DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this Patent Application claims priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. 63/503,043 filed on 05/18/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2018/0049294A1 hereinafter “ Knaapen”
Regarding claim 1, Knaapen discloses a controller for dynamically adjusting an optical output of a light, the controller comprising:
at least one driver configured to modify an operation of at least one light emitting diode (LED) of the light (¶51L14-19: second luminaire component to control the light output of the light source);
a memory configured to store a plurality of diffuser models (¶53L1-13: the processor may be connected to a database wherein a list of identifier is stored, wherein each identifier comprise information about a specific lamp shade) that specify a pre-defined optical output of the light, wherein each diffuser model corresponds to a different one of a plurality of diffusers installable at the light (¶56L1-7: the at least one characteristics comprise a light setting for the lamp shade) and
at least one processor (¶51L11: processor) configured to:
identify, from the plurality of diffusers installable at the light, which diffuser of the plurality of diffusers is installed at the light (¶51L7-10: a detector arranged for detecting the at least one surface feature of the lamp shade);
select a corresponding diffuser model of the plurality of diffuser models based on which diffuser is installed (¶51L10-14: retrieving the identifier from the detected at least one surface feature and identifying the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on the retrieved identifier); and
modify the operation of the at least one driver based on the corresponding diffuser model to generate the pre-defined optical output of the light. (¶51L14-19: control the light output of the light source based on the identified at least one characteristic)
Regarding claim 2, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein:
the pre-defined optical output comprises a pre-defined color temperature. (¶57L8-10: the light source may be arranged for emitting a plurality of colors, color temperatures and/or light intensity)
Regarding claim 3, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein:
the pre-defined optical output comprises a pre-defined brightness. (¶57L8-10: the light source may be arranged for emitting a plurality of colors, color temperatures and/or light intensity)
Regarding claim 4, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one sensor configured to interact with the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light (¶51L7-10: a detector arranged for detecting the at least one surface feature of the lamp shade), wherein
the at least one processor is further configured to identify, utilizing the at least one sensor, the diffuser. (¶51L10-14: retrieving the identifier from the detected at least one surface feature and identifying the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on the retrieved identifier)
Regarding claim 5, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 4, wherein:
the at least one sensor is configured to interact with one or more mechanical components of the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light (¶61L1-25: a lamp shade with protruded surface feature and depressed surface featured), and
the at least one processor is further configured to identify, utilizing the at least one sensor interacting with the one or more mechanical components, the diffuser (¶61L1-25: the detector comprise switches that are pressed by the different surface features; the first processor identify the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on signal received from the switches).
Regarding claim 16, Knaapen discloses the method of claim 9, wherein identifying the diffuser further comprises: receiving, via a user interface at the light, a selection from an end-user of the diffuser installed at the light. (¶72L1-22: a user interface provide contorl options for the at least characteristics, contorl setting for the lamp shade)
Regarding claim 8, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein: the at least one processor is further configured to
receive, via a user interface of the light, a selection from an end-user to identify the diffuser installed at the light. (¶72L1-22: a user interface provide contorl options for the at least characteristics, contorl setting for the lamp shade)
Regarding claim 9, Van discloses a method of dynamically adjusting an optical output of a light, the method comprising:
identifying a plurality of diffuser models that specify a pre-defined optical output of the light, wherein each diffuser model corresponds to a different one of a plurality of diffusers installable at the light (¶53L1-13: the processor may be connected to a database wherein a list of identifier is stored, wherein each identifier comprise information about a specific lamp shade);
identifying, from the plurality of diffusers installable at the light, which diffuser of the plurality of diffusers is installed at the light (¶51L7-10: a detector arranged for detecting the at least one surface feature of the lamp shade);
selecting a corresponding diffuser model of the plurality of diffuser models based on which diffuser is installed (¶51L10-14: retrieving the identifier from the detected at least one surface feature and identifying the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on the retrieved identifier); and
modifying an operation of at least one driver of at least one light emitting diode (LED) of the light based on the corresponding diffuser model to generate the pre-defined optical output of the light. (¶51L14-19: control the light output of the light source based on the identified at least one characteristic)
Regarding claim 10, Van discloses the method of claim 9, wherein:
the pre-defined optical output comprises a pre-defined color temperature. (¶57L8-10: the light source may be arranged for emitting a plurality of colors, color temperatures and/or light intensity)
Regarding claim 11, Van discloses the method of claim 9, wherein:
the pre-defined optical output comprises a pre-defined brightness. (¶57L8-10: the light source may be arranged for emitting a plurality of colors, color temperatures and/or light intensity)
Regarding claim 12, Van discloses the method of claim 9, wherein
identifying the diffuser further comprises: identifying, utilizing at least one sensor configured to interact with the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light, the diffuser. (¶51L10-14: retrieving the identifier from the detected at least one surface feature and identifying the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on the retrieved identifier)
Regarding claim 13, Van discloses the method of claim 12, wherein identifying the diffuser further comprises:
identifying, utilizing the at least one sensor (¶61L1-25: the detector comprise switches that are pressed by the different surface features; the first processor identify the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on signal received from the switches), one or more mechanical components of the diffuser (¶61L1-25: a lamp shade with protruded surface feature and depressed surface featured) when the diffuser is installed at the light.
Regarding claim 16, Knaapen discloses the method of claim 9, wherein identifying the diffuser further comprises: receiving, via a user interface at the light, a selection from an end-user of the diffuser installed at the light. (¶72L1-22: a user interface provide contorl options for the at least characteristics, contorl setting for the lamp shade)
Regarding claim 17, Van discloses a system, comprising:
a light comprising at least one light emitting diode (LED) (¶52L4-6: luminaire component (e.g. an LED module);
a plurality of diffusers (¶52L10-11: the lamp shade may be a diffuser of an LED luminaire), each installable at the light in an optical output path of the at least one LED (¶11L1-8: the lamp shade diffuse or reflect the light emitted by the light source);
a controller comprising:
at least one driver configured to modify an operation of the at least one LED (¶51L14-19: second luminaire component to control the light output of the light source); and
a memory configured to store a plurality of diffuser models (¶53L1-13: the processor may be connected to a database wherein a list of identifier is stored, wherein each identifier comprise information about a specific lamp shade) that specify a pre-defined optical output of the light (¶56L1-7: the at least one characteristics comprise a light setting for the lamp shade), wherein each diffuser model corresponds to a different one of the plurality of diffusers installable at the light (¶54L1-6: the type can be a diffusive lamp shade, a reflective lamp shade; the color of the lamp shade) , wherein
the controller is configured to:
identify, from the plurality of diffusers installable at the light, which diffuser of the plurality of diffusers is installed at the light (¶51L7-10: a detector arranged for detecting the at least one surface feature of the lamp shade);
select a corresponding diffuser model of the plurality of diffuser models based on which diffuser is installed (¶51L10-14: retrieving the identifier from the detected at least one surface feature and identifying the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on the retrieved identifier); and
modify the operation of the at least one driver based on the corresponding diffuser model to generate the pre-defined optical output of the light. (¶51L14-19: control the light output of the light source based on the identified at least one characteristic)
Regarding claim 18, Knaapen discloses the system of claim 17, wherein: the pre-defined optical output comprises
at least one of a pre-defined color temperature and a pre-defined brightness. (¶57L8-10: the light source may be arranged for emitting a plurality of colors, color temperatures and/or light intensity)
Regarding claim 19, Knaapen discloses the system of claim 17, wherein:
each of the plurality of diffusers further comprises at least one of an electrical interface, a radio frequency interface, and a mechanical interface (¶61L1-25: a lamp shade with protruded surface feature and depressed surface featured), the controller further includes
at least one sensor configured to interact with one or more of the electrical interface, the radio frequency interface, and the mechanical interface when the diffuser is installed at the light, and the controller is further configured to identify, utilizing the at least one sensor, the diffuser installed at the light. (¶61L1-25: the detector comprise switches that are pressed by the different surface features; the first processor identify the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on signal received from the switches).
Regarding claim 20, Knaapen discloses the system of claim 19, wherein:
each of the plurality of diffusers further comprises the mechanical interface (¶61L1-25: a lamp shade with protruded surface feature and depressed surface featured), the mechanical interface includes at least one projection, the at least one sensor comprises
at least one spring-loaded contact, and the at least one projection is configured to depress the at least one spring-loaded contact when the diffuser is installed at the light to identify the diffuser. (¶61L1-25: the detector comprise switches that are pressed by the different surface features; the first processor identify the at least one characteristic of the lamp shade based on signal received from the switches)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knaapen in view of US2018/0027623A1 hereinafter “Van”
Regarding claim 6, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 4,
Knaapen does not expclitly disclose:
the at least one sensor is configured to interact with one or more electrical components of the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify, utilizing the at least one sensor interacting with the one or more electrical components, the diffuser.
Van discloses an LED based lighting system (¶68L1-2) wherein an RFID tag installed on the lamp shade (¶72L10-12: an RFID tag integrated in a lighting fixture part (such as an interchangeable lamp shade or diffusing plate) that is read by an RFID reader (¶72L9-10: RFID tag reader may detect an RFID tag) to retrieve lighting implementation data (¶72L7-8: the lighting implementation data may be received via an RFID tag)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the surface feature disclosed by Knaapen to be an RFID tag as disclosed by Van to provide information regarding the lamp shade.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the RFID tag can be realized as a sticker allowing the user to retrofit old luminaire. (Van ¶72L12-19)
Regarding claim 7, Knaapen discloses the controller of claim 4,
Knaapen does not expclitly disclose:
the at least one sensor is configured to interact with one or more radio frequency components of the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify, utilizing the at least one sensor interacting with the one or more radio frequency components, the diffuser.
Van discloses an LED based lighting system (¶68L1-2) wherein an RFID tag installed on the lamp shade (¶72L10-12: an RFID tag integrated in a lighting fixture part (such as an interchangeable lamp shade or diffusing plate) that is read by an RFID reader (¶72L9-10: RFID tag reader may detect an RFID tag) to retrieve lighting implementation data (¶72L7-8: the lighting implementation data may be received via an RFID tag)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the surface feature disclosed by Knaapen to be an RFID tag as disclosed by Van to provide information regarding the lamp shade.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the RFID tag can be realized as a sticker allowing the user to retrofit old luminaire. (Van ¶72L12-19)
Regarding claim 14, Knaapen discloses the method of claim 12,
Knaapen does not expclitly disclose:
identifying, utilizing the at least one sensor, one or more electrical components of the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light.
Van discloses an LED based lighting system (¶68L1-2) wherein an RFID tag installed on the lamp shade (¶72L10-12: an RFID tag integrated in a lighting fixture part (such as an interchangeable lamp shade or diffusing plate) that is read by an RFID reader (¶72L9-10: RFID tag reader may detect an RFID tag) to retrieve lighting implementation data (¶72L7-8: the lighting implementation data may be received via an RFID tag)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the surface feature disclosed by Knaapen to be an RFID tag as disclosed by Van to provide information regarding the lamp shade.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the RFID tag can be realized as a sticker allowing the user to retrofit old luminaire. (Van ¶72L12-19)
Regarding claim 15, Knaapen discloses the method of claim 12
Knaapen does not expclitly disclose:
identifying, utilizing the at least one sensor, one or more radio frequency components of the diffuser when the diffuser is installed at the light.
Van discloses an LED based lighting system (¶68L1-2) wherein an RFID tag installed on the lamp shade (¶72L10-12: an RFID tag integrated in a lighting fixture part (such as an interchangeable lamp shade or diffusing plate) that is read by an RFID reader (¶72L9-10: RFID tag reader may detect an RFID tag) to retrieve lighting implementation data (¶72L7-8: the lighting implementation data may be received via an RFID tag)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the surface feature disclosed by Knaapen to be an RFID tag as disclosed by Van to provide information regarding the lamp shade.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the RFID tag can be realized as a sticker allowing the user to retrofit old luminaire. (Van ¶72L12-19)
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844