Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment to the title, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Nakamura in view of Lopez and Kuwabara fails to disclose “a color measurer that is capable of moving in the width direction back and forth along a supporter, and measures a color of the surface of the medium on the conveying path at a downstream side of the first overlapping portion and the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second sensor.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Nakamura discloses where the line sensor (i.e., first and second image sensors) can be such as a CCD or CIS imaging elements and where the line sensor is longer length than the width of the transfer paper (as cited). Nakamura further discloses (as cited) where the measurer moves from a base position where the base position is outside the colorimetric path. For the color measurer, as disclosed by Nakamura, to be capable of movement along the main scanning area (i.e., width direction) as well as leave/return to a position outside the measuring path, inherently some type supporter longer than the width direction of the imaging range would be required for the disclosed operations. Nakamura does not explicitly discuss a sensor configuration (provides optional sensor types) or an explicit mechanical configuration for disclosed operational features, e.g., sensor support structure. Lopez is relied upon to disclose a line sensor arrangement utilizing CIS modules as suggested by Nakamura as well as also utilizing a color measurer.
Kuwabara discloses a known mechanical structural configuration within a printing system that includes a color measuring device that is capable of traversing the width of the colorimetric path. The carriage framework necessary for the color measurer supporter to move to its start/stop positions of ME and MS is necessarily longer (as cited and shown in Figure 3) in the width direction. As discussed by Kuwabara on page 18 showing the schematic view of the measurement device in Figure 11, Kuwabara discloses where the patches CP that are to be imaged are disposed below the long hole 56 of the pressing member 44 as shown in Figure 3 (cited). As shown in Figure 3, the start MS and stop ME marks are not shown as being disposed in the patch reading area of hole 56. Further, Kuwabara describes in detail a white tile 47 (not explicitly cited) that is used to calibrate the colorimeter 41 that is located in a home position of the reciprocating means 43 (cited). Figure 9 shows the patch X coordinates of the D patches in reference to both the colorimeter 41 (shown at its home position outside the imaging range in the figure) as well as at least the starting mark MS shown outside the print image range of IG. This white tile 47 is shown also in Figure 3 (cited) fully to the right side of the paper path of the printing system. For the colorimeter 41 as cited to move to the mark MS and to such a home position 47 (i.e., base position interpreted as analogous to Nakamura), the mechanical structure supporting the measurer would necessarily be longer in the width direction. Therefore, Kuwabara when considered in view of what is already being taught by primary reference to Nakamura in view of the secondary reference to Lopez, the teachings of Kuwabara’s structural arrangement is found to be immediately relevant.
The 35 USC 103 is maintained.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that because Kuwahara (tertiary reference) does not disclose image sensors, claim 18 should be allowable. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nakamura, the primary reference, discloses a color measurer that is capable of traversing in a full width direction regardless the image sensor arrangement. Nakamura discloses where the image sensor can be configured using such as a CCD or CIS elements (as cited). Therefore, regardless whether the image sensor elements overlapped or didn’t, the measurer is capable of moving to an area where the elements didn’t overlap or to an area where they did overlap.
The 35 USC 103 is maintained.
New claim 26 has not been examined previously and is not further discussed here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 26 recites “… a hardware processor configured to move the color measurer in a width direction to measure a first inspection image corresponding to a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction, a second inspection image corresponding to the first overlapping a portion in the width direction, and a third inspection image corresponding to a portion of the third image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction.” There appears to be no disclosure for the measurement limitations as presently claimed. According to the disclosure and portions as referred to by the applicant in their remarks dated 12/19/2025, support was to be found in paragraphs 0052-0056 (presumably as filed). This portion of the specification also refers to the process shown in Figure 6. The color measurer 26 measures color values of pattern It1 at W1 and pattern It3 at W3 both of which are in non-overlapping locations as shown in Figure 4. The only imaging of pattern It2 and pattern It4 in the overlapping portions is accomplished by the imaging sensors 2511-2514 which are different than the measurer 26. Once the measurements in the non-overlapping portions at W1 and W3 are made, results of measurements made by the color measurer 26 of It1 is compared to the sensor imaging result of sensor 2512 to then calculate corrections for sensor 2512 including using the results by sensor 2511 in the overlapping portion between the two sensors. Similar process is made between each sensor element of the imager 25 (shown in Figure 2).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites “… an imaging range.” This limitation has been instantiated in claim 16 from which claim 26 depends. It is unclear and indefinite whether this instantiation is intended to represent a different imaging range or should refer to the imaging range previously instantiated in claim 16. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets this limitation to be referring to the imaging range of claim 16.
Claim 26 recites “… a hardware processor configured to move the color measurer in a width direction to measure a first inspection image corresponding to a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction, a second inspection image corresponding to the first overlapping a portion in the width direction, and a third inspection image corresponding to a portion of the third image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction.” It is indefinite and unclear as to the application of the above underlined limitations as claimed. As explained above, there is no apparent disclosure of measuring using the color measurer in any overlapping position. Since inspection images It2 and It4 (i.e., overlapping image portions) are inspection images only imaged by imager 25, how is the color measurer intended to measure this image portion? For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the color measurer to measure portions of each inspection image corresponding to that of each image sensor in non-overlapping portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (Japanese Pub 2016-104544A as provided by the applicant) in view of Lopez (US Pub 20170359489 as provided by the applicant) and in further view of Kuwahara (Japanese Patent No. 5163193).
Note: The Examiner has used US Pub 20160156810 to Nakamura as an equivalent English translation of the Japanese Patent Publication 2016-104544A as provided in the IDS dated 4/3/2024.
Claim 16: Nakamura discloses an image reading apparatus [Abstract] comprising:
a conveyor that moves a medium on a predetermined conveying path [a transfer paper conveyed by a secondary transfer roller 113 along a conveying path 115. The conveying path 115 is extended toward a paper discharging path 115B outside the apparatus … image forming unit 110 is connected to the printing control unit 103 in a manner such that the image forming unit can be controlled. The printing control unit 103 controls the image forming unit 110 to form an image on a transfer paper, p0056 & p0072];
a first image sensor that images a surface of the medium on the conveying path [a line sensor 130 that reads an image on the upper surface of the transfer paper is provided at the upper side of the conveying path 115, p0061];
a second image sensor that images the surface of the medium on the conveying path [a line sensor 130 that reads an image on the upper surface of the transfer paper is provided at the upper side of the conveying path 115, p0061], wherein a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction orthogonal to a conveying direction along the conveying path [line sensor 130 can adopt imaging elements such as CCD and CIS, and it is preferable that the line sensor 130 is configured to have longer length than the width of transfer paper conveyed along the conveying path 115, p0061]; and
a color measurer that is capable of moving in the width direction back and forth along a supporter, and measures a color of the surface of the medium on the conveying path at a downstream side of the first overlapping portion [the spectral colorimeter 131 is supported by the colorimeter moving unit 132, and thus the spectral colorimeter 131 can be moved along the main scanning direction by the colorimeter moving unit 132 … the colorimeter control unit 108 moves the spectral colorimeter 131 from the base position to the first patch position using the colorimeter moving unit 132 … the colorimeter control unit 108 moves the spectral colorimeter 131 to the base position using the colorimeter moving unit 132 and waits until there a reading instruction … it is preferable that the base position is arranged outside the colorimetric path 117A, p0062, p0173, p0193 & p0199-0200],
wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose a sensor configuration, e.g., a first image sensor and second image sensor, where a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction, a supporter for the color measurer and wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Lopez discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] a first image sensor and a second image sensor where a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction [scanner modules 322 may be contact image sensor (CIS) modules ... e.g., 322a-e as shown in at least Figure 3, p0017] and a color measurer [module analyzer 210 may analyze a spectral reflectance of the targets 304 in the scan, p0019].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have explicitly included in the invention of Nakamura the support whereby the image sensors consist of a plurality of scanner modules (i.e. a first image sensor and a second image sensor) as disclosed by Lopez because it allows for a flexible system configuration utilizing the CIS sensors as discussed by Lopez in at least paragraph 0001.
Lopez does not disclose a supporter for the color measurer and wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Kuwahara discloses a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] discloses an assemble for supporting a moveable colorimeter [carriage reciprocating means 43 is means for reciprocating the colorimeter 41 held by the colorimeter holder 42 in the column direction C formed by the color patch CP, page 4 paragraph 9] wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor [Two guide shafts constituted by a main shaft 58 and a sub shaft 59, and a colorimetric carriage motor 60 disposed on the return position side as a drive source when the colorimetric carriage 57 is reciprocated and is longer as shown in at least Figure 3 … The color patch CP includes a patch row PR formed by arranging a plurality of unit patches D, and a start position mark MS and an end position mark ME [i.e., outside an imaging range as explicitly shown in Figures 3 & 9] arranged at predetermined intervals on both sides in the row direction of the patch row PR … A state where the colorimeter 41 is located immediately above the white tile 47 of the calibration means 46 is the home position (i.e., outside imaging range necessarily indicative of the supporter being longer) of the colorimetric carriage 57. At the time of color measurement, the position of each unit patch D as the coordinate (x coordinate) in the paper width direction (main scanning direction B) with the home position as the origin, that is, the operation position for the color measurement operation of the color measurement carriage 57 as a moving body Is calculated, page 4 paragraph 9, page 9 paragraph 2 & page 18 paragraphs 3-4 (see discussion in Response to Arguments)].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have configured in Nakumura in view of Lopez to provide a supporter that is longer in the width direction as taught by Kuwahara because it provides a means for determining a home starting position for the moveable colorimeter prior to or after reading the image surface of the substrate for accuracy of the measured response as discussed by Kuwahara on at least pages 17 and 18.
Claim 17: Nakumura in view of Lopez and Kuwahara disclose the image reading apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the color measurer measures the color in a plurality of positions in the width direction [the spectral colorimeter 131 is supported by the colorimeter moving unit 132, and thus the spectral colorimeter 131 can be moved along the main scanning direction by the colorimeter moving unit 132, p0173].
Claim 18: Nakumura in view of Lopez and Kuwahara disclose the image reading apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the color measurer is capable of moving in the width direction throughout a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor, the first overlapping and a portion of the second image sensor that does not overlap with the first image sensor [the spectral colorimeter 131 is supported by the colorimeter moving unit 132, and thus the spectral colorimeter 131 can be moved along the main scanning direction by the colorimeter moving unit 132, p0173].
Claim 19: Nakumura in view of Lopez and Kuwahara disclose the image reading apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the color measurer is fixed when the color is measured [After the reading preparation, the colorimeter control unit 108 moves, using the colorimeter moving unit 132, the spectral colorimeter 131 to each patch position specified by the reading instruction along the cross direction of the paper feeding direction to start the color measurement, p0196].
Kuwahara also discloses wherein the color measurer is fixed when the color is measured [operation position of the color measurement carriage 57 is stopped by driving the color measurement carriage 57 for the color measurement operation … the spot colorimetry shown in FIG. 12B is stopped every time the colorimeter 41 reaches the position corresponding to the center of the unit patch D by moving the colorimeter 41 in the direction indicated by the arrow in FIG. The colorimetric data of the colorimeter 41 is acquired every time the operation is stopped, page 17 & 18].
Claim 20: Nakumura in view of Lopez and Kuwahara disclose the image reading apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the color measurer is positioned toward a downstream side of a conveying direction by the conveyor than the first image sensor and the second image sensor [spectral colorimeter 131 is provided on the conveying path 115 at the downstream side of the line sensor 130 to read colors of the image on the transfer paper conveyed through the conveying path 115 and as shown in Figure 1, p0062].
Claim 21: Nakamura discloses an image forming apparatus [Abstract] comprising:
an image former that forms an image on a surface of a medium; and an image reading apparatus that read the image on the medium [image forming unit 110 is connected to the printing control unit 103 in a manner such that the image forming unit can be controlled. The printing control unit 103 controls the image forming unit 110 to form an image on a transfer paper, p0072],
the image reading apparatus including: a conveyor that moves the medium on a predetermined conveying path [a transfer paper conveyed by a secondary transfer roller 113 along a conveying path 115. The conveying path 115 is extended toward a paper discharging path 115B outside the apparatus, p0056];
a first image sensor that images a surface of the medium on the conveying path [a line sensor 130 that reads an image on the upper surface of the transfer paper is provided at the upper side of the conveying path 115, p0061];
a second image sensor that images the surface of the medium on the conveying path [a line sensor 130 that reads an image on the upper surface of the transfer paper is provided at the upper side of the conveying path 115, p0061], wherein a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction orthogonal to a conveying direction along the conveying path [line sensor 130 can adopt imaging elements such as CCD and CIS, and it is preferable that the line sensor 130 is configured to have longer length than the width of transfer paper conveyed along the conveying path 115, p0061]; and
a color measurer that is capable of moving in the width direction back and forth along a supporter, and measures a color of the surface of the medium on the conveying path at a downstream side of the first overlapping portion [the spectral colorimeter 131 is supported by the colorimeter moving unit 132, and thus the spectral colorimeter 131 can be moved along the main scanning direction by the colorimeter moving unit 132 … the colorimeter control unit 108 moves the spectral colorimeter 131 from the base position to the first patch position using the colorimeter moving unit 132 … the colorimeter control unit 108 moves the spectral colorimeter 131 to the base position using the colorimeter moving unit 132 and waits until there a reading instruction … it is preferable that the base position is arranged outside the colorimetric path 117A, p0062, p0173, p0193 & p0199-0200],
wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose a sensor configuration, e.g., a first image sensor and second image sensor, where a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction, a supporter for the color measurer and wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Lopez discloses in a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] a first image sensor and a second image sensor where a portion of the first image sensor and a portion of the second image sensor overlap in a first overlapping portion in a width direction [scanner modules 322 may be contact image sensor (CIS) modules ... e.g., 322a-e as shown in at least Figure 3, p0017] and a color measurer [module analyzer 210 may analyze a spectral reflectance of the targets 304 in the scan, p0019].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have explicitly included in the invention of Nakamura the support whereby the image sensors consist of a plurality of scanner modules (i.e. a first image sensor and a second image sensor) as disclosed by Lopez because it allows for a flexible system configuration utilizing the CIS sensors as discussed by Lopez in at least paragraph 0001.
Lopez does not disclose a supporter for the color measurer and wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor and an imaging range of the second image sensor.
Kuwahara discloses a related system from the same field of endeavor [Abstract] discloses an assemble for supporting a moveable colorimeter [carriage reciprocating means 43 is means for reciprocating the colorimeter 41 held by the colorimeter holder 42 in the column direction C formed by the color patch CP, page 4 paragraph 9] wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor [Two guide shafts constituted by a main shaft 58 and a sub shaft 59, and a colorimetric carriage motor 60 disposed on the return position side as a drive source when the colorimetric carriage 57 is reciprocated and is longer as shown in at least Figure 3 … The color patch CP includes a patch row PR formed by arranging a plurality of unit patches D, and a start position mark MS and an end position mark ME [i.e., outside an imaging range as explicitly shown in Figures 3 & 9] arranged at predetermined intervals on both sides in the row direction of the patch row PR … A state where the colorimeter 41 is located immediately above the white tile 47 of the calibration means 46 is the home position (i.e., outside imaging range necessarily indicative of the supporter being longer) of the colorimetric carriage 57. At the time of color measurement, the position of each unit patch D as the coordinate (x coordinate) in the paper width direction (main scanning direction B) with the home position as the origin, that is, the operation position for the color measurement operation of the color measurement carriage 57 as a moving body Is calculated, page 4 paragraph 9, page 9 paragraph 2 & page 18 paragraphs 3-4 (see discussion in Response to Arguments)].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have configured in Nakumura in view of Lopez to provide a supporter that is longer in the width direction as taught by Kuwahara because it provides a means for determining a home starting position for the moveable colorimeter prior to or after reading the image surface of the substrate for accuracy of the measured response as discussed by Kuwahara on at least pages 17 and 18.
Claims 22-25: the apparatus herein has been executed or performed by the apparatus of claims 17-20 and are therefore likewise rejected.
Claim 26: Nakumura in view of Lopez and Kuwahara the image reading apparatus according to claim 16.
Nakumura discloses where the image sensor can be such as a CCD or CIS elements that images a surface of the medium on the conveying path [p0061]. Nakumura also discloses a hardware processor [CPU … colorimeter control unit 108 controls operations of the spectral colorimeter 131 and obtains a result of reading an image at the spectral colorimeter 131, p0068 & p0075] configured to move the color measurer in a width direction to measure a first inspection image corresponding to a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction, a second inspection image corresponding to the first overlapping a portion in the width direction, and a third inspection image corresponding to a portion of the third image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction [the spectral colorimeter 131 is moved along the main scanning direction to allow to detect the patch images at different positions (interpreted to be indicative that specific measuring locations is hardware controlled), p0062, p0075, p0173, p0193 & p0199-0202].
Nakumura appears to fail to explicitly disclose a sensor configuration, and a third image sensor that images a surface of the medium on the conveying path, wherein, a portion of the second image sensor and a portion of the third image sensor overlap in a second overlapping portion in the width direction orthogonal to the conveying direction along the conveying path, and the first overlapping portion and the second overlapping portion are in different positions in the width direction, the supporter being longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor, an imaging range of the second image sensor, and an imaging range of the third image sensor; and a hardware processor configured to move the color measurer in a width direction to measure a first inspection image corresponding to a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction, a second inspection image corresponding to the first overlapping a portion in the width direction, and a third inspection image corresponding to a portion of the third image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction.
Lopez discloses a third image sensor that images a surface of the medium on the conveying path [scanner modules 322 may be contact image sensor (CIS) modules ... e.g., 322a-e as shown in at least Figure 3, p0017], wherein, a portion of the second image sensor and a portion of the third image sensor overlap in a second overlapping portion in the width direction orthogonal to the conveying direction along the conveying path [e.g., overlap at image sensor 322b & 322c as shown in Figure 3], and the first overlapping portion and the second overlapping portion are in different positions in the width direction [overlap at image sensor 322a & 322b is different than the overlap at image sensor 322b & 322c as shown in Figure 3]. Lopez further discloses and to measure a first inspection image corresponding to a portion of the first image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction, a second inspection image corresponding to the first overlapping a portion in the width direction, and a third inspection image corresponding to a portion of the third image sensor that does not overlap with the second image sensor in the width direction [the module analyzer 210 may analyze portions (e.g., the targets 304) of the scanned target media 302 that were scanned by each scanner module 322a-322e of the scanner 120 … the module analyzer 210 analyzes scans of the targets 304 of FIG. 3 to detect a color difference greater than a threshold (e.g., a threshold corresponding to a difference noticeable to the human eye, such as 2dE00 from the International Commission on Illumination (CIE) Lab or CIE-DE2000) … e.g., color settings may be adjusted for the scanner module 322c to correct a color difference between scans of the scanner module 322c and scans of the other scanner modules 322a, 322b, 322d, 322e of the scanner 120, p0018-0023 – NOTE: the measurement of overlapping portions is not addressed based on the interpretation as discussed in the above 35 USC 112 rejections].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have explicitly included in the invention of Nakamura the support whereby the image sensors consist of a plurality of scanner modules (i.e., a first image sensor, a second image sensor and a third image sensor) and to measure a inspection image portions corresponding to each sensor module as disclosed by Lopez because it allows for a flexible system configuration utilizing the CIS sensors as discussed by Lopez in at least paragraph 0001.
Lopez does not disclose the supporter being longer in the width direction than an imaging range of the first image sensor, an imaging range of the second image sensor, and an imaging range of the third image sensor.
Kuwahara discloses an assemble for supporting a moveable colorimeter [carriage reciprocating means 43 is means for reciprocating the colorimeter 41 held by the colorimeter holder 42 in the column direction C formed by the color patch CP, page 4 paragraph 9] wherein the supporter is longer in the width direction than an imaging range [Two guide shafts constituted by a main shaft 58 and a sub shaft 59, and a colorimetric carriage motor 60 disposed on the return position side as a drive source when the colorimetric carriage 57 is reciprocated and is longer as shown in at least Figure 3 … The color patch CP includes a patch row PR formed by arranging a plurality of unit patches D, and a start position mark MS and an end position mark ME [i.e., outside an imaging range as explicitly shown in Figures 3 & 9] arranged at predetermined intervals on both sides in the row direction of the patch row PR … A state where the colorimeter 41 is located immediately above the white tile 47 of the calibration means 46 is the home position (i.e., outside imaging range necessarily indicative of the supporter being longer) of the colorimetric carriage 57. At the time of color measurement, the position of each unit patch D as the coordinate (x coordinate) in the paper width direction (main scanning direction B) with the home position as the origin, that is, the operation position for the color measurement operation of the color measurement carriage 57 as a moving body Is calculated, page 4 paragraph 9, page 9 paragraph 2 & page 18 paragraphs 3-4 (see discussion in Response to Arguments)] and where the measurer measures each inspection image at calculated locations in the width direction [color patch CP includes a patch row PR formed by arranging a plurality of unit patches D, and a start position mark MS and an end position mark ME arranged at predetermined intervals on both sides in the row direction of the patch row PR. And. In the example in which two rows of color patches CP shown in FIG. 9 are arranged, each color patch CP has Y coordinates Y1 and Y2, and the X coordinates of N unit patches D constituting the patch row PR are colorimetric. The values are indicated by values (X1, X2,..., Xn-1, Xn) in order from the home position side (left side in FIG. 9) of the carriage 57 (see FIG. 3). The logical coordinate values related to these color patches CP are used to determine a colorimetric point when the colorimeter 41 moving together with the colorimetric carriage 57 measures the unit patch D, page 8 paragraph 2].
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to have configured in Nakumura in view of Lopez to provide a supporter that is longer in the width direction and where the measurer measures each inspection image at calculated locations in the width direction as taught by Kuwahara because it provides a means for determining a home starting position for the moveable colorimeter prior to or after reading the image surface of the substrate for accuracy of the measured response as discussed by Kuwahara on at least pages 17 and 18.
Conclusion
No further relevant art identified.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BARBARA D REINIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682