18 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 10 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the request indicates the original content, and wherein the replacement content is based on a context of the original content (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0067], the element may be added to the first page in by the browser or by a server that provides the page; the element may be added to the first page by a server-side manipulation of the first page, which may add the element to the first page before the first page is served to the browser. For example, the element may be added by a server that provides the first page to the browser, by a server that provides the first page to another server until eventually reaching the browser, or the like; [0083], the agent may identify one or more recommendation cards in the user's display that are predicted to be clicked by the user, and load content associated with one or more of these cards ahead of time, and possibly generate a potential target layout in memory, invisible in the background, or the like; the predictions may be based on a history of user interactions of the user with the feed, based on a popularity of cards over a plurality of end devices, based on a profile of the user, or the like; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model; see also [0035], [0042])
Regarding claim 6, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the original content and the replacement content are to occupy a same region of the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
Regarding claims 15 and 20, claims 15 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 15 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine that the container is to revert to the original content, are configured to: determine, in accordance with the interaction data, that activity in the user interface has resumed after a period of inactivity (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0049], after the target content of the second page is rendered at least partially in the iframe, the user may wish, in some cases, to return to the previous display of the first page. In some exemplary embodiments, in case a “back” event is invoked by a user; [0050], in response to the “back” event, the agent may invoke one or more alternative functionalities; in case that a continuous experience is identified, such as in case the user consumed the card's target content for a short period of time that is lesser than a continuity threshold, the iframe may be terminated and/or the first page may be instructed not to be refreshed, since the user may expect to be returned to the same display area in the first page; [0072], based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page, an intention of the user may be determined. For example, in case the elapsed timeframe indicates that the user intends to return to a previous display of the first page, e.g., in case the elapsed timeframe is below a threshold, the agent may select to close the element without reloading the first page; [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
Regarding claim 8, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors, to determine that the container is to revert to the original content, are configured to: determine, in accordance with the interaction data, that the user interface was reverse scrolled to the container or that the user interface has remained scrolled to the container for a threshold amount of time (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0049], after the target content of the second page is rendered at least partially in the iframe, the user may wish, in some cases, to return to the previous display of the first page. In some exemplary embodiments, in case a “back” event is invoked by a user; [0050], in response to the “back” event, the agent may invoke one or more alternative functionalities; in case that a continuous experience is identified, such as in case the user consumed the card's target content for a short period of time that is lesser than a continuity threshold, the iframe may be terminated and/or the first page may be instructed not to be refreshed, since the user may expect to be returned to the same display area in the first page; [0072], based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page, an intention of the user may be determined. For example, in case the elapsed timeframe indicates that the user intends to return to a previous display of the first page, e.g., in case the elapsed timeframe is below a threshold, the agent may select to close the element without reloading the first page; [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
Regarding claim 11, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising:
further comprising: duplicating the original content into a hidden container of the DOM (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model);
determining, in accordance with the interaction data, that activity in the user interface has resumed after a period of inactivity; and inserting, responsive to a determination that activity in the user interface has resumed, the original content from the hidden container of the DOM into the container of the DOM to replace the replacement content with the original content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0049], after the target content of the second page is rendered at least partially in the iframe, the user may wish, in some cases, to return to the previous display of the first page. In some exemplary embodiments, in case a “back” event is invoked by a user; [0050], in response to the “back” event, the agent may invoke one or more alternative functionalities; in case that a continuous experience is identified, such as in case the user consumed the card's target content for a short period of time that is lesser than a continuity threshold, the iframe may be terminated and/or the first page may be instructed not to be refreshed, since the user may expect to be returned to the same display area in the first page; [0072], based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page, an intention of the user may be determined. For example, in case the elapsed timeframe indicates that the user intends to return to a previous display of the first page, e.g., in case the elapsed timeframe is below a threshold, the agent may select to close the element without reloading the first page; [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
Regarding claim 12, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the interaction data relates to one or more of: scrolling behavior, inactivity behavior, clicking behavior, touch gesture behavior, text selection behavior, or text input behavior (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0089-0090], As shown in FIG. 3B, in case the user scrolls down Page 310 to an area below Content 315, the Display 312 may comprise a different area of Page 310 that does not depict Content 315, e.g., an area of Page 310 depicting Content 317; [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model)
Regarding claim 17, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 16, further comprising:
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to: duplicate the original content into a hidden container of the DOM (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model);
determine, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, that the user interface was reverse scrolled to the container or that the user interface has remained scrolled to the container for a threshold amount of time; and insert, responsive to a determination that the user interface was reverse scrolled to the container or that the user interface has remained scrolled to the container for the threshold amount of time, the original content from the hidden container of the DOM into the container of the DOM to replace the replacement content with the original content for presentation in the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0049], after the target content of the second page is rendered at least partially in the iframe, the user may wish, in some cases, to return to the previous display of the first page. In some exemplary embodiments, in case a “back” event is invoked by a user; [0050], in response to the “back” event, the agent may invoke one or more alternative functionalities; in case that a continuous experience is identified, such as in case the user consumed the card's target content for a short period of time that is lesser than a continuity threshold, the iframe may be terminated and/or the first page may be instructed not to be refreshed, since the user may expect to be returned to the same display area in the first page; [0072], based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page, an intention of the user may be determined. For example, in case the elapsed timeframe indicates that the user intends to return to a previous display of the first page, e.g., in case the elapsed timeframe is below a threshold, the agent may select to close the element without reloading the first page; [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan in view of Brown (US 20140258834 A1, published 09/11/2014).
Regarding claim 13, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the interaction data relates to scrolling behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, that the container has been scrolled in a viewport of the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0035], a browser may render and display a first page comprising one or more linked items or containers; the browser may present to a user of an end device a “feed” including one or more cards associated with content; [0042], a container element may be placed in the first page, and the second page or content thereof may be rendered in the container element; [0087], consider the case of a feed element with content cards. The interaction of Step 200 may be an interaction with a target content card (e.g., clicking the target content card); [0089-0090], As shown in FIG. 3B, in case the user scrolls down Page 310 to an area below Content 315, the Display 312 may comprise a different area of Page 310 that does not depict Content 315, e.g., an area of Page 310 depicting Content 317; [0091], after scrolling to Content 317 of Page 310, the user may select a recommendation card, e.g., r11, in order to view an associated content, e.g., Content 325; the scenario of FIG. 3D may be implemented in case the default browser behavior is overridden; [0093], the agent may be configured to monitor the events of Page 310, and upon obtaining an event of selecting a recommendation card, or any other linked portion of the page, the agent may capture the event, and instruct the browser to perform alternative operations in response. In some exemplary embodiments, as shown in FIG. 3D, instead of navigating to Page 320, the agent may render Content 325 within Page 310. In some exemplary embodiments, the agent may instruct the browser to launch or render an element, such as an iframe, within Page 310, and render Content 325 therein. For example, the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe. In some exemplary embodiments, the iframe may be generated, made visible, or the like, and the desired content may be presented therein. For example, the agent may render Page 320 in the iframe, thereby enabling the user to perceive the Content 325 without navigating from Page 310 to Page 320; [0094], in case the user selects links within Content 325, the linked content may be rendered or presented by an additional iframe within the first iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; see [0043] containers in a document object model)
However, Dan fails to expressly disclose wherein the interaction data relates to scrolling behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, that the container has been scrolled past a scrolling threshold in a viewport of the user interface. In the same field of endeavor, Brown teaches:
wherein the interaction data relates to scrolling behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, that the container has been scrolled past a scrolling threshold in a viewport of the user interface (Brown Figs. 1-5; [0033], The display of the advertisement within the inline advertising zone can include a portion of the displayed content and/or can be dynamically configured to hide the content in the web page aside from the content within the inline advertising zone; in this manner, only the advertising content is displayed once the inline advertising zone is brought into view; an inline interstitial advertisement is advertising content that occupies the display of the content display device in a manner such that the inline interstitial advertisement is the focal point of the web page and the remaining content is obscured and/or otherwise de-emphasized from view. Inline interstitial ads can include links or other functionality to cause the remaining content to return to view; [0034], a content display device is configured to receive additional content and display the additional content as part of the content displayed. In a variety of embodiments, content display devices are configured to track the received input and inject inline advertising zones into the additional content being added to the displayed content; [0038], the content server 110 is configured to receive additional content from the content source 112 and/or advertising content the advertising source 114 for inclusion in content to be sent to one or more content display device; [0054], displaying (418) advertising includes replacing and/or expanding an advertising placeholder associated with an inline advertising zone with advertising content; [0055], if a user is scrolling through the content and an inline advertising zone threshold is reached (416) causing the advertising content associated with the inline advertising zone to be displayed (418))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the interaction data relates to scrolling behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the scrolling behavior, that the container has been scrolled past a scrolling threshold in a viewport of the user interface as suggested in Brown into Dan. Doing so would be desirable because the embodiments of the invention enable content display devices to receive content with inline advertising zones and display the received content from a variety of content sources (see Brown [0037]). Using inline advertising zones, advertising content can be displayed in a manner integrated with the consumption of the content. A variety of advertising content, including interstitial advertisements, can be presented to a user without interrupting a user's consumption of the content. After the advertisement has been displayed, the user can continue browsing the content with the advertisement incorporated into the content (see Brown [0047]). A variety of content viewed by users includes advertising content incorporated into the viewed content. By injecting inline advertising zones into the viewed content, additional advertising content can be displayed to users as the user browses long portions of content and/or content containing a smart footer allowing for the endless (or infinite) display of content by retrieving and including additional content to the previously displayed content. Content display devices in accordance with embodiments of the invention are configured to track the display of advertising content and/or additional content and dynamically inject additional inline advertising zones into the displayed content to present additional advertising content to the user (see Brown [0057]). Additionally, the scrolling of Brown would improve the scrolling of Dan by enabling the user to more easily scroll through the content. If an inline advertising zone threshold is reached (416) causing the advertising content associated with the inline advertising zone to be displayed (418), the user can continue their browsing experience by continuing to scroll through the content (see Brown [0055]). The system of Brown would allow the user to more easily view desired content with fewer required inputs, thus saving the user time and increasing user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 14, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 9, further comprising:
wherein the interaction data relates to inactivity behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the inactivity behavior, that a period of inactivity in the user interface, while the container is in a viewport of the user interface (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0018], selecting is performed based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the user instruction and a time of the second user instruction; [0049], after the target content of the second page is rendered at least partially in the iframe, the user may wish, in some cases, to return to the previous display of the first page. In some exemplary embodiments, in case a “back” event is invoked by a user; [0050], in response to the “back” event, the agent may invoke one or more alternative functionalities; in case that a continuous experience is identified, such as in case the user consumed the card's target content for a short period of time that is lesser than a continuity threshold, the iframe may be terminated and/or the first page may be instructed not to be refreshed, since the user may expect to be returned to the same display area in the first page; [0072], based on an elapsed timeframe between a time of the first user instruction, instructing the browser to navigate to the second page, and a time of the second user instruction, instructing to return to the first page, an intention of the user may be determined. For example, in case the elapsed timeframe indicates that the user intends to return to a previous display of the first page, e.g., in case the elapsed timeframe is below a threshold, the agent may select to close the element without reloading the first page; [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
However, Dan fails to expressly disclose wherein the interaction data relates to inactivity behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the inactivity behavior, that a period of inactivity in the user interface, while the container is in a viewport of the user interface, satisfies an inactivity threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Brown teaches:
wherein the interaction data relates to inactivity behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the inactivity behavior, that a period of inactivity in the user interface, while the container is in a viewport of the user interface, satisfies an inactivity threshold (Brown Figs. 1-5; [0014], the input metadata is based on the time associated with identifying when the inline advertising zone is within the inline advertising zone threshold and the content display application further configures the processor to determine the time elapsed between the request for additional content and the recorded time and inject the additional inline advertising zone based on the determined time elapsed; [0033], The display of the advertisement within the inline advertising zone can include a portion of the displayed content and/or can be dynamically configured to hide the content in the web page aside from the content within the inline advertising zone; in this manner, only the advertising content is displayed once the inline advertising zone is brought into view; an inline interstitial advertisement is advertising content that occupies the display of the content display device in a manner such that the inline interstitial advertisement is the focal point of the web page and the remaining content is obscured and/or otherwise de-emphasized from view. Inline interstitial ads can include links or other functionality to cause the remaining content to return to view; [0034], a content display device is configured to receive additional content and display the additional content as part of the content displayed. In a variety of embodiments, content display devices are configured to track the received input and inject inline advertising zones into the additional content being added to the displayed content; [0038], the content server 110 is configured to receive additional content from the content source 112 and/or advertising content the advertising source 114 for inclusion in content to be sent to one or more content display device; [0052], mapping (414) input to the displayed content is interrupted and/or paused when an inline advertising zone threshold is reached (416); [0054], displaying (418) advertising includes replacing and/or expanding an advertising placeholder associated with an inline advertising zone with advertising content’ [0058], tracking (512) input includes maintaining input metadata describing the tracked input. In several embodiments, the reached (516) advertising threshold includes determining the time elapsed since an inline advertising zone threshold was reached. In a number of embodiments, the reached (516) advertising threshold includes determining the amount of content that has been retrieved and/or displayed since the last inline advertising zone and/or advertising content was displayed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the interaction data relates to inactivity behavior, and wherein identifying the container comprises: identifying, in accordance with the inactivity behavior, that a period of inactivity in the user interface, while the container is in a viewport of the user interface, satisfies an inactivity threshold as suggested in Brown into Dan. Doing so would be desirable because the embodiments of the invention enable content display devices to receive content with inline advertising zones and display the received content from a variety of content sources (see Brown [0037]). Using inline advertising zones, advertising content can be displayed in a manner integrated with the consumption of the content. A variety of advertising content, including interstitial advertisements, can be presented to a user without interrupting a user's consumption of the content. After the advertisement has been displayed, the user can continue browsing the content with the advertisement incorporated into the content (see Brown [0047]). A variety of content viewed by users includes advertising content incorporated into the viewed content. By injecting inline advertising zones into the viewed content, additional advertising content can be displayed to users as the user browses long portions of content and/or content containing a smart footer allowing for the endless (or infinite) display of content by retrieving and including additional content to the previously displayed content. Content display devices in accordance with embodiments of the invention are configured to track the display of advertising content and/or additional content and dynamically inject additional inline advertising zones into the displayed content to present additional advertising content to the user (see Brown [0057]). The system of Brown would allow the user to more easily view desired content with fewer required inputs, thus saving the user time and increasing user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 19, Dan teaches all the limitations of claim 16, further comprising:
wherein the container is configured with one or more style settings, and wherein the replacement content is configured with one or more style settings (Dan Figs. 1-4; [0031], a user consuming content via a browser. In some exemplary embodiments, publishing entities using one or more Internet domain names may own and serve digital content. In some exemplary embodiments, content may refer to text, audio, video, code, styling, formatting, data dumps, a combination thereof, or the like; [0046], the iframe may be displayed on the entire window or screen of the user, hiding the display of the original first page, without having a noticeable different User Interface (UI); [0093], the agent may launch a new Display 322 depicting Content 325 over the Display 312 of Page 310, without navigating away from Page 310; [0094], in accordance with FIG. 3D, the agent may load an iframe on top of Display 312 of Page 310, and render Content 325 in the iframe; [0095], Display 322 may be placed on top of Display 312, hiding at least a portion of Display 312; [0097], the agent may override the ‘back’ functionality of Page 320 when rendered in the iframe, by merely closing the iframe, thereby returning to Content 317 in a smooth and non jumpy experience; [0098], upon closing the iframe, the user may be provided with Display 312 showing the exact display area of Page 310 from which the user left, e.g., the display of Content 317, which remained under the iframe and may become visible again upon closing the iframe; in case the user consumed Content 325 for a long period of time that overpasses a threshold, the user may be estimated to forget the other content cards of Content 317, and the user may be estimated to intend to consume Content 315, causing Page 310 to be determined to be refreshed; see also [0035], [0042], [0087], [0091])
However, Dan fails to expressly disclose wherein the container is configured with one or more style settings, and wherein the replacement content is to inherit the one or more style settings. In the same field of endeavor, Brown teaches:
wherein the container is configured with one or more style settings, and wherein the replacement content is to inherit the one or more style settings (Brown Figs. 1-5; [0004], Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) are used to describe the formatting and display of a document when it is rendered. CSS can be used to describe the formatting of a variety of documents, including HTML documents and other documents, such as documents written using the Extensible Markup Language (XML). A single document can have a variety of associated CSS, so that the document can be rendered in a variety of ways depending on the capabilities of the device used to display the document; [0033], The display of the advertisement within the inline advertising zone can include a portion of the displayed content and/or can be dynamically configured to hide the content in the web page aside from the content within the inline advertising zone; in this manner, only the advertising content is displayed once the inline advertising zone is brought into view; an inline interstitial advertisement is advertising content that occupies the display of the content display device in a manner such that the inline interstitial advertisement is the focal point of the web page and the remaining content is obscured and/or otherwise de-emphasized from view. Inline interstitial ads can include links or other functionality to cause the remaining content to return to view; [0034], a content display device is configured to receive additional content and display the additional content as part of the content displayed. In a variety of embodiments, content display devices are configured to track the received input and inject inline advertising zones into the additional content being added to the displayed content; [0035], Content display devices include computers running web browsers configured to display hypertext markup language (HTML) web pages using cascading style sheets (CSS) and one or more scripts using a document object model (DOM) representing the web page. In a number of embodiments, the CSS are used to define the HTML defining the web page and the CSS are utilized to define and style the content and/or the inline advertising zones; [0038], the content server 110 is configured to receive additional content from the content source 112 and/or advertising content the advertising source 114 for inclusion in content to be sent to one or more content display device; [0040], the content and/or the advertising content are a web page (or a portion of a web page) including HTML elements, CSS, and scripts and the content display devices are configured to render the received web page; [0048], the obtained (312) content with inline advertising zones is a web page containing HTML, CSS, and/or one or more scripts; [0052], mapping (414) input to the displayed content is interrupted and/or paused when an inline advertising zone threshold is reached (416); [0058], tracking (512) input includes maintaining input metadata describing the tracked input. In several embodiments, the reached (516) advertising threshold includes determining the time elapsed since an inline advertising zone threshold was reached. In a number of embodiments, the reached (516) advertising threshold includes determining the amount of content that has been retrieved and/or displayed since the last inline advertising zone and/or advertising content was displayed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the container is configured with one or more style settings, and wherein the replacement content is to inherit the one or more style settings as suggested in Brown into Dan. Doing so would be desirable because the embodiments of the invention enable content display devices to receive content with inline advertising zones and display the received content from a variety of content sources (see Brown [0037]). Using inline advertising zones, advertising content can be displayed in a manner integrated with the consumption of the content. A variety of advertising content, including interstitial advertisements, can be presented to a user without interrupting a user's consumption of the content. After the advertisement has been displayed, the user can continue browsing the content with the advertisement incorporated into the content (see Brown [0047]). A variety of content viewed by users includes advertising content incorporated into the viewed content. By injecting inline advertising zones into the viewed content, additional advertising content can be displayed to users as the user browses long portions of content and/or content containing a smart footer allowing for the endless (or infinite) display of content by retrieving and including additional content to the previously displayed content. Content display devices in accordance with embodiments of the invention are configured to track the display of advertising content and/or additional content and dynamically inject additional inline advertising zones into the displayed content to present additional advertising content to the user (see Brown [0057]). The system of Brown would allow the user to more easily view desired content with fewer required inputs, thus saving the user time and increasing user satisfaction. Additionally, the system of Brown would provide a reliable and well-known method of enabling desired styles to be inherited by container objects, thereby ensuring that they are displayed correctly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smedberg (US 20140143644 A1) see Figs. 1-4 and [0015-0017], [0029-0037].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143