DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed 02 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Further the rejection under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (EP 3651397). The indicated allowability of claims 3, 10 and 17 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to(EP 3651397). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
The Amendments filed on 02 June 2026 introduced significant amendments to claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18, respectively. Because Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, finality in the situation is proper.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Figures 1 and 2 of the application illustrate the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of (EP 3651397).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, (WO 2020/141484 A1) discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for beam indication in a multiple transmission and reception point (mTRP) operation, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for configuring a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states (“To introduce dynamics in beam and TRP selection, the UE can be configured through RRC signaling with N transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states, where N is up to 128 in frequency range 2 (FR2) and up to eight in FR1, depending on UE capability.” See page 21.;
receiving, from the BS, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) that activates one or more TCI states from the set of TCI states (“a MAC CE TCI state activation message comprises an indication of the number of repetitions associated with a codepoint of the TCI field in DCI, in addition to which TCI state candidates are mapped to which codepoint of the TCI field.” See page 30), (“The UE can be configured by gNB (e.g., by MAC CE activation) to actively track multiple TCI states.” see page 37, (“Various exemplary embodiments can assign a TCI state to each PDSCH in various ways. In some embodiments, the TCI state for each PDSCH can be configured by RRC or MAC control element (CE), e.g., by letting a MAC CE indicate a set of multiple active TCI states. For example, a MAC CE can indicate a set of two, four or eight active TCI state that are selected by MAC CE in NR Rel-15 can also be used for PDSCH repetition in a cyclic manner. For example, each PDSCH use one of the activated TCI states in a predefined order.” See page 29.;
receiving, from the BS, a downlink control information (DCI) format that includes a TCI selection field indicating a relationship between the activated one or more TCI states and one or more TRPs (Alternatively, in order to give the network scheduler more flexibility in selecting multiple sources (e.g., TRPs) to be used in the PDSCH repetitions, the selected active TCI state can be indicated in the scheduling DCI for the PDSCH repetitions. In other words, the DCI can select among the activated TCI states when scheduling the PDSCH with repetition. Table 6 below shows an exemplary arrangement where the set of active states for PDSCH repetitions (e.g., TCI states (1-3) can be configured by RRC or MAC CE, but the assignment of individual active TCI states to individual PDSCH repetitions is provided by DCI on PDCCH. In this example, a two-bit DCI field selects a table row that has a specific assignment of the four active TCI states to four PDSCH repetitions transmitted by four different sources (e.g., TRPs or beams). In other words, the content of Table 6 (in italics) can be configured by RRC and/or MAC, then a two-bit DIC field (as used in this example) selects a row in the table.” See page 29); and
performing, based on the TCI selection field, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception. See figure 9.
(WO 2020/141484 A1) fails to explicitly teach wherein the TCI selection field includes a first codepoint, a second codepoint or a third codepoint,
the first codepoint indicates that a first activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states corresponds to a first TRP,
the second codepoint indicates that a second activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states corresponds to a second TRP, and
the third codepoint indicates that the first activated TCI state and the second a activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states correspond, respectively, to the first TRP and the second TRP. ([0080]: “For instance, the multi-TRP state may be a combination of respective TCI states for a plurality of TRPs such as TRP2 and TRP3”).
(EP 3651397 A1) in the same field of invention, teaches these features. See tables 2 and 3.
the first codepoint indicates that a first activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states corresponds to a first TRP,
the second codepoint indicates that a second activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states corresponds to a second TRP.
the third codepoint indicates that the first activated TCI state and the second a activated TCI state of the activated one or more TCI states correspond, respectively, to the first TRP and the second TRP. ([0080]: “For instance, the multi-TRP state may be a combination of respective TCI states for a plurality of TRPs such as TRP2 and TRP3”). See table 3.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the TCI state index (the TCI transmission parameter included in the DCI) contain information about a TRP and/or for instance, a TCI index corresponding to the TCI state transmission may be configured to indicate the TCI-state information for more than one TRPs.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, (EP 3651397) teaches the first activated TCI state has a lowest index among indices of the activated one or more TCI states, and
the second activated TCI state has a second lowest index among the indices of the activated one or more TCI state. Table 2 shows, for example, the first activated TCI state 1 has a lowest index, for example, “0” and the second activated TCI state “State 2” has the second lowest index of 1.
In 5G NR, the Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) is a set of pre-defined beam configuration (TCI states) that tell the UE which beam(s) to use for receiving (e.g., PDSCH) or transmitting (e.g., PUSCH) certain channels. Each TCI state is identified by a TCI state index.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the TCI states as in the claims 3, 10 and 17, such that the first activated TCI state has a lowest index among indices of the activated one or more TCI states, and
the second activated TCI state has a second lowest index among the indices of the activated one or more TCI state.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of (EP 3651397), further in view of AHN et al. (US 2009/0197630 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of (EP 3651397) fails to teach wherein the DCI format does not further include a TCI field indicating one or more TCI states from the activated one or more TCI state.
AHN et al. in the same field of invention, teaches this feature. AHN et al. teach the DCI format in table 1 does not further include a TCI field indicating one or more TCI state from the activated one or more TCI states.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a DCI format, such as shown in table 1 that the DCI does not include a TCI field indicating one or more TCI states from the activated one or more TCI state.
Claim(s) 5-7, 12-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of (EP 3651397) and further in view of Farag et al. (US 2021/0359745 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, (WO 2020/141484 A1) fails to explicitly teach wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI states comprises a joint TCI state.
Farag et al. in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
Farag et al. teaches ([0433]: “A gNB/TRP determines the TCI state of a downlink and/or uplink transmission and signals the TCI state to the UE in a DCI, where the TCI state can be a common (joint) TCI state (for DL and UL) or a DL TCI state, or an UL TCI state; alternatively, the TCI state can be signaled through MAC CE signaling.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Farag et al. with (WO 2020/141484 A1) for configure joint TCI state.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Farag et al. teaches wherein each TCI state of the set of TCI states comprises a downlink (DL) TCI state. See [0433].
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Farag et al. further teaches wherein the DCI format comprises a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2. ([0120]: “The gNB/NW can then indicate the DL RX beam selection (step 904) using the DL-TCI field or joint TCI field in the DL-related DCI (that carries the DL grant, such as DCI format 1_1 in NR), ([045]: “In one example, a channel conveying a beam indication (e.g. a TCI state or a spatial relation indication) reuses a DCI format for scheduling PDSCH (e.g., DCI Format 1_0, or DCI Format 1_1 or DCI Format 1_2 and/or a DCI format for scheduling PUSCH (e.g., DCI Format 0_0, or DCI Format 0_1, or DCI Format 0_2), where the corresponding DCI Format does not include a DL assignment or an UL grant.).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of (EP 3651397) and further in view of SUN et al. (US 2020/0045700 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, (WO 2020/141484 A1) teaches fails to explicitly teach wherein the DCI format further includes a TCI field indicating one or more TCI states from the activated one or more TCI states.
SUN et al. in the same field of invention, teaches ([0119]: “the multi-TRP mode is a single physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and single physical downlink shared channel( PDSCH) mode, wherein downlink control information (DCI) transmitted to the UE based at least in part on configuring the UE to operate in the multi-TRP mode includes: associated with the multi-TRP mode, wherein an element in a list of TCI states in a radio resource control (RRC) configuration is associated with a single TRP, or a single TCI field in the DCI to indicate PDSCH quasi-co-locations (QCLs) for the multiple TRPs, wherein the element in the list of TCI state in the RRC configuration is an indicator for the multiple TRPs, wherein a DCI format of the DCI or a size of the DCI is based at least in part on the DCI including the separate TCI fields or the single TCI field.”
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine SUN et al. with (WO 2020/141484 A1) for configuring a user equipment to operate in a transmission/reception point (TRP) mode.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2020/141484 A1) in view of BAI et al. (US 2024/0154776 A1), referred to Provisional application No. 63/422,342, filed on Nov. 3, 2022, provisional application No. 63/447,844, field on Feb. 23, 2023.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, BAI et al. further teaches wherein the DCI format does not further include a TCI field indicating one or more TCI states from the activated one or more TCI states. ([0094]: “a PDSCH scheduled by a DCI without the dynamic TCI selection field 660 may follow separate or additional default rules. The default rules for PDSCH may apply when the PDSCH scheduling offset is greater than a time duration for QCL. In a first example, for DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 without dynamic TCI selection field 660, all indicated TCI states may be applied to the scheduled PDSCH.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure DCI format without TCI field.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure:
TSAI et al. (US 2020/0107352 A2) teaches “The UE receives configuration information of multiple transmission configuration indication (TCI) states. The UE receives one or more activation commands that associate a first subset of the TCI states with one or more codepoints of a TCI field and a second subset of the TCI states with the one or more codepoints of the TCI field.
WO 2022/093098 A1) teaches “a set of codepoints for a DCI field used for TCI state selection comprises a number (M) of codepoints that are reserved for implicitly activated TCI states and a number (N) of codepoint that are reserved for explicitly updated TCI state.”
He et al. (US 2024/0040409 A1) discloses techniques for dynamically mapping unified transmission states for multipoint control channel reception includes the TCI selection field may indicate an index of a TCI state within the set of active DL or point TCI states, e.g., indicating that the TC state with that index should be selected for the pool corresponding to the TCI selection field.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412