Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed Provisional application 63/217,031 filed on 06/30/2021 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 04/03/2024, 07/23/2025 and 04/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2 recites the phrase “performing the subset of camera modes” which should be “using the subset of camera modes”. Activating already in claim 1.
For the informalities above and wherever else they may occur appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 of Application No. 17/809,791 now (US 12001647 B2) in view of Hirata et al. (US 20080204402 A1 hereinafter Hirata)
US 20240248579 A1
US 12001647 B2
1. A method, comprising:
selecting a subset of camera modes from among a set of camera modes for applying to an image captured by a device camera;
1. A method, comprising:
selecting a subset of camera modes from among a set of camera modes for applying to an image captured by a device camera,
wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to activating the subset of camera modes;
…wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to activating the subset of camera modes;
causing display of a first interface for presenting the subset of camera modes, the first interface including a group of icons, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the subset of camera modes, the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and
causing display of a first interface for presenting the subset of camera modes, the first interface including a group of icons, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the subset of camera modes, the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface;
causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes.
…causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes;
2-20
1-11
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: (1) parent claims contain all limitations of child claim 1. See MPEP 804. (2) Hirata illustrates a user selecting a subset of functions relating to mode applying to images from a camera (see ¶58, ¶45 and Fig. 4) similar to the parent case and relates to terms in the art based on obviousness in view of Hirata. See MPEP 1504.06. It would have been obvious to incorporate Hirata as it’s in the same field of camera interfaces and improves users’ ability to use and manipulate small electronic devices (see Hirata ¶4-5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan et al. (US 20210405825 A1) hereinafter Narayanan in view of Manzari et al. (US 10735642 B1) hereinafter Manzari.
As to independent claim 1, Narayanan teaches a method, comprising:
selecting a subset of camera modes from among a set of camera modes for applying to an image captured by a device camera; [select modes such as still and slomo Fig. 10 1018 ¶217-219 "user interface 1014 includes the interface element 1018 (“SLO-MO”) which can be used to capture slow motion video via the imaging component 1004; and the interface element 1020 that can be used to capture still images via the imaging component 1004"]
wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to activating the subset of camera modes; [interface shown is based on users previous interaction (history) and therefor when its used the selection made would be so as well ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
causing display of a first interface for presenting the subset of camera modes, the first interface including a group of icons, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the subset of camera modes, [creates a simplified interface with a subset of elements including camera modes ¶217-219, ¶33 "simplified user interface generated by the disclosed technology can include a subset of interface elements "]
Narayanan does not specifically teach the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes.
However, Manzari teaches the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and [Fig. 6 D-E illustrate activation of additional action 614 Col. 70 ln. 48-57 "using the touch-sensitive surface, tap gesture 650c at a location that corresponds to additional control affordance 614"]
causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes. [Fig. 6E illustrates interface with camera mode affordances 620 in a horizontal list after activation of affordance 614 Col. 69 ln. 41-60 "control region 606 includes camera mode affordances 620"]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface by Narayanan by incorporating the the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes disclosed by Manzari because both techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Manzari into Narayanan reduces the time and energy required to capture media the way users desire [Manzari Col. 1 ln. 36-58]
As to dependent claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to performing the subset of camera modes. [Narayanan based on users previous interaction (history) ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
As to dependent claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach causing, in response to user selection of an icon within the group of icons, display of the first interface to include a widget associated with the selected icon. [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates responsive to selecting portrait icon at 650m display new indicators/lighting effect control (widget) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
As to dependent claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach wherein the widget includes user-selectable options for specifying parameters for the respective camera mode associated with the selected icon. [Manzari Fig. 6R illustrates lighting effect control (parameters) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "lighting effect control 628 (which, when activated enables changing lighting effects)"]
As to independent claim 9, Narayanan teaches a system comprising: [computing system ¶100]
at least one processor; and [processor ¶102]
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, configure the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: [memory and instructions ¶102]
selecting a subset of camera modes from among a set of camera modes for applying to an image captured by a device camera; [select modes such as still and slomo Fig. 10 1018 ¶217-219 "user interface 1014 includes the interface element 1018 (“SLO-MO”) which can be used to capture slow motion video via the imaging component 1004; and the interface element 1020 that can be used to capture still images via the imaging component 1004"]
wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to activating the subset of camera modes; [interface shown is based on users previous interaction (history) and therefor when its used the selection made would be so as well ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
causing display of a first interface for presenting the subset of camera modes, the first interface including a group of icons, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the subset of camera modes, [creates a simplified interface with a subset of elements including camera modes ¶217-219, ¶33 "simplified user interface generated by the disclosed technology can include a subset of interface elements "]
Narayanan does not specifically teach the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes.
However, Manzari teaches the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and [Fig. 6 D-E illustrate activation of additional action 614 Col. 70 ln. 48-57 "using the touch-sensitive surface, tap gesture 650c at a location that corresponds to additional control affordance 614"]
causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes. [Fig. 6E illustrates interface with camera mode affordances 620 in a horizontal list after activation of affordance 614 Col. 69 ln. 41-60 "control region 606 includes camera mode affordances 620"]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface by Narayanan by incorporating the the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes disclosed by Manzari because both techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Manzari into Narayanan reduces the time and energy required to capture media the way users desire [Manzari Col. 1 ln. 36-58]
As to dependent claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to performing the subset of camera modes. [Narayanan based on users previous interaction (history) ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
As to dependent claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach causing, in response to user selection of an icon within the group of icons, display of the first interface to include a widget associated with the selected icon. [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates responsive to selecting portrait icon at 650m display new indicators/lighting effect control (widget) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
As to dependent claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach wherein the widget includes user-selectable options for specifying parameters for the respective camera mode associated with the selected icon. [Manzari Fig. 6R illustrates lighting effect control (parameters) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "lighting effect control 628 (which, when activated enables changing lighting effects)"]
As to independent claim 17, Narayanan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising:[medium and instructions ¶102]
selecting a subset of camera modes from among a set of camera modes for applying to an image captured by a device camera; [select modes such as still and slomo Fig. 10 1018 ¶217-219 "user interface 1014 includes the interface element 1018 (“SLO-MO”) which can be used to capture slow motion video via the imaging component 1004; and the interface element 1020 that can be used to capture still images via the imaging component 1004"]
wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to activating the subset of camera modes; [interface shown is based on users previous interaction (history) and therefor when its used the selection made would be so as well ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
causing display of a first interface for presenting the subset of camera modes, the first interface including a group of icons, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the subset of camera modes, [creates a simplified interface with a subset of elements including camera modes ¶217-219, ¶33 "simplified user interface generated by the disclosed technology can include a subset of interface elements "]
Narayanan does not specifically teach the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes.
However, Manzari teaches the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and [Fig. 6 D-E illustrate activation of additional action 614 Col. 70 ln. 48-57 "using the touch-sensitive surface, tap gesture 650c at a location that corresponds to additional control affordance 614"]
causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes. [Fig. 6E illustrates interface with camera mode affordances 620 in a horizontal list after activation of affordance 614 Col. 69 ln. 41-60 "control region 606 includes camera mode affordances 620"]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface by Narayanan by incorporating the the first interface further including an additional icon which is user-selectable to switch to a second interface; and causing, in response to user selection of the additional icon, display of the first interface to switch to display of the second interface for presenting the set of camera modes, the second interface including a list of entries, each of which is user-selectable to activate a respective camera mode within the set of camera modes disclosed by Manzari because both techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Manzari into Narayanan reduces the time and energy required to capture media the way users desire [Manzari Col. 1 ln. 36-58]
As to dependent claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach wherein the selecting is based at least in part on user history with respect to performing the subset of camera modes. [Narayanan based on users previous interaction (history) ¶219 " the user computing device 1000 can generate the simplified user interface 1016. The simplified user interface can be based at least in part on a user's previous interactions with the user interface 1014"]
As to dependent claim 20, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Narayanan and Manzari further teach causing, in response to user selection of an icon within the group of icons, display of the first interface to include a widget associated with the selected icon. [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates responsive to selecting portrait icon at 650m display new indicators/lighting effect control (widget) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
Claims 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Manzari, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Javier et al. (US 20180191797 A1) hereinafter Javier
As to dependent claim 3, Narayanan and Manzari teach the method of claim 1 above that is incorporated,
Narayanan and Manzari do not specifically teach detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes.
However, Javier teaches detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes. [detects faces (objects) and social information (attributes) and then selects or presents options ¶57 "media effects engine 110 can utilize facial recognition in combination with social networking system information in order to identify people in a photograph or video. The media effects engine 110 can then generate a textual media effect "]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface disclosed by Narayanan and Manzari by incorporating the detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes disclosed by Javier because all techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Javier into Narayanan and Manzari enables more enhanced media in a fast and easy way for more interesting media [Javier ¶6-7].
As to dependent claim 11, Narayanan and Manzari teach the method of claim 9 above that is incorporated,
Narayanan and Manzari do not specifically teach detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes.
However, Javier teaches detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes. [detects faces (objects) and social information (attributes) and then selects or presents options ¶57 "media effects engine 110 can utilize facial recognition in combination with social networking system information in order to identify people in a photograph or video. The media effects engine 110 can then generate a textual media effect "]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface disclosed by Narayanan and Manzari by incorporating the detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes disclosed by Javier because all techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Javier into Narayanan and Manzari enables more enhanced media in a fast and easy way for more interesting media [Javier ¶6-7].
As to dependent claim 19, Narayanan and Manzari teach the method of claim 17 above that is incorporated,
Narayanan and Manzari do not specifically teach detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes.
However, Javier teaches detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes. [detects faces (objects) and social information (attributes) and then selects or presents options ¶57 "media effects engine 110 can utilize facial recognition in combination with social networking system information in order to identify people in a photograph or video. The media effects engine 110 can then generate a textual media effect "]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface disclosed by Narayanan and Manzari by incorporating the detecting an object within the image, wherein the selecting is based at least in part on an attribute of the detected object corresponding to the subset of camera modes disclosed by Javier because all techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Javier into Narayanan and Manzari enables more enhanced media in a fast and easy way for more interesting media [Javier ¶6-7].
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Manzari, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of Worsnop et al. (US 20200192652 A1) hereinafter Worsnop.
As to dependent claim 6, Narayanan and Manzari teach the method of claim 1 above that is incorporated,
Narayanan and Manzari further teach camera modes and a button for displaying a widget corresponding to the respective camera mode. [Manzari Fig. 6E 620 with names and button for camera modes. Col. 75 ln. 15-53]
Narayanan and Manzari do not specifically teach wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode.
However, Worsnop teaches wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode [icon ¶58-59 and text for a title, and description for elements ¶44 " text for a title and a description of the application"].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface disclosed by Narayanan and Manzari by incorporating the wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode disclosed by Worsnop because all techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Worsnop into Narayanan and Manzari provides a more context aware interface resulting in more efficient use [Worsnop ¶2-4]
As to dependent claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Narayanan, Manzari and Worsnop further teach receiving user selection of an entry, from among the list of entries, via the button corresponding to the entry; and [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates selecting portrait icon at 650m Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
causing, in response to receiving the user selection, display of the widget corresponding to the respective camera mode associated with the selected entry. [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates responsive to selecting display new indicators/lighting effect control (widget) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
As to dependent claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated, Narayanan, Manzari and Worsnop further teach wherein the widget includes user-selectable options specifying parameters for the respective camera mode associated with the selected entry. [Manzari Fig. 6R illustrates lighting effect control options Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "lighting effect control 628 (which, when activated enables changing lighting effects)"]
As to dependent claim 14, Narayanan and Manzari teach the method of claim 9 above that is incorporated,
Narayanan and Manzari further teach camera modes and a button for displaying a widget corresponding to the respective camera mode. [Manzari Fig. 6E 620 with names and button for camera modes. Col. 75 ln. 15-53]
Narayanan and Manzari do not specifically teach wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode.
However, Worsnop teaches wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode [icon ¶58-59 and text for a title, and description for elements ¶44 " text for a title and a description of the application"].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the camera interface disclosed by Narayanan and Manzari by incorporating the wherein each entry within the list of entries includes an icon representing the respective camera mode, a title of the respective camera mode, a description of the respective camera mode disclosed by Worsnop because all techniques address the same field of user interfaces and by incorporating Worsnop into Narayanan and Manzari provides a more context aware interface resulting in more efficient use [Worsnop ¶2-4]
As to dependent claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, Narayanan, Manzari and Worsnop further teach receiving user selection of an entry, from among the list of entries, via the button corresponding to the entry; and [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates selecting portrait icon at 650m Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
causing, in response to receiving the user selection, display of the widget corresponding to the respective camera mode associated with the selected entry. [Manzari Fig. 6Q-6R illustrates responsive to selecting display new indicators/lighting effect control (widget) Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "in response to detecting tap gesture 650m, device 600 displays a revised set of indicators in indicator region 602, an updated live preview 630, and updated control region 606"]
As to dependent claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, Narayanan, Manzari and Worsnop further teach wherein the widget includes user-selectable options specifying parameters for the respective camera mode associated with the selected entry. [Manzari Fig. 6R illustrates lighting effect control options Col. 75 ln. 15-53 "lighting effect control 628 (which, when activated enables changing lighting effects)"]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Razavi et al. (US 20120019687 A1) teaches classifying based on objects in a scene and adjusting interface accordingly (see ¶94)
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
/BEAU D SPRATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143